Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭miocicmma

So it's Tyrone, Monaghan, Armagh and Kildare on the qualifier bowl and Roscommon, Cork, Fermanagh and Laois in the provincial loser bowl. The best 4 teams there are probably Tyrone, Monaghan, Roscommon and Kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

franklyon wrote: »
    km79 wrote: »
    Parsons won’t be playing intercounty again I’m afraid
    Not next year anyway

I hope I'm mistaken but I don't see him coming back at all.
    If the man himself can be as positive as he is, why cant his fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Just remember something similar happened another poster here and the knee is never the same afterwards and always has a tendency to pop out again,still hoping for the best but expecting the worst, a little like today actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

It'll be a long road for Tom, but I don't think it's fair to speculate about where he'll end up. He obviously feels optimistic about his recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Anyone give Sean Cavanagh and his super 8 predictions some kudos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Trampas

I think that mayo seem to lower or up there game to whoever they’re playing the vast majority of the time. The early defeat might result in filling the well again as must be running low.

Aos for all that he offers to the team he lacks in general to the scoreboard. 13 points from play and 0 from him is not enough. Not sure if coc got anything from open play. He works hard but never seems to be the quick one two. Pass ball and sit back and feed it back of nothing makes from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Rochford probably didn't do enough this year to freshen up the team. It would have been a much better sign if Mayo were starting Loftus & O'Donoghue & bringing on Higgins & Moran. However, the older players have been so so good in the past that it is hard to drop them. And question marks still hang over how good Loftus & O'Donghue (& others) are. Thought Kildare showed way more faith in their bench today as well - they seemed to make the changes quicker which was important on a warm day. I suspect we will see a new Mayo manager and possibly a change of captain next year.

I would be inclined to support him staying on for another year if he sees fit. That's not to say that some selections and moves have had me puzzled, but overall, I think he has done a very good job. Barring the loss of Tom and Seamie, and a good few others spending more time than normal on the physio table, I'm fairly sure he would have managed the team to the Super 8's and a bit beyond.

Yes it would be great to have freshened things up but I don't think I would have started a much different team. The younger players like Loftus have gotten chances, and we don't see what goes on behind the scenes. Not too many (and plenty were tried) grasped their chance. O'Donogue did but it's a hard back line to break into straight away.

I think he's an astute manager, not without fault obviously, but I certainly think he added a few dimensions to the team. I would like to see how he deals with some enforced change (which I'm sure there will be) and how he reacts to this in general.

The fact that there's nobody jumping out at me to take over is also leading me to say, give him another chance. He helped give us 2 of the best years I've had as a Mayo supporter anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,365 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Like others have implied there is a certain odd sense of relief about all this.

The last loss at this stage to Longford 8 years ago was a shocker, Mayo at the time were neither here nor there but it came as a shock.

This on the other hand has been something that seemed on the cards all last season and this one.

But it's been a fantastic journey. Interlopers here will tell us that it's not been worth it because we did not win an All Ireland, f**k them, we know as Mayo fans what it has been worth to us and we know how to value it.

Before 2011 there was only one Mayo game that stood head and shoulders above the rest in my consciousness, and that was the 2006 SF win over Dublin, but it was followed by a total and utter let down.

Since 2011 there has been a game every year similar to 2006 without the collapse to follow it.

The first win in 95 years over Cork

The win v Dublin in 2012

The oppening a can of whoop ass on all and sundry in 2013.

The 2014 replay epic v Kerry (at the time the most bizzare game I ever saw)

The comeback v Dublin in 2015, I stood for the last 10 mins of that game, as did everyone around me in the Hogan Stand.

The 2016 drawn final (currently the most bizzare game I ever saw, the 2014 SF replay only held that accolade for 2 years)

The extra times, draws and replays of 2017, every one more exciting than the last.

And not one of these seasons ended in a 1993, 2004, or 2006 embarrassment, every year the went down fighting.

As someone who grw up in the 70s and 80s when we had nothing this last 7 years have been amazing.

