Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

To expand a bit.

Ryan *interspersed with light fake laughter* :

So we've just injected your old faithful pal for the last 18 years with the blue stuff live on air. Your pal that has been your life and indeed once saved your life when he dragged you out of the river that day. So he's gone now. How does that make you feel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I am pro-PSM/PSB (Public Service Media/Broadcasting)

I agree that the system of collection must be changed, however...

This does not mean I think a blank cheque should be written for RTÉ. Before any extra money goes to RTÉ, RTÉ must reform and show its PSB/M ethos.

Most of this reform must come from the top of RTÉ. None have really taken a look at their own expenses, in the last decade the Executive board on average had expenses of €53,000 (that could provide RTÉ News Now with a proper scheduler/editor, or even a wage for a TV newsreader).

Here is a company for the last 10 years who have consistently had their cap in hand. Yet in 2016 the current DG was given €50,000 in moving fees and in 2020 the head of news had expenses of €10,000 ... 2020... 2020 you know the year no one could move beyond 5 **** km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,827 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Who's got a Ryan Tubridy sized hole in their Friday nights?????

As expected, we'll get to see Ryan asking CNN's Donie O'Sullivan what it was like during the insurrection..... and what does he miss about home (getting turned down by RTÉ obviously).

then, as expected, we'll have our Olympic hero's on to discuss.... the Olympics....

and in a surprising turn, Boy George will be on to talk about his new show on Virgin Media... but Ryan, a master of his craft, will keep that on the down low and keep the chat Irish/RTÉ.

and for you fans of misery, we'll have Dolores O'Riordan's mother on, as well as Sophie Toscsn du Plantier's son on to talk about their deceased relatives....

FRIDAY NIGHT: ENTERTAINMENT SORTED.

..and lets not forget the competition where you can win €10,000. all you have to do is answer the following question;

Who hosts the Late Late Show?

A. Jose Mourinho

B. Ryan Tybridy

C. General Charles de Gaulle

calls/texts cost €2 per entry.

I like to bitch & whinge about all them direct debits outta my account.........just reading that post I must STOP bitching about the Netflix one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Some pretty excellent content on the TG4 player that interests me. I heard a radio interview this week and the director general is Scottish so he certainly wasn't a relation or connected.

I think TG4 do a superb job on a small budget. How about a gutting at RTE and bring the TG4 management across, hell give them a pay rise and they will still be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,736 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

....and he told us he was going to dial up the fun.

That man is sick if he considers that line-up as fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

From The Irish Times:

"The Department of Social Protection has suggested the employment records of more than 500 current and former RTÉ contractors “may need to be investigated” to see if PRSI contributions should have been paid. Laura Slattery reports that in a briefing note for senior officials in mid-July, the department said it was “conscious of the resource-intensive nature” that these individual investigations – which could involve detailed interviews with the affected people – would have for both the department and RTÉ."

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Audit the corrupt cesspit of nepotism now.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,725 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

'Embrace the light'... meanwhile the Late Late show band have been given the axe.

https://www.thesun.ie/tvandshowbiz/7524994/late-late-house-band-gets-axe-favour-musical/

Gotta love the 'uplifting' story of a band who got fired, during a pandemic, and now must look for a new gig.

But Ryan's on TikTok... how do you do fellow kids...?

The Late Late show is a disgusting circle jerk at this stage. Poor Gay Byrne must be turning in his grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,691 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Jaysus, how much was it to hire 4 or 5 lads to play music for less than 3 hours once a week? I'm sure they could have been kept on if Tubs didn't demand so much for his "talent".

Knowing RTÉ, the band were probably on around €60k a year.... for that 3 hours a week (where in reality they probably only played for 3 minutes of that 3 hours...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

All middle aged white men. We can't be having that. Bad for optics.

