Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí to deploy armed units in 5 Irish cities

• 05-06-2017 10:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.thejournal.ie/armed-support-units-irish-cities-terror-watch-3427293-Jun2017/

Dublin have the Garda armed support unit operating there for a while now, as it fights the feuding drug gangs, but now also for terrorism reasons.
    Cork, Galway, Limerick and kilkenny will from 7pm today will have the Garda armed support units (ASU) deployed and making a visible presence in the above cities.
    This is due to terrorism concerns and according to the Journal "the ASU will be making its presence clear where intelligence has indicated potential threats to national security."

So the above cities are considered the higher risk cities for a terrorist event.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

I see. Well I trust our guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Cork and Limerick have had Armed Support Units for years. Is this different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Poor Waterford must feel hard done by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,841 ✭✭✭Markcheese

They're always around Cork city anyway.. What's the difference? You'd see them whizzing round the city in audi 4x4s sometimes at checkpoints...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

TheChizler wrote: »

Minister Halligan will no doubt be on the airwaves about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Kilkenny? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

What about rural Ireland - when will they get armed units? Healy-Rae's on the case as we speak.

I really really hope and pray that they are never needed.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

The regions have had RSU years before DMR got the ASU.
    Today’s directive marks a departure for the ASU by sending members of its 55-strong force to other cities around the country.
    Why the hell would the DMR's armed support go patrolling the other cities? And split a 55-man unit into five? Even if you were to get the whole unit working at the same time, you'd be reducing ASU presence in Dublin to a small fraction.

Do they mean all armed support units will patrol the cities? i.e. ASU in Dublin and other region's RSUs in their cities? Because that's very different to a 55-man ASU being split into five.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I met the armed Gardaí at a checkpoint in Ennis a few weeks back, pretty intimidating when you're not used to seeing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

namloc1980 wrote: »
    What about rural Ireland - when will they get armed units?

We have armed units, they're called farmers ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Light a few candles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I am surprised that Waterford isn't included. I know poor old Waterford is generally left out (and to be left out in favour of Kilkenny will no doubt be particularly galling!) but that case of funds being channelled to ISIS a couple of weeks ago was in Waterford, so outside Dublin and Cork, it's one of the few cities where there has actually been any sort of links made afaik.

Seems a bit odd! I hope there is some form of protection during Spraoi (local festival) though.

myshirt wrote: »
    Light a few candles.
    Instead of cursing the darkness? I like it ;) deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

These ASU cars/audi q7,s are all over Dublin , including patrolling the m50 and temple bar , looks like its just the usual dopy unarmed Gardai just having a go in the new cars .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Oops69 wrote: »
    These ASU cars/audi q7,s are all over Dublin , including patrolling the m50 and temple bar , looks like its just the usual dopy unarmed Gardai just having a go in the new cars .

You might want to pop in to Specsavers over the next few days.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭BadBannana

Bit of a bad article. The RSU has been going for years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

BadBannana wrote: »
    Bit of a bad article. The RSU has been going for years

From the journal? Who'd have thunk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

Samaris wrote:
    I am surprised that Waterford isn't included. I know poor old Waterford is generally left out (and to be left out in favour of Kilkenny will no doubt be particularly galling!) but that case of funds being channelled to ISIS a couple of weeks ago was in Waterford, so outside Dublin and Cork, it's one of the few cities where there has actually been any sort of links made afaik.

According to John Hearne, we're not getting it in Waterford because we already have it due to these previous connections.
    (Source: a question posted on David Cullinane's Facebook page which John Hearne answered)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    You might want to pop in to Specsavers over the next few days.....
    No-one believes any of the pr put out by the Gardai after recent events , visible or through the media, I include the livery on these vehicles as Garda pr .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I think there's a ready solution to the potential problems of what our European neighbours are going through.

1 - Declare martial law. We all know it's really the civil service that run the country, so the army will just let them get on with it and get rid of the political circus.

2 - Conscription. Everyone to do a five year tour in the armed services. Defence spending to rocket. Encourage local suppliers where possible to boost the economy.

3 - Massively increase the number of Gardai. Bring in harsher sentences for repeat offenders. How can we focus on the danger of terrorism if the Gardai are busy picking up Anto every week for his two hundredth and something conviction for beating up old people?

4 - The retired officer class from the Army will be required to keep arms and ammunition in their homes. Concealed carry permits will also be issued to them.

