Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JP Morgan buys £100m office in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

neverever1 wrote: »
    Loads of room outside Dublin. It's time to build it up!

You're half right. They need to build up in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Loads of room outside Dublin. It's time to build it up!

I agree actually. Even a new CBD outside the city could be the way forward. Squeezing more businesses into the docklands is not the way. If anything that area should be zoned for high rise residential.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 864 ✭✭✭neverever1

Keyzer wrote: »
    Why on earth would one of the worlds biggest investment banks move from the global financial capital to Leitrim or Sligo? Seriously, cop on will ye.

Maybe because they want to avoid being stabbed by a junkie?

Ush1 wrote: »
    You're half right. They need to build up in Dublin.

There's another 25 counties in this state being neglected, let's look after them first and then come back to Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

That's all we need...more gangsters in the country

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

There's another 25 counties in this state being neglected, let's look after them first and then come back to Dublin.

JP Morgan arent going to move to Sligo or Leitrim mate. Not now, not ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

No. Let's look at our capital first. The capital is the epicentre of the economy and the country. It needs serious investment if we want to take Ireland forward.

I've never actually met anyone who opposes tall buildings in Dublin? What is it that stops this from happening? Who opposes it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Is there not a massive housing shortage in dublin??

Also when all these banks go belly up 10 years or whenever they fcuk up again.....will ireland have to bail out all the irish subsideries of these banks???

Is the financial regulator still as lax/patetic as that banker from the inquiry pointed out a few weeks ago??

I doubt if even 10% of these new jobs will involve people moving to Ireland, most will be locally recruited finance roles. They already employ 500 people here and there will be expansion space in the New office, so we're only talking 2/300 jobs.

Ireland didn't bail out any Irish subsidiaries of foreign banks last time, the opposite in fact. Ulster bank for example has cost the UK tax payers hundreds of millions and Rabobank spent nearly €1bn bailing out their Irish subsidiary ACC Bank.

JP Morgan aren't a high street bank though, so they won't be lending in Ireland, all they are doing is expanding their Dublin office to keep a nominal foothold in the eu.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    At least we 'll all benefit from 'trickle down' or the flood, or whatever nonsense it's called nowadays

I don't think 'trickle down' was ever intended to mean that you will earn the same money as them, as some left wing folk might imagine.

I'm pretty sure it means they won't be driving their own cabs, making their own pizzas, or watching films in their own private cinemas etc.

Bring it on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

It will be back and middle office staff, not "investment bankers"
    Theres a lot of attrition in this sector, people around the 30 - 40k level.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,033 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

topper75 wrote: »
    I don't think 'trickle down' was ever intended to mean that you will earn the same money as them, as some left wing folk might imagine.

I'm pretty sure it means they won't be driving their own cabs, making their own pizzas, or watching films in their own private cinemas etc.

Bring it on.

they only problem is, this language is orwellian!

JP Morgan arent going to move to Sligo or Leitrim mate. Not now, not ever.

Cork? Galway? Limerick? This Dublin centric thinking is bad news for the rest of the state and also for many living in Dublin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

I would say Limerick the underdog will get a lot of brexit business .

No. Let's look at our capital first. The capital is the epicentre of the economy and the country. It needs serious investment if we want to take Ireland forward.

I've never actually met anyone who opposes tall buildings in Dublin? What is it that stops this from happening? Who opposes it?

Dublin has had plenty of looking after. Too much. There's more to Ireland than Dublin!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Mr.S wrote: »
    They don't really need to do much extra as we're:

- In the eurozone
    - Low corporation tax
    - English speaking
    - Easy to fly to from the US and Europe

The only thing we suck at is infrastructure and housing. But this might kick us into gear if more companies start flowing over from the UK.

Infrastructure and housing takes years to plan and build. The revised Metro North is currently due to be completed in 2026 before the government kick the can down the road again. We let the railway order for DART Underground lapse in 2015 and it has to be designed from scratch now. We're looking at 2030 maybe. The government still hasn't committed to building the M20 to connect our second and third largest cities with a motorway. And the fact still remains that councils and ABP are choking the supply of new apartments in a housing crisis with ludicrous height limits.

