If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Xiaomi Mi A1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭skyblue46

paddy19 wrote: »
    €186 is a hell of a price but it does not include the dreaded VAT of 23% or handling charge.

Nothing on the site on where it ships from.

Does say you are responsible for import duty and charges.

23% = €43 plus handlers fee of €10 gets you to 186+43+10= €239

Amazon.es will deliver it for €240

I'd spend the extra Euro.

There was a post last Monday where the lad had no charges. Mine is in Ireland now probably to be delivered tomorrow. Its last stop was London. I'll let you know what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭alwald

john9876 wrote: »
    Is the price quoted on the eglobal website what you will pay or can you get charged more for customs ?
    I emailed them that question but got no response.
    They seem to be the cheapest but their rating isn't great on some review sites.

I bought one from eglobal before xmas and arrived fine, few days late as they were out of stock but it was brand new, well packaged and the cheapest in the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 91 ✭✭ BUD27

Received mine from eglobal for 184 euro all in no charges upon delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭chrismon

Still waiting for mine to be shipped from Amazon.es, ordered on Wednesday morning

Mine lost in Athone....can you fooking believe it!

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Mine lost in Athone....can you fooking believe it!

Nightmare.
    Is it with a courier or where is it?

chrismon wrote: »
    Nightmare.
    Is it with a courier or where is it?

DPD have lost it. They had it on Saturday and now can't find it. They scanned it in to Athlone and say it was scanned to go to Dublin. Now its in neither place or on any delivery van.Unreal! Now the fun starts trying to get a replacement or refund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭paddy19

Very difficult to get loot back from Chinese suppliers in my experience.
    If you don't get immediate joy, best bet maybe to go after a chargeback with your Credit/Debit Card issuer.

"In order to start a chargeback, you should contact your card provider (the bank or credit card company who issued the card) immediately. Give them details of the transaction you are disputing and request that they follow it up with the supplier’s merchant. This is the bank that processes card transactions for the shop or company that debited your card.

https://www.ccpc.ie/consumers/shopping/disputed-card-transactions-chargeback/

Take a look at

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057809627

Seems to be a bit of problem with phones going missing in DPD Athlone.

Might want to get the Gardai involved if you don't get any joy from DPD.

Your problem is that you don't have a contract with DPD.

Eglobal need to drive it which might not be easy.

skyblue46 wrote: »
    DPD have lost it. They had it on Saturday and now can't find it. They scanned it in to Athlone and say it was scanned to go to Dublin. Now its in neither place or on any delivery van.Unreal! Now the fun starts trying to get a replacement or refund.

That's unreal.
    Hope you get it sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭devildriver

Got mine to day from Amazon.es

Took weeks to actually ship but then arrived within 2 days via An Post.

Very slick device (literally, definitely needs a case as it's a slippery yoke to hold!), Android One is a nice experience after years of putting up with manufacturers layers of crap!.

Very difficult to get loot back from Chinese suppliers in my experience.
    If you don't get immediate joy, best bet maybe to go after a chargeback with your Credit/Debit Card issuer.

"In order to start a chargeback, you should contact your card provider (the bank or credit card company who issued the card) immediately. Give them details of the transaction you are disputing and request that they follow it up with the supplier’s merchant. This is the bank that processes card transactions for the shop or company that debited your card.

https://www.ccpc.ie/consumers/shopping/disputed-card-transactions-chargeback/

Take a look at

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057809627

Seems to be a bit of problem with phones going missing in DPD Athlone.

Might want to get the Gardai involved if you don't get any joy from DPD.

Your problem is that you don't have a contract with DPD.

Eglobal need to drive it which might not be easy.

I paid using Paypal so I'll look at reversing it if I hear nothing by tomorrow evening. It's a nightmare. DPD take 9 working days to complete a trace investigation and declare it lost.

Got mine to day from Amazon.es

Took weeks to actually ship but then arrived within 2 days via An Post.

Very slick device (literally, definitely needs a case as it's a slippery yoke to hold!), Android One is a nice experience after years of putting up with manufacturers layers of crap!.

Mine won't be here till Monday at the earliest.
    Screens broken on my current phone, keeps cutting my fingers when trying to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Trojan00

My son is thinking of buying one of these from either amazon.es or one of the Chinese/EU sites. I was wondering if the charger is a continental european plug? Do you guys just use a normal USB charger from a previous phone?

The charger from Amazon.es is a two pin continental European plug.

It's a 5 volt 2 Amp charger so probably got a bit more umph that a standard charger.

You can use a continental to 3 pin adapter.

It will also work with any charger. Charge time will be a good bit longer with a standard 1 Amp.

Also note that it the new C type connector (at the phone end) which goes in either way.

Mines shipped early this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭sok2005

How long is the shipping time on these phones from eglobal? I ordered 2 on Monday after reading through this thread. One for myself and one for my husband.

sok2005 wrote: »
    How long is the shipping time on these phones from eglobal? I ordered 2 on Monday after reading through this thread. One for myself and one for my husband.

Mine was ordered on a Monday night last week and it got to DPD in Athlone on Saturday. It would have been delivered on Monday if they then didn't lose it! :mad:

sok2005 wrote: »

I ordered mine from https://www.amazon.es/gp/product/B076VLDF6P/ref=as_li_ss_tl?smid=A1AT7YVPFBWXBL&linkCode=sl1&tag=amazones04-21&linkId=b1d3806c035369226cd656ff8ebf3633&th=1 on the 14th of Feb, 9 days till the shipped it, hopefully be here Monday, will keep ye updated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

Purchased from Aliexpress via Goldway, less than 200e inclusive, ordered last night and shipped this morning.

paid the DHL 21e for no customs, it arrives within 10 days then, nice one.

any particular cases peeps recommend? very slim phone and wouldn't want to take away from the design with bulk.

Phone arrived today.
    Really nice, build is really decent, screen looks great, portrait mode on the camera is very cool!
    I do think in low light pictured my Nexus 5x beats it hands down.
    Lovely phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Nice looking phone, very interested.
    A quick question for the experts,is the Spanish version compatible with USA GSM bands. Going there in June so need it to work stateside

The USA is a complex mixture of different technologies, carriers and locations.

You need to check your location and carrier to see what bands they support.

This site should help, it gives a list of carriers that the A1 supports.
    http://www.china-prices.com/phone/bands/9731/xiaomi-mi-a1

The Spanish version has the following band per the Xiaomi Spanish site.

GSM B2, B3, B5, B8
    UMTS B1, B2, B5, B8
    FDD-LTE B1, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20
    TDD-LTE B38, B40

The key issue seems to be will it support 4G/LTE.
    The phone will work with most carriers and probably support 3G.

http://www.mi.com/es/mi-a1/specs/

Picked up a nice cover from Ebay for £3.49.

Listed under "Ultra Slim Matt Hard Case Cover For Xiaomi Mi A"

Obviously takes a bit from the slim look but still looks class.

Hopefully gives protection from my drop tests!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

The USA is a complex mixture of different technologies, carriers and locations.

You need to check your location and carrier to see what bands they support.

The Spanish version has the following band per the Xiaomi Spanish site.

GSM B2, B3, B5, B8
    UMTS B1, B2, B5, B8
    FDD-LTE B1, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20
    TDD-LTE B38, B40

The key issue seems to be will it support 4G/LTE.
    The phone will work with most carriers and probably support 3G.

http://www.mi.com/es/mi-a1/specs/

Thanks.
    Traveling to the NY area, will this be ok there?

Need to decide which carrier you are going to use.

Different carriers use different frequencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Got mine just before Christmas. Loving it so far but the chassis isn't that strong. It's easily bent when in the jeans pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,219 ✭✭✭corkie

Unbox Therapy - Mi A1!

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

corkie wrote:
    Unbox Therapy - Mi A1!

Didn't get the praise it really deserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Got mine just before Christmas. Loving it so far but the chassis isn't that strong. It's easily bent when in the jeans pocket.

Just like the iPhone 6 that cost 3X as much.

Perhaps your jeans are too tight...? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

Didn't get the praise it really deserves

He strikes me as a commission based lad. If it isin't linked to Amazon for his commission Ys might not see it promoted on God channel.

He could have talked about the dual camera etc.