Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael's Next Top Model 2017

• 18-05-2017 10:23PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭

Feel free to discuss Enda stepping down, his legacy, and who'll be Taoiseach next here. It's a big enough event to warrant an AH politics thread, apologies for the delay in allowing it.

I don't like Fine Gael but he was one of our best Taoisigh ever.

He was harmless, possibly what was needed after the Ahern and Cowen era.

The next Taoiseach will be Leo. Expect him to be the least "in thrall to the public sector unions" leader in a long time.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

The next Taoiseach will be Leo.

How can you be sure that FF will allow it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I hope that foreign lad doesn't get it.

Peregrine wrote: »
    How can you be sure that FF will allow it?

I think FF will just play the waiting game. They have little choice, to move on the basis of who FG elect will smack of fear and will enable a new charismatic FG leader go to the polls, say give me a chance, and recoup some of the losses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

ah Cork isnt THAT far away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Varadker sidelined..even on Boards.. "Leadership contest" - not "Gay Taoiseach"..because Ireland isn't getting one. It's getting a Coveney. Lol.

personally I thought him to be gaff prone and ineffectual

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Hi Enda is that you:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Two not very appealing candidates.

Leo has always come across to me as someone prone to speaking without thinking and a bit of a parish pump Dublin politician.

Coveney on the other hand is an enigma and I never could understand his popularity within the FG party though of the two I would prefer him.

Would have liked Bruton to have a go but he has been very quiet since the last push and wonder if he has any support or is expecting the next leader to be short lived.

All opening up for Fianna Fail #facepalm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Kenny was rubbish. Good riddance. Leo just doesn't cut mustard and Coveney hasn't any ham in his sandwiches. We need someone with a crumbed slice of ham between thick crusts of bread and a good dollop of nose piercing mustard spread over.

personally as a vote getter , LV is a better choice , and given FG will not be in Gov next time , then the more votes FG get the better

Is that you Simon ?:eek:

Kenny was rubbish. Good riddance. Leo just doesn't cut mustard and Coveney hasn't any ham in his sandwiches. We need someone with a crumbed slice of ham between thick crusts of bread and a good dollop of nose piercing mustard spread over.

all I could from your post was a desire to make a sandwich, :confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Whether it's Leo or Simon, will there be any major change in policy? Doubt it.

BoatMad wrote: »
    personally as a vote getter , LV is a better choice , and given FG will not be in Gov next time , then the more votes FG get the better

FG will be in power next time, and Coveney will be heading them up. ;) FF under Martin are weak in terms of contacts. Contacts matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Eat a snickers will you, you turn into a right diva when you're hungry.

ah Cork isnt THAT far away
    Is that you Leo?.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Books4you

I like Leo. Could blag his way out of anything! :p On the other hand Covney is a Corkonian. Tis a tough one! The only thing that drives me mad with Covney is anytime I hear him having a debate whether it be on Marian Finucane or Primetime is he talks so slooooooow! For god sakes man, horse on!! :D:D

Is that you Leo?.:eek:

no, but hang on, let me finish shaving , ill get him for you, he's in the bedroom :P

Books4you wrote: »
    I like Leo. Could blag his way out of anything! :p On the other hand Covney is a Corkonian. Tis a tough one! The only thing that drives me mad with Covney is anytime I hear him having a debate whether it be on Marian Finucane or Primetime is he talks so slooooooow! For god sakes man, horse on!! :D:D

Think he has struggled with a stutter or speech impediment. You can detect a pause as he runs through in his head what hes about to say to make sure it's a correct sentence.

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Think he has struggled with a stutter or speech impediment. You can detect a pause as he runs through in his head what hes about to say to make sure it's a correct sentence.

or maybe he thinks slowly, Occams Razor applies

Balmed Out wrote: »

Never noticed that to be honest although that's probably all I'll notice from now on. :D Interesting! It obviously works for him but maybe someone should tell poor old Marian Finucane too because It seems to drive her mad too. Always telling him to get to the point! :D Poor Simon. Feel bad now!

or maybe he thinks slowly, Occams Razor applies

No I have definitely read that he struggled / struggles with a speech impediment or stutter or something along those lines. To be fair once he gets going he is fairly well spoken and his points thought out just not one to be able to spit quick retorts out.

