Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like Phil Collins?

• 30-05-2018 10:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭

I've been a big Genesis fan ever since the release of their 1980 album, Duke. Before that, I really didn't understand any of their work. Too artsy, too intellectual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Never heard Phil Collins described as intellectual before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

I was very down after my girlfriend left me due to my obsession with Phil Collins but take a look at me now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Please excuse me, I need to return some video tapes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭LincolnHawk

Whatever Bateman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

He has some catchy tunes
    Sussudio and something happened on the way to heaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I think Invisible Touch was the group's undisputed masterpiece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Who is he?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

Is your public water turning you into a fairy op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭JustLen

Christy, take off your robe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Yes, he was very good in Trailer Park Boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Jimmy Dags wrote: »
    Is your public water turning you into a fairy op

Irish water are quite firm when it comes to dealing with fairies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Nonce sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

His duet with Phil Bailey from Earth, Wind and Fire on the song ‘Easy lover” is one of my favourite tracks ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

They were almost good but something a bit naff about them and him ultimately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Love his music but I'd say the person comes off as a bit of prick

At the end of the day if ur a successful music artist ur going to get a big head and think ur the bees knees. I'd love that opportunity tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yankovic should do another skit with Collins and song he wrote for the Four Tops in that crap film I can't be arsed googling.

With a real axe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

I've been a big Genesis fan ever since the release of their 1980 album, Duke. Before that, I really didn't understand any of their work. Too artsy, too intellectual.

I'm the opposite, strictly a Peter Gabriel era man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Do you like Phil Collins?

Couldn't eat a whole one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

jk23 wrote: »
    His duet with Phil Bailey from Earth, Wind and Fire on the song ‘Easy lover” is one of my favourite tracks ever

Pity he didn't stick to music as his comedy career is average at best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Phil is considered naff in the U.K. however American rappers love him.

Me, I’m a fan of In the Air tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Look at that subtle off-white coloring. The tasteful thickness of it. Oh my God. It even has a watermark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

I love him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

Look at that subtle off-white coloring. The tasteful thickness of it. Oh my God. It even has a watermark.

Off his sack is it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Do you like Huey Lewis and The News?

kneemos wrote: »
    Never heard Phil Collins described as intellectual before.

He didn’t. Duke is Phil’s era. Before that it was mostly Gabriel. There was an intermediate album but it was on Duke where Phil Collins' presence became more apparent. I think Invisible Touch is the group's undisputed masterpiece. It's an epic meditation on intangibility. At the same time, it deepens and enriches the meaning of the preceding three albums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Do you like Huey Lewis and The News?

Huey Lewis is a great guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

He's brilliant, best in the Northside, fixed my radiator and a new Worcester Bosch boiler for €1300. recommend him to anyone.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Who is he?

Northside plumber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Obviously, I have two ears and a heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

I think.....I can feel it coming in the air tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Good tunes, liked Buster, fair play for Vice City Stories, bit of a knob...Not quite U2 levels of knobbery though, so could be worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

'Something Happened on The Way to Heaven' is a serious track.

It's one of those tracks that you think that you, yourself, would be able to pull off in a summer night time kareoke bar. But no, you end up looking like total fool, I know, I am expert.

Still great fecking tune

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Great drummer too, back in the day. I wouldn't call myself a fan but I like some of his Genesis/solo songs. In The Air Tonight still sounds as fresh as it did 37(!) years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Yeah I'd rate him. Another Day in Paradise is a memorable tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

I thought he was brilliant in the 80 s and i got slagged because i liked him.i saw him in concert 3 times and it was incredible every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Relikk

Relikk wrote: »

Was that supposed to be funny?

Phils Style, His Flow, His Works, His sounds izz from Area72

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭no.8

Was that supposed to be funny?

Make like a tree..

I thought he was brilliant in the 80 s and i got slagged because i liked him.i saw him in concert 3 times and it was incredible every time.

Don't mind them useless sonically bereft sop's, you were ahead the curve and the ones doing the slagging are no doubt still sonically lacking today. Would have loved to see Collins live back in the day.

buried wrote: »
    Don't mind them useless sonically bereft sop's, you were ahead the curve and the ones doing the slagging are no doubt still sonically lacking today. Would have loved to see Collins live back in the day.

I dont know about that.i remember standing at the bus stop listening to another day in paradise on cassette through my walkman having just bought it in hmv thinking im not cool the lads won't like this.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

There's a French joke where Phil Collins is the punchline and I've seen people nearly falling off their chairs laughing at it, so it must be bloody hilarious. Unfortunately my French isn't good enough to understand the joke, but apparently the way the French pronounce Phil Collins sounds a lot like their description for shoving something up your arse, or something like that. Kind of appropriate really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,511 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Billy!

Billy don't you lose my number

Absolute tune!

I dont know about that.i remember standing at the bus stop listening to another day in paradise on cassette through my walkman having just bought it in hmv thinking im not cool the lads won't like this.

I know that game myself man, but feck those people, whatever gives you musical enjoyment that is genuinely enjoyable for yourself made you a thousand times more cooler than a bunch of people that just wanted to 'look' cool

"Well I remember, I remember, don't worry, how could I ever forget
    It's the first time, the last time we ever met
    But I know the reason why you keep your silence up, oh no you don't fool me
    Well the hurt doesn't show, but the pain still grows
    It's no stranger to you and me"

Goosebumps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I love him and he was kind of sexy as well. I love baldies :) He has an extensive range of songs tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

I love Phill Collins and genesis tbh,really pissed I didn't get to see him when he played here,was ment to have been excellent too,follow you follow me and mama are among my favs

The op wasn’t being serious but nice to see some love for Phil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Like David Hasselhoff, he was popular in the Fatherland and could belt out a tune in German as the situation demanded.

https://youtu.be/ZsoFW08CrYo