Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

retalivity wrote: »
    RTÉ to avail of government's wage subsidy scheme

What the actual fúck....
    As someone in the journal coments says, "Now the taxpayer gets to subside Ray D’arcy’s 450k annual salary not once but twice!"

1800 staff - I thought they had cut the jobs down to about 1800
    Something doesn't add up plus what happened to all the pay cuts or have they been put on hold like all their other cost cutting exercises
    Thieving b*stards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭maxamillius

Honestly how do we go about stopping this absolute **** show? Genuine question? I do not want to fund Darcy/Tubridys absolutely ridiculous pay packet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,207 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Have you ever heard so much absolute sh1te;
    Trends in TV licence fee payments have also emerged, with Drivetime hearing that people are not able to get to the post office to pay their licence fee.

This is a very convenient way for RTÉ to give up to 1,800 staff a few weeks off, courtesy of the tax payer.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,207 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

fritzelly wrote: »
    what happened to all the pay cuts

They'll temporarily cut a lot of wages to €78,000 two they can put those staff on the wage subsidy scheme.

(salaries below €78,000 being the cut off point RTÉ claim will be put on the scheme)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ten Pin wrote: »
    Tubs, D'Arcy etc are contractors so aren't covered...which actuall leads to the opportunity to tell contractors that their fee is capped at 50k pro rata pa until crisis is over...and not just the pandemic crisis...the crisis of their never ending waste of money.

Yeah... that's definitely going to happen!

Kivaro wrote: »
    They do it, and do it repeatedly, and get away with it because there are no negative consequences for this type of behaviour at RTE.

There's no-one to stand up to Dee, so of course they'll keep doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I mentioned somewhere on here that Devious Dee would try to take advantage of the pandemic in order to get more tax payer funding to maintain the exuberant/exorbitant salaries of RTE's management, stars, and 70+ managers. And of course Ryan Tubridy needs his €1/2 million per year sustained at any cost.

Now is the time to reshape the RTE quango into a true national broadcaster. Cut staff and management numbers to reflect the seriousness of the times. Make them accountable for their actions and put a new ethos in place where RTE's purpose is to serve the people ....... and not the other way round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,834 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Businesses going under, many family owned, and yet they'll get no help from the government when it comes to staying open.

But RTE... oh yeah, that's VITAL!!! (No it isn't)

This is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

FG need to get a f**king handle on this now

If they have no money dump that waste of space radio 2FM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,507 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought for an employee to avail of this government percentage of their wages, they had to be actually laid off work due to the pandemic?

Can you still continue to work for rte while rte ask the government to pay 80% of your normal wage?

If it's the former, then we should be seeing loads of lay-offs soon?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought for an employee to avail of this government percentage of their wages, they had to be actually laid off work due to the pandemic?

Can you still continue to work for rte while rte ask the government to pay 80% of your normal wage?

Well, we know Sean O'Rourke is stepping down soon. Wonder if he will benefit from this?

As for the rest-you might see some who's contracts are changed to 'freelance'... even if they're about as freelance as Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Yeah... that's definitely going to happen!

Yeah some management Dude in RTE who AGREED these obscene wages is now going to say these guys is worth only 50K pa ?

An if they only worth 50k pa ...what is HE worth ?...mwha ha ha ?

Croc o sh1te ....wha ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

If you retain employees the government will subsidise the wage if you turnover is down by at least 25% (iirc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Ten Pin wrote: »
    Tubs, D'Arcy etc are contractors so aren't covered...which actually leads to the opportunity to tell contractors that their fee is capped at 50k pro rata pa until crisis is over...and not just the pandemic crisis...the crisis of their never ending waste of money.

Sorry we don't need contractors anymore. We have more than enough staff to keep the thing going on an even keel for a while. Loads of lads AND LADIES in the sports dept at a loose end. We'll give ye a shout in a couple of years if we need ye.

Here's the BBC and CNN's numbers if ye need a start,

And not a mention of it on the rte website.

