Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

"some of the lads from work" ??

Who? Bella??

Just in case anyone hasn't figured it out, Nina is a journalist.

She uses cliche words and phrases like "sources", "expose", "I'll do some digging", "probe", "Lead", to enforce this point as well as carrying around an A4 pad and biro and wearing a trenchcoat

I like Abby! ;):D

She has helped restore my faith in Carrigstown journalism!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭De Bild

Sorry to bother everyone,..............................but why in god's name is Greasy spending leisure time with a man trying to kill him

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer TTB me thinks:)

Awful episode. I think most Augusts are like this and September new stories and conclusions to catch the viewers back from holidays.

Last year Kerri Ann's wedding was August and poor fare. September 2015, i think, they had the Dermot crash story.

The Dublin accent on that Niki one is so Dublin, where did they get her from. I know some find her funny but she makes me go loco in the brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

"some of the lads from work" ??

Who? Bella??

Yeah I was trying to think who the other lads are. Yer one Svetlana is stunning. They should give her a proper role.

Where has Mr. Ram gone. He has no Kilkenny hurling matches to go to this year!

Not relevant but i have interest in hurling as i started to play at 42. On a special team! Very special!

De Bild wrote: »
    Last year Kerri Ann's wedding was August and poor fare.

It has been a year already since the wedding? Well fook me pink.

Yeah I was trying to think who the other lads are. Yer one Svetlana is stunning. They should give her a proper role.

Who is Svetlana? The cleaning girl turned business lady? She's very attractive.

It has been a year already since the wedding? Well fook me pink.

Yes Jenny Dixon had it all over her twitter last August.

Who is Svetlana? The cleaning girl turned business lady? She's very attractive.

No she's the tall girl that works in Vinos. I think that's her name anyway.

I like Abby! ;):D

She has helped restore my faith in Carrigstown journalism!

Carrigstown is full of journalists, lesbians and they even overlap!

No she's the tall girl that works in Vinos. I think that's her name anyway.

I must have a better gander around Vinos next night.

You'd think Nina would be covering the Molly Martens case, top journalist that she is. Not the KT in the box case that isn't newsworthy now.

Is Doug the biggest eadgit in Ireland???

Who cleans babies, bottoms of a woman you do not know.. Nonsensical.

Still no mention of Ciaran? Is he actually dead?

Will Trigger, somehow, acquire a dangerous weapon and make one final successful attempt on the life of Grease Lightning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Damien really seems to be disintegrating and its weird to watch, I do wonder where they are going with this. Maclean Burke being another lifer Id be surprised if they are introducing a domestic violence or Damien assaulting Dean story but the wheels are in motion now and I sense that Damien is either going to beat up/attempt to murder Dean or Caoimhe and inevitably this will draw comparisons with his father etc. A slow burner this one.

Must be alive. When a soap villain is not finally killed off it usually means a return. Fungi the dolphin scented Ciaran's blood in the water and chased him around the Irish coast but Ciaran will come ashore around Malin Head.

Don't know. The Irish Media lost interest in the case. As you do when a girl is kidnapped and locked up for a year in a box.

Damien really seems to be disintegrating and its weird to watch, I do wonder where they are going with this. Maclean Burke being another lifer Id be surprised if they are introducing a domestic violence or Damien assaulting Dean story but the wheels are in motion now and I sense that Damien is either going to beat up/attempt to murder Dean or Caoimhe and inevitably this will draw comparisons with his father etc. A slow burner this one.

He is a very sad one dimensional dilusional character at present. Has the appearance of a man who had woman out of his league lost it and realises he won't get a cracker again.

Not only that, but his isolation and paranoia is spilling over to his real life. Its actually not a bad storyline IF they did it right. A lot of women have to deal with partners who go off the rails when they split up, then you have the whole access issue as well. Definitely think Dean or Caoimhe is going to get seriously hurt soon.

And it's in the genes..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Damian has always been an angry character who also has an element of being a control freak in him. Looking at how he knocked Caoimhe's plans shows he is quite an intolerant person.

