Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Nally isn't up to the pitch of senior championship. Think this is the reason why he hasn't really featured in championship at all. His auditions in the league this year didn't show him in any great light.

He seems to be the new Richie, the one who doesn't get the chance to show this genius that supposedly exists.

Bit harsh,he had a poor league this year but I definitely thought he showed enough in previous years both in league and championship to be given a more substantial opportunity for some championship game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

Like others have implied there is a certain odd sense of relief about all this.

The last loss at this stage to Longford 8 years ago was a shocker, Mayo at the time were neither here nor there but it came as a shock.

This on the other hand has been something that seemed on the cards all last season and this one.

But it's been a fantastic journey. Interlopers here will tell us that it's not been worth it because we did not win an All Ireland, f**k them, we know as Mayo fans what it has been worth to us and we know how to value it.

Before 2011 there was only one Mayo game that stood head and shoulders above the rest in my consciousness, and that was the 2006 SF win over Dublin, but it was followed by a total and utter let down.

Since 2011 there has been a game every year similar to 2006 without the collapse to follow it.

The first win in 95 years over Cork

The win v Dublin in 2012

The oppening a can of whoop ass on all and sundry in 2013.

The 2014 replay epic v Kerry (at the time the most bizzare game I ever saw)

The comeback v Dublin in 2015, I stood for the last 10 mins of that game, as did everyone around me in the Hogan Stand.

The 2016 drawn final (currently the most bizzare game I ever saw, the 2014 SF replay only held that accolade for 2 years)

The extra times, draws and replays of 2017, every one more exciting than the last.

And not one of these seasons ended in a 1993, 2004, or 2006 embarrassment, every year the went down fighting.

As someone who grw up in the 70s and 80s when we had nothing this last 7 years have been amazing.

And a big thank you to all the players, coaches, managers etc who made it so.

I know you don’t want platitudes at this moment but I’d like to wholeheartedly agree with this. This bunch of players have given not just Mayo, but the whole country more drama and joy in the last 6 years than everyone else combined. How boring would our summers have been without them. Unfortunately they lacked maybe one or 2 more top class players, and certainly never got the bir of luck, most teams need, when it mattered.

But they proved one thing. Sport really isn’t all about winning. This team and all the great games they played in will be talked about long after your Dublin’s and Donegals are forgotten about. There will always be a tinge of sadness when Mayo eventually cross to the promised land that maybe most or all of these guys won’t be there but sport and life are cruel. Certainly I’m sure a lot of us are wondering today will himself be around to see it.

Anyway, as I say we all owe them and their fantastic supporters a debt of gratitude. Keep the green an red flying. Maigh Eo abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,235 ✭✭✭✭JRant

To put it on perspective here are Mayo's All Ireland "exit points" since 2011 going from latest to earliest.

1 Final replay (2016)
    3 Final (2012, 2013, 2017)
    1 SF replay ET (2014)
    1 SF replay (2015)
    1 SF (2011)

If celebrating those seasons is celebrating losers then I am guilty as charged.

As a poster here said a few years back, these guys are living our dreams because we were not good enough to be able to live them ourselves.

The context of those loses shouldn't be forgotten either. They pushed what many consider one of the greatest teams ever in the sport to the pin of their collar on multiple occasions. In many ways they were unlucky to come up against this Dublin team at this time. They are/were a credit to the county and like you I can't understand the mentality that just dismisses them out of hand.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

crusier wrote: »
    In time only the victors will be remembered, In 22, 23 24 and 25 years time, the all ireland winners will be rolled out at half time in the all Ireland final. There will be a brief mention of Mayo and that will be it. That's the reality. Who was the second man on the moon? Most people don't know.

You just don't get it, fair enough, you never will. So be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

harpsman wrote: »
    I know you don’t want platitudes at this moment but I’d like to wholeheartedly agree with this. This bunch of players have given not just Mayo, but the whole country more drama and joy in the last 6 years than everyone else combined. How boring would our summers have been without them. Unfortunately they lacked maybe one or 2 more top class players, and certainly never got the bir of luck, most teams need, when it mattered.

But they proved one thing. Sport really isn’t all about winning. This team and all the great games they played in will be talked about long after your Dublin’s and Donegals are forgotten about.

Broadly agree with your point but I think you're over-egging it a bit here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭gigantic09

Great posts. It's like we're writing eulogies lads but it has that feeling even though we'll be back, maybe with the 2.0 version.

Hopefully we will indeed be back. We've lost very few players over the last 8 or 9 years. Over this period the team has evolved to become a well oiled machine, with very few weak links (on our best day's we've had no weak links, every man vital to the whole operation).
    The next couple of years will be very important as we enter a period of transition. We made a start this year with Hanley and Durkan and o Donohoe .we will need to add more next year. The biggest disappointment for me this summer apart from obvious, was that for whatever reason Conor Loftus didn't feature too often.
    Hopefully under 20's give us a much needed boost and that rumours that the semi final will be held in St. Connliths Park are unfounded :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,365 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

gigantic09 wrote: »
    Hopefully we will indeed be back. We've lost very few players over the last 8 or 9 years. Over this period the team has evolved to become a well oiled machine, with very few weak links (on our best day's we've had no weak links, every man vital to the whole operation).
    The next couple of years will be very important as we enter a period of transition. We made a start this year with Hanley and Durkan and o Donohoe .we will need to add more next year. The biggest disappointment for me this summer apart from obvious, was that for whatever reason Conor Loftus didn't feature too often.
    Hopefully under 20's give us a much needed boost and that rumours that the semi final will be held in St. Connliths Park are unfounded :).

What Mayo need after their trip to NY next year is a Connacht SF v Leitrim or Sligo.

Easier route to a Connacht final and thus an easier route to the last 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

seligehgit wrote: »
    Bit harsh,he had a poor league this year but I definitely thought he showed enough in previous years both in league and championship to be given a more substantial opportunity for some championship game time.

Would agree with that.

To be fair, how many of our players can honestly say they had a really good league campaign anyway? Our league form was not impressive
    Only a couple of guys really performed with any consistency.

And as far as I remember Nally only started two league games.

I'd like to see him reintroduced for the league next time round. The Parsons injury situation doesn't look great, and its time to think towards rebuilding in some areas of the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

Zeek12 wrote: »

Would agree with that.

To be fair, how many of our players can honestly say they had a really good league campaign anyway? Our league form was not impressive
    Only a couple of guys really performed with any consistency.

And as far as I remember Nally only started two league games.

I'd like to see him reintroduced for the league next time round. The Parsons injury situation doesn't look great, and its time to think towards rebuilding in some areas of the team.

He had a better league than Cian Hanley or James Durcan. But must not be cutting it on the training ground?????

muddle84 wrote: »
    He had a better league than Cian Hanley or James Durcan. But must not be cutting it on the training ground?????

They didn't see any league action.James played in the FBD league.

Yeah he mustn't be cutting the mustard at training.

They didn't see any league action.James played in the FBD league.

Yeah he mustn't be cutting the mustard at training.

Yeah i know that was my point, i meant he had a better league because he did feature!

Ah silly me gotcha.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

Genuine question. What's with the references to 2011 or the last 7 years as the starting point of this team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,459 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

howiya wrote:
    Genuine question. What's with the references to 2011 or the last 7 years as the starting point of this team?

Qualifier loss to Longford led to Horan coming in and kick starting everything as we know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Is the date set for the New York game yet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Qualifier loss to Longford led to Horan coming in and kick starting everything as we know it.
    And even with all James Horan did he is no Monsignor Horan......;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

True. At least Rochford was able to come up with a plan for Donaghy last year to counteract the high balls into him. If the same had been done in Limerick who knows what might have happened.

franklyon wrote: »
    True. At least Rochford was able to come up with a plan for Donaghy last year to counteract the high balls into him. If the same had been done in Limerick who knows what might have happened.

And a tactic to win dublins kickouts... horan didnt manage that in 13!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Bit weird to be sitting down for the draw this morning and no Mayo left!

Its almost a weird sense of release though. I'll probably pay a lot less attention to the remainder of the championship, even need a break from it all myself!

Can anyone look past a Dublin win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,365 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

jr86 wrote: »

Its almost a weird sense of release though. I'll probably pay a lot less attention to the remainder of the championship, even need a break from it all myself!

Probably not.

Even though I'd like to see Kerry win it I'd like to see them beat Dublin in the process not like 2014 when they won it without having to meet Dublin.

Worst case scenario would be to see Galway win it without having to meet Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

[/b]

Probably not.

Even though I'd like to see Kerry win it I'd like to see them beat Dublin in the process not like 2014 when they won it without having to meet Dublin.

Worst case scenario would be to see Galway win it without having to meet Dublin.

If Dublin get caught this year and someone slips in to snatch a handy one I’ll be very upset !!!!

After that draw though you would imagine they will get to a semi anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

[/b]

Probably not.

FFS Kerry... Galway or Ros now...In fairness if Galway win it without meeting Dublin, fair play to them. SAM needs to come West

Is the date set for the New York game yet?

Wouldn't be confirmed until the championship draw next October, but I'd guess Sunday 6th May 2019 would be a likely date for it.

When does the county championship resume? Read a piece last night saying it wouldn't be back till early September. Seems a bit odd now that the senior intercounty season is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boosabum

Wouldn't be confirmed until the championship draw next October, but I'd guess Sunday 6th May 2019 would be a likely date for it.

When does the county championship resume? Read a piece last night saying it wouldn't be back till early September. Seems a bit odd now that the senior intercounty season is over.

Supposed to be early September alright.
    I'd assume it's to allow time for all the players who went to america for the summer to return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Horsebox4

jr86 wrote: »

Probably not.

You really are running out of teams to like left in the Championship :) ... I'm sure you'll dust of that Kerry Jersey down in Tralee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Out of interest lads are there many lads ye think will leave the panel after this year?.  
    Surely andy moran has had his day now?. He didnt look to have much pace on Saturday.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

It had to happen, hoped it wouldn't be Saturday but legs and luck were running out. Weirdly it was the first time that myself and Dad weren't at a Mayo championship game together in close on 15 yrs so it really was the end of an era.
    No point digging up all that has been said on this thread already.

They have given us so so much, great great days and followed by weeks/months of doom after the losses where we coulda/shoulda won but at the end of it, these guys give up their lives to entertain Mayo fans, they put their families, social, holidays, travel, food, etc etc etc etc on hold to put their bodies on the lines to take up to that holy grail.
    Seeing the state of Tom Parsons during the injury and then after at the games, these guys don't get the 200k a week that the prima donnas get at the world cup, yet roll around and cry at every touch.
    Hearing at story from a mate who was at Kevin Keanes house there 2-3 yrs ago on Xmas day, the tin of roses was passed around with everyone horsing into them, Kevin couldn't take one as they had training the next day. Its this level of committement and drive that we don't see and take for granted if a lad turned up with a "big arse" or "tight jersey" in the opening round of the FBD, they have probably gone easy on the macro counting the previous two weeks and suffered the gains then after that.

Hearing DOC and Loftus headed to the US, dead right and I best of luck to them. Hope a few more enjoy their summers and I have ZERO doubt the core of this panel will be back, anyone writing us off is daft. We will be light a few bodies thats for sure and we can't blame them lads for finally hanging up the red and green, will we have a new managment structure, who knows.

Its been epic.

yop wrote: »
    It had to happen, hoped it wouldn't be Saturday but legs and luck were running out. Weirdly it was the first time that myself and Dad weren't at a Mayo championship game together in close on 15 yrs so it really was the end of an era.
    No point digging up all that has been said on this thread already.

They have given us so so much, great great days and followed by weeks/months of doom after the losses where we coulda/shoulda won but at the end of it, these guys give up their lives to entertain Mayo fans, they put their families, social, holidays, travel, food, etc etc etc etc on hold to put their bodies on the lines to take up to that holy grail.
    Seeing the state of Tom Parsons during the injury and then after at the games, these guys don't get the 200k a week that the prima donnas get at the world cup, yet roll around and cry at every touch.
    Hearing at story from a mate who was at Kevin Keanes house there 2-3 yrs ago on Xmas day, the tin of roses was passed around with everyone horsing into them, Kevin couldn't take one as they had training the next day. Its this level of committement and drive that we don't see and take for granted if a lad turned up with a "big arse" or "tight jersey" in the opening round of the FBD, they have probably gone easy on the macro counting the previous two weeks and suffered the gains then after that.

Hearing DOC and Loftus headed to the US, dead right and I best of luck to them. Hope a few more enjoy their summers and I have ZERO doubt the core of this panel will be back, anyone writing us off is daft. We will be light a few bodies thats for sure and we can't blame them lads for finally hanging up the red and green, will we have a new managment structure, who knows.

Its been epic.
    Sums up my feelings too
    And like yourself myself and my son had attended damn near every game together for the last decade but we were abroad for this one sadly :(

I'm getting more and more optimistic about next year with every passing day
    I think the break will do all involved good (not sure Rochford will be back though )
    The more condensed calendar now means the days are peaking for mid August are gone .
    We can no longer stumnke through the league. But now for the first time in years we will have an advantage on others. We can go at it all find blazing . Build momentum ,confidence and blood a few. We might actually enjoy a few league games now :D
    And that late draw against Donegal looks more and more important now too..........

Out of interest lads are there many lads ye think will leave the panel after this year?.  
    Surely andy moran has had his day now?. He didnt look to have much pace on Saturday.

No way Andy will retire . I do think next year his role will be impact sub though
    The one I'd be most worried about is Keith Higgins . Physically there is no need for him to retire but I'm not sure he has the motivation to do it all again
    However perversely this early exit may change that !
    Same goes for Seamie. He may well have called it a day this year too but now ........
    Having heard Clarke speak a few months back I don't think he will
    Boyle again like Andy has plenty to offer in a squad . As long as he is happy with that
    Barry Moran will retire I'd say .
    And then there is Parsons.........

So overall I don't expect the large scale exodus some do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I doubt there'll be a large scale exodus either. I don't think there are many in the squad that will want to give up intercounty football on this note. I only thought Andy might because he has other committments in his life outside of football now that might make it more difficult to give 100% committment.