Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First time at a footmall match

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Turtyturd wrote: »
    League of Ireland....great way to turn him off football for life.

Imagine bringing your 12 year old to a match and bonding while getting fresh air and supporting your local team in your community. The travesty. Much better to go to a pub full of 'Mancs' and 'Scousers' looking at a tv being spoon fed cliched cleansed commentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Omackeral wrote: »
    Imagine bringing your 12 year old to a match and bonding while getting fresh air and supporting your local team in your community. The travesty. Much better to go to a pub full of 'Mancs' and 'Scousers' looking at a tv being spoon fed cliched cleansed commentary.

And posting furiously on an Irish message board during the game and having a willy waving contest between two threads for the next 7 days

Good to hear, they used to have some great displays, without going all 'teen-ultra'

e.g., against Cork

tumblr_inline_nviafgdDp51riyr75_500.jpg

That was displayed against Cork City aka The Rebels on May 4th (May the 4th be with you) aka Star Wars Day. Clever

OP and his son remind me of this promo to get kids out to games with their parents. So simple and so sweet.

http://www.the42.ie/bohemians-promo-tv-not-terraces-league-of-ireland-3822173-Jan2018/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Thanks to Stephen Kenny and any player he gets a 'grip' off... The League of Ireland has become a league that wouldn't be a far cry from UK Premiership football!? with all the excitement and skill any soccer fan would enjoy and expect at a football match.
    Dundalk put it out there to everyone that this is how it's gonna be... You gotta shape up or ship out basically... And teams have listened,, the quality of football now coming out of Ireland is great to watch,, With thanks to Airtricity(SSE Airtricity League)as the sponsors and games being aired by Rté and a number of other networks.. League of Ireland football is a pleasure to watch..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,936 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Turtyturd wrote: »
    League of Ireland....great way to turn him off football for life.

you wouldn't say that if you were at the dundalk v st pats game tonight, some great football played by dundalk.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Fair play to ye op.glad ye had a good time.try a night at the dogs next for the craic with the young fella. If you are betting hard you will need a good few pound but you can just bet small with the tote and have a bite to eat.its good craic and passes an evening.galway race twice a week I think but maybe there’s racing closer to ye then that

I hope this is a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Vertict:

I'll definitely go again. The boy wants to start supporting Sligo Rovers. He was particularly impressed with a player called McCabe. It was a fun, amicable crowd with very loyal supporters.
    One thing I would say is that the young lad was disappointed to see the merchandise stand closed after the match. You see, he wanted to buy a hay and scarf to show that he supported Sligo, but it was closed. They are missing a trick there. I'm sure there are plenty of people who would like to purchase after a match. I found the experience great for a boy who could see am actual team play 5 feet from him in reality rather than watching a bunch of overpaid primas on tv. To him, it was tangible, a realistic goal of his and literally just up the road. I now have to try and get him a Rovers scarf and hat! A good evening. I had to drag him out of bed this morning.

greenpilot wrote: »
    young lad was disappointed to see the merchandise stand closed after the match. You see, he wanted to buy a hay and scarf to show that he supported Sligo

I know it's Sligo and all but that's agricultural as f*ck!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Vertict:

I'll definitely go again. The boy wants to start supporting Sligo Rovers. He was particularly impressed with a player called McCabe. It was a fun, amicable crowd with very loyal supporters.
    One thing I would say is that the young lad was disappointed to see the merchandise stand closed after the match. You see, he wanted to buy a hay and scarf to show that he supported Sligo, but it was closed. They are missing a trick there. I'm sure there are plenty of people who would like to purchase after a match. I found the experience great for a boy who could see am actual team play 5 feet from him in reality rather than watching a bunch of overpaid primas on tv. To him, it was tangible, a realistic goal of his and literally just up the road. I now have to try and get him a Rovers scarf and hat! A good evening. I had to drag him out of bed this morning.

Class. You might enjoy this video, think it sums it up perfectly.

http://www.the42.ie/bohemians-promo-tv-not-terraces-league-of-ireland-3822173-Jan2018/

Might see you up there Friday for your sons first defeat as a Rovers fan!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,218 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

OP and his son remind me of this promo to get kids out to games with their parents. So simple and so sweet.

That is brilliant... Well done D'Bohs !

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Good to hear, they used to have some great displays, without going all 'teen-ultra'

e.g., against Cork

tumblr_inline_nviafgdDp51riyr75_500.jpg

As a Cork man im offended.

(Im not - thats brilliant)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Vertict:

I'll definitely go again. The boy wants to start supporting Sligo Rovers. He was particularly impressed with a player called McCabe..
    Is that Gary McCabe who plays for Bray?

Were ye supporting the wrong team all night? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Have shopping malls started their own football teams now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Class. You might enjoy this video, think it sums it up perfectly.

Might see you up there Friday for your sons first defeat as a Rovers fan!

