Fine Gael's Next Top Model 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

satguy wrote: »
    History will mark Enda down as the worst Taoiseach we ever had.
    The news papers will tell us how well Ireland did while Enda was Taoiseach in spite of his and Fianna Fail's ineptitude.

He spent his frist 20 years as a TD just making up the numbers, or being banished to the Gaeltacht.

It's a sorry state when even crooks (CJ) and wasters (BA) are held in higher esteem then you are, poor old Enda !

I suppose there is one good thing about Enda finally taking the hint, and that is he is taking Noonan with him.

Worse will follow. Ruthless as Noonan was, Coveney makes him look like a choirboy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Worse will follow. Ruthless as Noonan was, Coveney makes him look like a choirboy.
    True.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,506 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

The news papers will tell us how well Ireland did while Enda was Taoiseach in spite of his and Fianna Fail's ineptitude.

He spent his frist 20 years as a TD just making up the numbers, or being banished to the Gaeltacht.

It's a sorry state when even crooks (CJ) and wasters (BA) are held in higher esteem then you are, poor old Enda !

I suppose there is one good thing about Enda finally taking the hint, and that is he is taking Noonan with him.

personally I think Noonan was an excellent minister for finance , stood his ground when the country needed financial stability and brought us out of the FF mess to be close to the highest growth rate country in the EU

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 229 ✭✭Sosurface

A useless conniving mucksavage. Lived his entire life on the taxpayers back after being handed Daddys seat out of sympathy. Epitomises everything thats wrong with this state. Will live out his retirement in luxury, guess who's funding that.

Who'll lead Fine Gael? Who cares. Cant see many being sold on either one. Dya fancy our own Gay brown Maggie Thatcher or another altar boy from Cork? Thought not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

The finest Taoiseach of our generation.

A decent man who believed in Ireland.

Kick the scandals down the road c*** block them. :P he can always play fiddle musical instrument in Mayo he is very good at that you know.

indeed , no doubt

The finest Taoiseach of our generation
    Hardly

Sosurface wrote: »
    A useless conniving mucksavage. Lived his entire life on the taxpayers back after being handed Daddys seat out of sympathy. Epitomises everything thats wrong with this state. Will live out his retirement in luxury, guess who's funding that.

Who'll lead Fine Gael? Who cares. Cant see many being sold on either one. Dya fancy our own Gay brown Maggie Thatcher or another altar boy from Cork? Thought not.

not a fan of FG are we, I can just deduce that from your comments , just :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I don't know which era you have lived through, but for all his faults, he was a better Taoiseach than the crooks Haughey and Ahern, and the incompetent Cowen. He achieved more than the ineffective Fitzgerald or the arrogant Bruton. Lynch was a lightweight and Cosgrave presided over a 1970s mess.

That leaves just Reynolds as a better Taoiseach and he left under a bigger cloud. All of that makes Kenny the second-best Taoiseach I remember.

mane1 wrote: »
    IS THERE ANY WAY WE COULD GET THE HEALY RAES IN ? , AS A DOUBLE-TAOISEACH
    I say that is Wonderful idea.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

About as much chance as you finding caps lock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Books4you

Sure jaysis they'd never make it up to Dublin with the drink and the dinner in the belly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

BoatMad wrote: »
    personally I think Noonan was an excellent minister for finance , stood his ground when the country needed financial stability and brought us out of the FF mess to be close to the highest growth rate country in the EU

He didn't cover himself in glory on the Hep scandal. Short memories saved him. He was quite the cold fish when required.

The finest Taoiseach of our generation.

Hi Enda stop talking out through your hole. You where told in school by the headmaster self self praise is no praise Enda.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I've tried to warm to LV but there was always something I don't like about him. That idea solidified with me when he did that recent promotion with the banner appealing to the public to snitch on benefits cheats. I'm gay myself and I'm glad about the way he has conducted himself on this issue but for me that is how it should be - meaning I don't think anyone should vote for him based on his sexuality. If he's the best man for the job fine but the best man should win irrespective of their sexuality. He's obviously very intelligent and although I don't follow politics to strongly I think I'd much prefer Simon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=103550881&postcount=240
    Originally Posted by MysticMonk viewpost.gif
    He won't be taken seriously if he happens to visit any Islamic country..in fact he might well get fecked off a roof.

This is just a racist bull**** comment. David Norris stayed with several Palestinians who only cared about him telling the world the injustice they were suffering under occupation, they didn't give a flying **** about his sexuality.