When I started in secondary school I had quite a serious stutter. I literally wasn’t able to read out loud and it was one of the reasons why I didn’t do well in languages. I wasn’t able to do oral exams very well. If I’m reading Irish, it’s still difficult. French is a bit easier because it’s just an easier language to speak in terms of getting words out. Luckily for me, I’ve learned how to cope with it.

does seem like he has an issue

Books4you wrote: »
    Never noticed that to be honest although that's probably all I'll notice from now on. :D Interesting! It obviously works for him but maybe someone should tell poor old Marian Finucane too because It seems to drive her mad too. Always telling him to get to the point! :D Poor Simon. Feel bad now!

Play up a trivial weakness..garner sympathy..lull them into a sense of false security.

Blimey, this is playing out by the book.

Knock into PP - stick a tenner on Coveney. His crowd have every base covered.

no, but hang on, let me finish shaving , ill get him for you, he's in the bedroom :P
    Hi Leo do you want to come over and watch a movie at mine whats it called Leo ask me`Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.:p

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Play up a trivial weakness..garner sympathy..lull them into a sense of false security.

Blimey, this is playing out by the book.

Knock into PP - stick a tenner on Coveney. His crowd have every base covered.

really sad, that we have descended into this level of cynicism in this state

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/miriam-meets/programmes/2010/0228/346759-280210/

"The reality was I had a speech impediment. I had a stutter. Literally until I was 15 or 16 year of age, I could not string two or three sentences together. I remember breaking pencils under the desk in frustration when trying to read as Gaeilge in Irish class.

But you learn to cope with these things. I subconsciously think two or three sentences ahead and I will subconsciously choose a vocabulary that allows the speech to flow."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭satguy

History will mark Enda down as the worst Taoiseach we ever had.
    The news papers will tell us how well Ireland did while Enda was Taoiseach in spite of his and Fianna Fail's ineptitude.

He spent his frist 20 years as a TD just making up the numbers, or being banished to the Gaeltacht.

It's a sorry state when even crooks (CJ) and wasters (BA) are held in higher esteem then you are, poor old Enda !

I suppose there is one good thing about Enda finally taking the hint, and that is he is taking Noonan with him.

satguy wrote: »
    The news papers will tell us how well Ireland did while Enda was Taoiseach in spite of his and Fianna Fail's ineptitude.

He spent his frist 20 years as a TD just making up the numbers, or being banished to the Gaeltacht.

It's a sorry state when even crooks (CJ) and wasters (BA) are held in higher esteem then you are, poor old Enda !

I suppose there is one good thing about Enda finally taking the hint, and that is he is taking Noonan with him.

Worse will follow. Ruthless as Noonan was, Coveney makes him look like a choirboy.

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Worse will follow. Ruthless as Noonan was, Coveney makes him look like a choirboy.
    True.

personally I think Noonan was an excellent minister for finance , stood his ground when the country needed financial stability and brought us out of the FF mess to be close to the highest growth rate country in the EU

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 229 ✭✭Sosurface

A useless conniving mucksavage. Lived his entire life on the taxpayers back after being handed Daddys seat out of sympathy. Epitomises everything thats wrong with this state. Will live out his retirement in luxury, guess who's funding that.

Who'll lead Fine Gael? Who cares. Cant see many being sold on either one. Dya fancy our own Gay brown Maggie Thatcher or another altar boy from Cork? Thought not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

The finest Taoiseach of our generation.

A decent man who believed in Ireland.

Kick the scandals down the road c*** block them. :P he can always play fiddle musical instrument in Mayo he is very good at that you know.

indeed , no doubt

The finest Taoiseach of our generation
    Hardly

Sosurface wrote: »
    A useless conniving mucksavage. Lived his entire life on the taxpayers back after being handed Daddys seat out of sympathy. Epitomises everything thats wrong with this state. Will live out his retirement in luxury, guess who's funding that.