He had been either head of TG4 sport or head of programming previously, he then moved back to Scotland to head up BBC ALBA, before returning as DG. There are some questions for TG4 but those questions are overshadowed by the wasteland that is RTÉ. RTÉ2 should be able to provide the amount of home produced programming TG4 provide, RTÉ2 can't even provide news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

RTE taking the piss with reeling in the years.It must be on it's third run by now, at least and TG4 are doing the same with their version. Lads, time to pull the plug. Running it once is fine, running it three times is taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Third? It's on a f###ing loop, every summer and then every Saturday if the Big Movie is 90minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,508 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I just saw a new ad for RTÉ’s latest show…. How to sell big expensive fancy homes…….

Finger.

Pulse.

I wonder has Ray Darcy's pay been cut since his Saturday night show was quietly axed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

More likely he'll get paid for it no matter if its on or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Its very telling from RTE that they show reruns of Tommys show and never repeat Rays

No would be the answer.

Ah, that interview with Pamela Anderson though............pure tv gold, he had the charisma of a dead mackerel...... well worth digging out that clip/ interview......woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

I absolutely despise having to give these **** a penny. I don’t watch RTE. Tried to go on there and pay online their push notification never came through. 3 times no go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

That's going back a bit. The only reason he is still there is, it's a face saving trip for Dee as she was instrumental in acquiring his special talents.

Quote from article:

D’Arcy, who was RTÉ’s second highest earner with €450,000 in the last available figures, could lose upwards of €100,000, according to a leading showbiz agent.

Who could that agent be? It's above my pay grade to figure that one out for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,005 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Screenshot_20210906_004035.jpg

Arry I'd say she had to google who he was before she (or one of her staff) wrote that 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,725 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

RTE's show 'The Glow Up' which was meant to be RTE's latest show to appeal to a young audience...

...is dead on arrival.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/showbiz/irish-showbiz/rte-show-glow-up-slow-24905914

76 000 viewers... Good lord, back in the day, an episode of Yu Gi Oh or Pokemon would get better viewership. The ads alone would get better viewership. Starting to think they might have made more money putting this on the RTE player.

Usually these shows lose more viewers as the series goes on. But considering all the money spent on this (as well as the money they are getting from sponsors) as well as the hype supposedly surrounding it, this has got to be another failure on Dee Forbe's scorecard.

(Which has been pretty crap overall).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,314 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

So they took some "star" from a show on VM and tried to make a show around her (I know is cheap rehash of another show) - colour me stupid but the

The programme share for women in the 15-34 age bracket was 15%

That says it all!

Demographic of VM is very much different from RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,508 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I've an idea for a new show, an RTE camera crew following around Gardai raiding houses for TV licences, working title "Won't Pay? We'll Take You Away".

It's not just the demographics it is RTÉ2. RTÉ have moved RTÉ2's most successful home produced show to RTÉ ONE. Special Forces Ultimate Hell Week. Meaning Glow Up (taking a niche show on an online platform BBC3) is left own its on as part of the new "RTÉ2" schedule. RTÉ2 without sport gets 4% share of the audience, this summer with all the sport it had 10% to 15% share (most of which came from RTÉ ONE).

There is SFA Irish programming on RTÉ2 unless its a repeat of TG4 or RTÉ ONE. Image RTÉ fill RTÉ2's schedule with TG4 programming (telling isn't it). RTÉ2 is no more than VIRGIN MEDIA FOUR.

RTÉ2 have 3 new show for the new season

Glow Up

Selling Ireland's most Expensive homes (which repeats on RTÉ ONE the following Wednesday, air on RTÉ2 just 2 days before that)

Blind Dates (not sure when this is returning)

And then they dish out a compellation of some shite they made for the RTÉ Player.

"Selling Irelands most expensive Homes"

RTÉ really have their finger on the pulse of the nation don't they...

One of the most watched programs all year on RTE 2 a couple of years ago, was an ep of Fawlty towers, shown as a filler over the Christmas holidays. The reality is, under 40s just aren't watching liner TV anymore. I think RTE 2 should be turned into a "gold" channel, showing classic Irish, British and American programs and movies. Future youth strands should be on online on damand