Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Rosahane wrote: »
    I think that the blatantly anti Trump bias of the Irish media is a factor. Anything to show him in a bad light.
    True, but as Rows Grower said:
    In fairness he provides plenty of ammo,..........

He does give them opportunity after opportunity to attack him and considering their agenda/bias this is a foolish move.

I also understand that they will take anything he says, regardless of what that is, and use it against him, but he really should be following a script authored by experts or better still do the introduction of the press briefing and then let the experts talk. If asked a question about something he doesn't know about introduce the relevant expert from the panel behind him and step aside, however he won't do that.

I remember years and years back i was watching a show about custom motorcycle building. Trump appeared on it as a guest and when he spoke to the Father, of the show, about his [the Father's] arguments with his son, Trump suggested cutting him off, not speaking to ever again, removing the son from the Father's will, etc. for disagreeing with him.

I thought, "thats a little harsh" for a simple disagreement, but apparently he [Trump] doesn't like anyone to disagree with him. Which is fine as a Billionaire businessman where you pay people to do you bidding, but as President you need people who will educate and disagree with you as there are simply too many aspects of Government to be an expert yourself in all areas.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 39,042 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Cass wrote: »
    Both lower. Same applies to France, Italy, Spain, UK, etc. Individually their infection rate is higher, percentage wise, than America or on a par even though, again individually, their populations are a fifth that of America. Taken as all five countries together the infection rate among all five is 0.27% and death rate is 0.0.31%. So 20-odd% higher than America for infection rate and almost double for death rate.

So what am i missing?

I don't think there is anything incorrect with those numbers.
    Europe collectively, is just as hammered by this as the US.
    But per capita stats are used to compare rates. The impact of a event, plays more heavily on total.

The US has had 164 deaths per 1m pop.
    Montserret has has 200 per 1m pop.

So per capita, Montserret is worse affected. But that 200/1m equates to 1 death. And it would be really foolish to suggest the 1 person who died in Montserret is equivilent to the almost 60k deaths in the US.

Would that have anything to do with how the US is "set up"?

Instead of a centralised Government you have the Federal Government and then you have state "governments". Recently the press said President Trump did not close down the country quick enough and didn't act quick enough and then when he said about reopening the country the same press said he didn't have the authority to open each state as that was the job of the state Governors.

So which is it?
    Federal government controls the international airports and entry to the country.
    States Gov control individual states. Same set up as Australia.

So it's the Trump administration's job to close the country. But if a govenor whats to keep a state closed, that's his call.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

Would that have anything to do with how the US is "set up"?

Instead of a centralised Government you have the Federal Government and then you have state "governments". Recently the press said President Trump did not close down the country quick enough and didn't act quick enough and then when he said about reopening the country the same press said he didn't have the authority to open each state as that was the job of the state Governors.

So which is it? With Ireland you have the Government. Could you imagine the local councils defying Government orders to lockdown, or open back up?

Yeah, i was thinking about.

India has a very low infection/death rate despite having the second largest, and possibly one of the densest, populations in the world. Is this due to their good work or simply because they do not/cannot track the virus or deaths?

Watching an epidemiologist on SKY news yesterday and he was talking about Africa and how many countries have little to nothing in terms of specialised care facilities, ventilators, PPE, lockdown abilities, etc. Like with my opinion on India they don't have the ability to track the infection/death rate so numbers are either non existent or so unreliable as to be useless.

I think the US (and UK) acted too late wrt flattening the curve and now it (US) is at risk of opening up too early, but it is a big place and there are probably places that should open, where infection risk is lower.

I’m hoping that the virus might not spread so well in warmer countries; because it is spread by droplets, a less humid atmosphere would work against the spread. But then again, some places are warm and humid at the same time......

Poorer countries will of course have less testing resources as well as less capacity for medical intervention, so a lot could happen without us ever hearing about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

What about Sweden ? They did not lockdown at all, but they are getting into trouble now.

The EU doing China's dirty work for them, rewriting reports to deflect attention for this virus away from China. :mad:

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/24/world/europe/disinformation-china-eu-coronavirus.html?searchResultPosition=2

• Registered Users Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Mellor wrote: »
    100% This. ^
    Apparently he doesn’t like to be briefed and told way to say. Which makes sense, he often seems to be winging it up there.