Don't jinx us :D

Mutant z wrote: »
    Have shopping malls started their own football teams now.

Can't link it, but look up the plans for St Pats proposed new home..

cdeb wrote: »
    Is that Gary McCabe who plays for Bray?

Were ye supporting the wrong team all night? :p

Rhys McCabe who plays for Sligo, funnily enough, I'd imagine!

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭GustavoGaviria

Vertict:

Great to hear you enjoyed yourself. You can find the match thread here & young lad can vote for Man of the Match: Sligo Rovers Forum, you've got a mention already.

• Administrators Posts: 53,369 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Fair play to you OP, nothing wrong with watching local football. The attitude of many football fans in Ireland toward the LOI is cringeworthy, the same people who turn their nose up at the standard are those who'd fall over themselves to get a ticket to watch Ireland play, and Ireland are certainly not an easy team to watch. I enjoy the Premier League as much as the next man, and I do follow a team and will generally watch most of their games, but there's nothing like actually going to matches and supporting a club that is actually your own.

Sure, the standard is not as high as what's on the telly but it's not bad either, and if you get to know some other people who go it's a great way to socialise for you and your lad. I grew up going to local football every week with my da and grandad and loved every minute of it. Would always encourage anyone to go watch their local team. Doesn't matter what the sport is, just don't have your kids grow up thinking that team sport is just a TV show.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've started to take my youngfella to the Dublin matches and it's been an amazing experience. To see his interest unfold in something new, we also have something new to bond over and we are creating new memories together.
    We are also part of a football club and any time we pass by he want's to stop in to see what team is playing, what the score is etc.

I'm embracing this as much as I can, in a few years he'll not want to be around me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1 jpastay

Vertict:

Sorry to hear you weren't able to get that, if you send an email to media @sligorovers .com we'll sort it for you free of postage and a free pass for the next game for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭FingerDeKat

jpastay wrote: »
    Sorry to hear you weren't able to get that, if you send an email to media @sligorovers .com we'll sort it for you free of postage and a free pass for the next game for him. We had this recently for all the school kids in the area so only right he gets one too!
    If genuine . fair play!

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

But going teen antifa/leftist/And what ever SJW issue is popular is cool

• Registered Users Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

And the chants... Our main one for Pats is absolute gold.

Is that chant Oh Inchicore is full of smack? A guy Ive lost touch with is a huge Bohs fan, he was one of the main protagonists behind the singing of Johnny Logans Hold Me Now on the terraces, I think it was *his song* on the bus going back to Dublin from away games and it just spread with other fans from there :pac: Eventually they got the song back to No.1 in the charts and Logan himself came onto the pitch to sing it back to the terrace. Johnny didnt know if people were laughing with him or at him !

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Is that chant Oh Inchicore is full of smack? A guy Ive lost touch with is a huge Bohs fan, he was one of the main protagonists behind the singing of Johnny Logans Hold Me Now on the terraces, I think it was *his song* on the bus going back to Dublin from away games and it just spread with other fans from there :pac: Eventually they got the song back to No.1 in the charts and Logan himself came onto the pitch to sing it back to the terrace. Johnny didnt know if people were laughing with him or at ahim !

He acknowledges it. About halfway through he says “this is the weirdest gig I’ve ever done!”

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Glad you and your boy enjoyed your experience OP, and to go on a night that they won.

Now you just have to bring him to every home game.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

But going teen antifa/leftist/And what ever SJW issue is popular is cool
    That's not what I meant, it's actually an older problem where ultras were about posing to get some good bebo photos to show off..

And btw the NBB were set up as a response to those types and they often have refugees welcome banners. Most 'leftist' supporters groups are middle aged, usually people sick of the right wing **** you usually get in the stands

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Is that chant Oh Inchicore is full of smack? A guy Ive lost touch with is a huge Bohs fan, he was one of the main protagonists behind the singing of Johnny Logans Hold Me Now on the terraces, I think it was *his song* on the bus going back to Dublin from away games and it just spread with other fans from there :pac: Eventually they got the song back to No.1 in the charts and Logan himself came onto the pitch to sing it back to the terrace. Johnny didnt know if people were laughing with him or at him !

The story goes that someone (must be your mate) was singing it as usual at an away European game in Sweden in a bar. Next thing all the local Swedes joined in they knew every word!

Since then it's been a staple.

A little bit of heroin in the arm,
    A little bit cocaine in the nose,
    A little bit of acid on the tongue
    A little bit of hashish to the lung...

Sang to the tune of Mambo#5
    (a little bit of Monica in my life)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

That was displayed against Cork City aka The Rebels on May 4th (May the 4th be with you) aka Star Wars Day. Clever

They also got a mention from Fat boy Slim at some point right?

This is my fav, from Dundalk

C9Z3MzUXYAADiHL.jpg