Not The Annoyingly Trivial Things-Bitches be cray cray week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I'm annoyed at my last night's self because she had a bright idea to go online at 9pm to order a skip to have a big clearout today.

Today's self is now knee deep in crap and completely over it but there's a skip outside that needs to be at least half filled. Ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Gardaí posting social media pictures showing drivers they've caught. Would you ever f*ck off. I don't post social media photos of myself doing my job or my completed tasks.

I doubt it's a "La de da, look at us doing our job" and more a case of "drive with no tax or insurance, get caught like these people".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I doubt it's a "La de da, look at us doing our job" and more a case of "drive with no tax or insurance, get caught like these people".

Whatever it is, it TA's me. Given their track record of inflating their successful catches, who knows what's behind it ;)

TA there is an apple on my desk mocking me for being unhealthy. Go away apple. I want to be unhealthy. Come back to me when you're cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,188 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Getting haircuts.

I'm at that point in life (and probably have been for the last 10 years or so) that I don't really bother with my hair, I keep it reasonably shortish, and let it do its own thing. Don't use gel or any product, barely brush it if ever. We get on grand with each other.

But theres always a 2/3 week period where you look at it and think "I really need to get that cut", but just couldn't be ar$ed as its just a chore!!
    Then you eventually find the time to get it done, and it's still a pain in the ar$e, sitting in a chair for 20 minutes looking at your self in a mirror, making crappy small talk.

"So, off work today?"
    "Did you watch the match last night?"
    "I can't believe who shot JR!"
    "Do you want gel in it?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭Shpudnik

The health system. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

Trying to find information about studying Medicine once I finish this undergrad. My brain is absolutely fried from questions like how long it'll take, how much it costs, pros and cons of different courses, etc :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Getting haircuts.

I'm at that point in life (and probably have been for the last 10 years or so) that I don't really bother with my hair, I keep it reasonably shortish, and let it do its own thing. Don't use gel or any product, barely brush it if ever. We get on grand with each other.

But theres always a 2/3 week period where you look at it and think "I really need to get that cut", but just couldn't be ar$ed as its just a chore!!
    Then you eventually find the time to get it done, and it's still a pain in the ar$e, sitting in a chair for 20 minutes looking at your self in a mirror, making crappy small talk.

"So, off work today?"
    "Did you watch the match last night?"
    "I can't believe who shot JR!"
    "Do you want gel in it?"

Try three hours of highlights and tint plus cut and blowdry.

TA bills and too many of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

TA'd by having such a crap memory that I can't remember who was who after I've done a client meeting and have to resort to frantically googling names to see if I can find any photos to jog my memory.

Seriously, I'll be introduced to someone and their name goes in one ear and out the other. Within 20 seconds I've forgotten who they are. My memory is the absolute pits!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

This weather! People coughing on the train!!!

Upside- I ordered pizza! Should arrive just after me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Bambi985 wrote: »
    TA'd by having such a crap memory that I can't remember who was who after I've done a client meeting and have to resort to frantically googling names to see if I can find any photos to jog my memory.

Seriously, I'll be introduced to someone and their name goes in one ear and out the other. Within 20 seconds I've forgotten who they are. My memory is the absolute pits!

I'll remember literally everything about someone except their name and face. It's like when Dougal can't remember someone. You were wearing your red jumper." Oh yeah, him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Grayson wrote: »
    I'll remember literally everything about someone except their name and face. It's like when Dougal can't remember someone. You were wearing your red jumper." Oh yeah, him.

I wish I had that skill. I'll only remember if they were incredibly striking looking or wearing something daft or standout-ish.

Doesn't help that they were a team of middle-aged white men who just looked like generic middle-aged white men. Actually sitting here googling their emails and then debating with myself if it's too risky to drop them a note saying "thanks for your time today!" // "What time today? Who are you?"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Bambi985 wrote: »
    Doesn't help that they were a team of middle-aged white men who just looked like generic middle-aged white men.

I used to work in an office with literally hundreds of other people. Most of the sections were open plan, but there would have been dividing walls between the various sections. There was a guy I would have dealt with on a daily basis for ages, but we'd never set eyes on each other. I remember ringing him one day, I had to bring some paperwork to him that needed some explaining, and I asked him what he looked like. He said, I'm the chap wearing a light blue shirt, I'm average height, I've dark hair and blue eyes - he had just described 98% of the guys working there. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

So I found out today that I am severely anaemic. I had the bloods done in June and the hospital bothers to tell me now. Well that also explains my breathlessness, tiredness, feeling cold, aching and fatigue. I thought it was all CF! Fecksake, cheers lads for finally telling me, sitting on the results since June.

My Vitamin D levels are also ridiculously low and I've lost 3-4% lung function due to acid reflux which I still need to get sorted as I puked this morning. And the dietitian was giving out about my weight, today was a great day, ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Trying to find information about studying Medicine once I finish this undergrad. My brain is absolutely fried from questions like how long it'll take, how much it costs, pros and cons of different courses, etc :(

I know they post grad in UL takes 4 years and I think its around 15k a year. I don't know about any others.

