Irish and Proud.

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

I don't get why some get so worked up about the Gibraltar 3, there were plenty of injustices by the British against the Irish people but some terrorists/freedom fighters (take your pick) going on a military mission to kill soldiers getting killed by soldiers dosent strike me as all that terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

My understanding of the Gibraltar 3 is that they were incompetent. Their identities were known, they were followed, their plan was known and they were taken down quite easily. Basically their entire operation was compromised from the start. Why would anyone celebrate such a complete failure and be proud of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

milehip wrote: »
    Exactly,Nationalism make you take pride in stuff you haven't done and hate people you've never met.

A patriot loves his country, a nationalist hates everyone else's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

A patriot loves his country, a nationalist hates everyone else's.

Is that "love" rational?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Grayson wrote: »
    Is that "love" rational?

is any "love" rational?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

naw, cuz most of em are either in Oz, Canada, US or the UK or are working on getting out of here because this country of supposedly brave people let crooked politicians and bankers destroy their future and that's nothing to be proud of. neither is our crumbling health service, our housing crisis, our corrupt to the core garda siochana, or our worship of alcohol. i guess we can be proud of the rugby team if you overlook its connections to a current criminal court case in the north, which I absolutely do not.

i love irish history but we're not living in the past. leo varadkar cancelling wind farms like Trump's lapdog, he's hardly Michael fuppin Collins is he? cop on, this place is a joke.

You should leave so.

BTWI agree with most of what you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

Does any of the young ones know why we'r all so proud to be Irish!?
    You wont learn any of this on facebook kids.
    Anyway just sharing a memory.

You're proud to be Irish. Nothing wrong with that. But to illustrate your pride you have chosen a clip that reflects credit on neither side.

And it behoves some posters here to acknowledge that the evidence overwhelmingly suggests that the Gibraltar Three could have been taken alive, and that the coverage by the scummier sections of the British media was egregious, especially the treatment of Carmen Proetta. The silly argument here as to whether this was a world story is utterly irrelevant,

Having said that, you, Mr Quenton should acknowledge that the clear intent of the three was worse than what was done to them. Your other posts suggest that you equate Irish with Catholic, giving you something in common with ISIS. Nothing wrong with being Catholic per se, but it's a wonder you have never informed yourself on your church's concept of what constitutes a just war. Because the IRA 's "armed struggle" in Northern Ireland fails that test by a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

My religious faith and my pride are not up for discussion. There's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish and there's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish catholic. The fight for Irish freedom by Irish Catholics is just one that comes to mind..
    I'm actually buzzing today at the news that the Popes visit to Ireland has been confirmed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Most people grow out of this nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

My religious faith and my pride are not up for discussion. There's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish and there's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish catholic. The fight for Irish freedom by Irish Catholics is just one that comes to mind..
    I'm actually buzzing today at the news that the Popes visit to Ireland has been confirmed..

What about the prods that fought for Irish freedom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

what about the fight for irish freedom by irish protestants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I'm specifically talking about MY religion and MY pride at being Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

I'm specifically taking about MY religion and MY pride at being Irish.

And you are running away from the main issues:

1. that your vision of Irishness is sectarian,

and

2. That you cannot square your support for an illegal terrorist organisation with your much-proclaimed allegiance to Catholicism.

You want to deliver a sermon from the pulpit while denying people a right of reply. No Sir. You are not living in the 1950s now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I have to say that the actions of the Gibraltar 3 and some of their comrades make me ashamed to be Irish.

Imagine setting out to plant bombs to kill people. Disgusting.

Now, don't get me wrong, their shooting was unlawful and shouldn't have happened, but that is a matter for the British people to be ashamed of.

Celebrating the Gibraltar Three and giving them as a reason to be proud to be Irish is just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Your supposed to carry out the terrorist attack and then get shot dead....terrorist fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Just to clarify

which bit is it that makes you proud to be Irish?

The bit where a handful of people went to a different country with the specific intent to kill other people?

Or the bit where they failed to do so?

Or the bit where they were killed for trying and failing?

Or the bit about the reaction?

Seems very little to be proud of there to me to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'm specifically talking about MY religion and MY pride at being Irish.
    Your religion frowns upon your sin of pride.
    https://catholicexchange.com/right-wrong-deadly-sin-pride
    https://www.catholic.org/lent/story.php?id=33034
    https://www.catholicculture.org/culture/library/dictionary/index.cfm?id=35765

This may be helpful. Some sage advice on overcoming the 'mother of all root sins':
    https://www.spiritualdirection.com/2010/12/30/how-can-i-overcome-the-root-sin-of-pride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭irishgrover

This post and it's inbred fcuktardedness highlights many of the most embarrassing and regretful things about our great little country....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

So in summary three IRA lads out on operations in Gibraltar get shot by the British special forces = operation was a failure

So why are they celebrated they failed they did not even inspire the county like the 'glorious failure' of 1916

In soccer parlance it could not even be classed as a 1970's Irish football 'moral victory'.

What did they win a United Ireland? = No

A cuddly toy even? = No

Surely a bit of shamrock? = no

It is just another long list of military c*ck ups where the British forces defeat the brave losing Irish.

Worse still the plonkers up there in stormont are sitting on thier @rses when they have the chance of power, pretending it is about an Irish language act.

Yeah makes me real proud.... :rolleyes:

Sinn Fein could really banjax T.May's government by getting rid of thier ridiculous, pointless, abstentionist policy.

But they don't /won't makes me real proud.... :rolleyes:

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Out of interest, what makes you proud to be a catholic? I found it a very limiting and restrictive experience to be honest.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Out of interest, what makes you proud to be a catholic? I found it a very limiting and restrictive experience to be honest.

This is one of the few times I have ever agreed with you on boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Aside from the fact that the Catholic Church is pretty much the most corrupt organisation in the entire history of our species. But I digress.

Pride? Irish? Cannot say those two words have ever entered the same continuity of existence at the same time if I'm being honest. Being Irish is just circumstantial. Don't really see how one can be proud of something circumstantial. Proud of myself as a person, but Irish? There's no logic in that for me. But that's just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Twoud be a great little country if we could only roof it.

Wait a minute I recognise that from something... Isn't that from one of D'Unbelievables sketches? Or just a general saying, most likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

jaxxx wrote: »
    Pride? Irish? Cannot say those two words have ever entered the same continuity of existence at the same time if I'm being honest.

You are going to **** yourself next time you are in the bakery section of the supermarket

Haha nice... Copped on to that immediately I did! You sly fox :p

jaxxx wrote: »
    Aside from the fact that the Catholic Church is pretty much the most corrupt organisation in the entire history of our species. But I digress.

Pride? Irish? Cannot say those two words have ever entered the same continuity of existence at the same time if I'm being honest. Being Irish is just circumstantial. Don't really see how one can be proud of something circumstantial. Proud of myself as a person, but Irish? There's no logic in that for me. But that's just me.

Depends on the bread you eat
    irish-pride-big-toast-800-large.jpg

I am still unsure whether this thread is a skit or not.
    Proud to be Irish fair enough.
    Bur proud to be Irish for reasons the OP has given that is very confused celebrating a failed half @rsed mission to kill civilians....foiled by British special forces I don't get it.

Any gobsh*te can get shot.
    If they succeeded in killing British Royalty or military personnel in a well planned scheme and lived to tell the tale then I might see the argument.

But to equate Irish pride to fellas that failed in a mission to kill civilians, and got killed by the other side is a sick joke.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Given that there's no obvious connection between the OP and the thread title I can only conclude that this is more clickbait sh*te. We really need to put a stop to this in AH.

damn got there before me spend too long deciding which bread I like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07