Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cameron Reilly Murder

greencap wrote: »
    maybe if there was very smart premeditation and no witnesses, then maybe you're not going to end up in jail.

they got that architect guy. and he was a nerd with a well thought out plan.

this seems to have been impromptu with a bunch of nice crackable young witnesses, maybe even a teen girl among them.

whoever did this is doing time. no doubt.
    Planning gives motive and a trail of evidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 shebafay

This night 2 weeks ago a group of young people met up as usual. One of them ended up dead after meeting a violent end. It's now gone off the national news, and there is no sign of an impending arrest of the perpetrators. It's very scary to know that there is still a murderer on the loose in a relatively small community. I really really hope that the Gardai are building a strong case in the background.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Planning gives motive and a trail of evidence.

And an impromptu act leaves a mountain of clues, evidence and loose ends, as well as panicked weak attempts at cover up, that hover like a giant flashing arrow over the guilty.

If its past 1980 and you find yourself on the wrong end of something serious and foolish, impromptu, or spur of the moment .... just go hand yourself in.

Or head to the airport immediately.

Your odds of evading justice are around prize bond levels.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I know some people who live in the area and the 'word on the street' is that everyone knows who done it but that the Gardai are meeting a wall of silence. The only hope is that forensic evidence will emerge.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

They know. They'll be shouting in their sleep or raving some night out on the beer or they will whisper it in the ear of the person they're sleeping with one night in a rash of guilt and one day, there will be a blue light at the window or a knock on their door or a stopped passport when they are trying to leave the country and it will be finished for them. The doors will be heard slamming as far away as Dublin as their past friends run down to the station to cover their own arses and rat them out. Time will uncover all.Its only a matter of time,and forensics.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭jluv

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I know some people who live in the area and the 'word on the street' is that everyone knows who done it but that the Gardai are meeting a wall of silence. The only hope is that forensic evidence will emerge.

Not directed to you at all Roger,but whoever is creating this wall of silence need to have a very good look at themselves and the people they live with/know. A young man died,his parents/grandparents world is destroyed. So for those hoping that if they stay silent this will go away,wake up,man up and do the right thing. Noone can change what happened to Cameron now but his family can be supported by knowing what happened to their son/grandson..

• Registered Users Posts: 29,364 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

jluv wrote: »
    Not directed to you at all Roger,but whoever is creating this wall of silence need to have a very good look at themselves and the people they live with/know. A young man died,his parents/grandparents world is destroyed. So for those hoping that if they stay silent this will go away,wake up,man up and do the right thing. Noone can change what happened to Cameron now but his family can be supported by knowing what happened to their son/grandson..
    From what I hear they are not staying silent of their own will, there is a fear out there

• Registered Users Posts: 19,640 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

If the dogs on the street know who did it and the perp and their family are trying to cover it up then the community should consider holding a silent vigil outside their house. There is a murderer living amongst them, people need to stand up to it and send a message.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Many of the ppl who are keeping silent out of fear will no doubt be going through turmoil at the moment. However, others will not give a rattle. That's the way it is when criminality enforces silence in communities. The ppl with a conscience / moral compass will be balancing the need to do the 'right thing' with the fear of what might happen when/if they do that 'right thing'. The fear is real, the threats are often gargantuan. I know of a case in another jurisdiction where a party to a crime was threatened that if he 'grassed' then his 2 y.o. nephew would be killed. This is basically terrorism and will not be easily broken down. Anyone who thinks it is an easy decision for those witnesses who might not otherwise have been involved is not living in the real world.

The only hope here at this point is that AGS gets definitive evidence to crack the fear-mongers. When the core is breached, then the dominoes may fall, as the primary perpetrator is given up by partners in the crime to avoid facing a long stint life in jail.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭jluv

whelan2 wrote: »
    From what I hear they are not staying silent of their own will, there is a fear out there

Wow! I get what you are saying but it is shocking (to me) that someone can have that much influence on a community. A robbery/breakin/damage to property I get. not important enough to put yourself on the radar with these people. But a murder of an innocent young man? These must be really hardcore folks for that kind of fear..

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    The only hope here at this point is that AGS gets definitive evidence to crack the fear-mongers. When the core is breached, then the dominoes may fall, as the primary perpetrator is given up by partners in the crime to avoid facing a long stint life in jail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Beginning to fear that the Gardai don't have sufficient evidence to bring a charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Brae100

I've lived in areas where people don't talk to the police, but not concerning the murder of an innocent person. The only time I've seen this sort of fear is IRA.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

I don't believe theyre in fear at all, this is teenage lads youre talking about, not the mafia.. An anonymous phone call to the guards, a letter handed in to a shop or the church. Theyre afraid of getting in trouble themselves and the longer they leave it the more trouble they think they might get into. The problem is teenagers haven't fully formed maturity and empathy yet. They might know what happened was very wrong but they may not fully grasp the magnitude of it. For all we know they didnt mean to kill him, might have lured him there to give him a beating but it got out of hand - a beating is horrific in itself but teenagers do it, regularly. I remember in school I fell out with a friend over something ridiculously stupid, a group of girls from my form class approached me one day and asked if I wanted them to beat her up for me. Thats the way allot of teenagers think and they protect each other too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I don't believe theyre in fear at all, this is teenage lads youre talking about, not the mafia.. An anonymous phone call to the guards, a letter handed in to a shop or the church.
    I think the Gardaí already have an idea who did it, so I am not sure what an anonymous phonecall will do unless they can tell them where the phone is.

