Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Win for the ladies football in Killarney, 2-11 to 1-9.

Camogie v Clare later will be on the Camogie association YouTube page

Cork 2-17 Clare 2-5

Minor football v Kerry tomorrow evening, live on TG4

1. Josh Woods (Valley Rovers)
    2. Mark O’Sullivan (Bantry Blues)
    3. Colin Molloy (Nemo Rangers)
    4. Tim O’Brien (Nemo Rangers)
    5. Darragh O’Donovan (Bishopstown)
    6. Gearoid Daly (Mallow)
    7. Aaron Cullinane (Clonakilty)
    8. Colm Geary (Kilshannig)
    9. Colm Gillespie (Aghabullogue) Captain
    10. Mark Kelleher (Mallow)
    11. Ed Myers (Naomh Abán)
    12. Alan O’Connell (Kilshannig)
    13. Brian Hayes (Nemo Rangers)
    14. Gearoid Kearney (Kinsale)
    15. Olan O’Donovan (Ibane Gaels)
    16. Eoin O’Flynn (Douglas)
    17. Shane O’Connell (Castlehaven)
    18. James Burke (Douglas)
    19. Kieran McCarthy (Carrigaline)
    20. Neville O’Leary (Douglas)
    21. Sean Coakley (Douglas)
    22. Darragh Gough (Clonakilty)
    23. Aaron O’Sullivan (Aghabullogue)
    24. Ben O’Sullivan (Adrigole)

Extended Panel Members; Dan Andrews (St Colum’s), Sean Og Kenneally (Killara Óg, Kilworth), Colm Clifford (Éire Óg), Aidan Kelly (Clyda Rovers), Aaron O’Mahony (Kilmurry), Hugh Linehan (Millstreet), Conor Fitzpatrick (Kinsale), Trevor Kiely (Doneraile), Seán Mac an tSaoi (Valley Rovers), Robert Quirke (Ballinora), Artjoms Petrov (Nemo Rangers)

Much better from the minors, leading 1-9 to 0-5 at HT

Kerry down to 14, 5 min into 2nd half. 1-10 to 0-5

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,379 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

1-10 v 0-05 and Kerry down to 14, centre back off, threw a punch - not exactly a hard one, but a strike is a strike.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,379 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Outstanding run and goal - 3 goals up with 15 to go.

2 goals in a couple of minutes, 3-10 to 0-7 after 47 min. fantastic turnaround from players and management from the 1st Kerry game

FT 3-11 v 0 -09

3-08 from play !!

A very good win for Cork. Much the better team in fairness. Probably Derry next with Kerry probably playing Tyrone.

well done to all involved, huge turnaround from a few weeks ago

• Registered Users Posts: 34,045 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Fair play. That is terrific win

If you had said the scoreline without mentioning who got what, think we would have been depressed ha.

Good boost for Cork football, but hopefully they back it up now in All Ireland unlike last year when got destroyed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

We didn't just beat Kerry, we hammered them. You'd have to be delighted with that! We need to drive it on now though and land the all Ireland.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Football team v Louth tomorrow

1. Christopher Kelly (Éire Óg)
    2. Sean Powter (Douglas)
    3. Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty)
    4. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
    5. John Cooper (Éire Óg)
    6. Rory Maguire (Castlehaven)
    7. Mattie Taylor (Mallow)
    8. Colm O’Callaghan (Éire Óg)
    9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)
    10. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    11. Eoghan Sweeney (Knocknagree)
    12. Daniel Dineen (Cill na Martra)
    13. Steven Sherlock (St Finbarr’s)
    14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven) Captain
    15. Cathail O’Mahony (Mitchelstown)
    16. Dylan Foley (Éire Óg)
    17. Paul Ring (Aghabullogue)
    18. Tadhg Corkery (Cill na Martra)
    19. Tommy Walsh (Kanturk)
    20. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
    21. Paul Walsh (Kanturk)
    22. Brian Hayes (St Finbarr’s)
    23. Jack Cahalane (Castlehaven)
    24. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
    25. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
    26. Blake Murphy (St Vincents)

