Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish and Proud.

• 21-03-2018 2:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭

Does any of the young ones know why we'r all so proud to be Irish!?
    You wont learn any of this on facebook kids.
    Anyway just sharing a memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

naw, cuz most of em are either in Oz, Canada, US or the UK or are working on getting out of here because this country of supposedly brave people let crooked politicians and bankers destroy their future and that's nothing to be proud of. neither is our crumbling health service, our housing crisis, our corrupt to the core garda siochana, or our worship of alcohol. i guess we can be proud of the rugby team if you overlook its connections to a current criminal court case in the north, which I absolutely do not.

i love irish history but we're not living in the past. leo varadkar cancelling wind farms like Trump's lapdog, he's hardly Michael fuppin Collins is he? cop on, this place is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Why are all republican songs so shyte?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

naw, cuz most of em are either in Oz, Canada, US or the UK or are working on getting out of here because this country of supposedly brave people let crooked politicians and bankers destroy their future and that's nothing to be proud of. neither is our crumbling health service, our housing crisis, our corrupt to the core garda siochana, or our worship of alcohol. i guess we can be proud of the rugby team if you overlook its connections to a current criminal court case in the north, which I absolutely do not.

i love irish history but we're not living in the past. leo varadkar cancelling wind farms like Trump's lapdog, he's hardly Michael fuppin Collins is he? cop on, this place is a joke.

Awwwh no, another non proud Irish man.. Your so cool lol
    You probably would be in favour of The Angelus being scrapped before the Six One news each day!?
    That nearly happened you know?

Edit: And btw you cop on.
    We all know most(not all)young fellas and girls head off to Oz and the likes for the Craíc and not in desperation, and you mentioned the Gardaí: Well even they stood to attention as the coffins travelled through towns and cities on their journey to Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

An interesting Irish read that still holds relevance

51JDh65BGRL._SY400_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

This from 1:14 on has to be one of my favourite rebel songs.

How odd that that most commercial of rebel bands the Wolfe Tones never sing it.

FCIM wrote: »
    This from 1:14 on has to be one of my favourite rebel songs.

How odd that that most commercial of rebel bands the Wolfe Tones never sing it.
    Which Wolfe Tones? The Real Wolfe Tones? The Continuity Wolfe Tones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

omg the angelus nearly got scrapped? it would be quite hilarious to think something so inconsequential would worry someone, if it didn't reflect just how backward their priorities are. which is why this place is a mess.
    the angelus? lol all of rte should be scrapped.

yeah they all went for the craic. a lifestyle choice. you sound like one of our pathetically out of touch politicians. I'm guessing you don't know many nurses or teachers.

you sound like the old miserable alco at the corner of the bar who wrecks everyones head talking utter shyte with your 'even the gardai stood at attention', what are you on about at all

omg the angelus nearly got scrapped? it would be quite hilarious to think something so inconsequential would worry someone, if it didn't reflect just how backward their priorities are. which is why this place is a mess.
    the angelus? lol all of rte should be scrapped.

yeah they all went for the craic. a lifestyle choice. you sound like one of our pathetically out of touch politicians. I'm guessing you don't know many nurses or teachers.

you sound like the old miserable alco at the corner of the bar who wrecks everyones head talking utter shyte with your 'even the gardai stood at attention', what are you on about at all

That post was hilarious lol
    I know loads of young fellas and girls who were already working here in their beautiful Country of Ireland who just decided to emigrate. FACT FACT FACT.
    Scrap Rté are you crazy!?
    And yes Gardaí stood to attention, and if I hazard a memory, they may also have saluted!? I stand to be corrected on that.

Easter Sunday's a few weeks away yet Sam. Calm down. You're getting all worked up. You'll blow your load too soon.

endacl wrote: »
    Easter Sunday's a few weeks away yet Sam. Calm down. You're getting all worked up. You'll blow your load too soon.

I'm getting worked up lol
    It's yir man above you need to worry about. He'd sink Ireland if he found the plug lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Sinn Fein = The Abortion Party

They are as divisive down here as they are in the 6 counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Which Wolfe Tones? The Real Wolfe Tones? The Continuity Wolfe Tones?

I can't believe it's not the Wolfe Tones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Never understand why people are proud of something they have no control over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

You mis- spelled 'Gay' in your thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

sligojoek wrote: »
    I can't believe it's not the Wolfe Tones.

It's the 32 county Wolfe Tones .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I'd say the hangover you're going to have when you eventually wake up will be murderous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,947 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Probably all still available on cassette tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,973 ✭✭✭pgj2015

This has to be the least funny and most depressing thread I have ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

They get very excited about it, don't they. They'll sit in their pub of choice on easter sunday, watching premier league football for most of the day and they'll spend the rest of the day telling fibs about their grandfather who fought at the GPO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

I thought this thread was going to be about the Grand Slam winning rugby team. Bugger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's OK to be Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Sidebaro

National pride is just a gateway drug to racism!!!

I'd say the hangover you're going to have when you eventually wake up will be murderous.

I'd say the last time I had a hangover was over a year ago, I was abroad and kinda had to have a few... See I don't drink really and definitely never over indulge hahaha
    I was just sharing that memory, I had kinda forgotten how much of a huge story it was around the World,, how brutal and savage it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Of course you have control over it.you are irish,there's no changing that but you have control over what it means to be irish.

I had kinda forgotten how much of a huge story it was around the World,, how brutal and savage it was.

It wasn't a big story in the real world. Probably was a big story on planet irish republican but it was just just another ira terrorist tale for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,796 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I'd say the last time I had a hangover was over a year ago, I was abroad and kinda had to have a few... See I don't drink really and definitely never over indulge hahaha
    I was just sharing that memory, I had kinda forgotten how much of a huge story it was around the World,, how brutal and savage it was.