Good example is the disinfectant injection nonsense he came out with. Media rightfully
    hammering him on that one, as it’s an “idea” a 6 year old would come up with. A tiny amount of prep and any advisor would have told him not to say that.
    Now he claims he was being sarcastic. :rolleyes:
    He clearly wasn’t obviously, and even if he was, it’s hardly the time or place for jokes. But that’s the madness of the situation. Claiming he wasn’t serious (as insane as that admission is) is seen as a better option than whatever he was actually thinking.

Does "chemothreapy"and "radium treatment" ring any bells with people?In the latter case thats stuff that is injected into the human body ,thats then containers are then disposed of as low level nucelar waste!
    Also there is a certain amount of disinfectants in any injectable medication,along with a few other things like mercury in some.
    Photodynamic light threapy is also a thing too.
    So while maybe expressed clumsily by president Trump ,he isn't away with the fairies that much on the genaralities.Nor did he say to go away and do it as laypeople,as the dictation has shown.But there will be Darwin canditates that will drink their fishtank nedication or go chug bleach despite plenty of warnings not to."CuZ da PreSIDuT dun Said Its mEDicNE!"
    People will hear what they are told to hear,not what they are actully hearing.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

The hospital ship USS Comfort discharged its last patient in NYC today and is on route back to Norflock navy base ....
    So let that sink in a minute when you hear more doom&gloom about the US and NYC on Irish MSM.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

I see Teida Herrema has died aged 99. He was hostage of the IRA in 1975 and very gracious after the siege.

I remember going to see the siege, was only a kid.

Police and army had house surrounded, but we could get fairly near ( different times).

I saw one particular soldier with a sub machine gun and he looked really intimidating, the way he held himself it looked like he knew what to do with that Gustav. We moved on a bit closer, partially to get away from him.

A few minutes later, I got a tap on the shoulder - it was that soldier - got the fright of my life; he said “ Tell your father I was asking for him” and then I recognized him, he was from the same barracks.

Always comes to mind when I hear about Herrema.

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 7,844 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Reminds me of the time Don Tidey was kidnapped and there was a nationwide search on, one of the lads that used to frequent our gym was a soldier and even though he was older than me he always struck me as very timid type of fella.

I knew he was involved in the hunt for the gang and when it was over and he got back training I remember asking him what would he have done if he happened upon the armed gang in the forest, without hesitation he said cool as a breeze, "I'd have riddled those fcukers before they did it to me".

I knew he meant it too, he went way up in my estimation that evening.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Reminds me of the time Don Tidey was kidnapped and there was a nationwide search on, one of the lads that used to frequent our gym was a soldier and even though he was older than me he always struck me as very timid type of fella.

I knew he was involved in the hunt for the gang and when it was over and he got back training I remember asking him what would he have done if he happened upon the armed gang in the forest, without hesitation he said cool as a breeze, "I'd have riddled those fcukers before they did it to me".

I knew he meant it too, he went way up in my estimation that evening.

Was he the poor git who had his fingers hacked off ? I know Tidey was gaffer over some of the supermarkets here, he was inspecting the supermarket where the Dundrum town centre is now one night when we were shopping. He had two massive minders with him. I think he was issued with a revolver for his own protection.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,844 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

tudderone wrote: »
    Was he the poor git who had his fingers hacked off ? I know Tidey was gaffer over some of the supermarkets here, he was inspecting the supermarket where the Dundrum town centre is now. He had two massive minders with him. I think he was issued with a revolver for his own protection.

It was the dentist John O Grady who had his finger chopped off and left in a church I think.

Tidey's kidnappers murdered a soldier and trainee Garda in a shoot out.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Does "chemothreapy"and "radium treatment" ring any bells with people?In the latter case thats stuff that is injected into the human body ,thats then containers are then disposed of as low level nucelar waste!
    Radiation therapy is not disinfectant. So not sure what point you are trying to make. It also doesn't work by cleaning or poisoning. It's destructive on a cellular level, to all cells,
    Also there is a certain amount of disinfectants in any injectable medication,along with a few other things like mercury in some.
    Injection sites are disinfected prior to injection. I've never heard of in being in injections. Do you have a source for that? I'd be very surprised if it was ever the active ingredient.
    Photodynamic light threapy is also a thing too.
    Yes it is a cancer treatment. In that case, a drug is absorbed by cancer cells and kills them. A drug kills the cells, not light.

