Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Ireland needs a domestic Intelligence organisation immediately

12346»

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

There is no need to drum up a big fighting force for the few youngfellas in this country who might possibly be one day convinced to take up a career in islamic terrorism if the mood takes them. There's no need to enroll everyone into a big brother society and track them at all times in case they decide to take up terrorism.

People don't join these terrorist groups if they're living an otherwise normal, good life. You won't find the lad who's out on the jetski at the weekend and getting the roide most nights of the week suddenly deciding he wants to blow himself up in a crowd of people for the good of Allah.

The solution is simple, ask the schools and colleges who are the muslim lads who might be having a bit of a ****ty life. Get the guards to call to his house with a recovered jetski that nobody claimed back, a stack of prostitute vouchers and maybe a baggeen of weed from a recent drug bust and the problem will soon solve itself. Much cheaper than all this secret service mumbo jumbo

I'm afraid not. It's a reasonable assumption but it's proved to be untrue. Lots of them came from normal, even prosperous backgrounds, were considered normal, nce and friendly people. Well-adjusted. Inconspicuous in some cases.
    As for the numbers, there are many on watchlists. I'm not sure exactly how many but I think it's tens of thousands in some countries. It's not a tiny scattering of oddballs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭AnGaelach

There is no need to drum up a big fighting force for the few youngfellas in this country who might possibly be one day convinced to take up a career in islamic terrorism if the mood takes them. There's no need to enroll everyone into a big brother society and track them at all times in case they decide to take up terrorism.

People don't join these terrorist groups if they're living an otherwise normal, good life. You won't find the lad who's out on the jetski at the weekend and getting the roide most nights of the week suddenly deciding he wants to blow himself up in a crowd of people for the good of Allah.

The solution is simple, ask the schools and colleges who are the muslim lads who might be having a bit of a ****ty life. Get the guards to call to his house with a recovered jetski that nobody claimed back, a stack of prostitute vouchers and maybe a baggeen of weed from a recent drug bust and the problem will soon solve itself. Much cheaper than all this secret service mumbo jumbo

You mean except for the likes of Jihadi John?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

AnGaelach wrote: »
    You mean except for the likes of Jihadi John?

Or Osama Bin Laden giving up a life of luxury at an early age to pursue his goals.

True conviction there, not matter how misguided his views were.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams