Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Czechs go to Ireland, be homeless, get housing.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,373 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Andrew Kelly outside The Irish Centre in Kilburn says that the report has found that three quarters of those coming to London are homeless and come with less than £100 and they end up on the streets, in squats or hostels.

http://www.rte.ie/archives/exhibitions/1030-emigration-once-again/319381-irish-emigrants-in-london/

Its a fascinating to read the country has changed so much for the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Homeless crisis ☑
    Foreigners ☑
    Dole bashing ☑

Anyone got Travellers and Abortion for a full house?

Another quote from the RTE piece

"And so the English welfare system solves problems for the Irish government but how long can it last and how long will the English man on the street put up with it?"

Kivaro wrote: »
    That's the story we're being told and we HAVE to accept it.
    To question it would make us xenophobic/racist/bigoted.

I worked first in hotels,”

He helped write a programme for one of the shop’s customers and was later contacted by Space X, a company designing rockets and spacecraft, with its central projects office in San Antonio, Texas. Its European personnel office is in Cork. “They said the project I did was amazing.”

Tomas is now interning with Space X,

Have you read the article?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/former-homeless-apollo-house-residents-secure-home-1.3355298

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Homeless crisis ☑
    Foreigners ☑
    Dole bashing ☑

Anyone got Travellers and Abortion for a full house?

Thats what I call a Czech-list.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

baylah17 wrote: »
    They would get whatever Czech citizens are entitled to.
    Thems the rules.
    Again fair play to this couple.

The thing is, it looks like they did not follow the rules.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/moving_to_ireland/rights_of_residence_in_ireland/residence_rights_eu_national.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Why the hell are people coming here if they cant support themselves and get a free house in the process its ridiculous it really is.

Mutant z wrote: »
    Why the hell are people coming here if they cant support themselves and get a free house in the process its ridiculous it really is.

Why did Irish people got England in the 1980s with no money and no way of supporting themselves except the British welfare system

enricoh wrote: »
    A computer programmer and a hotel worker can't get a job in Dublin? Are they serious?

Yes, instantly this makes me sit up and take notice that there is more to this story.

These are two very in demand jobs in Dublin right now, especially the programmer. Then again, maybe he calls himself a programmer but actually knows jack ****. Would be nice for the journalist to do some digging to give us some clarity. Then again, that goes against the narrative.

If people were giving out about some socbies who were scamming the system I could have some understanding, but moaning about two working people who had a run of bad luck and are now sorted and working, really!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

markodaly wrote: »
    Yes, instantly this makes me sit up and take notice that there is more to this story.

These are two very in demand jobs in Dublin right now, especially the programmer. Then again, maybe he calls himself a programmer but actually knows jack ****. Would be nice for the journalist to do some digging to give us some clarity. Then again, that goes against the narrative.

To be fair, it did mention he had poor English skills when he first moved here. A lot of businesses will decline people based on that pretty quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Skedaddle

Actually, the UK and Ireland are fairly unique in the EU as they don't have any kind of registration system for people moving here. In most EU countries you have to register, usually within 90 days and prove your a job or you're in education, or self-sufficient.

Because neither Ireland nor the UK have ever had the notion of formally registering their own citizens when they move, they don't apply any different rules to EU citizens, so until they appear in the tax or welfare system we have no formal way or recognising they're here at all.

If you move cities in say France or Belgium, you must register with the town hall and make your presence known. That applies whether you're French, Irish, Dutch, Romanian, British, German or any other nationality.

Ireland and the UK are actually rather uniquely probably the absolute model of EU freedom of movement, despite not being in Schengen. The two countries absolutely wholeheartedly embraced the idea that people could move in without fuss or bureaucracy. The same is not true across the 26 other members. You are usually expected to register and provided all sorts of proof of what you're up to.

A lot of the things the Brexiteers complain about were never actually required of them in the first place.

is now interning with Space X, which is paying for him to complete a postgraduate degree with the University of Masaryk, in the Czech Republic. He sits the final exams in Trinity College in June.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/former-homeless-apollo-house-residents-secure-home-1.3355298

• Registered Users Posts: 23,455 ✭✭✭✭zell12

mariaalice wrote: »
    Why did Irish people got England in the 1980s with no money and no way of supporting themselves except the British welfare system
    Because of the Ireland-UK common travel area. Different rules apply
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/moving_to_ireland/rights_of_residence_in_ireland/residence_rules_UK_citizens.html

Sonics2k wrote: »
    To be fair, it did mention he had poor English skills when he first moved here. A lot of businesses will decline people based on that pretty quickly.

You don't think that if someone was moving to another country on a permanent basis that they wouldn't start learning the language before hand?