Not surprising i suppose.

But it is news in the country, when the state broadcaster is asking the tax payers to subsidise their staff's wages, again.

So they should have an article on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,442 ✭✭✭✭elperello

And not a mention of it on the rte website.

Not surprising i suppose.

But it is news in the country, when the state broadcaster is asking the tax payers to subsidise their staff's wages, again.

So they should have an article on it.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0422/1134170-rte-coronavirus/

Ingrid Miley report on p2 of other news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Perhaps with Westlife cancelling their tour RTE could pay them eleventeen million for the rights to a live living room show, it could have Jake and Nathan Carter as support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Should have happened years ago. But no.

Hope Duffy and D'arcy etc. realise this is REAL now.

elperello wrote: »

Okay, so first we were told that people weren't paying their license-so RTE were losing 60 million.
    Today on the news (Virgin MEdia 1, I tuned in) they said that people hadn't paid their tv license because, and I quote, 'they couldn't get to post office to pay it because of Covid'... Now this is complete f***ing horse s***. Those who can't get to the post office to pay the license are probably availing of a free license already (due to being retired and elderly, thus qualifiying for a free license).

For everyone else-the easiest way to pay the license fee is online.

Now, if they spun it in a more 'noble' way like 'People are losing their jobs and are unable to pay the fee'... I'd be sympathetic to the (propaganda) plight of RTE.

But it seems RTE have this 'phantom' 60 million euros from the license fee that they keep trying to 'recover'...
    Doesn't matter it doesn't exist, RTE HAVE to have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Noel Kelly is the prick that keeps these dopes in a job
    He is most of the problem
    https://www.nkmanagement.ie/talent.html#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Realisically why would you listen to on RTE anymore?

Gone for me last year or so, high salaries for doing feck all really, just look at D'arcy and Joe Duffy, honestly we are far too complacent regarding how our taxpayer money is going to support such idiots. Sorry now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

How can we stop it ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

How can we stop it ????

I'm with Ripley:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

elperello wrote: »

I'm just going to quote this section of sjk's post for you as you obviously missed it.
    sligojoek wrote: »
    The week before "Covid hit Ireland" Joe Duffy had a lad on who wanted all the rugby flights from Italy cancelled. Joe scoffed at him. "we're an Island. It can't come here" or words to that effect.

A few days later he told another guest, "Even if it does come, it won't kill us." His exact words.

Duffy was getting very close to village idiot territory here. Not only were these extremely stupid things to say, they were dangerous and misleading observations.
    Yet, your Dee sees fit to pay him north of 400k pa for approx 10 hours p/w- approx 40 weeks pa - in case the BBC snaps him up!

Noel Kelly is the prick that keeps these dopes in a job
    He is most of the problem
    https://www.nkmanagement.ie/talent.html#

Never knew about this guy, but if he's collecting 10% fee as agent to all those, he is coining it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Gen.Zhukov wrote: »
    I'm just going to quote this section of sjk's post for you as you obviously missed it.

Duffy was getting very close to village idiot territory here. Not only were these extremely stupid things to say, they were dangerous and misleading observations.
    Yet, your Dee sees fit to pay him north of 400k pa for approx 10 hours p/w- approx 40 weeks pa - in case the BBC snaps him up!

It’s been a long time since Mr. Duffy worked 10 hours in one week, unless you count the book publicity tour he went in publicising his children’s death fetish vanity projects as work across almost every TV and Radio show on RTE. Knowing RTE he was probably allowed bill them for his time when he appeared as a guest on these shows too.

Never knew about this guy, but if he's collecting 10% fee as agent to all those, he is coining it in.

It’ll be a quantum amount above 10%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Fair f**ks to him

He must be very very ery very very good at his job to keep that shower on the TV:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭bigroad

Backhanders more like and free trips out to the villa in Spain or Italy.

bigroad wrote: »
    Backhanders more like and free trips out to the villa in Spain or Italy.

And knowing where the bodies are buried.