Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who's going to see the Pope?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    The papal nuncios gaff I think.

I think he originally asked for the Jackson Court but was told "no way Jose".

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭Corby Trouser Press

I hope that's true. We need to get back to our Celtic roots and shake of the yoke of Roman oppression.

Did you read the attachment at all ?

“Abortion as a sacrament, for the gift of life to remain pure?”

Utterly disturbing that our Minister for Children is associated with these beliefs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Utterly disturbing that our Minister for Children is associated with these beliefs.

Has she expressed these beliefs or is someone making the claim. Also what is the relevance to Frank.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

No I didn't read it because it's mental gibberish.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

So Leo says, "bridges are better than walls because bridges don't fall" to a bloke who more or less lives in Italy. . . :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 39,682 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Is the pope going to speak in English or Spanish ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭taytobreath

Is there any chance ye could take that debate to the other thread

theteal wrote: »
    So Leo says, "bridges are better than walls because bridges don't fall" to a bloke who more or less lives in Italy. . . :eek:
    Yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

I hope that's true. We need to get back to our Celtic roots and shake of the yoke of Roman oppression.

Yep I remember the conspiratorial crap that came out during the referendum with no basis outside of discovering she's a Wiccan. It was nonsense and still is.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Ekerot

Francis doesn't look too impressed with leo tbqhwy

Here we go Leo not shirking away from the scandals.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Mod: Get back on topic from this conspiracy nonsense.

Ekerot wrote: »
    Francis doesn't look too impressed with leo tbqhwy

Good. He needs to hear some uncomfortable truths this weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭dasdog

Leo Varadkar doing his best impression of Tony Blair. Ugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭shakeitoff

This day has cultural significance, if you don't give a **** about it, I'd imagine you to be a bore, probably watching some ****e English league match. I'd say I am Catholic but whatever about that, it's a good weekend to reflect and discuss on where we are at a society as we truly enter a post-christian era in our country. That's a good thing.

theteal wrote:
    So Leo says, "bridges are better than walls because bridges don't fall" to a bloke who more or less lives in Italy. . .

I think Leo is beginning to take on the characteristics of his predecessor beginning with "foot in mouth".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭The Kop

Leo doing great here. Fair play to him.

batgoat wrote: »
    Yep I remember the conspiratorial crap that came out during the referendum with no basis outside of discovering she's a Wiccan. It was nonsense and still is.

It’s a referenced document.

Disprove it so if it’s “conspiratorial crap?”

Excellent speech by An Taoiseach- captured the good of the past that the Catholic Church achieved in Ireland in terms of education and care for the poor as well as the obvious abuses. However, he also admitted state failings too in this.

A respectful address but an assertive one also. Well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Azatadine

I think Leo did a very good job.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,279 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The Kop wrote: »
    Leo doing great here. Fair play to him.

Fantastic speech by him, especially the way he addressed past failings by the Church and State

I assumed Leo would give a by the numbers speech avoiding some issues. But he mentioned them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭taytobreath

You’d think a pope would have good english

Disprove it so if it’s “conspiratorial crap?â€

It is conspiratorial crap but what has it to do with Frank's visit and Zappone as a government minister meeting him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,012 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Ahhh the interpreter kicks in at last...

Nixonbot wrote: »
    Mod: Get back on topic from this conspiracy nonsense.

Just pointing out the strangeness of the Irish State choosing to put forward a witch to meet the Pope.

Point made, I’ll drop it now.

You’d think a pope would have good english
    Why?

Just pointing out the strangeness of the Irish State choosing to put forward a witch to meet the Pope.

Point made, I’ll drop it now.

She's the Minister for Children, you know, all those small people that the priests raped and buried in septic tanks.

He can speak English but he's probably more comfortable speaking in Spanish or Italian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Class speech by Leo.