Who'll lead Fine Gael? Who cares. Cant see many being sold on either one. Dya fancy our own Gay brown Maggie Thatcher or another altar boy from Cork? Thought not.

not a fan of FG are we, I can just deduce that from your comments , just :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,661 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I don't know which era you have lived through, but for all his faults, he was a better Taoiseach than the crooks Haughey and Ahern, and the incompetent Cowen. He achieved more than the ineffective Fitzgerald or the arrogant Bruton. Lynch was a lightweight and Cosgrave presided over a 1970s mess.

That leaves just Reynolds as a better Taoiseach and he left under a bigger cloud. All of that makes Kenny the second-best Taoiseach I remember.

mane1 wrote: »
    IS THERE ANY WAY WE COULD GET THE HEALY RAES IN ? , AS A DOUBLE-TAOISEACH
    I say that is Wonderful idea.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

About as much chance as you finding caps lock.

Sure jaysis they'd never make it up to Dublin with the drink and the dinner in the belly!

personally I think Noonan was an excellent minister for finance , stood his ground when the country needed financial stability and brought us out of the FF mess to be close to the highest growth rate country in the EU

He didn't cover himself in glory on the Hep scandal. Short memories saved him. He was quite the cold fish when required.

The finest Taoiseach of our generation.

Hi Enda stop talking out through your hole. You where told in school by the headmaster self self praise is no praise Enda.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I've tried to warm to LV but there was always something I don't like about him. That idea solidified with me when he did that recent promotion with the banner appealing to the public to snitch on benefits cheats. I'm gay myself and I'm glad about the way he has conducted himself on this issue but for me that is how it should be - meaning I don't think anyone should vote for him based on his sexuality. If he's the best man for the job fine but the best man should win irrespective of their sexuality. He's obviously very intelligent and although I don't follow politics to strongly I think I'd much prefer Simon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=103550881&postcount=240
    Originally Posted by MysticMonk viewpost.gif
    He won't be taken seriously if he happens to visit any Islamic country..in fact he might well get fecked off a roof.

This is just a racist bull**** comment. David Norris stayed with several Palestinians who only cared about him telling the world the injustice they were suffering under occupation, they didn't give a flying **** about his sexuality.

There is secular progressive parties in the Middle East like the DFLP, PNI, PFLP & PPP are all secular, democratic & left-wing - center-left parties. Its been hard for them to get ahead when the West keeps backing & supporting politically & military the more extreme Islamic regimes like Saudi Arabia or the "mujahideen freedom fighters". Bit like how they overthrew democratically elected governments in Latin America & replaced with either brutal fascist dictators like Montt & Pinochet or military juntas in places like Brazil & Argentina.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Enda was a legend.
    A big legend from from Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭satguy

A Taoiseach that is so inept and out of step, that FF were happy to let him hang in there as Taoiseach. = FF are happy to see him dig that hole for himself.

It must be said that the next two inline for his job are no better.

Leo set up a hotline for people to tell tales on their neighbors, But if yo live in Ballsbridge and the guy that owns the big house next door is home every day, but tells the taxman he is a non resident and pays no tax. If you tell tales on that guy, Leo does not want to know.

I don't even know where to start on Coveney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

So it's vote Leo for politics via social media & soundbites, or Coveney for imported (via Irish navy) unlimited cheap 3rd world labour for his brother Pat's multi-billion minimum-wage zero hour contract sandwich making empire.

The choice between the queen or the merchant princes I guess :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=103550881&postcount=240

This is just a racist bull**** comment. David Norris stayed with several Palestinians who only cared about him telling the world the injustice they were suffering under occupation, they didn't give a flying **** about his sexuality.

There is secular progressive parties in the Middle East like the DFLP, PNI, PFLP & PPP are all secular, democratic & left-wing - center-left parties. Its been hard for them to get ahead when the West keeps backing & supporting politically & military the more extreme Islamic regimes like Saudi Arabia or the "mujahideen freedom fighters". Bit like how they overthrew democratically elected governments in Latin America & replaced with either brutal fascist dictators like Montt & Pinochet or military juntas in places like Brazil & Argentina.

This rubbish is typical of the blinkered views of a poster with a name glorifying terrorists.