Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users Posts: 12,601 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Yeah Marlet bought it, Apollo house, and Hawkins House, building a big office block and an 'entertainment' venue to replace the Screen cinema too.

Think that entertainment venue is being challenged by Savoy group who sold the Screen on the condition it did not become a cinema.

His timeline this season has been:

1. Arrives at OTAs in a helicopter
    2. Throws a fit and storms out of OTAs because of his helmet being banned under the new regulations, tries to paint it to look the same as the legal ones but gets caught and once again goes ballistic.
    3. After the summer break, misses the start of training camp due to having frostbite from cryotherapy.
    4. Season opener rolls around, but he gets suspended for fighting with the GM and threatening to punch him in the face.
    5. Suspension gets rolled back, but Brown then posts a video of Gruden his coach calling him asking to stop the drama and just play football on social media.
    6. Brown then posts on Instagram saying "Release me", which the raiders do and he forfeits $30M in guaranteed money.
    7. Patriots swoop in and sign him as a free agent.

It's genuinely one of the craziest stories in NFL history, and to think he was on the same team as Richie Incognito and made him look like a sane person in comparison.

Antonio Brown now accused of rape. crazy time for him indeed.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

The Bernard Shaw is closing next month. It'll be sorely missed I reckon, awful shame to see places like that, The Longstone, Howl at the Moon, even Andrew's Lane closing down and being replaced by hotels and Wetherspoons.
    The Bernard Shaw is tolerable, the others were absolute dumps.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,407 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I really liked the Long Stone but if it’s removal is the price to pay for that block being redeveloped it it a price well, well worth paying.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I really liked the Long Stone but if it’s removal is the price to pay for that block being redeveloped it it a price well, well worth paying.

Mulligans is around the corner and a bazillionty times better. Bazillionty.

Neil3030 wrote: »
    I must say I like McWilliams's (I think) idea - move Dublin Port to Louth and redevelop Dublin Port as mostly residential property.

It’s unnecessary. There is absolutely piles of unused or underused space inside the M50. The money this would cost - which would be a ****load - could be better spent elsewhere (like metro and bus connects which will do more for people). Dublin doesn’t need big sky thinking projects it needs what we have to work properly. Mind you at least building on the port wouldn’t have hundreds of well located and well off people wanting to **** everything up for everyone else.

dregin wrote: »
    Mulligans is around the corner and a bazillionty times better. Bazillionty.

I should probably clarify I’ve not been in the Long Stone in maybe 8 or 9 years :D I likely wouldn’t end up anywhere in that region nowadays.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,605 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

It’s unnecessary. There is absolutely piles of unused or underused space inside the M50. The money this would cost - which would be a ****load - could be better spent elsewhere (like metro and bus connects which will do more for people). Dublin doesn’t need big sky thinking projects it needs what we have to work properly. Mind you at least building on the port wouldn’t have hundreds of well located and well off people wanting to **** everything up for everyone else.

I agree, I don't think building residential in the city centre is the right plan, the ideal thing would be larger scale developments in the greater Dublin area but with decent transport links to town, not just a one or two bus routes that run every half an hour and the route itself takes about an hour or longer with traffic. And not just 3/4 bed semi ds, have a mix of apartments and semi ds.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

I agree, I don't think building residential in the city centre is the right plan, the ideal thing would be larger scale developments in the greater Dublin area but with decent transport links to town, not just a one or two bus routes that run every half an hour and the route itself takes about an hour or longer with traffic. And not just 3/4 bed semi ds, have a mix of apartments and semi ds.
    I think it is. Yes transport links are needed for that but the solution cant always be to have people living further away from city centre.
    We should be getting more use of space within the city centre

• Registered Users Posts: 5,961 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Say a prayer lads. My life is over. I'm getting hitched in a few hours.

F

Yeah_Right wrote: »

Congrats! Have a great day and remember it's tradition to get drunk and start a fist fight with the father in law. They'll be offended if you don't.

feckin kiwi's comin over here takin our wimens, luke fitz will hear of this

• Subscribers Posts: 41,045 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

One of us! One of us!!

Congrats!! YR, hope the two of ye have a great day.... Seisun mor

• Registered Users Posts: 17,000 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Good man YR. Wish you all the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

*Inhales deeply*

Bwwaaahhhhhh hhhaaaaa

Only kidding YR. Best of luck. Enjoy the day that's in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Commiserations... I mean congratulations

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭kuang1

I think when you're asked "do you take this woman" you should use your username as your answer.

So we force young people - no families, no pressing need for space, gardens etc., flexible in terms of taking short term leases, and who primarily work and socialise in town, to live in the suburbs and add to the congestion commuting into town.... because.... ?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Congrats YR. Hope the heads okay today and you enjoyed the day.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Hope the heads okay today

Well he's married now so there won't be any more of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Well he's married now so there won't be any more of that.

I was only thinking that you had cleaned up your act a fair bit. Welcome back pal, we missed you down here in the gutter.

So we force young people - no families, no pressing need for space, gardens etc., flexible in terms of taking short term leases, and who primarily work and socialise in town, to live in the suburbs and add to the congestion commuting into town.... because.... ?

There is absolutely piles of empty or under-utilised space in Dublin as things stand. Half of O’Connell street is empty! It would be an insane misuse of funds. We don’t need big projects - we need better use of current space and better public transport.

I agree with you on there being terrible use of current structures. But I disagree strongly with residential in the city being the wrong idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

The top of O'Connell St is an absolute joke.

Whoever owns those buildings that are derelict need to be fined annually. It's ****ing ridiculous.

The top of O'Connell St is an absolute joke.

Whoever owns those buildings that are derelict need to be fined annually. It's ****ing ridiculous.

It's a terrible investment strategy too.

Property only outperforms the stock market (in the long run) if you can acquire a rental yield of around 5%. So even if you consider they are saving the 1-2% annual maintenance costs of renting, they are still losing money.

I agree with you on there being terrible use of current structures. But I disagree strongly with residential in the city being the wrong idea.

Yeah that’s fine. I don’t agree with that either. Geneva centre is full of apartments and it works perfectly. People looking for bigger places or gardens move out of town. Dublin is getting slightly better but more and bigger _decent_ apartment blocks are needed. There is no need to displace the port for it though - it would be an insanely expensive way to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

It's a terrible investment strategy too.

Property only outperforms the stock market (in the long run) if you can acquire a rental yield of around 5%. So even if you consider they are saving the 1-2% annual maintenance costs of renting, they are still losing money.

Limerick has had similar issues. Opposite the Hunt Museum has been derelict for a decade. Finally it looks like UL will be the ones to knock them and rebuild.

They have renewed planning permission for the top of O’Connell street don’t they? Or are submitting new plans or something. The sooner the bloody better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Congratulations Yeah_Right.

I'll just leave this here

490439.jpeg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Synode wrote: »
    Congratulations Yeah_Right.

I'll just leave this here

490439.jpeg
    Heehee just showed this to the oh