Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭corner back 2

No harm to have the Manly men on the wrong side of cynical play.

A brave ref would have pulled fennelly for charging once or twice, put the head down a ran at his man

Very hard to see how he was changing when he was pulled back by the jersey. Was he charging the air??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

Not atall, just that its former KK players who have been most vocal against having red and yellow cards, nevermind black. They may change their mind if they are on the receiving end of cynical play and everyone will benefit from a black card in hurling
    the systematic dragging of players to the ground is not the type of offence 'former KK players' had in mind when voicing their opinion about on this subject, but you know that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Dry up lads, the better team won.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Dry up lads, the better team won.

Stupid post, no one is claiming the better team lost! KK got 5 points from play FFS. Please stay out of the discussion if you can't grasp the context

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭the kelt

At no stage was fennely dragged to the ground last night, not once.

He was tackled, ended up being fouled and got his penalties and frees, don't see why there is whinging?

In fact the most cynical drag to the ground was done by a Kilkenny man when Aidan Nolan was breaking through on goal after about 21/22 mins of the game.

Stupid post, no one is claiming the better team lost! KK got 5 points from play FFS. Please stay out of the discussion if you can't grasp the context

Discuss it on the Kilkenny page so, sick of listening to ye give out about referees. Don't pretend its not sour grapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭68deville

First penalty was charging plain and simple and over carried,that's fennellys best trick also head down and burrow tru and hope for the best

Discuss it on the Kilkenny page so, sick of listening to ye give out about referees. Don't pretend its not sour grapes

If you come into the All Ireland Senior Championships 2017 (Liam Mccarthy Cup) thread and get upset at posters discussing aspects of the most recent match in All Ireland Senior Championships 2017 (Liam Mccarthy Cup), then you know what you can do

Alright sound for the advice.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Hopefully we get a good Leinster final now. Ultimately, I think that Wexfords backline is too open. But they have enough fight to make every game tough for their opponents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭sjb25

Southeast radio(Wexford) commentarys best bits from the match very funny the even got to talk to Davy at the end his special box was next to them

https://www.facebook.com/southeastradiowexford/videos/1505401976177681/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭stereomatic

Something for the Kilkenny fans

Hoping for an improvement on the one in a row :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Enjoy your victory last night seldom is indeed wonderfull.

No harm to have the Manly men on the wrong side of cynical play.

Somebody above mentioned having a brave ref would have given more penalties. A brave ref would have pulled fennelly for charging once or twice, put the head down a ran at his man

And that's all fennelly ever did,all elbows and knees and try lean into his opponent hoping to draw a free or get pulled up for over carrying

Funnily enough we never actually heard your prediction. If only you'd come on and given us the benefit of your wisdom.

He was right do,a lot of experts did get it arseways,just stating a fact

No harm in that is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Well there's no harm in it but it's easy to be smug and condescending about other people being wrong when he never took a chance to contribute his own opinion. Would it be better if nobody made a prediction or discussed the match at all? Is everyone who gets a prediction wrong a "know-it-all"? It just boils my piss when there's an upset in the championship and suddenly you have these lads who never posted before the match telling everyone they're all eejits.

Easy to know it all after the match.

And what was your prediction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I thought Kilkenny would improve from the league, play with the kind of intensity they showed in the tipp match and price they were still a force to be reckoned with this year, thought they'd have a game plan to deal with the sweeper, given they'd played them earlier and had six months to prepare. Thought they'd face a tough challenge but win by four or five in the end.

I suppose I'm just a know it all for predicting such an outlandish outcome. But if I had been right I wouldn't have been name-calling people who called it the other way. Especially if I hadn't even made my prediction public.

Put it another way, if Kilkenny had won, would that poster have come on here saying "I guess the people who predicted a Kilkenny victory were correct, I honestly wasn't expecting that myself"?

Would he ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

I think because everyone (including me) wanted Wexford to win its clouding our opinion on the ref.

He rode Kilkenny, as I've said already every single Wexford foul on fennelly was cynical and deserving of a yellow. And one of the 21 yard frees should have been a penalty as should the early tackle on Bolger in the second half.

Wexford played well but with a ref that applied the rules Kilkenny would still have won.

Galway will beat Wexford comfortably in the Leinster final.

I think because everyone (including me) wanted Wexford to win its clouding our opinion on the ref.

He rode Kilkenny, as I've said already every single Wexford foul on fennelly was cynical and deserving of a yellow. And one of the 21 yard frees should have been a penalty as should the early tackle on Bolger in the second half.

Wexford played well but with a ref that applied the rules Kilkenny would still have won.

If you actually believe every foul on fennely was worthy of a yellow you really don't know the rules of the game I'm afraid considering your actually blaming the ref for not applying them.

the kelt wrote: »
    If you actually believe every foul on fennely was worthy of a yellow you really don't know the rules of the game I'm afraid considering your actually blaming the ref for not applying them.

They were all cynical fouls.

Cynical fouls = yellow cards

Remember the first one in the first minute? They actually wrestled him off the goal line? Why was that not a yellow?

Remember the one where the full back tried to get in front, missed it and fennelly was in on goal only to have the jersey pulled off his back, how was that not a yellow?

And remember the one where he got fouled outside the square but carried on with advantage and got fouled again in the square but ref (wrongly) went back for the free and not the penalty, that was also a yellow and a penalty

If he gave them yellows earlier they wouldn't have been able to keep fouling throughout. They're so cyincal but thankfully I don't think they have the quality to go far.

Lee Chin a super hurler though in fairness

They were all cynical fouls.

Cynical fouls = yellow cards

Remember the first one in the first minute? They actually wrestled him off the goal line? Why was that not a yellow?

Remember the one where the full back tried to get in front, missed it and fennelly was in on goal only to have the jersey pulled off his back, how was that not a yellow?

And remember the one where he got fouled outside the square but carried on with advantage and got fouled again in the square but ref (wrongly) went back for the free and not the penalty, that was also a yellow and a penalty

If he gave them yellows earlier they wouldn't have been able to keep fouling throughout. They're so cyincal but thankfully I don't think they have the quality to go far.

Lee Chin a super hurler though in fairness

But again you actually don't know the rules!

Look them up and see why every foul on fennely wasn't a yellow. I'll give you an example, holding an opponent with your hands as in the first penalty award isn't a yellow card just because in your opinion it's cynical.

the kelt wrote: »

Look them up and see why every foul on fennely wasn't a yellow. I'll give you an example, holding an opponent with your hands as in the first penalty award isn't a yellow card just because in your opinion it's cynical.

Maybe I actually don't. Is there no mention of a yellow if a lad is in on goal and fouled cynically?

To be honest I genuinely haven't looked it up but I've hurled all my life and I always presumed that to be the case?! Like the last man rule in soccer I suppose (which I think should be brought in to gaa)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭threeball

Kilkenny have had it the other way for years. i wouldn't be feeling too sorry for them. I also doubt we'll beat them too easily in the leinster final either. They have some serious talent, especially Chin and Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

the kelt wrote:

Spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

the kelt wrote:

Spot on again.

threeball wrote: »
    Kilkenny have had it the other way for years. i wouldn't be feeling too sorry for them. I also doubt we'll beat them too easily in the leinster final either. They have some serious talent, especially Chin and Ryan.

Not feeling sorry for them at all, I just want to see the rules applied fairly which they weren't as Kilkenny were denied 2 clear penalties.

Well I suppose we'll see on the 2nd of July who's right about the Leinster final, I can't see us slipping up to them though. This year really is a golden chance for us!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Not feeling sorry for them at all, I just want to see the rules applied fairly which they weren't as Kilkenny were denied 2 clear penalties.

Well I suppose we'll see on the 2nd of July who's right about the Leinster final, I can't see us slipping up to them though. This year really is a golden chance for us!

only catching up on this thread now. I find it mad how everyone is gettign so upset for Fennelly not getting more frees or more punishment on Wexford players. My own opinion on some of them, the second penalty I felt he clearly pushed Ryan as the ball dropped in. Fennelly was then fouled outside the box, but kept on running, over carried it, and the ref gave the penalty where he finished up. He over carried the ball into the penalty area, but yet the free was given to where he finished being fouled, not where the foul occurred. Technically, it should have been a free, not a penalty. He was fouled outside the penalty area. Murphy was yellow carded for this.

McDonald in the first half was grabbed and turned as a high ball was being hit into him. It was a clear penalty. Aidan Nolan was clotheslined going through on goal, no card issued. Fennelly was getting frees when he put the head down and just barged through defenders, yet as noted above, McDonald was doing similar but was being called correctly as not being fouled. It was only very late in the game the ref stopped giving Fennelly those frees. Ger Aylward was lucky to be on the field after hitting Donohoe off the ball and then getting a yellow card later on. Was it Lester Ryan too who struck off the ball in the first half and got a yellow? Kilkenny were no sheep in this game.

From my obviously biased opinion, I do not believe at all that the ref was more lenient on Wexford than Kilkenny. I thought we only really got one soft free, late on in the game that McDonald missed. I thought Kilkenny got frees easier than we did for similar incidents.

Everyone has their own opinion on things, but reading through this thread looks like Kilkenny were robbed of the game by the ref. Again, I openly admit I may be biased, but I certainly didnt think we got the rub of the green when it came to refereeing decisions Saturday night that it in any influenced the result of the game