5 - Ordinary citizens will have to partake in a thorough training course, and pass numerous background checks in order to get a concealed carry licence.

6 - Secondary school curriculum will include first aid training and self defence classes (how to deal with knife attacks too) as a mandatory subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

smaoifs wrote: »
    According to John Hearne, we're not getting it in Waterford because we already have it due to these previous connections.
    (Source: a question posted on David Cullinane's Facebook page which John Hearne answered)

Ah, fair enough!

c_man wrote: »
    I think there's a ready solution to the potential problems of what our European neighbours are going through.

1 - Declare martial law. We all know it's really the civil service that run the country, so the army will just let them get on with it and get rid of the political circus.

2 - Conscription. Everyone to do a five year tour in the armed services. Defence spending to rocket. Encourage local suppliers where possible to boost the economy.

3 - Massively increase the number of Gardai. Bring in harsher sentences for repeat offenders. How can we focus on the danger of terrorism if the Gardai are busy picking up Anto every week for his two hundredth and something conviction for beating up old people?

4 - The retired officer class from the Army will be required to keep arms and ammunition in their homes. Concealed carry permits will also be issued to them.

5 - Ordinary citizens will have to partake in a thorough training course, and pass numerous background checks in order to get a concealed carry licence.

6 - Secondary school curriculum will include first aid training and self defence classes (how to deal with knife attacks too) as a mandatory subject.
    Sounds like mighty craic. :D

Sounds ...like SWITZERLAND! They actually do that there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

So we're expecting to be able to stop a random lone wolf who may not have made any indication anywhere of how he or she is thinking, even though we can't apparently do anything about the Kinahan scumbags practically obliterating an entire family over the course of a year even though everybody knows who is involved and where they live?

I'm calling bullsh!t. Our justice system is a mess. If the Gardai manage to catch any Isis sympathisers, they will be rightly and deservedly praised for their diligent detective work. And while we're all distracted by the aforementioned show of support, some moron judge will give the arrestees a typical Irish suspended sentence and they'll be back plotting before the Gardai have time to say "what the actual f*ck".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 FernLeaf

Ah that's all well and good however my issue is the conscription, the "antos" of the country don't need conscription. We have a large portion of dim criminals in this country and providing them with firearms training could only be a bad thing. There has been at least one case of a young "hitman" on his way to a hit, arrested and upon examination his pistol was found to have all the bullets loaded BACKWARDS in the magazine. People like that don't need training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

That seems like a lot. And I doubt it would have changed the outcome of the Manchester terror attack at all

wakka12 wrote: »
    That seems like a lot. And I doubt it would have changed the outcome of the Manchester terror attack at all
    Ah yeah but it would be laugh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭skydish79

Where are these extra gardai coming from, FG like the Tory government spreading existing sources too thinly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I assume you have already volunteered to serve in the Army by now?

FernLeaf wrote: »
    There has been at least one case of a young "hitman" on his way to a hit, arrested and upon examination his pistol was found to have all the bullets loaded BACKWARDS in the magazine. People like that don't need training.

PLEASE tell me you can remember a link to this story, preferably from a tabloid which doesn't hold back on the well deserved ridicule and sarcasm :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Time for a coup, they're gonna dig up Dev turn him into a cyborg and we'll have civil war 2.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Ah that's all well and good however my issue is the conscription, the "antos" of the country don't need conscription. We have a large portion of dim criminals in this country and providing them with firearms training could only be a bad thing. There has been at least one case of a young "hitman" on his way to a hit, arrested and upon examination his pistol was found to have all the bullets loaded BACKWARDS in the magazine. People like that don't need training.

Link me o this backwards bullets loading please

Time for a coup, they're gonna dig up Dev turn him into a cyborg and we'll have civil war 2.0
    I'll get me rosary beads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

What about rural Ireland - when will they get armed units? Healy-Rae's on the case as we speak.

They're not the heroes we want, they're the heroes we need.

gse_multipart45187.jpg

Out to get some Baaad Boys.

razorblunt wrote: »
    They're not the heroes we want, they're the heroes we need.

gse_multipart45187.jpg

Out to get some Baaad Boys.

My cousin is in the Army. It's a very serious solemn professional job. It requires calmness. EXTREME CALM UNDER EXTREME PRESSURE.