There is secular progressive parties in the Middle East like the DFLP, PNI, PFLP & PPP are all secular, democratic & left-wing - center-left parties. Its been hard for them to get ahead when the West keeps backing & supporting politically & military the more extreme Islamic regimes like Saudi Arabia or the "mujahideen freedom fighters". Bit like how they overthrew democratically elected governments in Latin America & replaced with either brutal fascist dictators like Montt & Pinochet or military juntas in places like Brazil & Argentina.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Enda was a legend.
    A big legend from from Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭satguy

A Taoiseach that is so inept and out of step, that FF were happy to let him hang in there as Taoiseach. = FF are happy to see him dig that hole for himself.

It must be said that the next two inline for his job are no better.

Leo set up a hotline for people to tell tales on their neighbors, But if yo live in Ballsbridge and the guy that owns the big house next door is home every day, but tells the taxman he is a non resident and pays no tax. If you tell tales on that guy, Leo does not want to know.

I don't even know where to start on Coveney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

So it's vote Leo for politics via social media & soundbites, or Coveney for imported (via Irish navy) unlimited cheap 3rd world labour for his brother Pat's multi-billion minimum-wage zero hour contract sandwich making empire.

The choice between the queen or the merchant princes I guess :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=103550881&postcount=240

This is just a racist bull**** comment. David Norris stayed with several Palestinians who only cared about him telling the world the injustice they were suffering under occupation, they didn't give a flying **** about his sexuality.

There is secular progressive parties in the Middle East like the DFLP, PNI, PFLP & PPP are all secular, democratic & left-wing - center-left parties. Its been hard for them to get ahead when the West keeps backing & supporting politically & military the more extreme Islamic regimes like Saudi Arabia or the "mujahideen freedom fighters". Bit like how they overthrew democratically elected governments in Latin America & replaced with either brutal fascist dictators like Montt & Pinochet or military juntas in places like Brazil & Argentina.

This rubbish is typical of the blinkered views of a poster with a name glorifying terrorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

A steady hand on the wheel, oversaw an economic resurgence that was even more remarkable than the Celtic Tiger.

We went from one of the worst basket cases in Europe with national bonds barely above junk level, to the strongest-performing economy with well rated (and improving) bonds, all inside of half a decade.

I won't argue the toss about whether FG/Kenny did anything to make it happen, but what they did was resist the calls to take ridiculous and drastic actions which would have pushed us further into the quagmire.

I see Leo is getting backed by all the top brass in FG. Question, If/When whoever becomes leader is there a cabinet reshuffle or plain sailing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

My money's on Varadkar and I would be perfectly happy with that!

Love the title! ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Books4you wrote: »
    I see Leo is getting backed by all the top brass in FG. Question, If/When whoever becomes leader is there a cabinet reshuffle or plain sailing?
    There usually would be. Noonan is gone so we need a new Finance Minister anyway, and if Leo becomes Taoiseach then someone else has to be given the social welfare portfolio.

Usually they'll move people around based on loyalty and the party's deputy leader will be given a high-profile role like finance or justice.

I imagine the cabinet will probably remain mostly the same; there's a lot of reliance on independents, who might demand a little more flesh in return for supporting the new Taoiseach.

Assuming it is Leo, I'd say Paschal will be given the Finance role and the deputy leadership of the party for his support. But he might appoint Coveney in the Tanaiste role, enemies closer and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭satguy

If our only choice is Leo, then maybe we can delete some of the "mild criticism" we posted on this and other threads, and ask him to hang on for a while longer.

We can then vote in that FF/SF government we all wanted in the first place !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Enda has been a weak yes man Taoiseach at a time when the country needed strong leadership. He has capitulated on so many issues favouring big business over the people whose interests he should have been protecting.

I don't think history will look on him favourably along with a few of his predecessors. He should not be and does not deserve to be credited for the partial economic recovery that we now have.

My money's on Varadkar and I would be perfectly happy with that!
    My money is gone on paying for Varadkar.:eek:

Your Face wrote: »
    Enda was a legend.
    A big legend from from Mayo.
    Enda is that you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

As far as I can tell the only things Varadkar has done is be media savvy, but 30% from the mental health care budget and be gay.

All I know about Coveney is that he is from Cork, inherited his dads seat, and tried to oust Enda in 2010.

I'd love to hear a list of their achievements.