Extra Panel Members; Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers), Luke Fahy (Ballincollig), Shane Merritt (Mallow), Paudie Allen (Newmarket), Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig) Joe Grimes (Clonakilty), Kieran Histon (Nemo Rangers), Michéal Martin (Nemo Rangers), Kevin Flahive (Douglas), Cillian O’Donovan (Macroom), Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys), Kevin Cremin (Boherbue), Briain Murphy (Nemo Rangers), Alan Walsh (Kanturk), Daniel O’Connell (Kanturk), Darragh Cashman (Millstreet), David Buckley (Newcestown), Chris Og Jones (Iveleary), Liam O’Donovan, Gavin Creedon (Kilshannig), Daniel Meaney (St Michaels)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭The White Feather

At half time its

Cork 0-7 Louth 1-3

ht Cork 0-07 v 1-03

3 points to no score up after 15, conceed a goal, even enough on points after that.

Nasty enough day for it in fairness. Louth are keeping their entire team behind the ball and then breaking apparently, could be a frustrating second half as well.

Finally, Cork get a goal to push us 5 ahead. That should be enough hopefully.

Poor standard by both teams, but by all accounts Louth's style of football..... no thank you.

Ft Cork 2-12 v Louth 2-8

An injury time goal for Cork when Louth actually opened up a bit, quickly followed by a Louth goal made it a surprisingly open last 6 minutes of injury time.

A win is a win.

Sounds like a very poor match. Louth setup to defend en masse and break quickly.

Cork were poor and unable to break them down for long periods.

A game that won't last long in the memory for the 3k fans that turned up on an already miserable day weather wise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭Jizique

Kildare, Limerick, Roscommon or Donegal - 25% chance of reaching a quarter final

• Registered Users Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭almostover

Was at the game, it was dire. Funnily if Louth had come and tried to play football they would have given us a fright and may have won. They scored 1-3 in the final few mins when they actually contested the kickout. We had uncontested kickouts for 60mins. The lack of penetration in the Cork attack is very worrying. The players look paralysed in possession once in the oppositions half. To be honest it was atrocious game to be at, one team being so negative and one team being inept up front. We need a kind draw on Monday to have any chnace of prolonging the summer. After what I witnessed today it's not worth prolonging.

Only positive was Sherlock was excellent from placed balls.

Antrim next up for the hurlers after they beat Kerry in the Joe McDonagh final

Cork camogie with another win today, beat Dublin 2-10 to 0-9.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

What did you think of Galway tonight lads? Provided we beat Antrim next weekend then we play Galway. They were so poor tonight but I bet they will blow the lights out on the scoreboard against us shall we get there after next weekend. We have a dreadful record against Galway since 2008.

Depends on if A we get there and B which Galway turns up - no team is capable of blowing so hot and then so cold.

I'd have no fears of Galway, mind you they probably feel the same away about us! However since our great win against them in the 2008 championship, they've knocked us out of the 2009 2011 2012 and 2015 championships. That game in 2015 was a pretty low moment for Cork hurling, so we owe this crowd a beating alright! Henry Shefflin would love to knock us out as well, but we better take care of Antrim first and then focus on the tribesmen after that!

If we raise our game, i'd like to think we are capable of beating any of these teams. I'd like to think we can get to the semi finals, if we can avoid Dublin or Kerry in the quarter finals. If we play as poor as we did yesterday though, then we won't be going much further in the championship! Cork won and that was the only positive there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Interview with Hannah Looney after the Cork Camogie win yesterday. BTW the camogie intermediates beat Kilkenny too

Beal Atha an Ghaorthaidh v An Gaeltacht in the Comortas Peile semi final on TG4 now

Beat the Gaeltacht fairly handily. 2-17 v 0-11

Good spread of scorers whereas O Sé was the only one causing trouble at the other end.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,072 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Went to the football yesterday. Absolutely dire game to be at. Louth were beyond appalling. They had absolutely zero interest in going out and winning the game. They had every player inside their own 45 for Cork's kick outs. A horrible way to play the game.

Cork are clueless going forward unfortunately and will be found out badly soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

to be fair hurley is a fantastic footballer , he really is one of the best in the country , but give it time ye are making progress , its a pity ricken isnt back on the line , a great coach in fairness but little to work with at the moment