Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'Drink Link'

• Registered Users Posts: 13,012 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Anyone know where there's a list of the routes?
    See if any boozer local to me is on it!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭howiya

Anyone know where there's a list of the routes?
    See if any boozer local to me is on it!

Vague outline here

https://www.nationaltransport.ie/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/Rural_Night_Services.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

i hope some of the ould lads (and lassies) from out in the sticks get the shift on the new booze bus fair play to them boy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 168 ✭✭dublinbuster

XPS_Zero wrote: »
    the FTP it's not really about affording the fares it was/is to encourage people to get out and about who are in high risk groups to slip into sedentary lifestyles which would cost the state a fortune to treat,
    sedentary lifestyles, i dont think you know what this means
    going to a pub is not exercise

• Registered Users Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭cgcsb

A proper public transport service, this isn't a solution. If you want to tackle it fast, make it a stipulation on taxi/hackeny licences that all areas have access to transport 24/7 where no bus or train service exists and those details are published. If we have to subsidize drivers for quite nights to be on call so be it, everyone gets home all the time just like in the city's.
    It's needs to be a full country plan, for example if there's a big concert in Dublin Irish Rail will put on special trains. The one going south stops in Limerick junction and Cork so again no use to anyone in rural Ireland even though it passes plenty of stations to let people off.

The country is in a jocker due to the third world transport network, a good one would even solve a lot of the housing problem in Dublin, if it took 30 minutes to get from Limerick to Dublin on high speed trains you wouldn't have a housing crisis.

Ireland has 40% of it's population living in rural areas, due to poor planning. Our overall population density is also low. It's not feasible to provide a service for everyone unless everyone moved to towns over night. If you want to be near pubs my advice would be to go live in your village. If that prospect doesn't appeal, then you're probably not too interested in pubs.

If you ask me, the last thing rural Ireland needs is easier access to alcohol. Some TDs seem to argue that easier access to alcohol is somehow going to solve issues of isolation and depression despite evidence to the contrary. If people chose to live in isolated locations and then complain they are isolated and want the government to bring them to the pub, you know the nanny state is gone too far. Drive to the pub and have a shandy if you want to go that bad.

Swing that around and why should anyone outside the pale subsidize the Luas, Dublin bus, Irish Rail etc.
    quite simply, they don't. Greater Dublin and the South West are the only regions that take in more taxes than they spend.

Yes because they won't share the jobs or put any transport infrastructure
    Nucleated settlements are how modern societies provide public services, this has been the case since the stone age and more markedly so since the industrial revolution and globalization.

When you have a housing crisis due to overpopulation in one particular area it's time to look at alternatives.
    Nowhere in Ireland or even Europe suffers from 'overpopulation' That's a problem for East Asia. We have a housing crisis because Ireland created NAMA to take over bad debts associated with overpriced residential development, subsequently public policy sought to make housing expensive to restrict supply and therefore re-inflate the value of existing assets.

Government policy is now changing though. This July the government will force Dublin and Cork City councils to remove the height restrictions they put in to stifle development.

If your trying to get from one town to the other.

On a sort of booze cruise like?
    pay for it yourself and cop on. You and your mates can hire a bus if u like

How do you know you weren't over the limit?

You can purchase your own breathaliser off amazon if it's that big an issue for you. Personally, I'm not a roaring alco, so I wouldn't get myself so ham faced of an evening that I wouldn't be able to drive 12 hours later, when I knew perfectly well the night before that I'd need to drive the next day. Take personal responsibility for yourself.

If you are that into the pub may I suggest an apartment in Athlone or seomthing. you could even stay in airbnbs in different towns when on one of your booze cruises.

Come up with some alternative suggestions rather than assumptions about what I might think, this is about Ross and the drink link.

Come up with your own alternative suggestions for your own first world problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,753 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Just imagine how vibrant rural Ireland would be now if all the one off houses built in the last 20 years were instead built in the immediate vicinity of towns and villages instead of all over the place

That's rural Irelands biggest issue

Rural Ireland was ALWAYS 'one off housing', it's not a recent thing. And not all of them were farmers.

Not everyone wants to live in a town or village for whatever reasons, people now can't seem to get their heads around this.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Not everyone wants to live in a town or village for whatever reasons, people now can't seem to get their heads around this.

People by and large have no problem with that choice (apart from those with issues on one off housing). Where the problem starts is when people who chose to live in such an area start complaining about that lack of public transport afterwards, despite the fact there was never any in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭Experience_day

Hurrache wrote: »
    People by and large have no problem with that choice (apart from those with issues on one off housing). Where the problem starts is when people who chose to live in such an area start complaining about that lack of public transport afterwards, despite the fact there was never any in the first place.

Or just overly restrictive laws on drink and driving....

No one is saying someone should get sh it faced and drive after 15 pints, but proposed measures make it unfeasible...

When you take into account the tiny fraction on the roads that are tested for alcohol and the amount of people going through the courts, losing licences and paying fines for drink driving offences, it's glaringly obvious that the existing penalties are an insufficient deterrent and much stricter rules are needed along with harsher penalties

There are many things Ross has gotten wrong, but this isn't one of them

https://www.drinkdriversdestroylives.ie/drink-driving-fast-facts/

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

Rural Ireland was ALWAYS 'one off housing', it's not a recent thing. And not all of them were farmers.

