Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

8,000 Starbucks outlets closing because of racism.

• 19-04-2018 6:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭

Starbucks is facing a fresh onslaught of criticism after a black man was allegedly denied access to a Los Angeles shop's bathroom as he was not a paying customer – despite a non-paying white patron being given the entry code to the toilet. This comes video emerged after two black men were arrested in another Starbucks franchise recently. Starbucks Corp today announced it would close 8,000 US stores in the afternoon of May 29 to train nearly 175,000 staff members on how to prevent racial discrimination in stores.

Now, why not just directly question the employee(s) responsible for giving access to one customer and not the other? Why not deal with things on a case by case basis as they arise. This is the same company that discontinued their Christmas cups out of fear of offense. 8,000 shops **** down to train 125,000 workers because a literally a handful of eejits went viral. Gotta be woke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Of course, there are no Mauri on Craggy Island...

It's a training day.
    Their coffee is muck anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Nice misleading clickbaity Daily Mail-type thread title there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

So I can't ask for a tall black......

Well good, because it's pure watery muck out of there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Well if there is one thing social media certainly has achieved its giving me my daily dose of boring sh1te I don't really care about and dont want to comment on. But it appears that my existence is so repetitive and boring I will read it and comment anyway.

What are we talking about again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭denismc

Starmucks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Mr E wrote: »
    Nice misleading clickbaity Daily Mail-type thread title there.

Thought it was one of my best to be honest. Gotta got these Virtue Signallers vs Low Key Racists threads going properly from the off. Technically true but hyperbolic, tabloid journalism at its best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

They've done this publicity stunt before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

OP has messed this up.

Real story:

2 black guys sat down in a Starbucks in Philadelphia. They didn't order anything. They said they were waiting for a friend. Starbucks called the cops on them. The cops ordered them to leave. The two guys said that this was unreasonable. Friend finally shows up (he's white btw). Friend says "that's it, we're leaving". Cops say "too late, they were given their chance" and arrest them.

A boycott of Starbucks is announced on social media. Starbucks fires the employee who called the police and close 8,000 outlets in order to facilitate racial training for staff. Racial training could basically be summed up with "Google the name Rosa Parks"

Why do Americans call the police for the smallest of things? Particularly when the police in America are heavily armed, paranoid, and heavy handed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

#FlatWhitesMatter

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

There have also been protests at that Starbucks store along with many around the US since this happened.

15-philly-starbucks-protest.w710.h473.jpg

It's essentially been closed as nobody is going in, so closing it officially for half a day of training is no big deal.

I just wonder how racism can be removed from their employees over the course of a few hours.
    They should really give the course to a wider audience.

The commissioner explains what happened in the minutes before the camera clip that went around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

If she hadn't been a small Asian girl would they have been more respectful.

It takes some neck to sit in a Starbucks for an hour, tell staff 3 times that you were not going to order and then demand the key.

The 2 men were assholes and they got escalated it like assholes and forced others to treat them like assholes.

She loses her job for treating them in line with Store policy and they'll get a big payoff to make it all go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

OP has messed this up.

Real story:

2 black guys sat down in a Starbucks in Philadelphia. They didn't order anything. They said they were waiting for a friend. Starbucks called the cops on them. The cops ordered them to leave. The two guys said that this was unreasonable. Friend finally shows up (he's white btw). Friend says "that's it, we're leaving". Cops say "too late, they were given their chance" and arrest them.

A boycott of Starbucks is announced on social media. Starbucks fires the employee who called the police and close 8,000 outlets in order to facilitate racial training for staff. Racial training could basically be summed up with "Google the name Rosa Parks"

Why do Americans call the police for the smallest of things? Particularly when the police in America are heavily armed, paranoid, and heavy handed.

there are facts we don't know, one of them asked for a key to use the loo, the manager probably stated it was only for paying customers and they needed to order something and it went down hill from there, what else was she going to do?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

OP has messed this up.

Real story:

They were there for an hour and showed nothing but contempt to the Asian woman.

One thing about America, is if you act like a rude dick head for an hour, you can quickly get arrested.

There is no benefit of the doubt there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

Danzy wrote: »
    They were there for an hour and showed nothing but contempt to the Asian woman.

One thing about America, is if you act like a rude dick head for an hour, you can quickly get arrested.

There is no benefit of the doubt there.

I don't know about that, but I doubt that that account is verifiable. Certainly the (911 ?) call didn't have any record of them being there for an hour, or being particularly confrontational.

But yeah, sure, they could have been rude.

Calling the police is an extreme response. How often have you heard of a store in Ireland calling the police? I've never heard of it. Calling the police because two people are sitting at a table, not ordering anything? Absolutely insane. Putting people in a cell because they didn't order a coffee? Completely, utterly hysterical behaviour. The fact that the same would apparently not have happened to white customers is the reason for the outcry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm not really sure what the far right have to get all snowflakey about here. These are textbook examples of racism, no denying that.