You couldn't be more wrong when you say "they don't really need to do a lot more". They do. Infrastructure isn't an afterthought. That's what got us in the mess we're in now. Having the worst transport minister in the history of the state isn't helping either.

People arent going to want to move from London to some provincial town in Ireland. Dublin is already a step down enough for them.

These threads are gas for the delusional culchies thinking bankers will live in their three-pubs-and-a-spar town and left-wing whiners who get annoyed by their narrative of 'everything is terrible' being disrupted by yet more new jobs being created.

Dublin has had plenty of looking after. Too much. There's more to Ireland than Dublin!

Not very much more though. The rest of Ireland will be suitable for weekend breaks for the lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

So what would you tell any multinational that might want to move here and setup in Dublin? No thanks..... but we have a lovely field just outside Castlebar that has absolutely zero infrastructure if your interested?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Peregrine wrote: »
    Infrastructure and housing takes years to plan and build. The revised Metro North is currently due to be completed in 2026 before the government kick the can down the road again. We let the railway order for DART Underground lapse in 2015 and it has to be designed from scratch now. We're looking at 2030 maybe. The government still hasn't committed to building the M20 to connect our second and third largest cities with a motorway. And the fact still remains that councils and ABP are choking the supply of new apartments in a housing crisis with ludicrous height limits.

You couldn't be more wrong when you say "they don't really need to do a lot more". They do. Infrastructure isn't an afterthought. That's what got us in the mess we're in now. Having the worst transport minister in the history of the state isn't helping either.

Lets not make apologies. Infrastructural upgrades should be and needs to be done far quicker than we've ever done it. Just get on with it. Too many people need to be guaranteed their share of the pot. Thats the problem.

People arent going to want to move from London to some provincial town in Ireland. Dublin is already a step down enough for them.

These threads are gas for the delusional culchies thinking bankers will live in their three-pubs-and-a-spar town and left-wing whiners who get annoyed by their narrative of 'everything is terrible' being disrupted by yet more new jobs being created.

If they don't want to move then **** them.

The snobbery of the Dubs is hilarious! They think their crime riddled city is the be all and end all. They never set foot in real Ireland!

Not very much more though. The rest of Ireland will be suitable for weekend breaks for the lads.

:D The rest of Ireland is the real Ireland. Dublin is a stain!

JP Morgan ARE moving. To Dublin. And creating up to 500 jobs here.

I can smell the bitterness off ya all the way from Sligo

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The snobbery of the Dubs is hilarious! They think their crime riddled city is the be all and end all. They never set foot in real Ireland!

Is that why so many people from the country move to Dublin?:(

• Registered Users Posts: 13,860 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

As far as I'm aware Dublin is in Ireland, even real Ireland, despite your snobbish claims. :rolleyes:

So they can only move where you tell them to.....?

Give the IDA a call, not sure if they have tried that strategy yet, they might be interested

VinLieger wrote: »
    So what would you tell any multinational that might want to move here and setup in Dublin? No thanks..... but we have a lovely field just outside Castlebar that has absolutely zero infrastructure if your interested?

You from Dublin? What did they teach you in schools? Do you know there are other cities in Ireland?

Which have even less infrastructure than dublin.... so are a better choice somehow.....

JP Morgan ARE moving. To Dublin. And creating up to 500 jobs here.

I can smell the bitterness off ya all the way from Sligo

Well that's great! Dublin becomes and even more over inflated mess while the rest of Ireland remains neglected!

Don't be angry at me because I won't give you a euro.

Ush1 wrote: »
    Is that why so many people from the country move to Dublin?:(

No, it's because all the jobs are in Dublin. The rest of the state has been neglected. Keep up!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Cork and Limerick, while fine cities and a good location for any firm, need some serious infrastructure updates, including a light rail system for shuttling punters quickly and efficiently between the CBDs and 'burbs, before it's within an ass's roar of World cities like London, Berlin, NYC, and so forth.