Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA discussion thread #2

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I actually think the players are so good they are papering up the cracks.

Ive never seem a Kerry team so afraid to shoot. We are trying to walk it in.

No man inside allowed Tyrone to push out. Fitzmaurice was pushed out by a minority of Ignorant fans regurgitating bile from Kerry Radio. I'd love to see him with this team

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

The fitness levels and physical conditioning were the big thing for me. Players cramping all over the pitch, didnt see that carry on with any of the Tyrone, Dublin or Mayo players, & the tyrone players had covid ffs. Ridiculous, the bare minimum you expect at this level is fitness. Tyrone looked twice as fit all over the park today. Thats a damning indictment of the whole Kerry set up and heads need to roll. This was a great opportunity to win an all Ireland and for it to be thrown away as a result of that is sickening.

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Forge83

You are 100% Jim. Mcgahan is not up to the job and is another guy who needs to be moved on pronto. Kerry should move heaven and earth for Joe O Connor no matter what it costs. He played a massive part in bringing the Limerick hurlers to where they are physically.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I question the claims of Tyrone claiming to have had Covid. I had Covid, and I know many others who had it, and it doesn't leave you in that kind of physical shape. Even the panel at the end 'hinted' they questioned the claims of Covid.

But that said, Kerry were disappointing. Very disappointing. They brought on subs who can't even make a dent for their Club team, but are somehow subs on the County team.

Was it the worst performance by a Kerry team... I will say no. I can remember worse games they played. But it was the same mistakes over, and over again. There's no improvement. Just a very disappointing performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭john9876

Stop the BS about Tyrone players having covid. Everyone knows it was a sham to allow a few injured players to recover.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭dobman88

This is it. I'm sick of telling lads i talk to and online that Kerry aren't actually that good. Defence is way too light for the business end of championship.

1 win in 11 visits to croke park since 2017. Brutal

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Kerry were shocking today leaving aside this whole covid debate and didn't deserve to go through. On the Tyrone players having covid, surely the GAA would have requested medical confirmation of the players who had covid. They are hardly that inept of an organisation that they would take what Tyrone stated without proof.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭john9876

It's not difficult to fake positive or negative covid tests.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭C__MC

Outsider here but a poor show by the mighty kingdom. Mórán, geaney, o brien and a few more done at this level one would think. All very predictable with tommy and spillane coming in. The last play proves kerry have a bit to go. O shea as well has work to do. A bit of rebuilding job needed which might dampen the hype that comes when Kerry win a league game

• Registered Users Posts: 12,364 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Kerry management should have been cute enough to realise that Tyrone were acting the prick with their Covid outbreak. It felt like they thought Tyrone were going to be walked all over, I can't get over how unfit the Kerry team was. Felt like we turned up for a challenge match

• Registered Users Posts: 21,094 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Commiserations lads!

This has been a huge issue with Kerry for a while. I remember talking about it with some on here in 2019 when I couldn't believe just how far back Kerry were in terms of S&C'ing.

It's such a huge part of the game now that it can't be ignored.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Arealred

As other posters have said strength and conditioning way off where it should be. I think we are too nice in defence, alot of our players like O Beaglaoich and Paul Murphy are too meek. I though Gavin White, Tom Sullivan and in parts Jason Foley did OK. I thought Jack Barry was clumpsy with the ball. Stephen O Brien won us some valuable frees and was direct with the ball. I think we don't know how to utilise Tommy Walsh for his role. I think if David Moran stays on another year I would like to see him as forward. With the mark in the game he could a field day in the forwards even against the big teams. Very disappointing.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,013 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Same sham of a Munster championship that ye got beat by a Division 3 team in last year ?

As for keeping Geaney on and bringing him back on in ET, maybe the mountaineer told PK to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,703 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That's the most unfit Kerry team I've seen since 1996.

Donie Buckley should never have been discarded so unceremoniously.

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Forge83

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Donie Buckley has little or nothing to do with S & C.

That's a very specialised field. Like Kinnerk with Limerick hurlers. He's not involved with S & C at all. Tactics, game planning, game management are his thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭C__MC

But we were told during the lock down kerry has S and C had dramatically improved and they were the finished article

• Registered Users Posts: 3,828 ✭✭✭acequion

Gutted as I am tonight I have to agree with that. Because we're Kerry, a county with a huge successful heritage we're always hotly tipped and hyped up. But the past means nothing if you can't match it in the present. We've won one AI since 2009, and since the victory in 2014 we've been on a downward spiral. We should be well back at the top at this stage but my take is that as well as having huge problems in management these past few years, we've also lacked quality players, the type of household names that had other counties in awe of us during our many winning decades. You need a number of brilliant players to be a top class, winning team and we just don't have that right now. And the ones that are top class are under performing so there's clearly a major issue all round.