But like Boom_Bap says, I'm not sure what Starbucks think they can achieve in half a day to make the racists in a group of 175,000 people, change their attitude. But I guess simple things like, "Ask yourself if you would act the same way if the person was a different colour", might make someone, who's not intentionally racist, stop and think for a second.

You also have the problem that this kind of racism is endemic in the US. A black kid was shot last week for asking for directions. There are countless videos and stories of black people being shot, assaulted, arrested or just delayed by cops for the smallest of infringements. Stories abound of people in wealthy neighbourhoods ringing the cops when they see a black man walking down the street. I recall one story on reddit about a cop who got a call to check out a suspicious man who was looking in houses in the same area where he was. It wasn't until another cop arrived on the scene, that the cop realised the call had been made about him. Because he was black.

So what hope does Starbucks alone have to "fix" this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    There have also been protests at that Starbucks store along with many around the US since this happened.

It's essentially been closed as nobody is going in, so closing it officially for half a day of training is no big deal.

I just wonder how racism can be removed from their employees over the course of a few hours.

Are you serious ?
    Watch the video by the police commissioner for an explanation.

There is no racism here.

But I agree they shouldn't have been arrested , but thats the US cops being too by the book ... I am sure if it were 2 white guys they still would have been arrested.

This protest above is just mass hysteria, half the people there probably dont even know what they are protesting about .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Omackeral wrote: »
    Gotta be woke!

what does that mean?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Are you serious ?
    Watch the video by the police commissioner for an explanation.

There is no racism here.

But I agree they shouldn't have been arrested , but thats the US cops being too by the book ... I am sure if it were 2 white guys they still would have been arrested.

This protest above is just mass hysteria, half the people there probably dont even know what they are protesting about .

Are you serious, are you even reading my words? Where have I said

"There is racism here"

What have I commented on is the course that they (the staff of Starbucks) will be attending (which for preventing racial discrimination) and I am making fun of any such course that can cure racial discrimination in any individual in half a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Can somebody summarise what happened. Did the black guys just sit there or did something else happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

bubblypop wrote: »
    It's a training day.

perhaps they can train them to make better coffee while they are there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

I have no idea why anybody thinks Starbucks is worse or better than any other coffee chain for coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

......But I agree they shouldn't have been arrested , but thats the US cops being too by the book ... I am sure if it were 2 white guys they still would have been arrested.

I'm not so sure about that. We seldom, if ever, see or hear the same sort of stories about white men. Yet we come across so many instances of innocent black men being arrested, beaten up or shot dead by the police in the US.

There really seems to be very little doubt that the police in the US react very differently to members of the public based upon skin colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

"Can I have a black coffee please?"
    "You mean an African-American coffee?"

They lady looks Latino so not sure if she would be Racist.

Maybe your man had told them he was bursting for a slash and will buy from them after he does this.

No proof of what actually happened, your man could look homeless for all we know.

Pure ****e trying to prove a pure ****e point

Are you serious, are you even reading my words? Where have I said

"There is racism here"

What have I commented on is the course that they (the staff of Starbucks) will be attending (which for preventing racial discrimination) and I am making fun of any such course that can cure racial discrimination in any individual in half a day.

Why do you think a wider audience needs this "racial awareness" training ?

Should we all take "don't shoplift" classes too ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

They lady looks Latino so not sure if she would be Racist.

Maybe your man had told them he was bursting for a slash and will buy from them after he does this.

No proof of what actually happened, your man could look homeless for all we know.

Pure ****e trying to prove a pure ****e point

lol

only white people can be racist

Why do you think a wider audience needs this "racial awareness" training ?

Should we all take "don't shoplift" classes too ?

Jaysus, I need to spell this out.

If there is someone capable of delivering a half day course to prevent racial discrimination, then maybe it should not be given to just Starbucks staff and should be delivered to everyone. This is the wider audience I speak of.

Again, I am mocking this so called course that is going to solve racial discrimination in half a day.

lawred2 wrote: »
    lol

only white people can be racist

I know, I thought this was the case, you can only be a white male to be racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Can somebody summarise what happened. Did the black guys just sit there or did something else happen.

Dudes sat down, didn't order anything, asked to use bathroom and were told its for paying customers only. Sat around for an hour, not buying anything, asked to leave several times, told the cops would be called. Cops came, asked them to leave several times, they refused and got arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

OP has messed this up.