It wasn't. Cluster development was the norm - 6/8 houses in a clachan. Which is actually just about viable to provide services to rather than every house being 30m up its own driveway and 200m apart

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

There's nothing overly restrictive about them, they're very easy to adhere to.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,118 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

When you take into account the tiny fraction on the roads that are tested for alcohol and the amount of people going through the courts, losing licences and paying fines for drink driving offences, it's glaringly obvious that the existing penalties are an insufficient deterrent and much stricter rules are needed along with harsher penalties

There are many things Ross has gotten wrong, but this isn't one of them

https://www.drinkdriversdestroylives.ie/drink-driving-fast-facts/

Stricter rules and harsher penalties don't solve anything aka the war on drugs. They are not a deterrent. Do you think anyone going to chance driving home in the country side on a wet and windy night gives a continental what laws they make in Dublin. They know they won't be caught as there's no Garda or other means of transport.
    If you want to stop people drinking and driving you ensure there's a working transport system that works for everyone not just city dwellers. This drink link is a piss poor attempt at achieving that.
    Ross's proposal will destroy life's also but not for people in well serviced areas.

This law change is going nowhere just like this drink link proposal.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,428 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Wouldn't something like uber be a way better system to get people to and from the pubs?
    If there's only trade 1 or 2 nights a week the local driver only has to work 1 or 2 nights... It could even be the local publican who does the drive ( knowing he's covered insurance wise ect),

Actually It'd probably just be a lot cheaper for the state to cover the insurance for an occasional rural minibus scheme..
    Only thing is, lads who are paying a fiver for a pint would probably be too mean to pay a fiver for a shared lift home...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Uber would work but as the city boys in the thread said it's a cancer and screw the country boys with their drink obsession. There not really getting it.

Stricter rules and harsher penalties don't solve anything aka the war on drugs.

You are comparing apples and oranges, please try again

Uber would work but as the city boys in the thread said it's a cancer and screw the country boys with their drink obsession. There not really getting it.

It would appear to be yourself who is not getting it

See post https://touch.boards.ie/thread/post/106971524

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

The Uber argument is a fallacy

If such a market existed in rural areas there would already be taxis and hackney's servicing
    It would appear to be yourself who is not getting it

See post https://touch.boards.ie/thread/post/106971524

The operating costs and fares for Uber are substantially lower than taxis, so your argument isn't accurate. If an area can't support a high-cost taxi it does not necessarily mean it can't support a low-cost Uber.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,428 ✭✭✭Markcheese

The problem for taxi's and hackney's in rural areas is you pay for licence and insurance on a 24 / 7 basis.. You can't just get insurance for a few hours sat / Sunday...
    An uber is pay as you go.. Your customer pays uber, they deduct their fee( covering insurance) and pay the operator...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Sigh, ok, tell you what, how about you go ahead and outline the status of Uber in rural areas of the US. Can't wait to see what evidence there is given the model of Uber in no way works in the rural markets.

You do know there's a slight size difference between rural areas in the USA and here. It's a little island, Uber is perfect for it as it's all relatively small distances.
    It's a 4/5 day drive across the states from one side to the other. What's it just over 2hrs from Dublin to Galway.
    You don't know it won't work so don't be as dismissive of things before your try them. Sigh.

You do know there's a slight size difference between rural areas in the USA and here. It's a little island, Uber is perfect for it as it's all relatively small distances.
    It's a 4/5 day drive across the states from one side to the other. What's it just over 2hrs from Dublin to Galway.
    You don't know it won't work so don't be as dismissive of things before your try them. Sigh.

I'll say it again, and make it easier. Show any evidence of Uber working in a rural area in any country in the world.

Ubers model is a high turnover city based model, not "a few quid on the weekend" model.

If such a demand existed in Irelands towns and villages, the place would be flooded with Hackney cabs the length and breadth of the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

I'll say it again, and make it easier. Show any evidence of Uber working in a rural area in any country in the world.

Ubers model is a high turnover city based model, not "a few quid on the weekend" model.

If such a demand existed in Irelands towns and villages, the place would be flooded with Hackney cabs the length and breadth of the country.

Uber (and Lyft) has started to move into more rural areas in the US. I've driven extensively in the US and it's possible to drive for 30 miles and not see a house, so granted, nothing will ever work there. But that scenario doesn't exist here.

While hackney licenses are cheap, the insurance isn't, and the fares can't compete with Uber (and Lyft).

It's like talking to a weatherproof fence, nothings seeping through.

Show me another Ireland?

The cost of running a taxi business are prohibitive on the runs were talking about, this is some kind of app based system that makes it easy for locals to look after locals that's been suggested.

There's something on trial in Clare at the moment around that concept.

You like many of the others aren't offering any ideas beyond suck it up. It's the Shane Ross attitude.

It's like talking to a weatherproof fence, nothings seeping through.

Show me another Ireland?

The cost of running a taxi business are prohibitive on the runs were talking about, this is some kind of app based system that makes it easy for locals to look after locals that's been suggested.

There's something on trial in Clare at the moment around that concept.

You like many of the others aren't offering any ideas beyond suck it up. It's the Shane Ross attitude.

What you are talking about still requires a psv licence and the appropriate insurance. This would not change. Normal insurance does not cover the use of a private car in this manner in Ireland