So while maybe expressed clumsily by president Trump ,he isn't away with the fairies that much on the genaralities.Nor did he say to go away and do it as laypeople,as the dictation has shown.But there will be Darwin canditates that will drink their fishtank nedication or go chug bleach despite plenty of warnings not to."CuZ da PreSIDuT dun Said Its mEDicNE!"
    People will hear what they are told to hear,not what they are actully hearing.
    None of those examples give any credibility to what he said though. Regardless, he can't use that justification anymore as he claimed he wasn't serious.

He wasn't advising people to treat themselves, I never calmed he was :confused: The risk that somebody tries it is tiny, and unrelated to why it was idiotic.
    He was asking his medical staff to "look into that" as an option. It's not his job to come up with treatment ideas, and to throw them out as possibles, least of all on live TV. I don't know why he said it, maybe it was simply foolish eagerness, or it's gross in competence.
    Nobody is being told he said that, he said it on TV. I'm a bit surprised that you would chose to defend those statements. The left media gives him a hard time, but this is not a time when it's undeserved.

Griz is in hospital with a suspected heart attack since the other day.

Wish him well and a bit of peace and quiet.

yubabill wrote: »

Terrible news, obviously we hope he gets better and soon. Hospital or a rest home is not a good place to be these days, it seldom is, but especially so now.

tudderone wrote: »
    Terrible news, obviously we hope he gets better and soon. Hospital or a rest home is not a good place to be these days, it seldom is, but especially so now.
    Agree completely. The entire service is stretched.

Hope Griz feels better soon. And that it’s minor as possible given the situation.

It was the dentist John O Grady who had his finger chopped off and left in a church I think.

Tidey's kidnappers murdered a soldier and trainee Garda in a shoot out.

And in my memoirs that are coming along,there will be a chapter of my little part in that story of the O Hare escape and shootout,and how a fellow PI got a concealed carry permit for his bit with the church drop off in Limerick.😉

yubabill wrote: »

Ye aint getting rid of me that quick!Two stents in today. Hurts like a SOB!Anyway a big hand to those in the health service who are going into the valley every day with their lives at risk.
    Exemplary courage by them all.

Radiation therapy is not disinfectant. So not sure what point you are trying to make. It also doesn't work by cleaning or poisoning. It's destructive on a cellular level, to all cells,

Point is you are injecting /irradiating a radioactive substance into your body,a highly toxic substance that is known to be hazardous to your health ,but otoh it has benefical propeties to deal with cancer.So iow toxic items used properly can be benefical.Got a shot of anti coagulant today,made proably from a snake venom.Ididnt get bitten by a Cobra in surgery,but it is a highly toxic that is of benefit when refined .so why would it be so odd to suggest other toxic items might not be used in the future?After all we now use leeches,maggots and bleeding for different treatments these days too Somthing we would have laughed at 60 years ago as well.

Injection sites are disinfected prior to injection. I've never heard of in being in injections. Do you have a source for that? I'd be very surprised if it was ever the active ingredient.

Mercury,cadimum,chlorine has been used as disenfectent in vaccines.Google it.

Yes it is a cancer treatment. In that case, a drug is absorbed by cancer cells and kills them. A drug kills the cells, not light

Do you know what drug it is??Its highly toxic.Be another chapter in my memoirs about 2 infamous doctors in a nice town on Lough Derg who used to offer this treatment,and how one became a scapegoat and the other got away with literal murder.So I got to learn alot about it and how it is still banned here.

He wasn't advising people to treat themselves, I never calmed he was :confused: The risk that somebody tries it is tiny, and unrelated to why it was idiotic.

Google the idiots who went and drank chlorquine fish tank cleaner because Trump said chloriquine could be a possible treatment.
    So never undestimate idiocy out there

He was asking his medical staff to "look into that" as an option. It's not his job to come up with treatment ideas, and to throw them out as possibles, least of all on live TV. I don't know why he said it, maybe it was simply foolish eagerness, or it's gross in competence.

Nobody is being told he said that, he said it on TV. I'm a bit surprised that you would chose to defend those statements. The left media gives him a hard time, but this is not a time when it's undeserved.

