Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

White Moose Man v "Social Influencer"...

• 17-01-2018 11:15pm

...so the owner of the White Moose Cafe has taken on a self styled social influencer looking for freebies, and pretty much destroyed her.

Now I'm not a fan of all of his stunts, but think he certainly won this battle...though it doesn't look like he was up against much.

http://www.dailyedge.ie/white-moose-cafe-3801787-Jan2018/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Did you know that Whitney Houston's debut LP
    called simply Whitney Houston had four number-one singles
    on it? Did you know that? Whitney's voice leaps
    across so many boundaries and is so versatile-though she's
    mainly a jazz singer-that it's hard to take in the album
    on a first listening.

It's hard to choose a favorite track
    among so many great ones, but "The Greatest Love of All"
    is one of the best, most powerful songs ever written about
    self-preservation and dignity. It's universal message
    crosses all boundaries, and instills one with the hope
    that it's not too late to better ourselves, to act kinder.
    Since, Elizabeth, it's impossible in the world we live in
    to empathize with others, we can always empathize with
    ourselves.

It's an important message, crucial, really, and it's
    beautifully stated on the album.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

There's that word "influencer" again.

Who coined the term and why is it used in relation to these social media addicts?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

He's as bad as any of them, a self absorbed, arrogant, little bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I’d be so embarrassed to say that my job title was ‘Social Influencer’. Gussied up panhandling is all it is.

That White Moose guy has an overinflated opinion of himself and his influence though and relies heavily on social media and content-harvesting sites for publicity too.

There’s a pair of them in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭justfillmein

I think that is hilarious:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Did you know that Whitney Houston's debut LP
    called simply Whitney Houston had four number-one singles
    on it? Did you know that? Whitney's voice leaps
    across so many boundaries and is so versatile-though she's
    mainly a jazz singer-that it's hard to take in the album
    on a first listening.

It's hard to choose a favorite track
    among so many great ones, but "The Greatest Love of All"
    is one of the best, most powerful songs ever written about
    self-preservation and dignity. It's universal message
    crosses all boundaries, and instills one with the hope
    that it's not too late to better ourselves, to act kinder.
    Since, Elizabeth, it's impossible in the world we live in
    to empathize with others, we can always empathize with
    ourselves.

It's an important message, crucial, really, and it's
    beautifully stated on the album.

Your floor is covered in newspaper and you're wearing oilskins right now aren't you?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Some free advertising for the White Moose. Your man knows what he's doing anyway, his business model seems to be working so far. That said, both come across as numpties.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

mzungu wrote: »
    Some free advertising for the White Moose. Your man knows what he's doing anyway, his business model seems to be working so far. That said, both come across as numpties.
    I wonder how well it's really working considering he needs to whip up a new outrage storm every year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,947 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Thought this was pretty funny, managed about 3 mins of her comeback on youtube but the devastation was just too much for me to handle

87k subscribers - 86,999 who will likely never ever go to his place (tho she probably she just copied/pasted that text from youtube and thought it meant something) and the anyone over 30 doesn't get social media was hilarious

Self absorbed freeloader who thinks its a business talking BS to her 'friends' online

Take this guy
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRxenHv0oPs

A channel for people who spend real money not ones oohing and ahhing over what colour lippy to get in Dealz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Whatever the general opinion about him, yer wan seems like a complete spa and got what she deserved.

mzungu wrote: »
    I wonder how well it's really working considering he needs to whip up a new outrage storm every year..

I’d wonder that too. Quality hotels work on getting repeat business. Charleville Lodge has mediocre ratings so I’m guessing that’s not something he works towards. So naturally, with a mediocre product, he needs to find new marks.

And who’d complain about an issue when staying in that hotel? You’d worry that he would festoon it all over social media whilst possibly making comments about your appearance. (that’s happened)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

I'm finding the whole thing very amusing, the blogger is a complete freeloader...god forbid she has to pay for something:eek::eek::eek::eek:

_Dara_ wrote: »
    I’d wonder that too. Quality hotels work on getting repeat business. Charleville Lodge has mediocre ratings so I’m guessing that’s not something he works towards. So naturally, with a mediocre product, he needs to find new marks.

And who’d complain about an issue when staying in that hotel? You’d worry that he would festoon it all over social media whilst possibly making comments about your appearance. (that’s happened)

I think it helps him that your hotel would nearly need to be literally on fire to not be pretty well booked out the way the hotel industry is in Dublin city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Luis Tender Seam

Is the term Social influencer the new PC word for Unemployed

This is interesting:

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/entertainment/banter/trending/irish-michelin-star-restaurants-damning-response-when-yet-another-reviewer-asks-for-free-meal-36155715.html

Someone chancing their arm trying to get a free meal at a Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland, Campagne. The head chef says it happens up to ten times a year. The brass balls on some people. :eek:

benjamin d wrote: »
    I think it helps him that your hotel would nearly need to be literally on fire to not be pretty well booked out the way the hotel industry is in Dublin city.

In which case, he shouldn’t need to pull those stunts.

By which I mean he probably slaps himself on the back as a marketing genius whereas in reality his hotel is busy because every hotel is flat out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Had a gander at her YouTube videos, not surprised to see that she's an absolute wreck the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

By which I mean he probably slaps himself on the back as a marketing genius whereas in reality his hotel is busy because every hotel is flat out

maybe there is collusion! No such thing as bad publicity

A guy my hub works with is trying to become a social influencer. He models menswear on his Instagram. An okay looking chap but nothing special. Let’s say his name is David Murphy. His instagram handle is officialdavidmurphy. So naturally that’s what everyone calls him in the workplace now. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Social infuencer. *puke*

Ah, gotcha.

Quite a few people were talking about this exact scenario on twitter today! I wouldn't be a bit surprised. She's gained lots of new idiot followers and he keeps his persona going. Win win.

such a fake existence we have descended into. And when I say 'we', I mean the Western world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Those repugnant leeches in lovindublin try and pull the same trick. Free food and drinks in return for a favourable write up.

looking at the facebook page of the White moose, its only the blogger community defending her and the rest of the normal joes/josephines are agreeing with him for going after these freeloading twerps

This is a distinct possibility. Makes me squirm thinking about it. People are selling their souls and outside of freebies, it’s not hugely lucrative based on a few... *struggles to type the words* ... social media influencers who have been frank about the actual money they make aside from swag.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

It's hard to tell, but it's been going a few years so the business must be in some way successful. I have no idea whether it's his social media profile, or the quality of his establishment, that keeps the tills ringing.

I guess he's a bit like a budget version Michael O'Leary!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

looking at the facebook page of the White moose, its only the blogger community defending her and the rest of the normal joes/josephines are agreeing with him for going after these freeloading twerps

Yep, circle the wagons type stuff. Amazing how the same people who'd probably spew all sorts about #EndBullying (or similar) for the sake of looking virtuous can become so vicious and scathing when someone fires a few relatively harmless shots at them.

This is a distinct possibility. Makes me squirm thinking about it. People are selling their souls and outside of freebies, it’s not hugely lucrative based on a few... *struggles to type the words* ... social media influencers who have been frank about the actual money they make aside from swag.

correct, it doesn't really work (if making a living is what your after). I won a case of beer on Twitter one night :) You wont make much money by trying to be an influencer. In fact you will only damage your reputation and piss people off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Reading through the rte website there was an article about someone getting an rte player comedy show and apparently she is well known for doing spot on impressions (rte's words not mine [sounds better in an Alan Partridge voice]) of well known bloggers and snap chat stars.
    Why, god. Why

Noveight wrote: »
    Yep, circle the wagons type stuff. Amazing how the same people who'd probably spew all sorts about #EndBullying (or similar) for the sake of looking virtuous can become so vicious and scathing when someone fires a few relatively harmless shots at them.
    jesus looking at the youtube comments (I really shouldn't have) defending her and "sending posititve vibes" ....for what being called out on her chancing her arm for a freebie

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8zElbN2_hg

Ipso wrote: »
    Reading through the rte website there was an article about someone getting an rte player comedy show and apparently she is well known for doing spot on impressions (rte's words not mine [sounds better in an Alan Partridge voice]) of well known bloggers and snap chat stars.
    Why, god. Why

I couldn't name one well known Snapchat star, nor blogger for that matter.

I can see the ar$e falling out of the whole thing in a couple of years now that I think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I once spammed the White Moose Cafe FB page with porn, gore and Muhammad photos.

Al?

What is your wan "famous" for blogging? Does she have a specialist subject, or just a general blog about random stuff

correct, it doesn't really work (if making a living is what your after). I won a case of beer on Twitter one night :) You wont make much money by trying to be an influencer. In fact you will only damage your reputation and piss people off.

There’s a American vlog I subscribe to. A beauty vlogger. I have no interest in beauty products, I subscribe because she’s funny and engaging. She’s a nice lady with a full time business completely removed from the vlogging stuff. She just does it for fun. She did a vlog a while back about transparency in blogging and she said she makes about $200 dollars a month from it. So, nice pocket money but you won’t live off it. She has about half the followers of the vlogger referenced in the OP.

I couldn't name one well known Snapchat star, nor blogger for that matter.

I can see the ar$e falling out of the whole thing in a couple of years now that I think of it.

Yeah, the more people that do it, the smaller the slice of pie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Social media influencers are so awful that I momentarily think - Jesus, maybe we didn't deserve the vote.

Way to go ladies.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Ipso wrote: »
    Why, god. Why

Two things in that post I can't get my head around. Firstly that theres such a thing as snapchat "stars". Who TF are these people? Secondly that someone feels that these people are famous enough to do impressions of :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,947 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

What is it with the tear ducts in her eyes (don't know the medical term but the tear ducts bit) they're really red and when she looks sideways they are massive - think she got more than her fair share of lizard DNA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Two things in that post I can't get my head around. Firstly that theres such a thing as snapchat "stars". Who TF are these people? Secondly that someone feels that these people are famous enough to do impressions of :confused:

I know. I feel like letting the barbarians through the gates.

Social media influencers are so awful that I momentarily think - Jesus, maybe we didn't deserve the vote.

Way to go ladies.

Ah gawd, no. There’s in reality only a handful of these numpties. :) I don’t feel sullied as a woman by their existence.

Someone in the comments on FB made a great point that these people begin to overestimate their influence. There’s a huge difference between someone offering you freebies to advertise and going to businesses panhandling for swag. In the former situation, the business has identified you as someone it would be worth giving free stuff to.

_Dara_ wrote:
    Ah gawd, no. There’s in reality only a handful of these numpties. I don’t feel sullied as a woman by their existence.

I don't know... this nonsense has its own forum. Some one is is clearly into it.

So let them. It says nothing about you as a woman and an individual.

social media influencing is a fad, it will soon die out on a local scale anyway.

_Dara_ wrote:
    So let them. It says nothing about you as a woman and an individual.

Still, I'm like, totally morto.

social media influencing is a fad, it will soon die out on a local scale anyway.

I can’t see it getting much bigger. There’s only so many freebies available for companies to give away and only so much money in the advertising budgets of companies to pay bloggers.

So, anyone know what she blogs about????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I always preferred this as a way to deal with internet reviewers: