Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,581 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Those international games could be end up being quite good teams with some of the players going to out to play them

Anyway safe travels to them all and hoping they will come back ready for 2019 and a new era in Waterford Hurling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Think it'd be nice for the dual clubs to have a more spaced out schede for once than the overload there normally faced with.

They have the planned to coincide with the start of the club provincial championships. Kilkenny, who only have the hurling champions to run off, were out before the quarters last year and Dickboro still had to play the following weekend in the Leinster club after winning the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Think it'd be nice for the dual clubs to have a more spaced out schede for once than the overload there normally faced with.

They have the planned to coincide with the start of the club provincial championships. Kilkenny, who only have the hurling champions to run off, were out before the quarters last year and Dickboro still had to play the following weekend in the Leinster club after winning the county.
    Championship was put on ice until U21s were knocked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Fred C Dobbs

Interesting that Kildare co board have told Croke Park, that it’s Newbridge (capacity about 8,000) or it’s nowhere for their ‘home’ match this weekend !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,425 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Interesting that Kildare co board have told Croke Park, that it’s Newbridge (capacity about 8,000) or it’s nowhere for their ‘home’ match this weekend !

Hope they hold firm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Very interesting to see how it plays out.
    Fully agree with the Kildare stance on it. Will show what could possibly have been done if our county board had taken a firmer stance possibly. The capacity for Newbridge is very similar to Walsh Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

Think about 10 of the panel gone away, club championship back on this weekend it's the clubs that will suffer

Can fully understand the lads going to the US, playing hurling and hopefully earning a few Bob, but just a question (meant innocently, not trying to stir ithings up). Do they have to transfer clubs when they play I'm the U.S. or is a blind eye turned?

DeiseDawg wrote: »
    Can fully understand the lads going to the US, playing hurling and hopefully earning a few Bob, but just a question (meant innocently, not trying to stir ithings up). Do they have to transfer clubs when they play I'm the U.S. or is a blind eye turned?

They get a sanction to play with a club in the US for the summer. 30 days after the sanction is granted they may play for their club in Ireland I believe. All will be eligible for knockout stages of the county championship is my understanding, unless they still have fixtures in the US at that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭914

Interesting to see Kildare's stance regarding their home fixture against Mayo.

If it pays off one would wonder why we didn't take a similair stance for our Munster Champions fixtures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

DiscoStew wrote: »
    They get a sanction to play with a club in the US for the summer. 30 days after the sanction is granted they may play for their club in Ireland I believe. All will be eligible for knockout stages of the county championship is my understanding, unless they still have fixtures in the US at that point.

Thanks for that reply DiscoStew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Should be interesting to see if Kildare hold with this stance. I'm sure the GAA will get them to change their minds or at least try bloody hard.

Hopefully they'll tell them to jump as you can't have a draw with home advantage and then take it off someone. You're breaking your own rules. I bet our county board won't like all the comparisons with their situation over the next few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Are there any dates/fixtures available for the senior club championship?

Apparently this is the schedule.

DiscoStew wrote: »
    Apparently this is the schedule.

Fairly spread out

Thanks. Games this weekend so. Hope they put up some fixtures soon. Hoping to make good use of my season ticket now the intercounty is out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

great to see the Kildare CC having some balls in all this. Puts our CC in the spotlight if Kildare win through on this. Paddy Joe not having a good few weeks but have no sympathy for the man whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭redlead

Gardner wrote: »
    great to see the Kildare CC having some balls in all this. Puts our CC in the spotlight if Kildare win through on this.

Was just thinking the same thing. Good to see some county boards have a backbone. Our acceptance of the shambles this year was pathetic. Limerick ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭puzl

https://twitter.com/AussieGleeson/status/1011363793719513088

(Removing the brian cody tweet, as it was from a parody account :oops:)

Aussie could get himself on the bad books with our County board for saying that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭redlead

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Aussie could get himself on the bad books with our County board for saying that

That's like saying you've been taken off the teletubbies Christmas card list. I think he'll survive somehow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

I presume Brian Cody will equally condemn the fact that the second All-Ireland hurling semi-final in July will be played the day after a couple of games in Croke Park. Or is Cody just shooting his mouth off on this issue without thinking like many people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

Powerhouse wrote: »
    I presume Brian Cody will equally condemn the fact that the second All-Ireland hurling semi-final in July will be played the day after a couple of games in Croke Park. Or is Cody just shooting his mouth off on this issue without thinking like many people?

'That's a parody account

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

carter10 wrote: »
    'That's a parody account

Fair enough. Jaysus there are some people with far too much time on their hands. Imagine if such people put their time and effort into productive stuff. I did wonder about a man of Cody's vintage being into twitter.

Taken from this weeks Munster express. Sean Power regarding the senior job

'Regarding the vacancy at senior
    level, the All-Ireland Minor and
    Under-21-winning manager stated:
    “We’ll get over tonight and then
    maybe start looking to the future and
    see what’s coming but, and I genu-
    inely mean this, I was 100 per cent
    focused on the job at hand tonight
    because we knew that Cork were very,
    very good and if we came down here
    with anything less than total focus,
    we have been ‘bet’ out the gate…
    and I wouldn’t be doing my players
    in there justice by looking some-
    where into the future when you’ve a
    big game tonight. So that’s all I was
    thinking about for the last couple of
    weeks and I’m now disappointed - I
    probably have enough of hurling now
    for ever until tomorrow when I start
    thinking about it again - but I haven’t
    given it any consideration yet. Names
    get thrown around the place, but we’ll
    wait and see what happens.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Taken from this weeks Munster express. Sean Power regarding the senior job

'Regarding the vacancy at senior
    level, the All-Ireland Minor and
    Under-21-winning manager stated:
    “We’ll get over tonight and then
    maybe start looking to the future and
    see what’s coming but, and I genu-
    inely mean this, I was 100 per cent
    focused on the job at hand tonight
    because we knew that Cork were very,
    very good and if we came down here
    with anything less than total focus,
    we have been ‘bet’ out the gate…
    and I wouldn’t be doing my players
    in there justice by looking some-
    where into the future when you’ve a
    big game tonight. So that’s all I was
    thinking about for the last couple of
    weeks and I’m now disappointed - I
    probably have enough of hurling now
    for ever until tomorrow when I start
    thinking about it again - but I haven’t
    given it any consideration yet. Names
    get thrown around the place, but we’ll
    wait and see what happens.”

Confirmed- Dan Shanahan has put his name in as a candidate for the manager’s position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭reni10

Absolutely no balls on our county board for not standing up and insisting we either played our home games in Walsh park or at a venue of our choosing!

They have let every Waterford supporter down badly but most of all they have left the players and mentors down with their unbelievable capitulation!

Thanks. Games this weekend so. Hope they put up some fixtures soon. Hoping to make good use of my season ticket now the intercounty is out the window.

Fixtures are on the website I would imagine.

Yeah they’re up, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

reni10 wrote: »
    Absolutely no balls on our county board for not standing up and insisting we either played our home games in Walsh park or at a venue of our choosing!

They have let every Waterford supporter down badly but most of all they have left the players and mentors down with their unbelievable capitulation!
    Really though, what is the Kildare player's state of mind this week? Its all well and good the co board and management 'standing up' to the powers that be but the players who just want to go out and play are caught in the middle.
    Walsh Park was deemed unfit for purpose by  the relevant health and safety authorities. Newbridge was given no such red light, that's the main difference here. So what did you want, the co board to encourage the players to go on strike unless they played the Tipp game in Nowlan Park? If you think your comparing like with like here and that Waterford would have got the same level of sympathy from the public as Kildare you're badly deluded.