Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vogue Williams on internment for Muslim extremists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Internment. If you are not a radical going in. You will be coming out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

anna080 wrote: »
    http://m.independent.ie/entertainment/banter/trending/i-made-a-mistake-and-im-sorry-but-the-reaction-i-got-death-threats-doesnt-promote-debate-vogue-williams-on-internment-comments-35813213.html

Her recent comments on internment for Muslim extremists have received enormous backlash online.

One the one hand I'm thinking, well this is what happens when you give idiots a mouth piece and a platform. Who actually gives a fcuk about her opinion on anything?
    And on the other I'm thinking, can nobody have an opinion anymore, even though it may differ from the masses, without receiving death threats?

I salute you, sir.

She is literally nobody. Like a fire, remove the oxygen of publicity and giving her airtime on various radio shows/tv shows etc and she will disappear.

Waste of space is all she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Internment in the North was the best recruiting tool the IRA ever had. Not sure why Brian McFadden's ex-wife is being listened to on the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭brevity

Well, I guess she is entitled to her opinion however daft it may be. I mean we are talking about it now so obviously someone does give a ****.

I thought she came across quite well in some of the documentaries that she did however this latest stunt has an air of Kate Hopkins about it and if she starts down that route then she wont be popular for much longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Internment in the North was the best recruiting tool the IRA ever had. Not sure why Brian McFadden's ex-wife is being listened to on the situation.

Huh huh, she shur is purdy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

brevity wrote: »
    Well, I guess she is entitled to her opinion however daft it may be. I mean we are talking about it now so obviously someone does give a ****.

I thought she came across quite well in some of the documentaries that she did however this latest stunt has an air of Kate Hopkins about it and if she starts down that route then she wont be popular for much longer.

IF she starts? She has always been about attention seeking and whoring herself to every media outlet on the planet in order for people to nor forget her with her dreadfully misinformed opinions and statements. In that respect she is the exact same as Katie Hopkins.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Just goes to show why you should never stick your dick in crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

She still looks like George Hamilton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Ye'll be accused of being upsetting online trolls in a new article if ye don't watch out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Where is Ja!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

She apologised since. For what?
    She either agrees or disagrees with internment. Her apology smacks of "please don't hate me"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

I think people should be free to express an idea as long as it isn't inciting violence, and have it respectfully criticised by explaining it detail why internment is such a bad idea. For the younger generation, they wouldn't have any idea of the realistic implications of internment. So it needs to be calmly explained, instead of issuing death threats. (I wonder will the twitter lynch mob start working overtime to try and expose the people making the threats? No, of course not.)

But then again, there is a notable pattern of people (especially on the left) trying to shut down any discussion that they don't like by creating an air of tension in society so that the public must always walk on eggshells instead of raising a valid (or nonsensical) opinion.

This is a disturbing pattern, and one that seems to be encouraged from people who should know better. Remember the whole 'it's ok to punch Nazis' argument that was doing the rounds a while back?

Always treat bullying and violence with zero tolerance. There are no 'special exemptions'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Internment does work in fact. Britain messed it up in the 70's but we still have some kind of internment - belonging to proscribed organisations.

The free state also used internment

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

My memory of her is very vague. So... don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

Internment. If you are not a radical going in. You will be coming out.

There's an obvious solution to that, has it escaped you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Internment does work in fact. Britain messed it up in the 70's but we still have some kind of internment - belonging to proscribed organisations.

The free state also used internment

Saying "interment works" is stupid.

There's been instances in history where interment of people has been successful in the short term - for example the early pre-war (1934/1935) Nazi Internment Camps were pretty successful in minimizing opposition to the regime. There's also been instances where internment has been an abject failure in the short term.

Either way, just because something *sometimes* works, doesn't mean it's a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Boards.ie, last week's news today.

Being a member of an unlawful organisation is an offence. If you are found guilty in court, then you are sentenced.
    There is no internment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

So an idiot was looking for publicity and bunch of morons duly obliged her. What else is new in the world of Facebook activism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

bubblypop wrote: »
    Being a member of an unlawful organisation is an offence. If you are found guilty in court, then you are sentenced.
    There is no internment.
    I agree. Being a member of an unlawful organisation is a crime because those unlawful organisations have illegal aims. Membership is tantamount to planning other crimes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Val Kilmer's transvestite son with the hands of a Mayo farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

The trick is not to read the Independent. You can then lead a blissful life unaware that people like Vogue Williams even exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Ireland's version of Kim Kardashian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

White tabloid lady in wanting-to-lock-up-brown-people-without-trial shocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Vogue gets lambasted for her opinion..No such sensibilities amongst their own. Internment would be the soft option if this is the current reality:
    (Possibly NSFW)
    http://www.cbc.ca/beta/news/opinion/torturers-of-the-new-iraq-1.4133747

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭Somedude9

Her name is Vogue? That's enough...Perhaps she thought internment was some kind of plastic surgery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Yeah but if you use this argument you have to then look at why interned people were so willing to join the IRA, its because most of them already believed in the goals (unified Ireland etc) but not the IRA's methods.

So saying it won't work now against Islamic extremism is saying a lot of that population already believe in the goals even if they don't believe in the means yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭tecknika

Comparing this to the north is utter madness. This is very different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

The indo have an obsession with her sure she will be grand the next stupid thing she does will be pressed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

http://m.independent.ie/entertainment/banter/trending/i-made-a-mistake-and-im-sorry-but-the-reaction-i-got-death-threats-doesnt-promote-debate-vogue-williams-on-internment-comments-35813213.html

Her recent comments on internment for Muslim extremists have received enormous backlash online.

One the one hand I'm thinking, well this is what happens when you give idiots a mouth piece and a platform. Who actually gives a fcuk about her opinion on anything?
    And on the other I'm thinking, can nobody have an opinion anymore, even though it may differ from the masses, without receiving death threats?

I salute you, sir.

She is literally nobody. Like a fire, remove the oxygen of publicity and giving her airtime on various radio shows/tv shows etc and she will disappear.

Waste of space is all she is.

What have you achieved in life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Yakult wrote: »
    My memory of her is very vague. So... don't care.

Vague Williams :p

The leftists always go all fascist when they don't like what they read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭wpd

Vogue Williams is entitled to her opinion

As usual the PC brigade criticise with no alternative solution

I would love to see the their attitude if they were sitting in a pub on a Saturday night and a muslim came in with a machete trying to cut their throats

The same could be asked for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

People should be free to express their opinion online if they are qualified to do so.

whats qualified. People are expressing religious views when clearly not true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Imallrightjack

Easy there vogue.

wpd wrote: »

I would love to see the their attitude if they were sitting in a pub on a Saturday night and a muslim came in with a machete trying to cut their throats
    "ahhhhhhhhhh" would be my attitude... Not just for Muslims though for all machete attackers

tecknika wrote: »
    whats qualified. People are expressing religious views when clearly not true.

Qualified in this case would mean knowledge of the subject matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Maybe we could sent them to a tropical island preferbly one with cholera. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Victor wrote: »
    I agree. Being a member of an unlawful organisation is a crime because those unlawful organisations have illegal aims. Membership is tantamount to planning other crimes.

Illegal means are the reason they're illegal, not their aims. There's nothing illegal about wanting an united Ireland, or wanting to impose some kind of religious law. What's illegal about it when you are willing to break the law to do it.

As for yer wan in the OP. I had no idea who she was. She sounds like an idiot who's trying to be a poormans Katie Hopkins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

jimmynokia wrote: »

The same could be asked for you?

I'm not the one calling this woman a nobody. I understand I'm a nobody. However I'm not going online attacking this person because she does not have the same opinions as me and belittling her for it.
    Typically the liberals attack with ad hominem attacks. It's both boring and pathetic.

I'm not the one calling this woman a nobody. I understand I'm a nobody. However I'm not going online attacking this person because she does not have the same opinions as me and belittling her for it.
    Typically the liberals attack with ad hominem attacks. It's both boring and pathetic.

You still asked..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I have never written into a paper and called for the jailing of people who have not been found guilty of a crime.

I don't know if that counts as an achievement since it didn't involve me doing anything. All it involved was me not doing/saying anything incredibly stupid.

If however I did get published in a national paper and said anything that stupid, I'd completely understand when people call me an idiot.

wpd wrote: »

What if an atheist came in with a machete, would you like to see their attitude then?
    I don't see what their religion has to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Vacous attention seeking idiot says idiotic vacous attention seeking statement.

Ignore

bubblypop wrote: »
    What if an atheist came in with a machete, would you like to see their attitude then?

You don't..i suggest you read some of the clearly written passages and come back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Grayson wrote: »
    I have never written into a paper and called for the jailing of people who have not been found guilty of a crime.

I don't know if that counts as an achievement since it didn't involve me doing anything. All it involved was me not doing/saying anything incredibly stupid.

If however I did get published in a national paper and said anything that stupid, I'd completely understand when people call me an idiot.

But death threats and threats of rape from "oh so tolerant" feminist men? A little extreme from the Far Left don't you think....

Almost....Fascistic.

But death threats and threats of rape from "oh so tolerant" feminist men? A little extreme from the Far Left don't you think....

Almost....Fascistic.

Far left is fascist to the extreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭wpd

try reading a newspaper or watching tv and you might have some context to you're posts on here

then again actual facts never bother the PC agenda