Come on. From reading the article, they just come off as idiots. Either they are really stupid to have done it the way they did or there is another story here.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,885 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

The wife has worked in hotels

BTW they didn't "get a house"
    Just before Christmas the couple moved into a small flat comprising one room, off which is a small galley kitchen. A tiny shower room is off the kitchen. It is €1,300 a month and they get the housing assistance payment (HAP).

so to the people who asked earlier - yes you can stop paying your mortgage, have house repossessed, sleep in a tent for year and move into your dream studio flat which you can be evicted from at any time

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

zell12 wrote: »
    IrishTimes - Former homeless Apollo House residents secure home

This makes me angry.
    People came to Ireland in 2015 with limited english, failed to get steady employment, and instead of returning home, we taxpayers fund them to live within the canals. Meantime, irish people suffering the same fate are overlooked or suffer.
    In other EU countries, migrants who cannot self-fund are deported to home country.
    How oft is this story repeated?

Jesus man they spent a year sleeping rough, Irish or not their people.

2000 euros is a lot of money in Czech Republic, what were they supposed to do, go back to Czech and live rough rather than stay where they were and try to get their lives sorted.

It's supposed to be a European Union not a European everyone for themselves.

is now interning with Space X, which is paying for him to complete a postgraduate degree with the University of Masaryk, in the Czech Republic. He sits the final exams in Trinity College in June.

Yes, noticed that. The guy is almost 50, knows '7' computer languages yet cant score a permanent IT gig.

Sounds like he actually knows very little about programming or IT and had little to no experience in it in the real world. Maybe he had a different career before hand, which is fine of course..

He would have been better off finishing his studies first and getting some local
    IT experience. Then go off to Dublin with all that in his bag, rather then end up homeless due to sheer stupidity of making naive life choices.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

You don't think that if someone was moving to another country on a permanent basis that they wouldn't start learning the language before hand?

Come on. From reading the article, the just come off as idiots. Either they are really stupid to have done it the way they did or there is another story here.

Come off as idiots.
    Interning at Space-X.

Talk about ****eing on about the "Agenda"

Riskymove wrote: »
    The wife has worked in hotels
    BTW they didn't "get a house"
    so to the people who asked earlier - yes you can stop paying your mortgage, have house repossessed, sleep in a tent for year and move into your dream studio flat which you can be evicted from at any time
    It's not clear from the article, but I assume it is HAP through a voluntary Council sponsored scheme.

zell12 wrote: »

That has nothing to do with your argument, The Irish in in the UK were expecting the British welfare system to support them and find them housing.

redcup342 wrote: »
    2000 euros is a lot of money in Czech Republic, what were they supposed to do, go back to Czech and live rough rather than stay where they were and try to get their lives sorted.
    They should go to the Czech embassy and ask for assistance or the Irish government should offer to pay for them to return

Very few did and if they did they certainly shouldn't have done social welfare is a big enough drain without those from outside the country claiming as well just go home if you cant support yourself in another country.

You wouldnt be allowed to get away with this carry on in Australia thats for sure but Ireland is seen as being a soft touch for this kind of stuff.

Come off as idiots.
    Interning at Space-X.

Talk about ****eing on about the "Agenda"

Exactly, you would think he would be paid for his work, no?

From friends and relatives of mine, IT is booming in Dublin. So much so, they are trying to headhunt Irish talent in places like Canada, OZ and the UK in order to bring them home. They just cannot get the staff.

I know a girl who came back from Sydney, who had about 5 good offers within 2 weeks. Then again, she knew her stuff, had made contacts before hand and had a long list of projects and experience under her belt. You know, the stuff competent people do, rather than just wing it.

I do not wish this couple any ill will, I wish them all the best, but the last two years of them being 'homeless' is entirely self inflicted due to not doing any due diligence and research into what is involved in moving countries. Hopefully lesson learned and will give others food for thought when making such choices.

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

baylah17 wrote: »
    It is and has been oft repeated by the Irish abroad especially in the UK.

No it's not. Even after coming over here and serving with HM Forces, I still didn't get those kind of benefits in the UK.

redcup342 wrote: »

All countries should put their own citizens needs 1st why should anyone else just come here and get assistance from the state ahead of born and bred indigenous Irish citizens.

Mutant z wrote: »
    Very few did and if they did they certainly shouldn't have done social welfare is a big enough drain without those from outside the country claiming as well just go home if you cant support yourself in another country.

There were a huge amount of Irish on Welfare and living in squats in London in the 1980s, enough of them that to generate anti Irish bias in the media to be sure most got jobs and sorted eventually the ones I know anyway:p

The activities of the IRA did not help.

The rights or wrongs of the situation is a different point, I am making the point that it is not some uniquely Dublin situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Must be a long time since the Czechs were the subject of the ire of the dregs of boards.ie. Diversity in action.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Wait wait wait, hold on a second.

Is it just me or are they just legitimately now renting a home, no handouts or any silly stuff like that.

Why are people getting angry about it? They came here, made a big mistake in not planning employment and had to sleep rough for a year, but now they're both doing very well for themselves.

And yet there's people in giving out about them? It's a bloody success story.