Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2018: General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,800 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

GarIT wrote: »
    He didn't have a choice, he was kicked out. Helmut Marko (I think) decided he was too old to stay at Toro Rosso and there wasn't space for him at RBR and that season there weren't any other non-paid seats available.

There was a lot of speculation over who would get the RBR seat, nobody knew whether it would be Vergne or Ricciardo until it was announced, it was so close, there was literally only a couple of quali's and a race between them. I think it was actually looking likely to be Vergne but than Ricciardo out raced Vergne three races in a row and that decided it or something like that. There was really nothing between them.

I know he didn't have a choice but meant he was too good to leave f1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Regarding Carlos sainz move to Mclaren. I hope Mclaren are better next year and at least fighting with Renault otherwise I fear it will be a backwards step for Carlos. I think Mclaren might have been better maybe giving Romain Grosjean the drive and Carlos Sainz could have went to Haas. Romain has lots of experience and is fast but sometimes has off days but maybe Mclaren could have helped him with that. I am hoping that romain has a better second half to the season. Can,t wait for the race at Spa with so much going on it's going to be exciting.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭GarIT

JEV has been interviewed and has stated he has been contacted by and is talking to an F1 team about 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,938 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

JEV has been interviewed and has stated he has been contacted by and is talking to an F1 team about 2019.

Interesting, obviously makes sense to think of Toro Rosso but I wonder if it might be Haas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Infoanon

skipper_G wrote: »
    Interesting, obviously makes sense to think of Toro Rosso but I wonder if it might be Haas

With only 7 of the 20 seats decided you get the impression that teams are playing a waiting game.

Clearly Red Bull have been caught out badly by Ricciardo with the option to promote Gasly possibly a season to soon they maybe looking at eg Ocon - Mercedes where actively trying to place him at Renault so it is possible.

Expecting some more shocks over the coming weeks if not days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,121 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

skipper_G wrote: »

I think k the Grosjean experiment has been run and the results are mixed. He can be very good and very bad. Overall grand but not particularly good. He could probably get another drive with another team but I don't expect to see him in a top team unless as an expressed no2.
    I'd be happy to see someone like vergne get another shot at the expense of Grosjean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,853 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Is Vandoorne still under contract at McLaren?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

I think he had one of those multi year contracts i.e. McLaren have the option to extend it another year. Which means he'll be in limbo until McLaren figure out what they want from life.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,165 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I haven't felt this sorry for an ex-GP2 champion since...well, ever, IMHO he edges out Valsecchi missing out on filling in for Kimi at Lotus at the end of 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

This break is too long lads, serious withdrawals here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Gizmo55 wrote: »
    This break is too long lads, serious withdrawals here.

I feel your pain. I can’t remember when this month long summer break started, I recall 19th August 2001 when Schumacher took the title in Hungary yet here we are now almost an entire calendar month with no race.

Belgium and Italy are back to back though.

Currently watching Suzuka 1998 on Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,853 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I feel your pain. I can’t remember when this month long summer break started, I recall 19th August 2001 when Schumacher took the title in Hungary yet here we are now almost an entire calendar month with no race.

Belgium and Italy are back to back though.

Currently watching Suzuka 1998 on Sky.

The four week break was introduced in 2009.

Forza Motorsport 7 and GT Sport keep me entertained racing gamewise during the break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Jordan 199 wrote: »

Forza Motorsport 7 and GT Sport keep me entertained racing gamewise during the break.

Guys do any of you play GPRO?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Inviere

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Guys do any of you play GPRO?

You might find some GPRO players here - https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=231

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Jordan 199 wrote: »

I had fun yesterday in gt sport. I went around various tracks in the lobby with a Mercedes-Benz Safety car to see if any one would just follow me around. One stage a Mercedes F1 car actually did.
    I know I said mockingly that JEV straight into Red Bull would be the shock outcome but if it's true that there's interest in getting him back then perhaps it isn't as far fetched as I thought. He's been in the Red Bull programme, he's proven himself a winner in a different (possibly lower) Formula, this could work for him.
    Thing is though at 28 he really can't just settle for a back marker team in the hope he can impress to get further up the grid in years to come. Formula E isn't a feeder category, you don't want to be a champion there to being a mobile chicane the next year. If Red Bull want him back, it has to be the main team, not Toro Rosso.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

Alonso stripped off his WEC win at Silverstone today and Toyota stripped of their 1-2. Regardless of the ending result he's going to have no problems after leaving F1 he still shows his talent on the track just very unfortunate with his moves within F1

https://twitter.com/SkySportsF1/status/1031302699696971777?s=19

There is clearly no doubt he'll chase the triple crown. But the challenge is if he wants to do Indycar with McLaren, it won't be with a Honda engine which is the stronger engine in the series. So it's either one or the other! I'd expect an announcement of what's happening by next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,210 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

This summer break isn't affecting me much, I emigrated (again) back to Vancouver, middle of the night races for me for the next while...

Spa is on this weekend, yippee!

astrofluff wrote: »
    Spa is on this weekend, yippee!

Thank the racing gods! :cool: Summer break hasn't been too bad, but I need my fix. Still have a feeling Seb will turn things around sooner or later.

Inviere wrote: »
    Thank the racing gods! :cool: Summer break hasn't been too bad, but I need my fix. Still have a feeling Seb will turn things around sooner or later.

I agree.

2 things Mercedes don’t like, pressure which they are under plenty of to stay ahead of Ferrari, both cars breaking down in Austria showed signs of it.

Following other cars in dirty air.

Those cars were designed with the intention of being out in front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,137 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

I must get back into it. I haven't bothered watching a race since Monaco. First time in 20 years I haven't watched a whole season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,210 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I will miss looking to see how high up the ALO is in the position chart on the left of the screen next year :'(

27 years ago today Michael Schumacher drives the Jordan 191 in Belgium, days before his F1 debut.

https://twitter.com/1990sF1/status/1031433212730454016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,938 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

He was their only real option so not much of a surprise but good to get it confirmed early. Might spur on a few more deals to get done

As expected. Does this secure Hartley for next season then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Cool_CM wrote: »

Makes sense with him having experience of driving with the Honda engine.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,800 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I don't know about redbull lately. Verstappen could have done with a bit longer in the junior team. Kyvat dropped without a proven replacement. Hartley brought in, now gasly into senior team.
    It seems a bit all over the shop. They don't seem to be producing top drivers right now and I don't think gasly has done enough to get such a seat either.
    who is getting gasly seat?