Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk bans Irish Times Journalists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

That's mature.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

RustyNut wrote: »
    That's mature.

Have you anything to add to the discussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,260 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

A very defensive move from Newstalk but in no way is it a free speech issue. Newstalk are absolutely free to provide, or deny, their platform to anyone they wish. The Irish Times can say what they want, Newstalk is under no obligation to provide them a platform for them to do so.

*I think Hook is sexist and I think lack of female talent, or talent in general to be honest, is a massive black mark on it. I feel O'Toole was generally right in what he said and should offer no apology for it. Hook deserved the criticism he got, and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

pilly wrote: »

Have you other than posting a link?

It’s a small and petty move by Denis O’Brien who doesn’t like anyone challenging his personal media fiefdom.

It was never a free speech issue from start to finish, it was about someone being held accountable for what they said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,575 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

RustyNut wrote: »
    That's mature.

I wouldnt call Fintan O Toole mature either tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,260 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Added more to the discussion than you did - so I don't see what grounds you are having a pop from. You posted a link, asked a (imo) snarky question. At least the poster you are having a pop at actually offered an opinion on the matter, unlike yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,946 ✭✭✭buried

Captain Hook vs Fintan Pan Episode ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Holly Full Tightwad

Not having Una Mullally and FOT on NT is a plus in my eyes

Have you other than posting a link?

It’s a small and petty move by Denis O’Brien who doesn’t like anyone challenging his personal media fiefdom.

It was never a free speech issue from start to finish, it was about someone being held accountable for what they said.

I asked a question, didn't just post the link.

I agree it was never a free speech issue but the amount of people on the original case saying this was free speech being stifled was huge. I'm just wondering will they object as much to this action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

To be honest fair play to them. If the screaming loony brigade cant have a coherent proper debate they shouldn't be allowed a platform to peddle their shytetalk. That's the problem these days: Muppets totally blowing things out of proportion and twisting things to ****etalk and feel important without any proper argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Looking into this I found this gem

Screenshot_2.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Not having Una Mullally and FOT on NT is a plus in my eyes

Absolutely, but.....

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS2Q7qJS2NKAZAz4flcNnceZUMCYs_dabnq9899qfVw_pDqUU348A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,945 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Seems childish to me, but I suppose they can do what they like.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Absolutely, but.....

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS2Q7qJS2NKAZAz4flcNnceZUMCYs_dabnq9899qfVw_pDqUU348A

era she’s on at a dreadful slot - now if she was moved to a prime time slot like weekday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

That's a bit rich considering you've added nothing but a news dump.

Newstalk well in their rights. George Hook was lambasted by them for uttering an unpopular opinion and now they whine about free speech. Why do Newstalk owe them a right to free speech anyway?

I don't know if people are having trouble reading the OP or not but I didn't just post a link (which by the way is how most threads on Boards are started).

I asked a question. Which you've answered for me. It's okay to silence others as long as you don't like them. It's not okay when you do like them.

Grand. Now I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

If it means less Fintan O'Fool and Una Mulally on the airwaves, then I'm all for it

Unexpected side-affect: no Breda O'Brien for the abortion referendum campaign? Result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

If it means less Fintan O'Fool and Una Mulally on the airwaves, then I'm all for it
    Although I'm sure the Last Word will counteract this by doubling the amount of airtime they get on there (and it's too much as it is)

Unexpected side-affect: no Breda O'Brien for the abortion referendum campaign? Result.

They're banned from Today FM too. Same owners.

If it means less Fintan O'Fool and Una Mulally on the airwaves, then I'm all for it Although I'm sure the Last Word will counteract this by doubling the amount of airtime they get on there (and it's too much as it is)

See my previous post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

DeanAustin wrote: »
    They're banned from Today FM too. Same owners.

Missed than on my first read of the article. Thought it was NT only not all Communicorp stations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

if this was a fight , I'd pray on a double KO.

newstalk and the IT are both horrible bags of sh1te.

I don't know if people are having trouble reading the OP or not but I didn't just post a link (which by the way is how most threads on Boards are started).

I asked a question. Which you've answered for me. It's okay to silence others as long as you don't like them. It's not okay when you do like them.

Grand. Now I know.

Believing in free speech does not require you to give a platform to other people.

So why were a large proportion of posters saying George Hook was denied free speech?

That's my point. He wasn't denied free speech he was denied a platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,575 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

So why were a large proportion of posters saying George Hook was denied free speech?

If you are you try start that the thread will get locked

He had a platform, national radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

they are two cheeks of the same arse

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

This could financially affect more regular contributors from IT on Newstalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

Great, I'm delighted.
    Talk of freedom of speech and this all started over a presenter asking a question, a question that wasn't liked by many, but I feel was a valid question knowing the subject of the conversation before the question. Of course, that's irrelevant to populist liberals like FoT who is just after the next topic to get offened over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The Irish Times...some of the older posters might remember what it was

Journalists should be banned from interviewing each other full stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There was an orchastred campaign from some media outlets to keep the story alive. The Journal with Niall Brophy and his ex workmate at UTV Chris Donoghue were involved too.

I think this could be related to the politics.ie post that claimed to be an insider saying journalists were ringing up Hooks advertisers about pulling their sponsorship.

Remember, this was a media campaign and not a campaign of public outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Donutz

It's all a bit childish really. If communicorp are in the habbit of banning anybody that gives them criticism, they're gonna run out of decent contributors fairly quickly.

Fintan O Toole on the other hand though....
    How come he didn't raise his sexism concerns any of the previous times he appeared on the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Hook..Mullally...glad I don't have to listen to either of these

Does this mean we are not subjected to Gerry Thornley's annoying voice on Off The Ball's Monday night rugby, Tuesday night rugby, Wednesday night rugby etc. etc.

I'll take it. Marred a good sports show.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Pointless of Newstalk to do that. One journalist from the IT writes an article they don't like, so they decide to ban all IT journalists? Petty. Very petty. I don't get where they are coming from at all. O'Toole had already ruled himself out so it won't be any skin off his back, so why ban other journalists?

Plus, not exactly a good image for a media company to ban journalists they have disagreements with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I can see why NT are pi$$ed at the guy who made an ott remark but an opinion is an opinion and this crap of demanding an apology?...go fcuk yourself. Nearly everyone who demands an apology isn't seeking it to heal any hurt caused but is using it as a ploy or is on a power trip.

I haven't listened to NT since the manufactured offense and outraged-bandwagoners had their last victory and i don't buy the IT, so they can rage against each other until they poison themselves with bile.

There is no attack of free speech or freedom of expression here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

VinLieger wrote: »
    I wouldnt call Fintan O Toole mature either tbh

His surname is very apt, a new age softy offended by the slightest controversial opinion. I agree with George and newstalk, and I like Mr trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

A very defensive move from Newstalk but in no way is it a free speech issue. Newstalk are absolutely free to provide, or deny, their platform to anyone they wish. The Irish Times can say what they want, Newstalk is under no obligation to provide them a platform for them to do so.

While I generally agree with that in terms of pure business, it's a bit more problematic when it's the news media, and in particular, it's being done by somebody who controls a disproportionate amount of the media.

I didn't agree with hook being hounded off air either, although I don't agree with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,189 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Looks like they shoved her out tbh

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭pjproby

It shows that the problem at NewsTalk goes deeper than just George Hook. It is a systemic attitude. I for one intend boycotting NewsTalk until they reverse this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Can't see Matt Cooper being very happy about this. Hugh Linean is a reqular on the show for example.

Dil has left NewsTalk.

Her 12 listeners must be devastated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭The Legend Of Kira

The op fails to take into account that there no mob that sought to pressure Newstalk to ban people from the Irish times, unlike what we seen from the other side in recent weeks, I disagree with Newstalks move to ban others from the Irish times based on what one of their writers said saying " he d refuse to appear on newstalk " .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Correct me if I'm wrong but I think IT ran a story or 2 nearly every day about hook for about a week so I wouldn't blame NT for saying feck em. Dill tied her own noose, you don't bad mouth your employer without consequences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

The op fails to take into account that there no mob that sought to pressure Newstalk to ban people from the Irish times, unlike what we seen from the other side in recent weeks, I disagree with Newstalks move to ban others from the Irish times based on what one of their writers said saying " he d refuse to appear on newstalk " .

What other side? This whole sides thing is so childish.

Least she has her ‘comedy’ career to fall back on ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Uosdwis R. Dewoh

AnneFrank wrote: »
    I like Mr trump.
    This thread isn't about "Mr" (it's actually "President") Trump whatsoever, so that's a bit of a random one!