Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know where you were on 7th December 2000?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

In dive bar in Piedmont CA , was there everyday between 3 and 5PM before slipping off to McNallys bar in Oakland till around 8PM

• Registered Users Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Bredabe

At home in D9, trying to calm down cause the boss's son had spent all day passing comments about how "all my culchie relatives", would be in their portable chicken sheds headed into town the next day. Even when it was pointed out that as I was from Cabra and he from Celbridge he still didn't stop. Guess he didn't know where Cabra or Celbridge were.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

On 07th December 2000, I was a fresh faced 19 year old on my first UN mission in Lebanon.

Stuck in an outpost that was surrounded by minefields with lumps and chunks taken out of it by years of mortar and machine gun fire striking it.

I slept in a 2 man portacabin with a leaky roof, a door that didnt close, and a furious masturbater from Monaghan that would rather piss in a bottle at night time than walk to the toilet.

I was surrounded by lunatics and loved every minute of it.
    i

You have a way with words my friend. Love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭pawrick

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Any idea which bridge that might have been?

I've been checking for reports of flooding for December 2000 in Dublin but drawing a blank - but you are the second person to comment on flooding in that week.

Cant recall which one it was but i passed over the dodder at ballsbridge and on to baggot street bridge before following the canal up towards rathmines. nearly certain I came back though for a nighlink as I never used one before and my friend had to show me where to get it from, it's stuck in my memory that i got it home that night and thought never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I was 18, probably at home watching TV. I can't remember what I was watching, but I've attached a pdf of everything that was on that night.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,330 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

pawrick wrote: »
    Cant recall which one it was but i passed over the dodder at ballsbridge and on to baggot street bridge before following the canal up towards rathmines. nearly certain I came back though for a nighlink as I never used one before and my friend had to show me where to get it from, it's stuck in my memory that i got it home that night and thought never again.

Thanks... if you can remember getting a nitelink then that must have been how I got home cos I'm sure I didn't walk it and there were no taxis.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

RayM wrote: »
    I was 18, probably at home watching TV. I can't remember what I was watching, but I've attached a pdf of everything that was on that night.

No change to the tv listings in all those years! :)

Not a lot. It says Prime Time was on RTE1 at 9:30. Right now, it's 9:40 and I'm watching... Prime Time.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I was 19, first year in college and living away from home for the first time with my best mate in a flat.

I have a vague recollection of there being a porn dvd floating around in the flat which was a big deal in the year 2000 and an even bigger deal for a lad from the country who saw a boob in a Playboy one time.
    Was on my own one night watching a soccer match for a while and then temptation got me so I took matters in hand and stuck on the porn. Not long after my mate rang me on my fancy Nokia 3210 asking me what the score of the match was. I fumbled with the remote and tried to flick over to the match, but he knew I was enjoying the fine acting in "Swallow my Squirt 5" - I had been rumbled.

The match in question was Liverpool v Olympiakos in the Uefa Cup.

Weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Not a feckin chance.

Couldn't tell you last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,330 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Cheers... no doubt I was recording Buffy the Vampire Slayer on TV3.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Ghekko

In Mayo for the night in order to visit my sons grave for his anniversary. A girl from Mayo also went missing that week - shocking story and she has never been found either.

Front page of the Independent on 7th December 2000:

Giveaway budget and Dave O'Leary being chased by Lazio and Inter.

How times have changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I was 12 so probably at home

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I'm pretty sure our own Christmas party was that night. I remember it because I remember thinking, Jees I was only in Dawson Street. I'm pretty sure nitelinks were working. I'm pretty sure they worked extended hours at Christmas time because I know I got home, but can't remember how. Christmas was at the weekend that year, so it would have been fairly unusual to have a Christmas party that early, but it was the only date we could all agree on.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Front page of the Independent on 7th December 2000:

Giveaway budget and Dave O'Leary being chased by Lazio and Inter.

How times have changed.

And teachers giving out about pay!

Never heard of that since!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,176 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Sad day, the death of Vladimir Gotovac!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

I was 4, and my younger brother was due the next day. He wasn't born until a week later though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

I was 16 and in my Leaving Cert year (I would not turn 17 until two months before the LC exams) and was obsessed with studying my Honours Maths and preparing stuff for LC Art class at the time. It was Thursday night. AFAIR, my Maths grinds were on Thursday night. (we had a terrible Maths teacher in school so grinds were a necessity for any ambitious higher Maths student in my year)

So that night I'd say I went to grinds, came home and revised some of the stuff I learned at grinds that night, then maybe did some drawing, then I reckon drank tea, then rolled around on the sitting room floor playing with the cats and then finally, reluctantly went to bed around 1am, being an inveterate night owl then and now.

Very different to poor Trevor's last hours.

I got a B3 in both Honours Maths and Art in the LC and was slightly disappointed with both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

hairyslug wrote: »
    Good chance i was in Quinn's, the big tree, the palace or McGowans. Then probably ended up in the Temple or back gate afterwards and would have stopped off at the Midnight express afterwards for a burger and chips.

Are you my sister? You literally namechecked almost all of her first-year-in-college haunts! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I used to go to a particular bar in Belfast with a good friend a lot of Thursdays in that half of 2000 so there's a very good chance I was there that night and about a 50% probability it was a Drum & Bass night.

I'm doing exceptionally well to remember this much given the, er, spirit of those times.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I think that was the night I wore my blue jumper

• Registered Users Posts: 6,192 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Pretty sure I was playing this game

Cause that's all I did back then

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

I was in Leaving Cert. The only things I remember from that era were Foot & Mouth disease and the ASTI strike.

As the date in question was a weeknight in December I was probably either watching the soccer match on TV or I was playing something on our PS1.

Hope this helps!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I was only 15 so would have been at home in bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I was 18 and in first year in college so there's a good chance I was somewhere, drinking.

So no, I haven't a clue where i was.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭josip

After soccer training I probably would have gone to the Hill for either 3 or 6 pints with the lads and back home to Chester Road from there.
    We usually saved the Barge for Friday nights.

pawrick wrote: »
    Both bridges in Ballsbridge are pretty high.

Are you sure?

I mean a human giant could walk under thw pavement of these bridges with ease, they're so far above the shallow riverbed. And you were knee deep in water?

That would mean that either Pembroke Road or the DART Line and surrounding houses were under a foot of water, or more

sorry if this sounds confrontational, there's probably something lost in translation. It just sounds like nothing ive ever seen or heard of in this area

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Thanks... if you can remember getting a nitelink then that must have been how I got home cos I'm sure I didn't walk it and there were no taxis.

It's a little weird you're role-playing as a missing person.