Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bizarre Airplane or Airport behaviour

• 29-08-2017 4:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭

Last night I got back from a trip to Berlin and was sitting in the aisle seat beside a couple. The guy had a book with him and spent the entire journey reading it to the girl. Usually this wouldn't bother me as I'd be listening to music but my phone wasn't working (I spilled beer on it) so just had to sit there listening to him play the part of a narrator. It was very irritating and just a bit odd I found.

Prior to boarding the plane two other strange things happened. There was a stand where you could charge your phone for free and it was beside a massage chair. Some guy was sitting in the massage chair charging his phone. Another guy came over and asked him to get up as he wanted to use the chair but the first guy refused and a fight broke out. The guy who was sitting on the chair wasn't actually using it for it's purpose, he was just waiting for his phone to charge. Airport police ended up coming over and making him get up.

Then, as we were all waiting in the Ryanair sweatbox to board the plane, some guy asked the girl checking the tickets if he could go back out to use the toilet and she said no. He started screaming at her that he'd p*ss himself if she didn't let him out and how it was inhumane. She also ended up calling airport Police to come and deal with it.

Any of you guys witnessed weird or wonderful airplane behaviour?

I'm a big fan of this guy and totally agree with him about airplane armrest etiquette. Sorry, I don't know how to post a link properly evidently!:pac:

Jim Jefferies Airplane Etiquette - YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

Porklife wrote: »
    Last night I got back from a trip to Berlin and was sitting in the aisle seat beside a couple. The guy had a book with him and spent the entire journey reading it to the girl. Usually this wouldn't bother me as I'd be listening to music but my phone wasn't working (I spilled beer on it) so just had to sit there listening to him play the part of a narrator. It was very irritating and just a bit odd I found. [...]

I see no difference between this and simply talking through the entire flight, which people certainly have the right to do.

Regarding the other other behaviours you cite, I think we all know that flying has become so unpleasant that it brings out the worst in all of us. That includes the tendency to be angered by what is, in fact, perfectly normal behaviour on the part of others.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Maybe she couldn't read and he was reading it to her? Sounds kinda sweet.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Not so much bizarre, but certainly very memorable,

was on the tarmac at schipol airport waiting to go home after an extreme stag weekend with the lads. we were all checked in and buckled up, but the cabin crew were still standing at the door, looking up the jetwalk or whatever its called.

about 15 minutes pass, and then we noticed the cabin crew were cracking up laughing, next thing two lads who looked like tom from craggy island came in the door, looking decidedly worse for wear. The plane was pretty full so they stumbled their way up the aisle to their seats with the whole plane giggling at them. There was no fear or panic, just a plane load of people who'd probably had a mad weekend as well, laughing at the expense of two guys who overindulged a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Jaysus, that Jim Jefferies is obnoxious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭OnDraught

Academic wrote: »
    I see no difference between this and simply talking through the entire flight, which people certainly have the right to do.

Planes should be divided up with a section for people that want to sit in peace and not have to listen to other people's nonsense/kids. I'd pay extra for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

anna080 wrote: »
    Maybe she couldn't read and he was reading it to her? Sounds kinda sweet.
    I thought so too. Or maybe she is blind or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,729 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

No, but yesterday I had to take a connecting flight, there was not a lot of time between the plane landing and my next flight, I ended up having to go through security with 20 minutes to take off and everyone in front of me were acting as if they never had went through security, which I am sure they had.
    I ended up looking like the weird person with my hand luggage running through the terminal to get to my gate in time, was near the very last person, but would not have made it on time if I had walked.
    People were probably thinking 'he should have arrived earlier, silly idiot'.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

OnDraught wrote: »
    Planes should be divided up with a section for people that want to sit in peace and not have to listen to other people's nonsense/kids. I'd pay extra for this.

Bose noise cancelling headphones and an eye mask for you. Good investment.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,059 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

People who clap when the plane lands. Seems to be mostly an Irish/UK thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,729 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I was never on a flight where that happened. Though have heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I've seen all sorts, but the worst is usually alcohol related.

The most annoying was the group of women (complete with kids) off to Majorca for their holliers who, despite being told numerous times, tried drinking their duty free on the plane and proceeded to argue with cabin crew. iirc, one of them had Spanish police waiting to greet her on landing. Whilst they argued constantly with cabing crew, no one else got served from the drinks trolly and their kids ran up and down the aisles.

Then there were the three ladies ( a mother and two daughters) who were returning to London after visiting a funeral in Ireland. All three were leglesss and the mother mover across the aisle to pass out in a row on her own. The two sisters then proceeded to get in to a heated argument about who would drive when they got back. Apparently it made sense for the younger of the two to drive, because she didn't have a licence and therefore couldn't lose it if they were stopped by the poliss.:confused:

Lastly and most annoying, were the three lads who got on the relatively empty plane legless and before we could take off, the youngest managed to throw up all over himself. This then prompted a return to the gate, his removal from the plane and a lengthy delay whilst their bags were taken out of the hold.

The most bizarre though, by a country mile, was sitting behind Jedward on a flight from LHR. I'm not sure why it was bizarre, but it was for some reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,059 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

RobertKK wrote: »
    I was never on a flight where that happened. Though have heard of it.
    Happens on pretty much every short-haul flight I'm on that involves Ireland or the UK as at least one of the airports, more so in the last ten years.

Hardly ever happens (and if it does, it's one or two people, whereas on the flights with Irish or UK citizens it's a lot more people) on flights between non-Irish/UK airports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Baby on my seat.
    The mother said she needed the seat for her baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

On holiday with my oh a few years ago and there were these two women in their mid forties or so staying in the same apartment complex. They were like something from the 80s gone wrong. I'd chat to them at the pool the odd time. Sometimes they were funny and not the worst but mostly annoying.

One of them went on a bender for about 2 days before the flight home and was locked at the airport. She got into some argument with the staff and held up the plane for ages. I was looking out the window of the plane and you could just see her being escorted on, still in her going out outfit from the night before including her cowboy hat and high heels. When she got on, she was like "hiyas"! There was an angry sigh from the passengers. Honestly, just looking at her would have given you a hangover!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,164 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The most annoying was the group of women (complete with kids) off to Majorca for their holliers who, despite being told numerous times, tried drinking their duty free on the plane and proceeded to argue with cabin crew. iirc, one of them had Spanish police waiting to greet her on landing. Whilst they argued constantly with cabing crew, no one else got served from the drinks trolly and their kids ran up and down the aisles.

Then there were the three ladies ( a mother and two daughters) who were returning to London after visiting a funeral in Ireland. All three were leglesss and the mother mover across the aisle to pass out in a row on her own. The two sisters then proceeded to get in to a heated argument about who would drive when they got back. Apparently it made sense for the younger of the two to drive, because she didn't have a licence and therefore couldn't lose it if they were stopped by the poliss.:confused:

Lastly and most annoying, were the three lads who got on the relatively empty plane legless and before we could take off, the youngest managed to throw up all over himself. This then prompted a return to the gate, his removal from the plane and a lengthy delay whilst their bags were taken out of the hold.

The most bizarre though, by a country mile, was sitting behind Jedward on a flight from LHR. I'm not sure why it was bizarre, but it was for some reason.

you have to admit there is a certain logic to that :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,856 ✭✭✭gifted

diomed wrote: »
    Baby on my seat.
    The mother said she needed the seat for her baby.

Can she do that?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

No. Plus the baby has to sit on your lap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

gifted wrote: »
    Can she do that?
    She thought yes. The cabin crew said no.

diomed wrote: »
    She thought yes. The cabin crew said no.

what always amazes me is the people who argue with Cabin crew or security.

You will never win, so don't even bother trying. Your civil rights get left at the entrance to the airport, if you don't like it, don't fly.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,883 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

what always amazes me is the people who argue with Cabin crew or security.

You will never win, so don't even bother trying. Your civil rights get left at the entrance to the airport, if you don't like it, don't fly.

Unless you are sitting in a seat you have been assigned before being dragged off the over booked flight.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

We have a winner!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Your Face wrote: »
    Jaysus, that Jim Jefferies is obnoxious.

I never heard of him until today, and yes he is obnoxious. But he's a funny obnoxious.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Jim jeffries is funny in small doses imo. Had me laughing away at a show i saw on tv or Netflix. I don't think i could actually sit through a live shiw though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

The two sisters then proceeded to get in to a heated argument about who would drive when they got back. Apparently it made sense for the younger of the two to drive, because she didn't have a licence and therefore couldn't lose it if they were stopped by the poliss.:confused:
    you have to admit there is a certain logic to that :)

an irish logic :pac:

(i presume they were irish?)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I was coming back from amsterdam a few weeks ago and ended up being late for my flight due to long unexpected ques at security.
    i ended up having to run to the gate.there was another guy just ahead of me who was also obviously late.
    he took a really bad fall down the stairs that lead to our gate. somehow he got up and hobbled onto the plane.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭kravmaga

That's mainly from the ah jaysus howya brigade , haha :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Not really bizarre but fun. When we were coming home from Lourdes at Easter wit the HCPT/IHCPT, the groups on the Shannon flight were singing Rise and Shine, and dancing the actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Came back from Greece a few weeks ago and a couple, late 20's, maybe early 30's were sitting in aisle seats opposite each other. Spent the entire 3.5 hours kissing and whispering into each other's ears and moving in an out every 20 seconds when someone needed to pass by. I thought to myself what a sad pair of twats. Thank god i was 3 rows back or I'd have punched them if I'd been closer.

philstar wrote: »
    an irish logic :pac:

(i presume they were irish?)

From England but visiting an Irish relatives funeral. the sort of relative that usually has wheels on their houses;)

• Registered Users Posts: 51,508 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What I noticed is that as soon as the plane takes off everyone wants to pee.
    Why couldn't they go before boarding the plane?