Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Czechs go to Ireland, be homeless, get housing.

• 15-01-2018 12:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23,428 ✭✭✭✭

IrishTimes - Former homeless Apollo House residents secure home
    A Czech couple, who came to Ireland in May 2015 “for a new life” but spent more than a year sleeping rough, now have a home. Tomas and Lucie, sold everything they had in the Czech Republic and came here, believing they were well funded with €3,000. Tomas, a computer programmer, and Lucie, with experience in hotel work, expected to find employment and a place to live easily.
    Instead they stayed for three months in hostels. “I worked first in hotels,” says Lucie, but Tomas, with little English then, found it impossible to get work.
    in December, the couple moved into a small flat comprising one room, off which is a small galley kitchen and a tiny shower room. It is €1,300 a month and they get HAP.
    “It is heaven. Apollo House was a new start for us. Everything is better. One day we will have a home, with no HAP and a good job,”

This makes me angry.
    People came to Ireland in 2015 with limited english, failed to get steady employment, and instead of returning home, we taxpayers fund them to live within the canals. Meantime, irish people suffering the same fate are overlooked or suffer.
    In other EU countries, migrants who cannot self-fund are deported to home country.
    How oft is this story repeated?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Cina

I get what you're saying, but at the same time, the Czech's have given us some wonderful Pornstars and that has to be taken into account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

zell12 wrote: »

This makes me angry.
    People came to Ireland in 2015 with limited english, failed to get steady employment, and instead of returning home, we taxpayers fund them to live within the canals. Meantime, irish people suffering the same fate are overlooked or suffer.
    In other EU countries, migrants who cannot self-fund are deported to home country.
    It is and has been oft repeated by the Irish abroad especially in the UK.
    Cop on, they were entitled as EU citizens to come here and to be treated in the same way as an Irish citizen would be treated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Klinkhammer

What countries are these?

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

What countries are these?

None.

The UK flirted with the idea, deporting EU citizens after 6months of unemployment, but it was ruled illegal and a violation of EU law.

Currently no EU states do this.

edit: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/12/14/home-office-policy-deporting-eu-citizens-found-rough-sleeping/

• Registered Users Posts: 23,428 ✭✭✭✭zell12

EU/EEA nationals can stay in Ireland for up to 3 months without restriction.
    If you plan to stay more than 3 months, you must either:
    - Be engaged in economic activity (employed or self employed) or
    - Have sufficient resources and sickness insurance to ensure that you do not become a burden on the social services of Ireland or
    - Be enrolled as a student or vocational trainee or
    - Be a family member of a EU citizen in one of the previous categories.http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/moving_to_ireland/rights_of_residence_in_ireland/residence_rights_eu_national.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Klinkhammer

None.

The UK flirted with the idea, deporting EU citizens after 6months of unemployment, but it was ruled illegal and a violation of EU law.

Currently no EU states do this.

So are you saying that the op is talking through their hoop?

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

Fair play to them.

I will probably start to develop a grudge if they are still unemployed in 3 years time and collecting various other forms of welfare (like many, though certainly not all, Irish people on the housing list). If they are working away and paying their fair share of taxes then great, thats exactly the purpose of our welfare system.

Despite all the press, demonstrations and criticism the government gets, Ireland is a good country to be homeless in (either real on the street homeless or living in a hotel homeless). That though does not mean it is still not a horrendous position to be in.

baylah17 wrote: »
    It is and has been oft repeated by the Irish abroad especially in the UK.
    Cop on, they were entitled as EU citizens to come here and to be treated in the same way as an Irish citizen would be treated.
    UK-IE is a common travel area, seperate to the EU.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Im glad they found a place. I feel sorry for them
    They're living in a tiny place. They want to get a good job and afford their own house in future. I don't see the big deal

• Registered Users Posts: 12,369 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

A computer programmer and a hotel worker, she had a job from the get go and he will get job they are not doing you or anyone else any harm.

Look at the English mirror or sun from the early to mid eighties and it full of Irish go home, the amount of Irish homeless in London and why should local authorities look after them.

UK-IE is a common travel area, seperate to the EU.

Does not take away from the fact that this type of thing happens.
    I say fair play to this Czech couple for trying to get ahead in life by using their rights as EU citizens to improve their lot, they are the embodiment of what the EU should aspire to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

mariaalice wrote: »
    A computer programmer and a hotel worker, she had a job from the get go and he will get job they are not doing you or anyone else any harm.

Look at the English mirror or sun from the early to mid eighties and it full of Irish go home, the amount of Irish homeless in London and why should local authorities look after them.

Those damn Irish, not knowing the English language.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭lau1247

While foolish to give up everything and move here with limited fund. They fell on hard times and had got help. Now getting back on their feet and found jobs. Sounds to me like they are contributing to the welfare system and trying to do better by their own ability. Not trying to "game" the system in the long run.

I think OP's anger is somewhat misdirected IMO. It should really be at those "gaming" the system instead.

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Seriously lads should we all just go homeless and stop paying our mortage?

lau1247 wrote: »
    While foolish to give up everything and move here with limited fund. They fell on hard times and had got help. Now getting back on their feet and found jobs. Sounds to me like they are contributing to the welfare system and trying to do better by their own ability. Not trying to "game" the system in the long run.
    I think OP's anger is somewhat misdirected IMO. It should really be at those "gaming" the system instead.
    Do you honestly think that if an Irish couple did the reverse that they'd get taxpayer funded housing in central Prague within 2 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Prime example of how broken the system is .