Real story:

Yeah.....if you are going to be a bit sensationalist and post the "real story" you should post a longer video rather than imply that the manager hit a "black person came in" panic buzzer under the counter when the men arrived followed by the instant deployment of a rapid reaction hit team to get them out of there

That's at least 7 minutes that they were arguing with the cops before the cops had to arrest them. What else could the cops do? They had been called to remove trespassers from private property. If the dickheads wanted to stay they could have purchased a small drink at any point in time. Entitled dickheads piggybacking off people who actually suffer discrimination

I don't know about that, but I doubt that that account is verifiable. Certainly the (911 ?) call didn't have any record of them being there for an hour, or being particularly confrontational.

But yeah, sure, they could have been rude.

Calling the police is an extreme response. How often have you heard of a store in Ireland calling the police? I've never heard of it. Calling the police because two people are sitting at a table, not ordering anything? Absolutely insane. Putting people in a cell because they didn't order a coffee? Completely, utterly hysterical behaviour. The fact that the same would apparently not have happened to white customers is the reason for the outcry.

Ireland is not America. People here tend to comply with reasonable requests from staff or police

In America to not do so is seen as a big escalation.

One if the arresting cops was black and the woman who called them is Asian.

People are flat out trying to make it a race crime.

Yeah.....if you are going to be a bit sensationalist and post the "real story" you should post a longer video rather than imply that the manager hit a "black person came in" panic buzzer under the counter when the men arrived followed by the instant deployment of a rapid reaction hit team to get them out of there

That's at least 7 minutes that they were arguing with the cops before the cops had to arrest them. What else could the cops do? They had been called to remove trespassers from private property. If the dickheads wanted to stay they could have purchased a small drink at any point in time. Entitled dickheads piggybacking off people who actually suffer discrimination

The dickheads cost her her job and they'll profit for having the rules applied to them and treating others like **** on their shoe.

It is fucjed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Does anyone know how long they were sitting there before the staff member asked them to leave?

It is not unusual for 1 person to come into a venue to wait for someone before purchasing something but as someone who has worked in catering for years I can't ever recall 2 ppl waiting for a 3rd to arrive before they start.

If it was the case that they were waiting longer than they were expecting and they had been there for over 10 minutes the right thing for them to do was buy their coffee. That's what I would have done if I noticed the staff giving me the eye or saw other customers looking for a table if it was busy.

Jaysus, I need to spell this out.

If there is someone capable of delivering a half day course to prevent racial discrimination, then maybe it should not be given to just Starbucks staff and should be delivered to everyone. This is the wider audience I speak of.

Again, I am mocking this so called course that is going to solve racial discrimination in half a day.

Apologies .... I'm embarrased for myself now ... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Skyfloater

The most shocking thing here was the spinelessness of the Starbucks CEO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

AllForIt wrote: »
    Does anyone know how long they were sitting there before the staff member asked them to leave?

It is not unusual for 1 person to come into a venue to wait for someone before purchasing something but as someone who has worked in catering for years I can't ever recall 2 ppl waiting for a 3rd to arrive before they start.

If it was the case that they were waiting longer than they were expecting and they had been there for over 10 minutes the right thing for them to do was buy their coffee. That's what I would have done if I noticed the staff giving me the eye or saw other customers looking for a table if it was busy.

That's exactly what I'd do in a similar situation, knowing full well staff are going to come over and ask me what do I want. It stops being awkward.

If only they had thought of that and all this nonsense would have never happened.

Imagine being filmed getting arrested at a starbucks and then it's posted online.

Talk about being made a show of.

Apologies .... I'm embarrased for myself now ... :o

Let's hug it out :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

lawred2 wrote: »
    gotta be woke!
    what does that mean?

Quadruple machiattos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭vetinari

Wow, this thread is a classic of example of some people not wanting to ever see racism.
    The two men themselves claim that they were only in the store for 2 minutes when the 911 call was placed.
    https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/black-men-speak-out-starbucks-arrest_us_5ad8809fe4b0e4d0715dc393

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Keep them closed too please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Maxpfizer

vetinari wrote: »
    Wow, this thread is a classic of example of some people not wanting to ever see racism.
    The two men themselves claim that they were only in the store for 2 minutes when the 911 call was placed.
    https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/black-men-speak-out-starbucks-arrest_us_5ad8809fe4b0e4d0715dc393

Or it's a classic example of people wanting to see racism where there is none.

There are a few things I have trouble with here.

Surely this branch of Starbucks has served non-white people before and has had non-white people using their establishment before? So why suddenly now and why suddenly these 2 lads in particular? Like, if it's a race thing then wouldn't they have had this as an ongoing issue rather than a weirdly selective one off event?

I've seen people getting turfed out of places in Dublin before from McDonalds and Boots and M&S. Those people were white and I am sure they would say they were just standing or sitting doing nothing but there's no race angle there so nobody really gives a crap that people are being asked to leave, sometimes for no good reason.