After losing the replay 2 years ago I stated that we've become a bit like Mayo, always thereabouts, but always narrowly short of there. I got savaged out of it here but yet here we are again two years on and still on that hamster wheel. Very demoralising.

I don't have the answers. I just very much hope that Mayo get off that wheel at last and go all out to do it this time. It will restore my faith that bad runs do eventually end.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

our lads remind me of the Cork hurlers at the moment...just constantly coming up short... in my opinion the players just dont seem to want it badly enough.... we are in a worse place now then we were at the end of 2018 when eamon fitz left and Keane took over... i really think Keane should move on... he has i have no doubt given it his best shot... but the teamn hasnt improved since 2019.. gone backwards if anything.... Joe O'Connor must become involved in our set up some way.... Tim Murphy has some big calls to make over next few months.... i hope he makes them..... the stat by dobman of having won just one game in Croker in 4 years is absolutely shocking.. considering we consider croker our second home....

obviuously tyrone were talking nonsense when it came to covd.. i hope we dont use it as an excuse to distract from how poorly the team played.... we wanted this game.. we got it and didnt turn up... we dont have anyone like kieran mcgeary who looks like he would die out on the field for the cause....

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

The way I look at it the Limerick hurlers set the bar now for S&C for all inter county teams in both codes

We are light years off their levels of conditioning,

Even the subs that came on looked off the pace and lifeless.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,180 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Our strenght and conditioning was not the issue it was our game plan. Tyrone had hardly any scoring forward on for the first 40 minutes. There plan was keep the game tight and we played right into there hands. Our game was high intensity, moving the ball fast runners off the ball giving options. That saps energy.We were carrying Moran as a passenger and Jack Barry is not hugely mobile. In the first half we got into a lot of point scoring positions but took 1-2 passes too many out of it and Tyrone over turned it and broke down the center and took there scores. What was laughable was we were winning every one of the Tyrone kickouts in that half, put the ball over the bar, set up for the kickout rinse and repeat.

Its a simple F@@king game but we complicated it. All we had to do was keep scoring points in that first half and Tyrone would have to leave there shell. The longer the game was tight the more oxygen they got. But as well we were running ourselves into the ground. How many runs did our wing back and corner backs make up the field 15-20 each...more in the case of Gavin White. The same with Foley he must have come up field 4-5 times. Ya Tyrone broke on the counter but different players broke every time and they held there defensive formation. We play in situations where we often only leave 3 or even two players in defense. However when Tyrone break it will not be there forwards that break but defenders which often left our defenders stranded. They break doen the center not down the wings to any great extent..shortes distance to opposition goal. They have 2-3 scoring forwards the rest are just defenders but able to take a score if it is offered to them. Our game is too high intensity to play teams like Tyrone.

It was my one fear this year was the amount of goal scoring chances we missed against Tyrone i the League and more ominiously against Cork, Clare and Tipp where we over worked the ball and failed to score.. I was afraid of a day where we would do the same but not get as many chances. In every game this year we missed more goal chances than we scored....today was no different.

As the old adage goes ''lads take your points the goals come by themselves'', too may players are buying media hype that goals wins game, ya they did today for Tyrone but it was the crass stubidity of not taking scoring chances in the first half and then conseeding from those turnovers. Watch any game of the team of the noughties and the team of the seventies/eighties, they would keep poping the points over and then after opening a gap nail a goal. They did not continually try to create goal chances. I am not sure where that brainfart entered the Kerry physce

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭thesultan

It doesn't matter if Tyrone had covid or not. The thing is Clifford carried Kerry. Tommy Walsh hasn't kicked a point in years so I'm not sure why he is still there.. Big rebuild needed in Kerry...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

Same team as 2019 when Keane first came in and we drew with Dublin in the final, probably should have won that really. And yet here we are 2 years later and the same team, full of players who should be on the up in their career and not down, is playing worse than two years ago. Time to go Keane. People here saying we don't have the players.. We're not far off. But our management is making it worse, not better.

Taught kerry would have won handy,if kicked points instead of constant trying for goals particularly in 1st half

Instead of keeping em at arms length,kerrt ended up getting dragged into a dogfight with tyrone,and sure they were always going to win then based on experience of coming out of tough games in ulster

Will make for a fasinating final from neutral perspective

• Registered Users Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Our game management IQ on the pitch is very poor.

How many times do the same players have to take ball into contact and get turned over before they stop doing it.

