Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The fall of the British Empire

• 05-04-2018 6:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭

It looks like it's the end for Britain. Brexit, social disintegration, political instability, a failing health and welfare system all seem to be combining in a grotesque death spiral.
    Can we learn from anything from their example or are we to doomed to failure?

we???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

we???

pronoun
    used by a speaker to refer to himself or herself and one or more other people considered together.
    "shall we have a drink?"
    used in formal contexts for or by a royal person, or by a writer or editor, to refer to himself or herself.
    "in this section we discuss the reasons for this decision"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

The British Empire was finished decades ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

History tells us all empires will fall eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

It looks like it's the end for Britain. Brexit, social disintegration, political instability, a failing health and welfare system all seem to be combining in a grotesque death spiral.

Yes we can learn quite an amount but I would be accused of being a racist by the

mindless minority if I were to make comparisons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Yes we can learn quite an amount but I would be accused of being a racist by the

mindless minority if I were to make comparisons!

Is that because you are a racist or just that your ideas are racist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Including the empire known as the EU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Johnnycanyon

Karma in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Trust me, they will be fine.

Brexit will bite though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

JeffKenna wrote: »

Mine has yet to rise.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

The main thing that will be learned is whether a country can leave and sink or swim after leaving the EU, the second thing is whether Ireland can survive the shock of the leaving.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Remember when the southern crypto-unionists said that rejoining the Commonwealth would be great so we could take part in the games? It barely even registers on the british websites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Beacuse the Irish Empire really are world leaders OP.

There's more to empire than occupation. the Roman Empire still rules most of Europe through culture tradition and law. The British empire likewise, even if England sinks in the sea, has a cultural empire, and linguistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

If feeling a little uncomfortable with a rising number of mosques and kebab shops, and tabloid talk of sharia law, try closing the doors marked 'Malaysia' and 'Pakistan' rather than the one marked 'Poland'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Since we are being pedantic - to???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I don't know. Some of the stats on the Wikipedia page don't seem too shabby.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economy_of_the_United_Kingdom

It's the 30% (about 2 billion each way) of total back and forth trade between us and NI that really is the tricky bit:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economy_of_Northern_Ireland

Then again, Irish life and permanent secretly sent 4bn back and forth to Anglo Irish so how big a deal can it be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

The UK has been more and more of a non entity on the world stage for decades now and it's their own misplaced arrogance in thinking they still are that brought along something as idiotic as Brexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Yay, who is ahead in the native slaughtering, my money is on the israelis,although could be the brits, or the russians. I don't think the Belgians or the Dutch have been on top of their game lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Yay, who is ahead in the native slaughtering, my money is on the israelis,although could be the brits, or the russians. I don't think the Belgians or the Dutch have been on top of their game lately.

Who knows, maybe the Bantus, Ottomans and the Mongols might make a come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Cina wrote: »
    The UK has been more and more of a non entity on the world stage for decades now and it's their own misplaced arrogance in thinking they still are that brought along something as idiotic as Brexit.

How do you figure this? In what sense a non-entity? If being a world power is based on a country's ability to extinguish life on the planet, the UK is still right up there along with the US, Russia and China. As for why people voted for Brexit - a multitude of reasons apart from a dislike of Johnny Foreigner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Well surely if brexit is the right thing, then the break up of the UK is also the right thing. Unless the whole thing is just about "Union of countries where England isn't the leader" = bad, but "union of countries where England is the leader" = good .

Surprised Nigel Farage isn't campaigning for a break up..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gw80

The main thing that will be learned is whether a country can leave and sink or swim after leaving the EU, the second thing is whether Ireland can survive the shock of the leaving.
    Yea i think it will be a rough ride at first but i think eventually it will come right,
    There seems to be a lot of scaremongering and doomsday guff from the eu. Witch to be fair is to be expected, the eu is hardly going to turn aroud and say, ah they'll be grand shur, that wouldn't gell with the eu,s social experiment.

gw80 wrote: »
    Yea i think it will be a rough ride at first but i think eventually it will come right,
    There seems to be a lot of scaremongering and doomsday guff from the eu. Witch to be fair is to be expected, the eu is hardly going to turn aroud and say, ah they'll be grand shur, that wouldn't gell with the eu,s social experiment.

Come right to what, some by gone glory days.

The greatest fear amongst the EU elite (& multinational business leaders) is that if the UK finds a way to not fail and decline further, that other countries may also want out!

The EU has been very successful in concentrating great power (politically and financially) into the hands of a very small number of people.

The people in the UK are pulling back from that.

greencap wrote: »
    If feeling a little uncomfortable with a rising number of mosques and kebab shops, and tabloid talk of sharia law, try closing the doors marked 'Malaysia' and 'Pakistan' rather than the one marked 'Poland'.
    The fact they gain entry is because they were formly part of the British empire

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modern_immigration_to_the_United_Kingdom

Something most ignore and could be seen as the empire strikes back if your of a certain mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Soon the emergence of the Greater Faroe Islands...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gw80

Ipso wrote: »
    Come right to what, some by gone glory days.
    I never said anything about glory days,
    Some people are pushing this idea that Britain is going to turn into a near third world country, look at Switzerland and Norway, not in the eu, doing quite alright for themselves, i could see Britain eventually coming to a similar level and standing as these countrys

DubInMeath wrote: »
    The fact they gain entry is because they were formally part of the British empire

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modern_immigration_to_the_United_Kingdom

Something most ignore and could be seen as the empire strikes back if your of a certain mindset.
    Since the1950s, during times of labour shortages, there were active campaigns to get the former colonials over to boost the workforce. I somehow think that the idea of them staying wasn't thought through enough. They were just seen as "resources" (no different to the way businesses look at staff these days) that could be discarded when finished with.

More recently though, they have been seen as a way of pulling wages down by employing then and undercutting locals who are forced to work for less or stay on the dole. The very people who voted leave!

Some people are pushing this idea that Britain is going to turn into a near third world country, look at Switzerland and Norway, not in the eu, doing quite alright for themselves, i could see Britain eventually coming to a similar level and standing as these countrys

I don't think Brexit will be a disaster, just more of a nuisance without the promised utopia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

If they're a non entity god knows what that makes us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭dinorebel

4th or 5th biggest economy and 5th or 6th militarily yep definitely a non entity. Obviously not a superpower but hardly insignificant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Europe is lost, America lost, London lost,
    Still we are clamouring victory,
    All that is meaningless rules,
    We have learned nothing from history,

The reason Norway did so well was they kept/privatised their share of the oil in the north sea and other energy production methods, which gave them a reserve to develop their economy.

The British did/do benefit from Nothsea oil they lost out comparitely by selling their stake off to private companies. Same thing we are doing and losing out on.

The reason Norway did so well was they kept/privatised their share of the oil in the north sea and other energy production methods, which gave them a reserve to develop their economy.

The British did/do benefit from Nothsea oil they lost out comparitely by selling their stake off to private companies. Same thing we are doing and losing out on.

Yeah, but no.

Since the1950s, during times of labour shortages, there were active campaigns to get the former colonials over to boost the workforce. I somehow think that the idea of them staying wasn't thought through enough. They were just seen as "resources" (no different to the way businesses look at staff these days) that could be discarded when finished with.

More recently though, they have been seen as a way of pulling wages down by employing then and undercutting locals who are forced to work for less or stay on the dole. The very people who voted leave!

True but this has been the case since the Thacher era due to the loss of unions and support for them.

My Dads uncle went to England in the fifthies as a brickie as was seen as a way of bringing down wages by the English guys on the site, but we're fine with it once they were paid more than the Irish etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

And we were beaten at rugby.

Precisely. It is the British Tory rightwing/business class, and not the EU, which is by far most responsible for immigration. But as members of that same class own the British media and constitute most Tory politicians, the EU is scapegoated for everything and that class wrap themselves around the Union Jack while continuing to support more immigration as their means to get cheaper labour. And the local working class British population whose economic prosperity/wages is challenged by such immigration react by supporting the very rightwing business community that is most keen to keep immigration high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Maybe the Brits could force opium on to the Chinese again to give their economy a boost.

Yeah, but no.

How so?

How so?

Well the Irish government can't implement a payroll system for the payroll service or decide what to do on water charges, do you really trust them in getting into an industry they have no experience in?
    Besides, hasn't the Corrib well not panned out as thought? Oil exploration can be a risky venture, all it would take is one exploration costing god knows what and yielding nothing for everyone to start complaining.
    Besides, Norway's oil industry isn't nationalized. Venezuela's is, smashing spot I hear.

The greatest fear amongst the EU elite (& multinational business leaders) is that if the UK finds a way to not fail and decline further

Which is precisely why Britain will fail, just like it ensured groups that undermined British power were taught a lesson throughout history. Very close to where I live is a Gallow's Hill, as there are across Ireland. It was used by the British to teach us a lesson about power every time we rose up. Every dog has his day. It's messing with the wrong crowd now, a group that can fight back and put Britain in its place.
    The EU has been very successful in concentrating great power (politically and financially) into the hands of a very small number of people.

