Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever used the dark web

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

If you order a gram of coke or a couple of pills, they don't even involve the Garda if you're caught, as far as I know. Dealable quantities would get you in trouble though. It's easier to buy from the Dark Web than to pay scumbags here who provide awful product for double the price.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

jeanjolie wrote: »
    You're joking or serious? If so, could you post the letter?
    Serious. Probably closer to 200 times.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

You're joking or serious? If so, could you post the letter?

He would need a stamp...

I never heard of dark web until now and after reading about it I am gobsmacked. I always knew there was good and bad in the world but making it easier to make the world a bad and illegal place makes me feel sick.

Ignoring everything on it except drugs, its a brilliant thing. Drugs are always going to exist. There is always going to be a demand. Prohibition will never work. I can directly pay someone who synthesises illicit substances in their shed with their chemistry degree. I don't have to interact with scumbags in any way who might be carrying a weapon. It removes all the bad parts of the industry. You actually don't even know what your getting off some random scumbag. You do know what your getting this way. Its the future and I hope its staying.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

The dark web is a myth. Today what they call the 'dark web' is pretty much anything where not everyone is allowed 'in'. Anything official authorities, google and Joe Bloggs can't index, survey and have a peak at to make sure its legal and compliant and otherwise 'correct'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭C Montgomery Gurns II

Do you typically have to sign for deliveries or is it sent by unregistered regular post?

I've never bought anything on the normal t'internet never mind the DW :pac:

JoeyPeeps wrote: »
    You can still get tracked on the dark web. You're mac and ip address can be traced back to you. If you know how to change these and use a vpn along with TOR you won't have to worry.

Terrible advice. Using a vpn and tor together is highly discouraged if anonymity is important

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Ignoring everything on it except drugs, its a brilliant thing. Drugs are always going to exist. There is always going to be a demand. Prohibition will never work. I can directly pay someone who synthesises illicit substances in their shed with their chemistry degree. I don't have to interact with scumbags in any way who might be carrying a weapon. It removes all the bad parts of the industry. You actually don't even know what your getting off some random scumbag. You do know what your getting this way. Its the future and I hope its staying.

Drugs legal or illegal don't bother me but

A. You can hire somebody to assassinate someone??
    B. Paedophiles can access other paedophiles for easier access to child pornography/ children

Not good.

B. Paedophiles can access other paedophiles for easier access to child pornography/ children

Not good.

I couldn't agree more

You probably can.

The thought of them actually turning up and doing the job after paying them is in the realms of fantasy mind. I'd imagine some of the drug deals might be real- I'm guessing it is probably lads who live in rural areas where there just aren't enough people to shift gear to.

You probably can.

The thought of them actually turning up and doing the job after paying them is in the realms of fantasy mind. I'd imagine some of the drug deals might be real- I'm guessing it is probably lads who live in rural areas where there just aren't enough people to shift gear to.

Don't agree. Life doesn't seem to have a value any more. People hurt or kill others very easily it seems. You can see this in local papers now, not national papers. The world seems to be a much worse place now.

But what kind of hitman advertises online? I would seriously doubt there has ever been a competent gangland murder carried out by an online gun for hire. Look at that farce in Clare a few years ago when some petty criminal eejit flew over from the US to murder the husband of that cold looking blonde bird for a few grand- it wasn't exactly the JFK conspiracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭thunderdog

Top tip for anyone paranoid. If you do order some consumables via the dark web, when it arrives to your house (if you have the patience) wait about a week or two before you open the letter/package.

As another poster said, it's not illegal to receive something dodgy through the post, however as soon as you open it, you admit responsibility that the package belonged to you,

Waiting a week or two gives you some breathing space, just to be sure

Again, is this stuff typically registered/ courier (signing, essentially) or via regular An Post?

For a friend :P

Again, is this stuff typically registered/ courier (signing, essentially) or via regular An Post?

For a friend :P
    I've used post and courier. Signed and unsigned. No issue, apart from customs inviting me to collect a gram of charlie.

I think you should take a break from the news. The parts of the world we deal with are far safer than ever.

Safer than ever? I don't think so.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭bored_stupid

Tell the french and Germans and see what answer you get :confused:

Tor or tails is not safe and never will be has a backdoor built in by a ex tor dev for the CIA its well know .

And vpn can be bypassed in stealth mode without the host even see anything but a few extra kb on the network .

As these cockroaches found out .:)

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/garda-investigate-global-playpen-child-porn-website-35686050.html

https://www.europol.europa.eu/newsroom/news/major-online-child-sexual-abuse-operation-leads-to-368-arrests-in-europe

And watch they will be make more raids soon and if you nothing to hide you nothing to worry about have you .:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

I kid you not, I clicked on the Independent article above about peados getting caught in the dark web and what was the first fooking link below the article....something about father and kids nappies and a pic of a toddler bent over smiling with its arse in the air(nappy on of course)

Cookies? Kinda odd coincidence no?

Tor or tails is not safe and never will be has a backdoor built in by a ex tor dev for the CIA its well know .

And vpn can be bypassed in stealth mode without the host even see anything but a few extra kb on the network .

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/garda-investigate-global-playpen-child-porn-website-35686050.html

https://www.europol.europa.eu/newsroom/news/major-online-child-sexual-abuse-operation-leads-to-368-arrests-in-europe

And watch they will be make more raids soon and if you nothing to hide you nothing to worry about have you .:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭JoeyPeeps

JoeyPeeps wrote: »
    You can still get tracked on the dark web. You're mac and ip address can be traced back to you. If you know how to change these and use a vpn along with TOR you won't have to worry.

Terrible advice. Using a vpn and tor together is highly discouraged if anonymity is important
    why is that? as far as evidence is concerned, your vpn provider cannot hand over your internet usage to law enforcement agencies because they have a contract with you

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I've used post and courier. Signed and unsigned. No issue, apart from customs inviting me to collect a gram of charlie.

They seized one so?

Yeah but I can collect it anytime I want.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Ordering anything from Dark Web after exploit is incredibly stupid (IMO)...do you believe it will get through Irish customs?

Honestly, after watching those episodes of Border Security Australia, Canada, and 'Stop Search Seize' (Irish version) where they stop ingenious smuggling methods, I am baffled as to how anyone could be brave enough to still order from the Silk Road.

I've known people who've posted yokes from Amsterdam to Ireland in a birthday card and subsequently got them in the post. Stuff gets through the net all the time.

Safer than ever? I don't think so.

By pretty much every possible metric, yes.

Sectarian violence, muggings, murders, deaths on the roads, disease, war. It's all better than its ever been, for Irish people anyway. And most of the world.

You just think it's worse because of the internet and 24/7 news channels that have to fill air time. It will continue to feel like it's "getting worse" while actually getting better.

Hearing about some shooting in America, a terrorist attack in France, a burglary gone wrong in Denmark or a bombing in Iraq doesn't make your world less safe. It has always happened but we only had the six o clock news to tell us about it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The French and Germans who lived through centuries of almost constant war? We've no idea how good we have it in the 21st century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

The French and Germans who lived through centuries of almost constant war? We've no idea how good we have it in the 21st century.
    In before this reply..
    Something something Islam something something Europe at war something something.