Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JP Morgan buys £100m office in Dublin

• 16-05-2017 9:36am
    Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/business/2017/may/15/jp-morgan-landmark-office-dublin-brexit

So it appears that one major company is already planning to bunk the UK in favour of Ireland (as well as Luxembourg and Frankfurt). My missus works in the City and says that there is talk in pretty much every firm of devolving part or all of their business to Ireland and other parts of Europe.

While generally I think the banking companies are a shower of bastards lacking in all integrity, there's no denying Ireland may benefit hugely from such investment.

As someone not living there, is the Irish government doing a lot to encourage such companies?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,001 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Closer to the trough I guess!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Thanks, OP. Have just cancelled my subscription to the FT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Dublin becoming a mini London is bad news.

At least we 'll all benefit from 'trickle down' or the flood, or whatever nonsense it's called nowadays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

it isn't though.

It is new jobs for Dublin, which is good news for all of us. but this will be a few hundred transactional jobs so they can keep their access to the eurozone, it won't be hundreds of high end bankers earning millions.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,040 ✭✭✭OU812

Not necessarily. The real problem with Dublin becomes London light is we don't have the infrastructure (underground transport mostly) to deal with the volume of staff.

Don't forget that finance jobs bring other dependent jobs such as catering, sanitisation, IT etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Here goes the biggest increase in rents for Dublin for 2019 the landlords in Dublin must be smacking the lips. good news for Dublin. but bad news if you are a renter in Dublin you can see this happening a mile away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 157 ✭✭biscuithead

FTA69 wrote: »
    https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/business/2017/may/15/jp-morgan-landmark-office-dublin-brexit

So it appears that one major company is already planning to bunk the UK in favour of Ireland (as well as Luxembourg and Frankfurt). My missus works in the City and says that there is talk in pretty much every firm of devolving part or all of their business to Ireland and other parts of Europe.

While generally I think the banking companies are a shower of bastards lacking in all integrity, there's no denying Ireland may benefit hugely from such investment.

As someone not living there, is the Irish government doing a lot to encourage such companies?

There's no denying something "might" happen?

I'm absolutely certain that you might win the lottery.

There's no doubt at all that Heidi Klum might give me a blowjob.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

There's no decent public transport or places for people to live in Dublin, sorting that out should be priority then we can try to create jobs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

"Famine days, drove us here, off the land
    They told us to clear, now they drive you
    From the cities, to make way for all the Yuppies
    They stood back, and didn't act
    Those in power should have been sacked
    Decimate the inner cities, move them out, bring in the wealthy"

Damien Dempsey wrote about clearing out the working class to the suburbs, but today it's the middle classes that are being driven to outside the pale due to increasing rent.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

It is indeed. House prices are bad enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

"Famine days, drove us here, off the land
    They told us to clear, now they drive you
    From the cities, to make way for all the Yuppies
    They stood back, and didn't act
    Those in power should have been sacked
    Decimate the inner cities, move them out, bring in the wealthy"

Damien Dempsey wrote about clearing out the working class to the suburbs, but today it's the middle classes that are being driven to outside the pale due to increasing rent.
    Very well said and 100 per cent true.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Ah yeah, all the new jobs and the positive impact this will have on the economy, terrible... Lets level the city, build a load of tenements and enforce a law whereby all citizens must where potato sacks as clothing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

it isn't though.

It is new jobs for Dublin, which is good news for all of us. but this will be a few hundred transactional jobs so they can keep their access to the eurozone, it won't be hundreds of high end bankers earning millions.
    Is there not a massive housing shortage in dublin??

Also when all these banks go belly up 10 years or whenever they fcuk up again.....will ireland have to bail out all the irish subsideries of these banks???

Is the financial regulator still as lax/patetic as that banker from the inquiry pointed out a few weeks ago??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭arctictree

We don't need 100s of new jobs in Dublin. We need them in Leitrim (or Sligo etc)....

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

"The binding constraint in Ireland isn’t really around the supply of qualified people; it’s around infrastructure – the infrastructure in the city, the supply of housing . . . the capacity in the school system, the domestic transport infrastructure,” — The bank’s head of investor services, James Kenny

It's actually a national disgrace. Doing our best to lose out while talking about Brexit all day. **** all investment in transport during this government. Most of the sites in the docklands capped at six stories to protect the sensitivities of the NIMBYs. Some politicians seem to think it's a case of sitting back and watching the money roll in. Eejits.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

arctictree wrote: »
    We don't need 100s of new jobs in Dublin. We need them in Leitrim (or Sligo etc)....

Is there a building that can accomodate 500 people in leitrim or sligo? No? okay someone tell JP Morgan we don't want them then.......

• Registered Users Posts: 12,791 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

VinLieger wrote: »
    Is there a building that can accomodate 500 people in leitrim or sligo? No? okay someone tell JP Morgan we don't want them then.......

Bound to be a hay shed not being used at the minute. Problem solved.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

arctictree wrote: »

The bright lights of Sligo and Leitrim will really draw in the fast paced finance types.:P

Is there not a massive housing shortage in dublin??

Also when all these banks go belly up 10 years or whenever they fcuk up again.....will ireland have to bail out all the irish subsideries of these banks???

Is the financial regulator still as lax/patetic as that banker from the inquiry pointed out a few weeks ago??

ah dont worry, the financial sector has moved on from bail outs, bail ins are the new bail out

• Registered Users Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭elefant

'Lads, we're sending you all over to Ireland. Dublin? No, no. Drumshanbo. You'll love it'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 864 ✭✭✭neverever1

London controls England and Dublin controls this state. It's time that was ended.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Dublin's infrastructure (housing, transport, health care etc) are already at breaking point. We're not in a position to capitalise on brexit properly. Meantime the politicos and civil servants watch helplessly from their gold plated vantage point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Can we get the EU institutions that were headed in London? Such as the E.U banking authority?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

neverever1 wrote: »
    London controls England and Dublin controls this state. It's time that was ended.

Vive la culchie revolution comrade!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

All well and good but Dublin is so ill prepared for the huge opportunities that exist its not even funny. Where will everyone live? How will they commute to work?

We are reactive and not proactive when it comes to planning.

Vive la culchie revolution comrade!!!!

Damn straight! It's time to take the power away from the junkies and suit wearing thieves in Dublin!

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    All well and good but Dublin is so ill prepared for the huge opportunities that exist its not even funny. Where will everyone live? How will they commute to work?

We are reactive and not proactive when it comes to planning.

Loads of room outside Dublin. It's time to build it up!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

There's no denying something "might" happen?

I'm absolutely certain that you might win the lottery.

There's no doubt at all that Heidi Klum might give me a blowjob.

Insightful and cutting stuff mate well done. Lord knows where we'd be without such crucial grammatical insights from absolute legends such as yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Why on earth would one of the worlds biggest investment banks move from the global financial capital to Leitrim or Sligo? Seriously, cop on will ye.