We have 2 top class forwards, 2 top class defenders and that's it. The supporting cast needs improving either with new personnel, a solid gameplan or improved decisions on the pitch.

Some fellas are destined to repeat mistakes their whole careers and I'd be afraid that's the case with some of our starting 15.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,864 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Were we not unlucky with our goal chance in the 1st half ,like paudie was just making it absolute and Tyrone went up then and got their goal completely changed the game.I actually taught Moran contributed plenty in defence today but we are lacking an attacking mid fielder .I taught the half forward line was steam rolled even though o Brien got a few frees should tommy walsh or Moran have been in around the square testing out Tyrone goalie .Kerry subs did not contribute much bar o connor but expected more from crowley/walsh bad miss at the end as well .Probably running out of steam cost us in the end but had the team be prepared to peak a fortnight ago meant we ran out of steam towards the end .Dont think sacking Keane will solve nought as we are there or therabouts pity we did not have a tough game before this one maybe the league final with Dublin was what we needed

• Registered Users Posts: 18,180 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

We weren't unlucky just stupid. Stephen O'Brien is a experienced player All he had to do was check his run into the box or run out of the way. Geany should have scored it himself. That was but one stupid mistake. Time and again we tried to create goal chances rather than putting the ball over the bar .

I defended Keane last year and I stood up for him when Donnie Buckley walked. Today was unforgivable and the whole management team should go. We need a complete change in emphasis. The day of testing out the goalie with a big slow player is gone. Walsh and Moran both f@@ked up last year and neither gave me any reason to think there contribution today or in the future is needed.

Maybe Diarmuid O Connor was not capable of playing a full match, but once again we had too many light players in the middle third of the pitch. Playing our two best footballers in the inside line seems a great idea but we need to get decent ball into them. Looking at the rest of the forwards, SOB is a one trick pony, Geany is not a playmaker or a workhorse, DM and PC are not physically strong enough after that neither Barry or Moran are rampaging midfielder's. You can live with 1-2 of those issues not all six.

Pat Spillane was brainfarting about starting six forwards, that is grand but they have to contribute. In a way playing SOS and DC inside made it easy for Tyrone. We left them the opportunity to mark our two best forwards with three players and never either got them one on one with defenders.

Tyrone set up with a goalie and 14 defenders and we tried to run through them they turned us over and charged down field to score for there scores in the first half.

Having a tough game had nothing to do with it. We played through the league with a certain structure. Our f@@king management team then started to restructure the team, he dropped Fitzgibbon for Ryan, ( mind you Ryan was not a liability today but Fitzgibbon is more comfortable on the ball), he reinterated Moran into the team( not a huge issue), dropped Moyihan and then bought him back today. Dropped Crowley for Murphy, all in games where we were going to win. He seemed more intent in playing certain players than in having a settled structure. If we stated DOC or AS today I stead of DM and took our points instead of chasing elusive goals we would have won the match. Crowley's confidence must be shattered this is the second season he had a good league season ( 2017 under Fitzmaurice) only to be dropped for championship.

Moran, Walsh and A few more on the bench need to be jettisoned, Geany is only a player to bring on, if even that. We need to forget about 6 fancy forwards and get 1-2 workhorses like Donnacha Walsh and Paul Galvin. DOC needs to step up and the other lad is it Paul O Shea needs to be fast tracked into the system.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭kerry_man15

I feared over the past few weeks that this result would happen. Think Tyrone have definitely exaggerated their Covid claims and pulled a fast one using the time to get injured players back and disrupting Kerry's momentum, who would have been planning to peak 2 weeks ago. Tyrone certainly did not look like a team that has been ravaged by Covid and unable to train over the past few weeks, quite the opposite really.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,176 ✭✭✭Good loser

To me it was glaringly obvious that Coldrick would have awarded Kerry a free in in the last minute. All Kerry had to do was hold the ball and fall in contact - in scoring range. So Tommy Walsh should never have taken that shot.

Coldrick is that kind of an evening-up ref. After Tyrone were given the black cards he gave them soft frees. Also after second black Tyrone spent 5+ minutes lying on the ground - effectively making it a 5 minute penalty.

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭conor05

I have said this before, in 2019, 2020 and 2021 Kerry S & C has not looked up to scratch under McGahan. Even against Cork last year we didn’t have the required zip in the legs.

It is the same with the Kerry hurling team, the Westmeath hurlers looked to have serious conditioning compared to them in the Joe McDonagh final this year.

Are we that behind the times in Kerry?

Kerry should try and move mountains to get Lukasz Kirszenstein the S&C coach who helped massively deliver hurling all Ireland’s to Tipperary and Galway.

Aim for the best always!