Safe to say it's not what you think and they are not looking for what you think.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

FernLeaf wrote:

Do you think the US or British Army is made up of geniuses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

TheChizler wrote: »

We have an ARU in Waterford already, see them around everyday, so we are ahead of the posse on this one.

And Kilkenny's not a city anyway, just a large town like Navan or Drogheda ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Lads, it's a ****e journal acticle based to what thejournal has 'learned'. Don't assume any of it to be factual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

So we're expecting to be able to stop a random lone wolf who may not have made any indication anywhere of how he or she is thinking, even though we can't apparently do anything about the Kinahan scumbags practically obliterating an entire family over the course of a year even though everybody knows who is involved and where they live?
    Most of the kinahan mob live in Spain and middle east. Gardai have no power outside Republic of Ireland

You say nothing is being done? What do you want? A weekly newsletter about covert operations. That's just a ridiculous comment.

Yes gardai have not covered themselves in glory, but vast majority are good, some are exceptional. Armed response units are extremely well trained.

Even with the kinahan / hutch issue, the murder rate in Ireland is extremely low. In Chicago with 2.7m people (40% lower than Ireland) over 700 people were murdered last year! Now that's a city with a problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Noveight wrote: »
    We have armed units, they're called farmers ;)

Yeah, there's a small handful around here, all either elderly or young but generally drunk or useless. I wonder if more people in rural Ireland are going to develop a new interest in hunting, for which they'll need to apply for a gun license...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

RobertKK wrote:
    Dublin have the Garda armed support unit operating there for a while now, as it fights the feuding drug gangs, but now also for terrorism reasons. Cork, Galway, Limerick and kilkenny will from 7pm today will have the Garda armed support units (ASU) deployed and making a visible presence in the above cities. This is due to terrorism concerns and according to the Journal "the ASU will be making its presence clear where intelligence has indicated potential threats to national security."

RobertKK wrote:
    So the above cities are considered the higher risk cities for a terrorist event.

OP who ever wrote that article did not do much research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

I'd say isis are sh1ting themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Markcheese wrote: »
    They're always around Cork city anyway.. What's the difference? You'd see them whizzing round the city in audi 4x4s sometimes at checkpoints...

in fairness, they dont whizz around at the checkpoints, they usually just stand there!

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Most of the kinahan mob live in Spain and middle east. Gardai have no power outside Republic of Ireland

You say nothing is being done? What do you want? A weekly newsletter about covert operations. That's just a ridiculous comment.

Yes gardai have not covered themselves in glory, but vast majority are good, some are exceptional. Armed response units are extremely well trained.

Even with the kinahan / hutch issue, the murder rate in Ireland is extremely low. In Chicago with 2.7m people (40% lower than Ireland) over 700 people were murdered last year! Now that's a city with a problem!

I think you're missing my point. I'm not having a go at the Gardai but at the courts - as far as I'm concerned, Kinahan and his associates should have been jailed for life in Ireland long before they had a chance to move to Spain or anywhere else. We have a ridiculous level of light touch sentencing in our courts and what I'm saying is that I can easily foresee a scenario in which the Gardai work their asses off to catch dangerous, actively plotting jihadists - only for some idiot judge to let them go with a good stern talking to after listening to some bullsh!t sob stories about their unhappy childhoods or some such bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

We should also outlaw hard currency, enslave the welsh and introduce eugenics. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I think you're missing my point. I'm not having a go at the Gardai but at the courts - as far as I'm concerned, Kinahan and his associates should have been jailed for life in Ireland long before they had a chance to move to Spain or anywhere else. We have a ridiculous level of light touch sentencing in our courts and what I'm saying is that I can easily foresee a scenario in which the Gardai work their asses off to catch dangerous, actively plotting jihadists - only for some idiot judge to let them go with a good stern talking to after listening to some bullsh!t sob stories about their unhappy childhoods or some such bollocks.

We already have an element of that when we want to deport known terrorists, thanks to the alleged risk of torture.

It seems to depend heavily upon the personality of the judge, at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Yeah, just heard that his plan is that in between "Terror Related Incidents" in Kerry that these armed units would be responding to, he will have them cutting the Rhododendrons in Killarney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Bollocks talk, bullets will only fit into a magazine ONE WAY and can NEVER be put in backwards.
    The magazine cannot be put into a gun backwards either so where ever you heard this "Fact" I'd call bull**** on it.