Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor Apology

• 01-11-2017 8:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,275 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Just heard extract on radio of his apology for recent slur. Thought I was listening to a mixed up twelve year old adolescent about to burst out crying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,029 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

bobbyss wrote: »
    Just heard extract on radio of his apology for recent slur. Thought I was listening to a mixed up twelve year old adolescent about to burst out crying.
    I heard the tail end of it.

Talk about digging an even bigger hole for himself......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Love the fact McGregor upsets so many of Ireland's virtue signalling establishment.

The boys done well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭optogirl

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Love the fact McGregor upsets so many of Ireland's virtue signalling establishment.

The boys done well.

Yeah, calling someone a faggo*. What a champ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,029 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

What is this "virtue signalling" I keep seeing lately? :confused:

I have never heard that expression, and have no idea what it means!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If you don't want to hear Conor McGregor swear, don't listen to anything he says.

I haven't watched the Late Late interview, but like most folks he seems to use it mainly for exclamation, to draw attention to what's said around the word. I don't get the shock/concern for it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

BillyBobBS wrote: »

The boys done well.

In his statement he said that he campaigned for marriage equality. That would make him "virtue signalling" wouldn't it?

If you don't want people "knocking you down" for making derogatory statements. Don't make derogatory statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

https://www.reddit.com/r/MMA/comments/79xfjs/conor_mcgregor_apologises_for_using_the_word_ft/

Here is the apology.

It's a non issue IMO. People looking to create drama where there is none.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

It's a term used to insult a person who call another out on *****y behaviour. As in 'look how virtuous I am'. I would have thought that calling people out on shi*ty behaviour was a good thing, but apparently not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

optogirl wrote: »
    It's a term used to insult a person who call another out on *****y behaviour. As in 'look how virtuous I am'. I would have thought that calling people out on shi*ty behaviour was a good thing, but apparently not.

Some people take it too far and portray themselves as this white knight when they are actually full of ****.

He's a racist misogynist homophobe.

I guess in a world where Trump is elected, it's not a huge deal. It is what it is, he makes a lot of money at it from people who might not be given to a critical analysis of misogyny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

It's BillyBobBS go to thing. He doesn't really understand what it means though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Amaya Acidic Preschool

brevity wrote: »
    Some people take it too far and portray themselves as this white knight when they are actually full of ****.

Lol at people taking Morality (lessons) off a guy who gets his head kicked in on a regular basis and probably isn't the sharpest tool in the box....

Would the perpetually outraged find more important things to get upset about (and stop getting in a tick about everything that potentially cause a ruck on the internet which might give them oppression Olympic points), your not special that your "offended" and not everyone doesn't fall in to their pc/ liberal outlook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Aside from the deflection which was just childish, he really seemed to struggle badly for the vocabulary to make it sound like a considered and sincere apology. It was as if the question had caught him on the hop, which iof course wasn't the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Some pretty serious allegations flying around here?

So he hates different races,women and is irrationally scared of gay people?

Somewhat strange he's made it to top of his sport,is married so?
    And doubt he's actually afraid of anyone,he took to the ring againest mayweather for the craic ffs

Lol at people taking Morality (lessons) off a guy who gets his head kicked in on a regular basis and probably isn't the sharpest tool in the box....

Would the perpetually outraged find more important things to get upset about (and stop getting in a tick about everything that potentially cause a ruck on the internet which might give them oppression Olympic points), your not special that your "offended" and not everyone doesn't fall in to their pc/ liberal outlook

who is taking morality lesons *from* him? I think it's fair enough to say that calling someone a faggo* in this day & age is nasty. You can think something is crappy without being offended by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

It's more of a shock that some people watch that dire show. Anything for publicity to try to get a few more people to tune in to sneery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I guess in a world where Trump is elected, it's not a huge deal. It is what it is, he makes a lot of money at it from people who might not be given to a critical analysis of misogyny.

He's none of those things. He's just an idiot who pretends to be those things because it gets him attention.

There's a difference between being a pantomime villian - which he aims for - and being a loud abrasive twat - which is where he lands.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

He's a racist misogynist

Any evidence to back that up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

All aboard the begrudgery train!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Conor74 despises his namesake. He's always in any threads about McGregor and always trots out the same line of ''sit on me dick'' every single time. Takes that as misogyny. He's not homophobic either, his stance on the marriage referendum was this; ''we all deserve equal rights''. Him saying fagg*t is horribly dated and needless but it was something that we used to say years ago as kids as a slagging. Same way we'd say writing poems to a girl is gay. It's not acceptable anymore in 2017 and rightly so, he should cop on to that. I don't believe he's racist either, just a mouthy showman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

At the end of the day is he really all that important?

elperello wrote: »

You felt compelled enough to post in a thread about him.

He asked people to vote YES on marriage equality. Is he mouthy? Yes. Is he crass? Yes. Is he a homophobe? I don't think so. Would've been easier to stay silent on the matter if he didn't support it.

523c79_5737ff8f3d7c44b1b0d7e35f29ec4e05.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If you like MMA, then yes. If not, then no.