The idea the people can travel country to be essentially homeless , should be returned to their home countries where they have families and support and not sit on the streets with no English or chances of employment ,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Odelay

Do you honestly think that if an Irish couple did the reverse that they'd get taxpayer funded housing in central Prague within 2 years?

Only one way you'll find out...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

To be honest I dont see the outrage here. I despise those who come here, do nothing and basically look for everything for free (ie the "romanian" career beggars that harass the vunerable etc) but these 2 seem to have just ended up having a run of bad luck in no part due to less than enough preparation for what they were about to do. They actually want to work and earn their keep hell the guy actually managed to turn things around and to get a intern job with bloody SpaceX who are currently one of the pioneers of private space launches and exploration.

There's some out there who are right wasters who deserve legitimate ire but these guys certainly aren't them. Give em a break and save the outrage for the real problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

This makes me angry.

Why are you angry?
    They came to Ireland with a skill set, particularly the husband and did what they could.
    It failed and the state did what the state is obligated to do which is prevent homelessness regardless of where the person is from.
    Seems to me the story went from a terrible miscalculation from their part to a mini success story.
    It doesn't mention that the entire rent is from the taxpayer, only a portion.
    It's much better than hearing about the scrotes that can't be bothered their holes working and still get everything for free. These two tried at least.
    Making a drama from nothing in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

At first glance this does read like one of those "bloody foreigners" stories but if you take a moment to think about it, they came over here with money and a plan, paid their way in hostels for as long as they could, tried to and were partly successful in getting work, and their Appollo House stint reads like a brief hiccup in getting sorted. They're in a home and paying rent, albeit with some HAP assistance. It sounds like they're determined to contribute. Fair play to them I say.

I'm as critical of our welfare system as the next guy but I think here is an example of it being used properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Seriously lads should we all just go homeless and stop paying our mortage?

What's a mortage?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭lau1247

I know irish couple wouldn't be that foolish without researching first (At least I hope not). Either way, I don't think irish couple will get the same treatment and I don't know enough to answer. While I'm here I can also say that I don't know how Czech welfare system work either (if any at all). I'm not saying the irish system is perfect by any means, it could do with a lot of fixing.

All I'm saying is that life can be random at times and it does not come in orderly fashion. Shouldn't we be glad that at least this couple are trying their best to better themselves and contribute without being a burden on the government in the long run?

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

They would get whatever Czech citizens are entitled to.
    Thems the rules.
    Again fair play to this couple.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

They don't sound very bright. Upping sticks to a new country with no English, no job secured and 3 grand between the two of them. The Czech Republic must be in a dire state to make someone do something that reckless. To be fair they've been proved correct as paddy taxpayer has come to their rescue.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The Czech couple sound hard-working and resilient and I'm sure they'll be great assets to Ireland. Fair play to them for overcoming a really difficult period and finding their feet and opportunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭enricoh

A computer programmer and a hotel worker can't get a job in Dublin? Are they serious?
    Dublin is booming at the minute and they can't support themselves.
    When the next recession comes round will they be off to oz and Canada to look for work? I somehow doubt it

They don't sound very bright. Upping sticks to a new country with no English, no job secured and 3 grand between the two of them. The Czech Republic must be in a dire state to make someone do something that reckless. To be fair they've been proved correct as paddy taxpayer has come to their rescue.

There were hundreds of stories in the media in the 1980s of Irish people going to the UK ( mostly London ) with out a penny sometimes just enough for the boat and bus fare to London often ended up living in squats or buying rent books ( a sort of scam ) now most of them worked and sorted themselves out eventually but welfare was also much easier to get in London, even university student could get welfare in the summer holiday. Its all changed now but people have short memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

This is why Ireland's "homeless" numbers will continue to grow indefinitely, which of course suits the vested NGOs and the left.
    Ireland will have to throw billions of Euros at the "homeless crisis" every few years building forever homes for those who arrive from both within and outside the EU.

If I was living in a shack overseas and read online how Ireland puts up the "homeless" in places like The Gresham, then I would be on the next boat over here. The incentives are too great for them not to try it.

And there's no end in sight ........... until the workers have been taxed to death to pay for the free homes and the money runs out. Then the fun begins.

Kivaro wrote: »
    This is why Ireland's "homeless" numbers will continue to grow indefinitely, which of course suits the vested NGOs and the left.
    Ireland will have to throw billions of Euros at the "homeless crisis" every few years building forever homes for those who arrive from both within and outside the EU.

If I was living in a shack overseas and read online how Ireland puts up the "homeless" in places like The Gresham, then I would be on the next boat over here. The incentives are too great for them not to try it.

And there's no end in sight ........... until the workers have been taxed to death to pay for the free homes and the money runs out. Then the fun begins.

Your post count have been lifted form the UK Mirror of the 1980s except it would be about the Irish in London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

enricoh wrote: »
    A computer programmer and a hotel worker can't get a job in Dublin? Are they serious?

That's the story we're being told and we HAVE to accept it.
    To question it would make us xenophobic/racist/bigoted.