Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rose of Tralee - RIP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

The Rose of Tralee is a very silly jaded format. I do think it should not be televised in its entirity. The festival itself is good for Tralee but does anyone really need 8 hours of Daithi O'Shea acting the idiot? The festival has also been hijacked by bad modern country acts in recent years. The only respite from Daithi O'Shea is listening to some joker calling himself Lee Matthews singing some woeful stage Irish made up for the event song. Another excuse for the media yet again to promote this awful music. If this is all the festival can provide, then it should be reviewed BIGTIME.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭desbrook

My attitude to TROT is like my attitude to yellow front doors. I've no interest in painting my front door yellow in fact I think they are yuck. I recognise though that lots of people love their yellow front doors and I'd defend anyones right ro paint their door whatever bloody colour they want.
    Likewise I recognise that TROT gets huge ratings.In fact the only real debate has been more and more people wanting to enter it not boycott it. Live and let live !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I think they should be let call dish washing or baking brown bread a special talent. Oh and the mascot chooses what the woman wears

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Could Tralee not invent some other festival to get the tourists in for a week? , Comicon Tralee , Trallee Traveller national convention or something , this rose thing is an embarrasment .

• Registered Users Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Its a pathetic show and while people can do what they want, I think less of anybody who enters it and is happy to parade themselves in such a demeaning and anachronistic fashion.

The reason all the Father Ted "Lovely girls" jokes still get used even today is because they hit so very, very close to home.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I don't understand anyone sitting through two nights of the same questions over and over. I'd be bored after half an hour. It's all very twee and not something that I see as representative of Ireland today but it makes a few bob out of gullible plastic paddies for tralee so you can see why they continue to milk it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

When the roses mention their boyfriends.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Oasis1974 wrote: »
    carrot cruncher porn.

You have me there.

I Googled it and got women sticking carrotts somewhere. What has that got to do with the Rose of Tralee? It's of a similar grade of viewing experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

This is the first year I haven't watched it I think. Just couldn't cope with it at all. Switched it on for a minute a while ago and Daithi was wearing a bejewelled sleep mask and a peg on his nose while eating a turnip. I don't think there's any way back from that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Maybe once upon a time when people had a choice of 1 or 2 TV channels then you could complain. But today with gazillions of options it is so easy to avoid it.

Grazillions

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭bananabread12

Only the boggers watch it...

The Dubs live in the 21st century.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I'm a bogger, and I'm not watching it.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It was time to put it out to pasture 15 years ago. People still watch it though, so as long as there's an audience, it'll keep going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

It should be amalgamated with that other great Kerry festival to form the Goat of Tralee.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

do any 'rides' ever enter the competition?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Isnt this the female equivalent of the culchie of the year festival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Its like the Eurovision. Lots of people claim to hate it but secretly love it.

I tested this myself last year by watching the show both nights. I was cringing throughout and at the end, felt that the announcement of the winner was not worth all that went before. So I genuinely just dislike it.

That being said, clearly many people do like it so I don't care about it being televised. I can ignore it.
    seamus wrote: »
    One of the previous winners was on the radio on Friday talking about what a big event it is for everyone, how everyone grows up watching the festival and dreaming about being there, the great buzz in the lead up to it. And all I could think about what how she clearly lives in a very different world from I.

I wanted to be on it under the age of about eleven and indeed we all did watch it as childers and get excited about it. Then we all grew up and realised how awful it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

CeilingFly wrote: »
    It makes a profit, it's on TV in mid week in August, not one cent of licence fee money is needed for it - if you don't like it you neither need to be involved nor watch it.

hence it can stay for as long as it likes for those who wish to watch it.

Well said bull.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Surely in 2017 this poor excuse for carrot cruncher porn should be taken off the air. Herding women on to a stage and treating them like spastics just typify us Oirish.

Yeah shame on us oirish. We should go all classy like the British and find a bunch of skanks with nose jobs and botox and put on a version of celebrity big brother!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I think peoples problem with the Rose of Tralee is the fact it looks like a quaint & innocent TV escapee from 1970s rural Ireland. The whole format and premise of the show is so 1970s ...

The RTE 6 O'Clock Angelus is another one that slipped through the time vortex, and no amount of "updating" can disguise its dusty old origins from a bygone era.

Colleen's at the crossroads sitting on a wall while father Jack passes by on the back of a tractor on the way to Balinnaspittle to see if anything's moving in da field ;-)

More turf there now Gobnait.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Security might be tightened, following the "Fathers for Justice" interruption last year

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

Surely in 2017 this poor excuse for carrot cruncher porn should be taken off the air. Herding women on to a stage and treating them like spastics just typify us Oirish.

Yeah shame on us oirish. We should go all classy like the British and find a bunch of skanks with nose jobs and botox and put on a version of celebrity big brother!
    And why does any of that sort of sh1t have to be aired? Is it an either/or choice? Both the Rose of Tralee and Big Brother are utter drivel aimed at brainless cretins.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,214 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

And why does any of that sort of sh1t have to be aired? Is it an either/or choice? Both the Rose of Tralee and Big Brother are utter drivel aimed at brainless cretins.

Some people like to watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I love how they're all teachers called Aisling with accountant boyfriends called Seamus and "mammy is so proud of me" and then of course the mortifyingly cringe "talent" like hip-hop dancing or whipping off the skirt to reveal a shorter skirt and do an old one two three, two two three.

Not great for the aul feminism but there's no denying it's TV gold.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I'd rather not see it gone to be honest - there are plenty of people here and abroad who enjoy watching and being involved in it. Who are we to begrudge them that.

If you don't like it then just change the channel - it's only two nights of the year on one channel for a few short hours. Easy to avoid if it bothers you that much.

Why is it so hard for Irish people to allow each other enjoyment?

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

I love the Rose of Tralee festival, even though I don't watch it, as it brings out the narrow minded intolerance in many people, year after year, without fail.

"I don't like it; therefore it should be taken off. 'Tis only watched by ............... (fill in your favourite insult)"

We had stupid censorship for a long time in this state. we don't need it back.

How difficult is it to press a button on the remote?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Bring back the Calor Housewife of the Year, I say.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

57 posts prior to mine kinda explains it all really.

Recent RoTs I have been working during, and kinda had a curiosity to watch. This year, have my evenings free, and have zero interest in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,740 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Daithi asking yer wan from the US airforce was she not worried about Kim Jong Un and North Korea had to be the most cringe thing ive seen on Irish tv in recent memory

• Registered Users Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

VinLieger wrote: »
    Daithi asking yer wan from the US airforce was she not worried about Kim Jong Un and North Korea had to be the most cringe thing ive seen on Irish tv in recent memory

I know, and the least Daithi could do is put on a posher accent like Tubs or Miriam!