I like the "show" and psyche element of these sports - even WWE, if you could qualify it as that - and the entertainment it brings. But there are people who are good at it - who can get under your skin without reporting to pretend bigotry (Donald Trump would be one of them, Roddy Piper from the WWE 80s is another) - and there are people who just can't get out of the 10-year-old "ur-GAY!!" mindset (McGregor).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You felt compelled enough to post in a thread about him.

Not really compelled just noticed it in passing so to speak.
    What do you think yourself?

Not really compelled just noticed it in passing so to speak.
    What do you think yourself?

I am a huge fan of the man and I find it hilarious that he winds up so many people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Omackeral wrote: »
    Conor74 despises his namesake. He's always in any threads about McGregor and always trots out the same line of ''sit on me dick'' every single time. Takes that as misogyny. He's not homophobic either, his stance on the marriage referendum was this; ''we all deserve equal rights''. Him saying fagg*t is horribly dated and needless but it was something that we used to say years ago as kids as a slagging. Same way we'd say writing poems to a girl is gay. It's not acceptable anymore in 2017 and rightly so, he should cop on to that. I don't believe he's racist either, just a mouthy showman.

Ha, having a popular stance on a referendum doesn't define him as a non homophobe

He's always been low wit and derogatory, but it's fairly commonplace in the fight business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Conveniently at the same time that a new film about him is out.

Rekop dog wrote: »
    Ha, having a popular stance on a referendum doesn't define him as a non homophobe

Actively encouraging people to vote YES in the referendum is the antithesis and opposite of homophobia. If he was homophobic he'd have opposed it or said nothing on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Here's the clip:

https://twitter.com/RTELateLateShow/status/925422145068400642

People making a big deal out of fcuk all.

When Mayweather called McGregor a ****** the same people moaning now didn't say shit.

Had to laugh at the amount of people backing Mayweather ''because Conor is a scumbag''. Aside from the showmanship, Mayweather is literally a woman bashing scrotebag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

it's your usual asshole tactic to reduce the authenticity of someone's motives for showing compassion or concern for someone else..

And doubt he's actually afraid of anyone,he took to the ring againest mayweather for the craic ffs

logic fail

lawred2 wrote: »
    logic fail

Why don't you actually challenge his point instead of just trashing it out of hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

He was overheard saying something to his friend in what he thought was a private conversation. It's a non-issue in the grand scheme.

Anyone can throw words about in the moment without standing behind their true meaning. Context.

Why don't you actually challenge his point instead of just trashing it out of hand?

what point?

that because someone raises to the top of his game - that game being fighting in a ring - that means that he is somehow precluded from being a racist misogynist?

I did challenge the point...

I called it a logic fail. Which it is. Quite clearly.

Now whether he is a racist misogynist or not - I don't know. I'd say he's more likely a case of being a bit dim rather than being malevolent. But the 'point' made was bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Charmeleon

optogirl wrote: »

It's more the fact that it's done for the audience or the person's followers who all think the same way anyway. You can spot an internet post seeking back-clapping and high-fives a mile away. The problem with it is that it becomes competitive and people need to find a new thing to 'call out' to get their fix. It's basically the fast lane towards extremism.

Had to laugh at the amount of people backing Mayweather ''because Conor is a scumbag''. Aside from the showmanship, Mayweather is literally a woman bashing scrotebag.

Did you mean to hyphenate those words? Changes the meaning somewhat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,275 ✭✭✭bobbyss

optogirl wrote:
    Yeah, calling someone a faggo*. What a champ.

Yeah. I don't like McGregor. I don't like his sport. I don't like his brashness, coarseness and cheapness. I don't like it when he uses derogatory words about gay people.

Why belittle people? It's unworthy and tells me what kind of man he really is.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    He was overheard saying something to his friend in what he thought was a private conversation. It's a non-issue in the grand scheme.

Anyone can throw words about in the moment without standing behind their true meaning. Context.

Didn't you know that all the precious little snowflakes of this generation have never uttered an offensive word in all their little lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

The word he used actually means a bundle of sticks

The word he used actually means a bundle of sticks

We're going around in circles here

GN4_DAT_7349291.jpg--plan_for_huge_filling_station_at_bundle_of_sticks_roundabout.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

When Mayweather called McGregor a ****** the same people moaning now didn't say shit.

Ropey enough comparison, as Mayweather's comments weren't widely reported & passed most casual observers by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Let me google that for you...

Mayweather beats up women, he got into that ring too.

Being good at punching or kicking doesn't preclude racism, misogyny or homophobia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Has to be one of the greatest examples of mock outrage I've eve seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

There was actually a time when you would have to defend a comment like that but apparently now you can just throw accusations around ??

I'm no fan of mcgregor but jeez

But you can believe that he's down with homosexuals because he trotted out some line for social media about love and understanding.

And I can believe that the mask just slipped.

And we can agree to disagree.

Incidentally, his line about 2 women sitting on his dick wasn't the misogyny at all. That was just intensely ugly. Is he actually married? Hmmmmmmm.

Mayweather beats up women, he got into that ring too.

Being good at punching or kicking doesn't preclude racism, misogyny or homophobia.

You should probably educate yourself as to the actual meanings of those words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

A young lad from an rough part of Dublin who was on the dole but now fights trained men in a cage for a living,Is overheard cursing about someone his best friend just fought  SHOCK HORROR  how could this happen in our perfect world,