The people in the UK are pulling back from that.

And who are these mysterious people? Do they include the thousands of British citizens working for the EU? And just how many people in Britain are controlling that country? 5 or 6 oligarchs own most of the British media, perhaps 1000 people own most of Britain? One, Richard Scott owns no fewer than 240,000 acres of land. One-third of Britain still belongs to an aristocracy. And where oh where is the permanent government of Britain, the civil service, drawn from? The deprived inner city schools, or Oxon and Cantab? If that's not a perpetual elite, I don't know what is.

Two of my immediate family work with the EU and have lived in Brussels since the mid-1980s. Both had a very ordinary education in local schools and got their EU jobs through an open process, not based on the school they went to or other class-based networks. None of the elite old boys network bollocksology which dominates in the British civil service. The EU has acted as a balance, a counter, to the dominance of that unelected elite, just as EU courts have acted as a check on abuses by other class-ridden British institutions.

The British plebs are clearly very happy for power to be concentrated in the hands of their betters so forgive me if all I see in Brexit is ignorant poorer English people being led like puppets on a string by a media and class which will most benefit by power being even more concentrated in their hands back in Britain.

The irony that the British economy has flourished since Britain, the basket case which was rescued by the IMF in 1976, joined the EU is always overlooked. The EU saved Britain, which had been in unmistakable decline since at least 1921, in the 1970s, and leaving the EU will end that saving.
    Anthony Hilton: "I once asked Rupert Murdoch why he was so opposed to the European Union. 'That’s easy,' he replied. 'When I go into Downing Street they do what I say; when I go to Brussels they take no notice.'"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

April 1st 2019 The Empire Strikes Back

Well the Irish government can't implement a payroll system for the payroll service or decide what to do on water charges, do you really trust them in getting into an industry they have no experience in?
    Besides, hasn't the Corrib well not panned out as thought? Oil exploration can be a risky venture, all it would take is one exploration costing god knows what and yielding nothing for everyone to start complaining.
    Besides, Norway's oil industry isn't nationalized. Venezuela's is, smashing spot I hear.

Norway have a higher stake and return in their national resources than we do however, but that's due also to inept ministers here and some have a nasty taste in their mouth given it was ray burke that rewrote the regulations and that an envalope or two might have been involved

Agree on the payroll system, but government contacts to private enterprise are always cash cows for the companies involved.

Water was due to more people power and FG realising it might cost them an election especially due to their reluctance to state it wouldn't be privatised. Having my own well and not being on a water supply, I didn't believe that I was going to see any of my taxes that go to pay for the water infrastructure returning to my pocket.

How was it given away? Who apart from an exploration company could get at it? Norway also allows companies to write of exploration costs, which can be high and often exploration has no results.
    Aside from the original farmers protests, the whole Shell issue was another pity party with Ireland being a victim, yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Well surely if brexit is the right thing, then the break up of the UK is also the right thing. Unless the whole thing is just about "Union of countries where England isn't the leader" = bad, but "union of countries where England is the leader" = good .

Surprised Nigel Farage isn't campaigning for a break up..........

that would require him to actually turn up to something.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

How was it given away? Who apart from an exploration company could get at it? Norway also allows companies to write of exploration costs, which can be high and often exploration has no results.
    Aside from the original farmers protests, the whole Shell issue was another pity party with Ireland being a victim, yet again.

This is what we charge

https://www.dccae.gov.ie/en-ie/natural-resources/topics/Oil-Gas-Exploration-Production/licensing/Pages/Oil-and-Gas-Tax-Terms.aspx

This is what the Norwegians charge and retain a large stake in statoil

https://www2.deloitte.com/content/dam/Deloitte/global/Documents/Energy-and-Resources/gx-er-oil-and-gas-taxguide-norway.pdf

To me it would appear that they get a greater return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Turkey is moving towards Russia.
    They have threatened Paris if France attempt to arm the Kurds
    and cause more havoc in the Middle East.

Hungary will vote to distance itself from the Washington and London farce this weekend.

From a distance it's an absolute comedy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

There's been no British Empire for decades, unless you include the Isle of Wight, Gibraltar, the Falklands and the Nordies, Brexit will be so watered down it'll be barely negligible as well.