Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Road Condition Warning thread

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

McGrath5 wrote: »
    Be careful coming down the Edmonstown road at the junction with the R116. The road is caked in muck / greasy layer from a new entrance to a building site nearby. I came off the bike turning left onto the R116, my shoulder hasn’t been right all day now and got a few extra cuts and grazes for my trouble.

Pass there most days and to be fair there is a guy hosing down the road outside more often than not. Whether he's just moving the crap to the other side of road is another question. Certainly adds a fine layer of mud to the bike but given I often cross Masseys wood later on, it's not a problem.

The newly surfaced section of Cruagh has been a bit sketchy descending with all the rotting leaves and I'm guessing will deserve due caution when the properly icy weather arrives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭positron

Yeah snap, houses, Amazon doing their thing, and road works all over the place.

Donore road in Drogheda? A lot of work going on there alright. Do you have bike trailer to carry kids?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,454 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

smacl wrote: »
    Pass there most days and to be fair there is a guy hosing down the road outside more often than not.
    i'd say that road would be fun this morning if he was up early doing it today.

positron wrote: »
    Donore road in Drogheda? A lot of work going on there alright. Do you have bike trailer to carry kids?

I don't, rear seat is what I use and the reason for that choice is simple, a lady at my work gave it to me for free way back. Wouldn't mind a trailer but at this stage it wouldn't see the use to justify getting one.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

i'd say that road would be fun this morning if he was up early doing it today.

Indeed. You wonder what exactly a building contractor moving heavy machinery in and out of a mucky urban construction site can reasonably do to keep the road clean? I'm guessing the guy with the hose is there on the foot of complaints but doubt the efficacy of it all. Locals are all ready up in arms as there are a bunch of seven story apartments going into the adjacent site so things are likely to be getting quite a bit worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,791 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

smacl wrote: »
    Indeed. You wonder what exactly a building contractor moving heavy machinery in and out of a mucky urban construction site can reasonably do to keep the road clean? I'm guessing the guy with the hose is there on the foot of complaints but doubt the efficacy of it all. Locals are all ready up in arms as there are a bunch of seven story apartments going into the adjacent site so things are likely to be getting quite a bit worse.

They should be power washing the wheels of the trucks on site, just before they exit onto the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

anybody up stocking Lane/Cruagh wood this week, what are the roads like. Might go that way tomorrow, depending on if there is an overnight frost or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

bazermc wrote: »
    anybody up stocking Lane/Cruagh wood this week, what are the roads like. Might go that way tomorrow, depending on if there is an overnight frost or not

Just back from there and was grand. The only hazard was the Dublin bus driver who didn’t seem to know that you have to yield to traffic coming from the right on a round about, but sure that happens anytime of the year.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,454 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

there's quite a deep pothole that's opened up along the runway by dublin airport. hard to miss (by that i mean it's easy to miss, i guess), just a couple of hundred metres east of the entrance to the blue long term car park, eastbound.
    but if you were caught unawares, it's one which could chew a rim on you.

also, the junction a bit further on was resurfaced in november, and you can see it's already starting to come apart. that'll be fun in a few months time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,403 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Another one near here too.
    Someone has put a traffic cone in it which helps.

https://goo.gl/maps/nMgAcdjKYAErhmsi9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭bbuzz

Big pothole on Ferndale Rd (Rathmichael D18), between Old Conna GC and John Scottus School.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

It's a good sign when ye can list the roads with potholes.
    I was up to a site in Cavan yesterday and back down to leixlip.
    Roads are in bits. Potholes everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,791 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

bbuzz wrote: »
    Big pothole on Ferndale Rd (Rathmichael D18), between Old Conna GC and John Scottus School.

DLR are fairly good for doing temporary fixes when you report issues like this.

there's quite a deep pothole that's opened up along the runway by dublin airport.
    This was filled in on Saturday. I think the shortest time I've seen between one developing and bring fixed.

this was only a couple of hundred metres from the blue long term car park.

DLR are fairly good for doing temporary fixes when you report issues like this.

Never even thought to do this, reported now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

bbuzz wrote: »

Is this heading towards Bray? I was on that road the other direction this morning and didn't notice anything. But as I got my second puncture in 2 days I reckon I need to be forearmed

Nah, heading towards Shankhill, it’s huge you won’t miss it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

Is there a worse road surface in the entire country than the one at Kilmacurragh Arboretum? Gets worse every time I'm on it. Utterly shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Be careful at St. Stephens green going towards Dawson St at the Shelbourne hotel road is appalling, Pierse St also.

Avoid the road from the ward roundabout back towards Hollystown, in both directions, It has been resurfaced and i was reduced to a total standstill by tarry gravel on it. It was sticking to the tyres so well it was jamming against the frame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭DJB030244

It’s noticeable how bad the roads are around north county Dublin
    Im absolutely sick of the all trench’s in the tarmac , they are everywhere and typically in the way of the cyclist . The one on the Ballyboghal naul road , coupled with the patchwork quilts of tarmac around ballyboughal near the garage etc
    Another one on my travels is the road from the pavilion roundabout to the Applegreen garage on the R106 . Basically the road that would bring you to waterside .. For a short stretch of road it has the compulsory Trench , a selection of shores and numerous potholes broken tar etc
    That’s before you hit the horrible traffic in the direction of the malahide rd !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I was just thinking the other day whoever recovers the trenches should be made cycle over their work on 23mm tyres wearing a thin chamois before signing off on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭DJB030244

I was just thinking the other day whoever recovers the trenches should be made cycle over their work on 23mm tyres wearing a thin chamois before signing off on it.

Can see it now , “me bleeding hoop is killing me”
    Need a tea break in the hut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Have a cycle from the Southern Cross Road down through Bray sometime, I have never heard of a road like that one outside where Bespoke Cycles used to be, they dig it up every 2 months, major works aswell not 2 lads with the big angle grinder, this has been going on for years, the road is completely destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭griffin100

Thanks to Carlow County Council for recreating Strada Bianche like conditions for miles in every direction from my house.

Tons of gravel chips dumped and rolled out dry onto an existing surface a couple of weeks ago and then left alone. After a couple of weeks of cars driving on the roads and some rain all of the gravel now exists in huge piles along the side of the road and along the centre line. Corners, crossroads and any dips in the road now covered in gravel a couple of inches deep.

For the life of me I’ve no idea why they would do this. It’s scary when you hit these piles of gravel at speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,468 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Goatstown Road southbound, between Our Lady’s Grove and Trimbleston.

Irish Water did some works a few weeks ago and have left it an absolute sh*tshow.

Bike lane not reinstated. New surface appears not to have been rolled. It’s pitted and so bumpy that you need to move right out to centre lane just to get past it.

Have emailed a number of councillors about it, but all say they’re waiting on irish water to come back and finish the job

DJB030244 wrote: »
    The one on the Ballyboghal naul road!
    actually, i think one of the worst roads i've ever cycled dropped down off that road - near the naul, the road down to bog of the ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Roads are quite greasy out there this morning with the heavy rain after such a dry spell so take it handy folks. Even pulling away at traffic lights the rear wheel was spinning. Did a lap of Howth on the way to work and I think that was the slowest I've ever descended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,665 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Chip and Tar season upon us in Wicklow. Started earlier in the week on the Roundwood - Ashford road (I assume includes the filter beds).
    Wicklow Municipal District wish to advise that weather permitting, surface dressing/roadworks will continue in the district from Monday 21st June 2021 at the following locations. Local access will be facilitated and traffic management will be in place.

L-5112 Ballymanus Lower, Glenealy
    L-5597 Milltown North, Rathnew
    L-5069 Ballinapark, Ashford
    R761-Newrath, Rathnew –Coolawinna, Ashford
    R750-Glen Turn- Dunbur Upper, Wicklow
    R751-Marlton Rd-Ballinteskin, Wicklow
    R764 Knockfadda Roundwood
    R765 Knockraheen –Roundwood
    L-1036 Srahmore Ballinastoe Roundwood
    L-60881-0 Trooperstown Lickeen Roundwood
    L-5587-0 Castlekevin, Annamoe