Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Millwall fan shouts 'F*** you & attacks terrorists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

Millwall fans are scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Fair play to the guy, he deserves the recognition and the medal. It was an incredibly brave act, regardless of where it came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

There's a fine line between brave and stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

daveyeh wrote: »

In this instance pure bravery. His actions allowed others to escape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Guy Sajer

Fair play to him, and to those who were throwing bottles and glasses at the attackers. if there were more people like him to fight back against these attackers, they could swamp them and less casualties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Say what you want about him. Tough ****. If he'd been with 2 of his mates instead of his mother then that attack could have ended in that pub. Fair ****s to him! Give him the medal.

That fine line aloud a restaurant full of people to evade 3 knife wielding lunatics unscathed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Tsipras wrote: »

No need for that !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I think I'd prefer a big cake.

With a medal hidden inside it.

He undoubtedly saved others from the attackers. He risked his own life in doing so and kept at it when it turned into something he perhaps didn't see coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Brave is when you put yourself at risk to help others, but you do it anyway because it's the right thing to do.

Fair play to the guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭lanciadub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

He was in a restaurant when three knife wielding attackers burst in, he drew the attackers to himself and then fought them, even though he was outnumbered and unarmed.

He could have ducked under a table, hoping that his number wouldn't come up and he might have avoided injury. Or he might have been killed anyway.

But he didn't. He fought them and slowed them down enough to stop them from injuring or killing more people. They ran out the door and he survived, anyway.

The guy's a hero and he deserves that medal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

This probably isn't a popular opinion, but I have to admit to having an sneaking admiration of Millwall's "GO **** YOURSELF" attitude to everything.

In a world of blandness and political correctness, there's something refreshingly honest about a club who's motto is "No-one likes us, and we don't care."

I've even come to understand the neccessity for fighting males to maintain their street fighting capabilities in order to defend the tribe. As long as they're boxing the heads off each other, and rival firms, let them off. It's actually quite healthy from a sociology point of view. (Although knifings and glassings are scumbag things to do, as are attacking innocent people obviously.)

It's paid off socially in this instance. I don't think any of the sophisticated metropolitan professional classes got stuck in, apart from that one journalist who had some martial arts experience. There probably would have been deaths in double figures if these guys hadn't got stuck in. The average emasculated progressive metropolitan would still be trying to reason with the terrorist as they sawed his head off.

No doubt the BBC and the dinner party set will sneer at him on talk shows in the coming days.

Like most people, it was drilled into me from an early age that violence was WRONG WRONG WRONG under any circumstances. It took me getting beaten unconscious in an unprovoked attack to snap out of that and join a boxing club. I don't go looking for trouble, but I've no problems turning into 'the beast' when someone starts on me now. Hit hard, hit early if trouble starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭lanciadub

If the world had more of the likes of him it'd be a better place .
    I'm, surprised there's no footage of him from a camera phone somewhere.

The standard human responses to a threat used to be fight or flight . Now there's a third option ..stand there and record on your phone rather than be of any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

This probably isn't a popular opinion, but I have to admit to having an sneaking admiration of Millwall's "GO **** YOURSELF" attitude to everything.

In a world of blandness and political correctness, there's something refreshingly honest about a club who's motto is "No-one likes us, and we don't care."

lol yeah, its a great attitude. The fascist Islamic State have got a similar attitude just like it

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,415 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Just glanced at the article the other day and my first thought was he was the right age to be involved in all the Millwall problems in the 70s/80s.
    Whatever about his past and what kind of person he may or may not be, fair fux to him for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

buried wrote: »

lol yeah, its a great attitude. The fascist Islamic State have got a similar attitude just like it
    Comparing Football Thugs with Isis :ermm:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

We need more of him and more of guys like this:

Fairplay to the Guy and as someone already mentioned, It's unfortunate  he wasn't there with 5 or 10 of his mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Nagnata

Fair play to him, he's a hero. Unfortunately I saw posts on antifa websites saying the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Well done, that man. Pity he didn't stretch one of them. I'm reminded of the great John "Boot tae the baws!" Smeaton, he of "This is Glesgae - we'll set aboot ye!" fame. :D

I'd ask for a refund on that moral relativity course you took, bro. While Millwall are no angels, they're not even in the same galaxy as ISIS.

Frankly, I'd prefer to have 1 Millwall fan beside me if trouble kicked off instead of 100 Guardian readers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

He probably starts a fight with every non-white person who walks into his pub and just got lucky this time. Millwall and Chelsea fans are racists.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyOaNpwjTKU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Brave or stupid, i have to admire the chap. His actions, despite intent, held up the attackers and potentially saved a lot more people from being murdered.

Take into account the 8 minutes from the first call to the attackers being shot and killed, how much time did they spend with Roy Larner - 2 minutes? 3? How much damage could 3 guys with machetes do in that amount of time? loads i'd guess.

Fair dues to him, don't think i'd have the balls to do what he did, but fair dues to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

I'd ask for a refund on that moral relativity course you took, bro. While Millwall are no angels, they're even in the same galaxy as ISIS.

Frankly, I'd prefer to have 1 Millwall fan beside me if trouble kicked off instead of 100 Guardian readers.

Course you would man, ride up to one of their clubhouses with your Irish passport (if you even have one) see how long you last before your head resembles a scattered tin of tuna

Bullet The Blue Shirts

I'd ask for a refund on that moral relativity course you took, bro. While Millwall are no angels, they're even in the same galaxy as ISIS.