Starbucks fired the person who called the cops but if this was a busy Starbucks then I can say with almost 100% certainty (cos I've worked in a busy Starbucks before) that the management will have told employees that if customers aren't buying anything then they can't use the jacks and they can't use the seats and they have to leave.

The logic behind this is that if a couple of people come in looking to have a sit down, a couple of coffees and a cookie and the place is super busy they will do an about turn and walk out the door. If the reason the seats are all taken is because there are non-paying guests taking up seats then it's a loss for Starbucks to have people paying zero dollars occupying seats that people willing to pay x dollars would have otherwise sat in.

So if 2 young Irish lads in Dublin go to Starbucks are asked to buy something, refuse to leave and are then forced to leave it's not a race issue because they are white. If the lads just refused to leave then the guards would be called, for sure. It's still not a race issue because that's common sense.

Transfer that situation to the USA and make the lads non-white and suddenly you have national outrage over a "racist" incident.

Sure they were only in the place for 2 seconds and the cops showed up.

Sure white people get to just sit there for hours buying nothing.

Where is the racism here though?

If the Starbucks policy was "whites only" then you'd see the point right but this is Philadelphia. A city where 43.4% of the population is non-white.

Given the demographics of the city, this branch of Starbucks has probably been serving people of many different races for years. Yet for some reason they just decided to let their mask slip and reveal their racism for a brief moment in April 2018.

Or is it more likely that the lads came in and occupied space while refusing to buy anything, the management asked them to make a purchase or leave, the lads refused, the staff asked again, the lads refused, the cops were called, the lads refused to leave and the rest is history?

It's not racism when it happens to 2 Irish lads in Dublin (and it does happen) but if it happens to 2 African-Americans in Philadelphia it's totally racist?

OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Isn't almost as if they want to be living back in the 60s or something. They want be part of history maaaaaaan.

This kind of toxic attitude leads to fabrication of 'racist' events in an attempt to race bait and create tension and division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

I'm not so sure about that. We seldom, if ever, see or hear the same sort of stories about white men. Yet we come across so many instances of innocent black men being arrested, beaten up or shot dead by the police in the US.

There really seems to be very little doubt that the police in the US react very differently to members of the public based upon skin colour.
    Because nobody in the world would have given a shíte had they been two white men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

OP has messed this up.

Real story:

Ah FFS if that is true and the claim that they sat there for an hour, didn't order a thing and then wanted to use the loo then feck them.

See how far that would get you in Ireland if you went into a pub/cafe and sat there for an hour and refused to order.

Did they have Cavan or Scottish roots by any chance ;)

Then again they must bee eejits to go in there in the first place.
    All it has is over priced homogenised muck.
    bubblypop wrote: »
    It's a training day.

Well we agree on something at least.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Omackeral wrote: »

Now, why not just directly question the employee(s) responsible for giving access to one customer and not the other?

That makes too much sense for the Modern Left wing. Got to be as ridiculous as possible for maximum virtue signalling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Maxpfizer

Isn't almost as if they want to be living back in the 60s or something. They want be part of history maaaaaaan.

This kind of toxic attitude leads to fabrication of 'racist' events in an attempt to race bait and create tension and division.

That's a disturbing aspect of the US that people often turn away from.

Yes there is a lot, A LOT, of racism across the country. Yes they have significant problems arising from a horrendous history of quite shocking racism that still persists today.

Unfortunately you also have a, less serious, issue with people using race to stoke divisions and this mostly seems done for personal gain. Race baiting, basically.

The problem people seem to have is identifying which is which.

Looking at this situation, the outrage directed Starbucks and the people making the loudest noise about it, you have to wonder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

It was inevitable that an incident like this was going to happen.
    I avoided Starbucks over in the States, especially in larger cities, because many times ghetto thugs or the homeless would use it as a base. They'd come in and take up seating, stay there for ages, and not order anything, with some of them asking staff for (free) ice water. Other times they would bring in their own cups and use the milk, honey and sweeteners that are put out for customers.
    Most customers would accept all of that, but many times these characters would eventually start trouble with customers or wreck the toilets.
    Starbuck staff were usually reluctant to ask them to leave because of the race factor.

This whole incident in Los Angeles sounds like a setup and/or a shakedown for money. It's a sad state of affairs that because 'race' is brought up, the white-owned business is immediately at fault.

Thread title sucks by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I see absolutely nothing wrong with what happened. Plenty of sources saying they were there about an hour. They didn't order anything so they were trespassing as the staff asked them to leave. They refused. Cops were called. Cops asked them to leave numerous times, as they are legally obliged to when they get a call for trespassing, they refused to leave, they got arrested. Couldn't care less if it was black lads or white lads, they broke the laws (trespass and failure to comply) and got arrested. Starbucks completely over-reacted and I hope that staff member who was fired does them for unfair dismissal, considering she was following company procedure.