Their fear is probably of having to appear in court as a witness.

I am just curious if the Gardaí know who killed Cameron, or think they do, could they get a warrant to search the individuals house or property to search for the phone?
    There are probably a whole load of other reasons why they shouldn't do that too.
    I hope at the very least there is somebody watching the suspect day and night.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,938 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Brae100 wrote: »
    I've lived in areas where people don't talk to the police, but not concerning the murder of an innocent person. The only time I've seen this sort of fear is IRA.

like Paul Quinn?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Suckit wrote: »
    I think the Gardaí already have an idea who did it, so I am not sure what an anonymous phonecall will do unless they can tell them where the phone is.

I am just curious if the Gardaí know who killed Cameron, or think they do, could they get a warrant to search the individuals house or property to search for the phone?
    There are probably a whole load of other reasons why they shouldn't do that too.

A post was doing the rounds on facebook by someone known to Cameron asking anyone who knows what happened and doesnt want to come forward to drop a note into a specific local shop or church. It doesn't seem like they know who did it. The phone is likely gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Suckit wrote: »

Yeah, I would imagine they have a strong idea of who did it but just need solid proof to avoid anything going wrong with a trial.

As for the phone, I don't think they are finding that. Could be destroyed and well gone at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Reati

The dogs on the street know who did it at this point. Someone is bound to have told the name to the gardai but without a) hard evidence, b) A willing testimony and court appearances c) a confession this is fairly unlikely to see someone get jailed for this crime. Life is just unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

jluv wrote: »
    Wow! I get what you are saying but it is shocking (to me) that someone can have that much influence on a community. A robbery/breakin/damage to property I get. not important enough to put yourself on the radar with these people. But a murder of an innocent young man? These must be really hardcore folks for that kind of fear..
    Border counties can still have a very 1970s attitude to the authorities in some areas. A throwback to when the IRA were the law and the Gardai and RUC were arms of the enemy.

Aside from a general reluctance to talk to the Gardai, as another poster mentions there's a possibility that the perpetrators are well connected with old terrorists and a "warning" has gone out to not talk to the Gardai.

seamus wrote: »
    Border counties can still have a very 1970s attitude to the authorities in some areas. A throwback to when the IRA were the law and the Gardai and RUC were arms of the enemy.

Aside from a general reluctance to talk to the Gardai, as another poster mentions there's a possibility that the perpetrators are well connected with old terrorists and a "warning" has gone out to not talk to the Gardai.

In the days after the murder one of the papers wrote about the 20 odd people in the field. It said there was 3 groups who socialised there on Friday nights. The one that Cameron was in just stood around chatting, group 2 were said to be drinkers and group 3 were said to be drinkers, drug users and to have republican connections. So it is a real possibility that an omerta has descended on those in the know.

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭White lighting

Surely the killer or killers would have left DNA when they were stangling Cameron?
    Absolutely gobsmacked nobody been arrested or charged with this yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,364 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Muahahaha wrote: »
    In the days after the murder one of the papers wrote about the 20 odd people in the field. It said there was 3 groups who socialised there on Friday nights. The one that Cameron was in just stood around chatting, group 2 were said to be drinkers and group 3 were said to be drinkers, drug users and to have republican connections. So it is a real possibility that an omerta has descended on those in the know.
    Paper doesn't refuse ink

• Registered Users Posts: 30 shebafay

A Justice For Cameron Facebook page was set up Saturday evening. It has near 8000 followers. Hopefully the power of social media can exert pressure on some to come forward

• Registered Users Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

shebafay wrote: »
    A Justice For Cameron Facebook page was set up Saturday evening. It has near 8000 followers. Hopefully the power of social media can exert pressure on some to come forward

Hopefully people don't prejudice any potential prosecutions by publishing rumours.

With how long it's taking the Gardai must be making sure the case it super-mega-ultra-airtight from what I've read on here.

Front page of the Scum today is claiming a drug gang have threatened eye witnesses not to talk

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

With how long it's taking the Gardai must be making sure the case it super-mega-ultra-airtight from what I've read on here.

Or else they don't have enough evidence... I can't see AGS leaving a prime suspect free to intimidate witnesses and/or commit another crime if they had sufficient evidence to arrest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Hopefully this will be the crack that opens the whole thing.