Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The DUB Passport/Immigration Queue Thread

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

lxflyer wrote: »
    Just to correct you - I said already there are checks - UK Border Force do random spot checks on Irish arrivals. I have been on several flights from Dublin into UK airports where there has been a full check of everyone's passport or ID upon disembarkation by UK Border Force officials.

Not saying it doesn't happen but you've clearly been unlucky. I've been flying to the UK regularly for many years and never experienced this at any airport. Not even once.

I have however wasted many many hours standing in the queue to get through passport control in Dublin. I've also had to endure the extra long wait for baggage on the rare occasions i've been forced to check a bag..

This being Ireland, I don't expect anything better to be honest. I always just assumed it was a result of poor and inefficient work practices mandated by the unions. Either way it's embarrassing to watch visitors to our country treated this way.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭plodder

It's as a result of two separate countries having their own laws. Entry to U.K. from Ireland is governed by the Entry from Ireland Regulations 1972 which explicitly prohibits full controls. The increasing number of "ad hoc" checks conducted by the U.K. on Irish arrivals uses security legislation to justify their imposition. Also Border Force don't have the manpower to control all Irish arrivals.