I m defending it because its again a "bash orange man bad".Unless you are an utter simpleton,anyone who goes and drinks pure bleach themselves ,a chemical of known toxicity ....Just a pity they will be taking up scarsce medical resources and personel time that could be used for better.And go and read the text of what he said,unless you have the intellect of a very small soap dish,you cannot equate what he said as advice or anything of the like.

Point is you are injecting /irradiating a radioactive substance into your body,a highly toxic substance that is known to be hazardous to your health ,but otoh it has benefical propeties to deal with cancer.So iow toxic items used properly can be benefical.Got a shot of anti coagulant today,made proably from a snake venom.Ididnt get bitten by a Cobra in surgery,but it is a highly toxic that is of benefit when refined .so why would it be so odd to suggest other toxic items might not be used in the future?
    In most cases, the difference between medicine and lethal is simply the dose. The reason they work as medicine is because there's a pathway form them to heel. not an expert, but I'm not aware of any pathway for disinfectant to cleanse internally. However, Trumps's medical expert looked pretty mortified at the suggestion. I'd assume they are aware radiation therapy.

Regardless, he said he wasn't serious, so that justification is negated.
    Mercury,cadimum,chlorine has been used as disenfectent in vaccines.Google it.
    I did google. I only form historical uses, pre antibiotics, a few deaths etc.
    Do you know what drug it is??Its highly toxic.Be another chapter in my memoirs about 2 infamous doctors in a nice town on Lough Derg who used to offer this treatment,and how one became a scapegoat and the other got away with literal murder.So I got to learn alot about it and how it is still banned here.
    Yes, most treatments work by damaging cancers cells, the dose is critical. But this applies to all medicine. In fact, even water is toxic at a high dose.
    That doesn't imply all toxic substances are medicine, or give credibility to the idea of disinfectant/sanitiser to cleanse the internal body.
    Google the idiots who went and drank chlorquine fish tank cleaner because Trump said chloriquine could be a possible treatment.
    So never undestimate idiocy out there
    I've no doubt people are that stupid. But that's their own fault. I don't blame Trump for that.
    But you are right, people are stupid and desperate out there. And even though Trump didn't say to drink it, it would be more intelligent to be cognisant of his audience.
    I'm defending it because its again a "bash orange man bad".Unless you are an utter simpleton,anyone who goes and drinks pure bleach themselves ,a chemical of known toxicity ....Just a pity they will be taking up scarsce medical resources and personel time that could be used for better.And go and read the text of what he said,unless you have the intellect of a very small soap dish,you cannot equate what he said as advice or anything of the like.
    I never said it was advice :confused: In fact I said the opposite.
    My criticism has nothing to do with idiots drinking it. That was something you brought up, not me. That entire point is a strawman.

Trumps "suggestion to look into it" was idiotic in it's own right. Nothing to do with people drinking it or not. It's not his position to spitball ideas on stage. We both know why he is doing it though.
    Also Trump being deadpan sarcastic at a press conference, on such a serious topic, is beyond inappropriate. I don't believe he was sarcastic obviously, but the alternative is that he's lying which isn't exactly better.

This is not "Orange Man" bashing. That does happen of course, he gets flack when he shouldn't. But this was a genuinely idiotic moment, and should be highlight as such. Blind blame, is just as bad as blind support. I know that's the way in US politics. But the intelligent debate happens in the middle.

Ye aint getting rid of me that quick!Two stents in today. Hurts like a SOB!.

Glad to hear it. Take it easy, and you'll be up and running in no time.

What?That it hurts or I'm on the mend?:):D
    Yeah discharged this AM. So again a big hand to the Coranary unit in UHL,and also met a fellow deer stalker in there for the same treatment .We are planning a hunt when this is all over by Sept [hopefully].Strange betimes how Fate can throw little nuggets of fortune or opportunity across your path in the dire of circumstances.:)

What?That it hurts or I'm on the mend?:):D

Just got off a live-streamed funeral for a mate of mine's dad in the UK who died of corona...Jeeze ,Short & Sweet ,done and dusted in 20 mins and into the furnace...Just my mate and his missus in there....Reckon thats one of the harder funerals I've been at,so to speak.:(
    Just to give you a heads up if you are going to attend one online in the future.

Just got off a live-streamed funeral for a mate of mine's dad in the UK who died of corona...Jeeze ,Short & Sweet ,done and dusted in 20 mins and into the furnace...Just my mate and his missus in there....Reckon thats one of the harder funerals I've been at,so to speak.:(
    Just to give you a heads up if you are going to attend one online in the future.

Terrible and sad, and a situation thats being repeated hundreds of thousands of times across the globe. There was a woman being interviewed on television last night. She is in Brazil, her husband was taken ill with the virus, scooted off to hospital in an ambulance and from when he left the house, to the hospital, where he died, to being buried, she never seen him again. It was like he was abducted by the Stasi.

I think we have not even begun to count the cost of this whole mess, human lives lost, people ill for the rest of their days, businesses ruined, countries forced into deep recessions. The whole thing is a mess, and i hope everyone has had their eyes opened to the Chinese and the CCP.

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Didnt get the chance to go to my Aunts funeral, she passed suddenly and we found out after a few days it wasnt corona virus which was a relief in a way but its a big family and siblings about filled the 10 person limit so i stayed at home, Theres going to be alot of memorial masses and the like after this is all over

The king of virtue signallers and blackface enthusiast Trudope, bans ar's in Canada. Even though the recent mass shooting had nothing to do with ar's, civilian gun ownership etc, being committed by a police firearm. But as the Clintons say "Never let a crisis go to waste". And to think, this guy is who Varadkar was trying to emulate. :rolleyes:

Indeed on this sad day.A moments silence for Canada's gun owners and democratic processes in Canada.

Well another bit of the Commonwealth I'll never set foot on now! Along with AUZ ,NZ,Canada,the UK,and SA,cos their gun laws are utter ****e!

Indeed on this sad day.A moments silence for Canada's gun owners and democratic processes in Canada.

Well another bit of the Commonwealth I'll never set foot on now! Along with AUZ ,NZ,Canada,the UK,and SA,cos their gun laws are utter ****e!

Did you notice a lot of the proposed, or new gun laws are very similar to the ones being proposed by the EUSSR ? Its because it being pushed by the globalists and their pet organisations like the EU, UN, WHO etc.

When you have Xi Jinping of the chinese communist party, who has passed laws making himself basically dictator of China, saying that American gun laws are a problem and need to be sorted, Alarm bells should be ringing loud and clear.

I took a few minutes before posting this to ask myself why I was so "disappointed" to hear about Trudeau banning AR15's etc. following the Nova Scotia atrocity.

First, I don't use the word "atrocity" casually, that guy was a lunatic and what he did was absolutely despicable.

Was I disappointed because the killer used unlicensed and illegal guns, but Trudeau banned legal guns in response? No, but it is a low move.

Was I disappointed because the killer dressed as a police officer and travelled in a police cruiser clone, knocking on doors and shooting the householders? No, but the police should have alerted the public that this was happening, so they could protect themselves.

Was I disappointed because the mainstream media covered-up many of the details of the atrocity? No.

What had me disappointed is this - Trudeau's gun ban paints all Canadian legal shooters as potential mass killers.

Even though they have to be vetted/give references to get a licence, even though they have shown themselves responsible - in contrast to the killer, who had brutally assaulted an innocent 15 year-old some years earlier, for standing the wrong side of the pavement while waiting for a bus. Clearly not a candidate for a gun licence, then.

What have Hungerford,Dunblane,Christchurch,Nova Scotia,Tasmania, got in common? They were all shooting sprees that occured due to police incompetence by failures to adhere to procedures and failing to note red flags and creditable threats reported to them.

What have Tradeau,Arden,Blair,Major,Hurd,Howard and Dermot Aherne got in common?

They all collectively punished their pouplation,with "tough new gun laws":rolleyes: with cynical use of legislation that seems to have been pre written ,while dancing on the corpses of the still unburied victims and banning specific firearms,as a "must do somthing" geseture,that they ALL have publically admitted would do nothing to stop guncrime.

End effects. Previously unarmed police forces in those commonwealth countries[bar Ireland] are now more like armed paramilitary units who rapidly lost the trust of their pouplation and are feared and becoming despised by previous law abiding shooters.

Conclusion. UK and commonwealth gun laws SUCK!!It's never about gun control,its about people control.