Hardly a huge story around the world. A couple of terrorists found out they couldn't handle big boy rules.

Berserker wrote: »
    It wasn't a big story in the real world. Probably was a big story on planet irish republican but it was just just another ira terrorist tale for the rest of us.

It was a massive story around the World, especially Ireland and the USA of course.

Yeah, the strip in Vegas and Times square ground to a halt over it. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

That one to the tune of She'll Be Coming Round The Mountain is good. But I suppose that's cheating.

Go on home British soldiers
    Go on home
    Have ye got no fcukin homes of your own?!

Pure poetry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Exactly,Nationalism make you take pride in stuff you haven't done and hate people you've never met.

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

I don't get why some get so worked up about the Gibraltar 3, there were plenty of injustices by the British against the Irish people but some terrorists/freedom fighters (take your pick) going on a military mission to kill soldiers getting killed by soldiers dosent strike me as all that terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

My understanding of the Gibraltar 3 is that they were incompetent. Their identities were known, they were followed, their plan was known and they were taken down quite easily. Basically their entire operation was compromised from the start. Why would anyone celebrate such a complete failure and be proud of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,947 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

milehip wrote: »
    Exactly,Nationalism make you take pride in stuff you haven't done and hate people you've never met.

A patriot loves his country, a nationalist hates everyone else's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,654 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

A patriot loves his country, a nationalist hates everyone else's.

Is that "love" rational?

Grayson wrote: »
    Is that "love" rational?

is any "love" rational?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You should leave so.

BTWI agree with most of what you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

You're proud to be Irish. Nothing wrong with that. But to illustrate your pride you have chosen a clip that reflects credit on neither side.

And it behoves some posters here to acknowledge that the evidence overwhelmingly suggests that the Gibraltar Three could have been taken alive, and that the coverage by the scummier sections of the British media was egregious, especially the treatment of Carmen Proetta. The silly argument here as to whether this was a world story is utterly irrelevant,

Having said that, you, Mr Quenton should acknowledge that the clear intent of the three was worse than what was done to them. Your other posts suggest that you equate Irish with Catholic, giving you something in common with ISIS. Nothing wrong with being Catholic per se, but it's a wonder you have never informed yourself on your church's concept of what constitutes a just war. Because the IRA 's "armed struggle" in Northern Ireland fails that test by a mile.

My religious faith and my pride are not up for discussion. There's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish and there's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish catholic. The fight for Irish freedom by Irish Catholics is just one that comes to mind..
    I'm actually buzzing today at the news that the Popes visit to Ireland has been confirmed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Most people grow out of this nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

My religious faith and my pride are not up for discussion. There's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish and there's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish catholic. The fight for Irish freedom by Irish Catholics is just one that comes to mind..
    I'm actually buzzing today at the news that the Popes visit to Ireland has been confirmed..

What about the prods that fought for Irish freedom?

what about the fight for irish freedom by irish protestants?

I'm specifically talking about MY religion and MY pride at being Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

I'm specifically taking about MY religion and MY pride at being Irish.

And you are running away from the main issues:

1. that your vision of Irishness is sectarian,

and

2. That you cannot square your support for an illegal terrorist organisation with your much-proclaimed allegiance to Catholicism.

You want to deliver a sermon from the pulpit while denying people a right of reply. No Sir. You are not living in the 1950s now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,521 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I have to say that the actions of the Gibraltar 3 and some of their comrades make me ashamed to be Irish.

Imagine setting out to plant bombs to kill people. Disgusting.

Now, don't get me wrong, their shooting was unlawful and shouldn't have happened, but that is a matter for the British people to be ashamed of.

Celebrating the Gibraltar Three and giving them as a reason to be proud to be Irish is just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Your supposed to carry out the terrorist attack and then get shot dead....terrorist fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Just to clarify

which bit is it that makes you proud to be Irish?

The bit where a handful of people went to a different country with the specific intent to kill other people?

Or the bit where they failed to do so?

Or the bit where they were killed for trying and failing?

Or the bit about the reaction?

Seems very little to be proud of there to me to be honest

I'm specifically talking about MY religion and MY pride at being Irish.
    Your religion frowns upon your sin of pride.
    https://catholicexchange.com/right-wrong-deadly-sin-pride
    https://www.catholic.org/lent/story.php?id=33034
    https://www.catholicculture.org/culture/library/dictionary/index.cfm?id=35765

This may be helpful. Some sage advice on overcoming the 'mother of all root sins':
    https://www.spiritualdirection.com/2010/12/30/how-can-i-overcome-the-root-sin-of-pride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

This post and it's inbred fcuktardedness highlights many of the most embarrassing and regretful things about our great little country....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,482 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

So in summary three IRA lads out on operations in Gibraltar get shot by the British special forces = operation was a failure

So why are they celebrated they failed they did not even inspire the county like the 'glorious failure' of 1916

In soccer parlance it could not even be classed as a 1970's Irish football 'moral victory'.

What did they win a United Ireland? = No

A cuddly toy even? = No

Surely a bit of shamrock? = no

It is just another long list of military c*ck ups where the British forces defeat the brave losing Irish.

Worse still the plonkers up there in stormont are sitting on thier @rses when they have the chance of power, pretending it is about an Irish language act.

Yeah makes me real proud.... :rolleyes:

Sinn Fein could really banjax T.May's government by getting rid of thier ridiculous, pointless, abstentionist policy.

But they don't /won't makes me real proud.... :rolleyes:

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Out of interest, what makes you proud to be a catholic? I found it a very limiting and restrictive experience to be honest.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.