Course you would man, ride up to one of their clubhouses with your Irish passport (if you even have one) see how long you last before your head resembles a scattered tin of tuna
    Most Millwall Lads are second Generation Irish,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Nice to see time is a great healer, It was not long ago guys like this were called footballing hooligans now they're in line for medals

So the next time you see footballing hooligans smash up shops and beat helpless people on the ground who are in no shape to defend themselves, I hope you remember that one day you will be calling them a hero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

He probably starts a fight with every non-white person who walks into his pub and just got lucky this time. Millwall and Chelsea fans are racists.

All of them yes? Fair play to him. Maybe he'd be doing this every weekend anyway, who knows!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

He probably saved lives, give him a medal.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You have an issue with groups of football fans, fine. But don't use this thread as your soapbox please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Really needs the headline:

Millwall at ISIS Away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭6541

They have a chant.

Millwall Millwall boots and braces,
    we are the ones to kick your faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

6541 wrote: »
    They have a chant.

Millwall Millwall boots and braces,
    we are the ones to kick your faces.

I doubt football holligans have sung about boots and braces since the 70s. :D

Guys the age of the thread subject would have been 80s football casuals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Imallrightjack

Give him the medal.................but he could be dead today.i don't know which side of the fence im on.
    brave yes but stupid yes as well.

One of the attackers was wearing an Arsenal shirt.

You may scurry away now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Give him the medal.................but he could be dead today.i don't know which side of the fence im on.
    brave yes but stupid yes as well.

If more people stepped up to do "the right thing", a lot of these attacks (and crime in general) would end seconds after they started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

If you're gonna go out, go out swinging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

There's a reasonable question to be asked about why these three murderers weren't subdued sooner. Surely there would be a bunch of lads in their twenties or thirties who's instinct would be to rush them? If three lads wielding knives on Camden St. started stabbing people on the street while screaming Islam on a Saturday night are we saying they wouldn't be rushed on masse? Just thinking out loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Benteke wrote: »
    Nice to see time is a great healer, It was not long ago guys like this were called footballing hooligans now they're in line for medals

So the next time you see footballing hooligans smash up shops and beat helpless people on the ground who are in no shape to defend themselves, I hope you remember that one day you will be calling them a hero
    What ???
    Sorry what shop did this guy smash up ?
    what helpless people was he beating up ?

You're gonna prejudge him JUST cos he's a Millwall fan ?

ffs - BEAM ME UP SCOTTY!!

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    There's a reasonable question to be asked about why these three murderers weren't subdued sooner. Surely there would be a bunch of lads in their twenties or thirties who's instinct would be to rush them? If three lads wielding knives on Camden St. started stabbing people on the street while screaming Islam on a Saturday night are we saying they wouldn't be rushed on masse? Just thinking out loud.
    I have wondered myself about the amount of damage they were able to do. In a bar, around a bar, no-one managed to get something heavy or swingable to take them out? I'm not for a second saying I would (no-one knows what they'll do if fight-or-flight kicks in) but it's somewhat surprising to me that they got as much done as they did. Then again, once there was the van attack there's always the initial panic which can then set off a kind of group-think.

Is it fair to say that these style of terrorist attacks don't happen where groups of men congregate? 4 young guys having a few pints is a different kettle of fish to 4 young guys with their OH's. Also those 4 guys would have to be willing to enter the fray knowing death is an option. The fit and healthy know that if they run, they probably won't be caught. I'd hope I'd act appropriately but I don't know if I'd be brave enough should the situation arise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Benteke wrote: »

If you are the most wonderful man in the world up to the day you murder someone, you are still a murderer, and people will still call for you to go to jail. It's the same principle, but in reverse: medals and suchlike are awarded for single acts of valour, not on the basis of life-long conduct.

I don't know anything about this man outside of this incident, but that doesn't matter. It sounds like he saved lives here, potentially at the expense of his own. Even if were an awful waster, it doesn't change his actions here, and shouldn't change how he is respected and rewarded for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭robbiezero

They would in their hole. People would be too occupied with adjusting their facebook filter or thinking up of a suitable twitter hash tag.
    Others would be wringing their hands and whining "thats what we get for Shannon".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭newwan

Yeah legend... Fair play to him!

You'd nearly associate football fan hard men with being kinda cowardly when on their own without their 100s of mates but this guy is obviously just tough as feck...

Not saying he is a football hooligan at all.

• Subscribers Posts: 709 ✭✭✭FlipperThePriest

...Football fan shouted 'F*** you, I’m Millwall'...

I can't help but try to imagine the scene, and this is as far as I get:

Begbie_Custom.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

It looks like he'll live. I have so much respect for the man. They don't make them like that anymore!

newwan wrote: »
    Yeah legend... Fair play to him!

You'd nearly associate football fan hard men with being kinda cowardly when on their own without their 100s of mates but this guy is obviously just tough as feck...

Not saying he is a football hooligan at all.
    People like to do the whole "bullies are wimps" crap. They also seem to conflate everything as the same thing. People who go out looking for scraps at a football match aren't the same as people who jump randomers. People who engage in fistfights with willing participants aren't the same as people who blow themselves up. And people who regularly get their faces thumped in are unlikely to shy away from it.