And a big thank you to all the players, coaches, managers etc who made it so.

muddle84 wrote: »
    In my opinion, there is no way that this is better than going all the way to another final. There is nothing better than being in croke park all ireland sunday. I have savoured everyone of those finals and its always better to make it that far than not see croke park at all!

Very disappointed with today but well done to kildare they are a team with serious potential, and i hope this is what they needed to reach that potential.

On another note, please dont let this be another 98!!!!

That's my biggest fear, that Galway will sneak in after Mayo failing at the final hurdle.

But I don't think so, the opposition is fat better this season and Galway are no great team.

PARlance wrote: »
    I would be inclined to support him staying on for another year if he sees fit. That's not to say that some selections and moves have had me puzzled, but overall, I think he has done a very good job. Barring the loss of Tom and Seamie, and a good few others spending more time than normal on the physio table, I'm fairly sure he would have managed the team to the Super 8's and a bit beyond.

Yes it would be great to have freshened things up but I don't think I would have started a much different team. The younger players like Loftus have gotten chances, and we don't see what goes on behind the scenes. Not too many (and plenty were tried) grasped their chance. O'Donogue did but it's a hard back line to break into straight away.

I think he's an astute manager, not without fault obviously, but I certainly think he added a few dimensions to the team. I would like to see how he deals with some enforced change (which I'm sure there will be) and how he reacts to this in general.

The fact that there's nobody jumping out at me to take over is also leading me to say, give him another chance. He helped give us 2 of the best years I've had as a Mayo supporter anyway.

I don't get the anti-Rochford sentiment either. He needed to try new things as Horan's method had gone as far as it could go. The team needed changing and he made some tough and unpopular decisions. It brought great moments, most especially the win against Kerry last year. He brought us as close to an all-Ireland as we ever got last year. I felt last year they gave it absolutely everything and he and the team couldn't really have done anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

All credit to ye lads ye are great fans. Thats the best game ive seen in a few years. I attend most of yere games too as herself is a mayo woman. Would wonder tho do ye need a bit of a shake up. Aidan oshea played well catching ball but i dont think he took one shot on goal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

For a few reasons I'm finding it all very emotional
    And the fact I want even there today makes it even worse
    Diarmuid o Connor made me so proud to be from mayo today

Future team should be built around him in the middle, imo.
    I wouldn't be getting too upset at the moment though! There will probably be a couple of retirements over the next few months, but I think the guts of the team will remain and the break might be exactly what they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

PressRun wrote: »
    Future team should be built around him in the middle, imo.
    I wouldn't be getting too upset at the moment though! There will probably be a couple of retirements over the next few months, but I think the guts of the team will remain and the break might be exactly what they need.

I agree
    But there are more personal reasons for my upset too
    Ah anyway can't wait for the league now
    No excuse not to have a right cut at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭lillielad

Hard luck today lads delighted we won but honestly feel for you guys. That team have gave everything the last few years and the break will do yous good. You will be back. Durcan and O'Connor are class players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Well done kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Me too. I was gutted when that final whistle went but it's a mixture between sadness and a feeling of pride for what this team has given us.

I thought Diarmuid O'Connor was a credit to the jersey today, unbelievable work rate and he had the ability to match it. Aidan O'Shea was top class and Paddy Durcan keeps getting better. I'm not going to go into the negatives but we could have helped ourselves more but in fairness we all saw what we were missing in the centre of the field.

It's the first time since 2011 that we haven't reached a semi final. We've had some great days out following this team.

I think we'll lose a couple of players and I can't see Rochford staying on. We need to rebuild now and rest up.

Fair play to Kildare, I've no complaints. They took it to us and have some fine players. I felt if we had pushed on a little and took our scores after being two up, we probably would have shaded it but to their credit they kept going at us and never let us settle.

Heads up lads, we'll be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Anyone else trolling this thread will be banned for a week - and anyone responding will be warned. If it looks like a troll, it probably is a troll - report the post and don't respond!

I know you removed some of my posts, but they were directed at some eijit who was pretending to be Dublin supporter.

I agree with your decision to remove them.

All credit to ye lads ye are great fans. Thats the best game ive seen in a few years. I attend most of yere games too as herself is a mayo woman. Would wonder tho do ye need a bit of a shake up. Aidan oshea played well catching ball but i dont think he took one shot on goal?

Fair play!

Aidan was playing a lot deeper. It would have been a hell of a lot worse if he wasn't there today.

Was tough watching in a dublin pub with all neutrals roaring kildare but i guess it means weve done something right over the years

If truth be told - and as i suspected - i fully think we were beat last week until a complete fluke goal. It was confirmed this week we really were on borrowed time.

A summer off may do no harm at all and who knows what next year will bring.

I'd say Andy might hang up the boots. He's on the go a long time now and has a lot going on personally with a young family and his own business.

I think so, he was well off the pace this year sadly. Last year seemed a last hurrah in hindsight, and what a hurrah it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭lillielad

I thought Andy did quite well today he was out in front an awful lot of the time winning ball. Looking from the outside in I wouldn't be surprised if he gives it another go. We were very clinical today (not often you say that about us) but your not gonna win many matches conceding 21 points. As I have said before Mayo will be back and this will probably help them and your fans are a credit to your county too yous generate some noise.

lillielad wrote: »
    I thought Andy did quite well today he was out in front an awful lot of the time winning ball. Looking from the outside in I wouldn't be surprised if he gives it another go. We were very clinical today (not often you say that about us) but your not gonna win many matches conceding 21 points. As I have said before Mayo will be back and this will probably help them and your fans are a credit to your county too yous generate some noise.

Andy done alright today. He missed a couple of easy ones though but was still winning plenty of ball without much support at times. I don't know if he'll go again tbh but he probably could do another year.

Rochford's biggest mistake today was starting Andy and Boyler. They played last week and were always going to struggle in a high intensity game with that humidity. Loftus and Eoin O'D could have started. Andy and Boyler coming on for the last 25 minutes would have given us a big lift and they would have been fresh against tiring bodies. Hindsight is 20/20 but I couldn't help think that ten minutes in.

Regarding Rochford, I'm happy enough with the job he's done but I think fresh management and ideas would be beneficial for the squad. Fair play to him, he's usually got things right from the sideline and was never afraid to mix things up depending on the opposition. More often than not it paid off. He couldn't have gotten us any closer and if we had any luck at all, well you know the story.

Personally I think he'll walk away now and if he does then you'd have to say he done a more than decent job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

In fairness he gave it everything and I mean everything . If every young fella that pulls on the Mayo jersey gives that much there will always be Mayo .

Never give up , and if on given day we are beaten , wish our opponent the best .

And , Reset the never Give Up .

This has been a great Mayo team and I would like to thank them and all the Backroom staff for all they have done for Mayo .

Never Give Up .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Well done to Kildare .

And great Celebrations from their supporters .

Its Great that the Kildare supporters Celebrate like that for beating Mayo .

A Great Compliment to Mayo in its own way .

There has been plenty of times in past that beating Mayo would not be considered such a great win .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭P_Cash

I'll never understand mayo supporters, "they owe us nothing" . It's a ridiculous comment. Your team is fighting for sam. Just say nothing. Putting players on pedestals before they when the prize, hardly the motivation they need.

Lets just say they did their best. If a few others played even 60% of the DOCs effort they win an all ireland, never mind beat Kildare. A lad to watch., as long as we dont over hype him

P_Cash wrote: »
    I'll never understand mayo supporters, "they owe us nothing" . It's a ridiculous comment. Your team is fighting for sam. Just say nothing. Putting players on pedestals before they when the prize, hardly the motivation they need.

Lets just say they did their best. If a few others played even 60% of the DOCs effort they win an all ireland, never mind beat Kildare. A lad to watch., as long as we dont over hype him

"A lad to watch"
    We'll all be sure to keep an eye, thanks :pac:

"A lad to watch"
    We'll all be sure to keep an eye, thanks :pac:

Sure isn't he the lad who won YPOTY twice, stick him into the development squad and see how he fairs :pac:

He might have the makings of an intercounty footabller yet. :D

What is Ed Smith going to do now when he has no shououts to give to Mayo fans on his Sunday night "Songs of priase" show on Today FM.?