Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

White Moose Man v "Social Influencer"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Reading through the rte website there was an article about someone getting an rte player comedy show and apparently she is well known for doing spot on impressions (rte's words not mine [sounds better in an Alan Partridge voice]) of well known bloggers and snap chat stars.
    Why, god. Why

• Registered Users Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭TheDavester

Noveight wrote: »
    Yep, circle the wagons type stuff. Amazing how the same people who'd probably spew all sorts about #EndBullying (or similar) for the sake of looking virtuous can become so vicious and scathing when someone fires a few relatively harmless shots at them.
    jesus looking at the youtube comments (I really shouldn't have) defending her and "sending posititve vibes" ....for what being called out on her chancing her arm for a freebie

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8zElbN2_hg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Ipso wrote: »
    Reading through the rte website there was an article about someone getting an rte player comedy show and apparently she is well known for doing spot on impressions (rte's words not mine [sounds better in an Alan Partridge voice]) of well known bloggers and snap chat stars.
    Why, god. Why

I couldn't name one well known Snapchat star, nor blogger for that matter.

I can see the ar$e falling out of the whole thing in a couple of years now that I think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I once spammed the White Moose Cafe FB page with porn, gore and Muhammad photos.

Al?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

What is your wan "famous" for blogging? Does she have a specialist subject, or just a general blog about random stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

correct, it doesn't really work (if making a living is what your after). I won a case of beer on Twitter one night :) You wont make much money by trying to be an influencer. In fact you will only damage your reputation and piss people off.

There’s a American vlog I subscribe to. A beauty vlogger. I have no interest in beauty products, I subscribe because she’s funny and engaging. She’s a nice lady with a full time business completely removed from the vlogging stuff. She just does it for fun. She did a vlog a while back about transparency in blogging and she said she makes about $200 dollars a month from it. So, nice pocket money but you won’t live off it. She has about half the followers of the vlogger referenced in the OP.

I couldn't name one well known Snapchat star, nor blogger for that matter.

I can see the ar$e falling out of the whole thing in a couple of years now that I think of it.

Yeah, the more people that do it, the smaller the slice of pie.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Social media influencers are so awful that I momentarily think - Jesus, maybe we didn't deserve the vote.

Way to go ladies.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Ipso wrote: »
    Why, god. Why

Two things in that post I can't get my head around. Firstly that theres such a thing as snapchat "stars". Who TF are these people? Secondly that someone feels that these people are famous enough to do impressions of :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,274 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

What is it with the tear ducts in her eyes (don't know the medical term but the tear ducts bit) they're really red and when she looks sideways they are massive - think she got more than her fair share of lizard DNA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Two things in that post I can't get my head around. Firstly that theres such a thing as snapchat "stars". Who TF are these people? Secondly that someone feels that these people are famous enough to do impressions of :confused:

I know. I feel like letting the barbarians through the gates.

Social media influencers are so awful that I momentarily think - Jesus, maybe we didn't deserve the vote.

Way to go ladies.

Ah gawd, no. There’s in reality only a handful of these numpties. :) I don’t feel sullied as a woman by their existence.

Someone in the comments on FB made a great point that these people begin to overestimate their influence. There’s a huge difference between someone offering you freebies to advertise and going to businesses panhandling for swag. In the former situation, the business has identified you as someone it would be worth giving free stuff to.

_Dara_ wrote:
    Ah gawd, no. There’s in reality only a handful of these numpties. I don’t feel sullied as a woman by their existence.

I don't know... this nonsense has its own forum. Some one is is clearly into it.

So let them. It says nothing about you as a woman and an individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

social media influencing is a fad, it will soon die out on a local scale anyway.

_Dara_ wrote:
    So let them. It says nothing about you as a woman and an individual.

Still, I'm like, totally morto.

social media influencing is a fad, it will soon die out on a local scale anyway.

I can’t see it getting much bigger. There’s only so many freebies available for companies to give away and only so much money in the advertising budgets of companies to pay bloggers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

So, anyone know what she blogs about????

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I always preferred this as a way to deal with internet reviewers:

• Registered Users Posts: 27 StolenKrone

The brains behind this dumpster fire of a business is as conceited as he is arrogant. Look forward to reading of its inevitable liquidation

In her response video, she keeps going on about being only 22. So? What has that got to do with anything? At 22, some people are trained doctors or are starting out in challenging graduate roles or have been working as tradesmen for a few years. It’s not that young. She comments that some of her detractors are 30+ like as if that is ancient. So lacking in self-awareness.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭TheDavester

fritzelly wrote: »
    What is it with the tear ducts in her eyes (don't know the medical term but the tear ducts bit) they're really red and when she looks sideways they are massive - think she got more than her fair share of lizard DNA

from the youtube comments, a follower said to correct a lazy eye

• Registered Users Posts: 22,235 ✭✭✭✭endacl

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    So, anyone know what she blogs about????
    Same as the rest of them, no doubt.

Herself?

Obi Wan Kenobi: Who’s more foolish, the fool or the fool who follows him?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I don't think she understands how the power of social influence works. Power is when a business comes to you looking to get you to provide exposure, as opposed to you being the equivalent of the local free newspaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Her response is insane. Zero self awareness.

“DON’T CRUSH MAH DREAMS!”

To what? Beg for free stuff? Mamma’s proud!

Also, her talking about 30 and 40 somethings like they have no idea what the internet is and have booked in for their combined hip replacement and facelift operation.

And how does she expect to be taken seriously when she infantilises herself when she’s a grown woman. The letter she sent to yer man was unprofessional too, a blatant copy and paste job that offered no hard numbers in support of her request, only a vague comment about Universal Florida.

This influencer malarkey is a tawdry affair.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,156 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

‘The sooner Social Media Blogger gets recognised as a real job the better’

Half pissed myself watching that; half worried about the future of the human race.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,851 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

mzungu wrote: »
    It's hard to tell, but it's been going a few years so the business must be in some way successful. I have no idea whether it's his social media profile, or the quality of his establishment, that keeps the tills ringing.

I guess he's a bit like a budget version Michael O'Leary!

Thats a complete insult to O'Leary

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

The brains behind this dumpster fire of a business is as conceited as he is arrogant. Look forward to reading of its inevitable liquidation

Well he has you on here posting about him so I’d say he’s doing something right. I’m not a fan of all of his stunts but they seem to work.. Not cool to wish liquidation on anyone btw..

She’s just a complete spanner but then so is anyone who considers themselves a social media influencer in my view. I honestly believe this addiction to social media is a mental health timebomb.

“This is real life”

Eh, no it’s not.