So I found out today that I am severely anaemic. I had the bloods done in June and the hospital bothers to tell me now. Well that also explains my breathlessness, tiredness, feeling cold, aching and fatigue. I thought it was all CF! Fecksake, cheers lads for finally telling me, sitting on the results since June.

That's ridiculous. The results would have been ready in a day or 2. The results then go back to the requesting doctor.
    If it was your consultant or GP, they really let you down. Hope it doesn't happen to you again.

That's ridiculous. The results would have been ready in a day or 2. The results then go back to the requesting doctor.
    If it was your consultant or GP, they really let you down. Hope it doesn't happen to you again.

I have CF so they do an annual review with bloods, I have been back to the CF clinic since they got the results but it was for various things, not for an official clinic check up so my results weren't looked at. My iron level is 7.2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

NOTHING I do is ever good enough for my boss. If I do something wonderful, it is met with silence. If I f*ck up, I'm pulled straight away. Ok we are all adults, there's nobody expecting gold f*cking stickers on their homework for effort, but an occasional "well done" or "good job" would be nice. If you never hear "well done" you start to wonder if you've ever done well :(

I've experienced this. Could be naive but I put it down to the boss most likely having criticising parents, so it's the only model they know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Check Engine Light..... Fúck!
    s4uv3 wrote: »
    Ara mine has been on for months. Be grand :pac:

It went off again... it’s grand now. If I’ve learned anything in my years of owning shítbucket cars and jeeps, that problem is gone and won’t be back again in the near future..... riiiight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

NOTHING I do is ever good enough for my boss. If I do something wonderful, it is met with silence. If I f*ck up, I'm pulled straight away. Ok we are all adults, there's nobody expecting gold f*cking stickers on their homework for effort, but an occasional "well done" or "good job" would be nice. If you never hear "well done" you start to wonder if you've ever done well :(

I think we must work in the same place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Grayson wrote: »
    eat liver, seaweed and drink guinness

(Please note I'm listing odd random food that contains Iron. Even google would be a better doctor than I am, and it's not great)
    If you take any form of seaweed and FYI soya products and you have any kind of thyroid problem, they work against each other.
    TA'ed ppl with anemia are sent out without the info they need to heal.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

I'm a medical scientist too.

We communicate very abnormal results to the GPs, nurses etc. It's up to them to contact the patients.

I've had experiences of patients ringing the lab looking for answers that they don't get from their clinics/ practices.

Oh my gooooodness!! Whats your speciality? I'm in final year and I'm thinking Microbiology :)

exactly, the communication errors seem to be doctors/ nurses as opposed to the medical scientist. I'm really shocked people try to call the lab though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Ladies and gents. All posts relating to anything that could be even vaguely considered medical advice has been removed. Please don't bring up the topic again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

It went off again... it’s grand now. If I’ve learned anything in my years of owning shítbucket cars and jeeps, that problem is gone and won’t be back again in the near future..... riiiight?

I had a Corolla years ago and the engine light always came on in very heavy rain...

TA I had a day off today and really wasted it and I had great intentions..kicking myself now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It's that time of year again where I have to tape my letterbox shut as young fellas think it's gas to throw bangers and fireworks through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭vampyre

anna080 wrote: »
    It's that time of year again where I have to tape my letterbox shut as young fellas think it's gas to throw bangers ans fireworks through it.

Or in the yard when my little dogs are in it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

vampyre wrote: »
    Or in the yard when my little dogs are in it :(

I reckon you could take them with your fangs :pac:

anna080 wrote: »
    I reckon you could take them with your fangs :pac:

Sure why do you think I'm anaemic :D

Oh my gooooodness!! Whats your speciality? I'm in final year and I'm thinking Microbiology :)

I did Micro and Biochemistry for 4th year. I really liked micro but leaned towards bio in the end. I work in Biochemistry now.
    I hope you get a job when you finish. There's plenty of locums going around.

I did Micro and Biochemistry for 4th year. I really liked micro but leaned towards bio in the end. I work in Biochemistry now.
    I hope you get a job when you finish. There's plenty of locums going around.

I'm in UCC/CIT so don't specialise like until we get real jobs, it's so odd to meet a medical scientist in everyday life :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,717 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Person in Thurles shopping centre - when my reversing lights are on and I'm moving backwards slowly it should occur to you that I might be reversing into the parking space, so you might just pause for a few seconds and not come close enough to set my reversing yokies to red which means very close, holding me and you up longer than was necessary. Better still consider walking or the bus.

(on a TH note the eir shop was open and got sorted)

that whole car park is a TA. who ever designed that wants a good kicking. nothing is right. .
    there is always an idiot in there that drives right up behind you when you are reversing in or out. why cant they leave you space.
    I was in there one day near Christmas so parking was scares so had to take a space as soon as I found one. car is reversing from a row on my right so I wait and let them out. a car comes from behind me and overtakes me to try and get passed . now they start blowing at the reversing car because its slowing them down. they made a few second manoeuvre into a 1 minute 10 point turn.