In the past, they had a couple of opportunities to turn him into a violent character but always stopped short of doing so. When things got nasty with Suzanne, Damian shouted a lot at her as we have seen with Caoimhe too but in the end, it was Suzanne they turned into the violent character and suddenly dull ordinary goodie Suzanne became Suzanne the husband burner.

Of course Damian's father was a violent wife beater introduced shortly after infamous wife beating gangster Billy Meehan got his demise. Marty Halpin was a cross between Corrie's Richard Hillmann and the domestic violence aspects of the Meehan character. A theme with Damian is that he never wants to be like his father and often questions himself when he gets angry. Part of the reason he did not want children pre-Caoimhe was in case he was like his father.

Suppose then Damian flips? If he picked a fight with Dean, he'd come out the worst end of it. Dean is a professional fighter and would have Damian flattened in a flash. If Damian was violent to Caoimhe or held her hostage, things could go down the typical FC seige route. Dean could then use his old fighting skills to stage a rescue.

Damian ironically could one way or another push Dean and Caoimhe much closer together. Although the age gap is similar, they would have much more in common.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Dean and Caoimhe were meeting the other staff members of vino's for a drink....staff members we never see.......they must be invisible so, no way could you more 3 three in that place, the kitchen is so small you can barely swing a cat in it.

Damian has always been an angry character who also has an element of being a control freak in him. Looking at how he knocked Caoimhe's plans shows he is quite an intolerant person.

In the past, they had a couple of opportunities to turn him into a violent character but always stopped short of doing so. When things got nasty with Suzanne, Damian shouted a lot at her as we have seen with Caoimhe too but in the end, it was Suzanne they turned into the violent character and suddenly dull ordinary goodie Suzanne became Suzanne the husband burner.

Of course Damian's father was a violent wife beater introduced shortly after infamous wife beating gangster Billy Meehan got his demise. Marty Halpin was a cross between Corrie's Richard Hillmann and the domestic violence aspects of the Meehan character. A theme with Damian is that he never wants to be like his father and often questions himself when he gets angry. Part of the reason he did not want children pre-Caoimhe was in case he was like his father.

Suppose then Damian flips? If he picked a fight with Dean, he'd come out the worst end of it. Dean is a professional fighter and would have Damian flattened in a flash. If Damian was violent to Caoimhe or held her hostage, things could go down the typical FC seige route. Dean could then use his old fighting skills to stage a rescue.

Damian ironically could one way or another push Dean and Caoimhe much closer together. Although the age gap is similar, they would have much more in common.

Yeah, I was thinking that Damien might also have a complete nervous breakdown and kidnap the child or Caoimhe and threaten her. They seem to be portraying it as Damien, despite advice from Laura, completely rejecting logic and fixating on Caoimhe and Dean having an affair. He does have a very controlling side to him and his comment about her being a tramp tonight was pure spite and lashing out.
    My fear is though, this story will be reigned in because if Damien killed or attempted to kill Dean or Caoimhe, it will be hard to come back from and he would get prison. I know they did it with Barry and now Dermot but I still cant see them getting rid of Damien, despite him being a completely pointless and outdated character by now. The storyline has potential for sure but in typical FC style, just before Damien gathers his machete to cut Dean up with, Laura will have a quiet word with him about him turning into his father, then Damien will hug her, go for a meeting with Miriam to get it out of his system and we have another 20 years of him tucking his head into his chest whilst putting his hands in his pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Niall_76

Caught up on the last week. Trigger and Cathal meeting in Robbie's bar to discuss getting a gun to murder him... then discussing it in the local Spar... Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

Would you not think by now the regional manager of spar would pop by to investigate how they could replicate its amazing local footfall?

I was in spar in Castleknock today and I didn't meet a person I knew despite living here all my life. I just bought my papers and went home. No random chats with anyone.

Dean is about 38 i remember when i start to watch Fair City in 1996 he was 17/18. If Caoimhe is 27 or so do posters think 10 yrs too big an age gip between a man and lady?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,636 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

coolhull wrote: »
    Ah, Gammy, don't be like that! By all means stop watching Fairly ****ty, (for the sake of your own sanity!) but at least stay with the thread. We can't afford to lose more
    people...........

OK Coolio. You're right. "Follow Thread" click
    And besides the Missus still watches it and gives out about it so........... :pac: