Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,421 ✭✭✭zetecescort

so its one of Tipp, Limerick or Cork/Waterford v Kilkenny, Dublin or Offaly/Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭corner back 2

Delighted for Davey. He's a shrewd little bugger. I know hes not everyone's cup of tea but I like his passion. Some job he has done there.

Fair play to Davey from a KK man but more credit needs to given to the players. Lee Chin was exceptional but also was even team performance with no one letting wexford down. Unfortunately KK can't say the say the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,408 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

First of all well done Wexford even if Davy will be insufferable for the next while ye totally deserved it.

This a plea to RTE (wasting my time) but could you take John Mullane out of the commentary box and NEVER allow him in again. I have never heard such a loud biased abnoxous commentator before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

so its one of Tipp, Limerick or Cork/Waterford v Kilkenny, Dublin or Offaly/Galway

Laois and Westmeath also, one of them will be in the Munster pot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,354 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

First of all well done Wexford even if Davy will be insufferable for the next while ye totally deserved it.

This a plea to RTE (wasting my time) but could you take John Mullane out of the commentary box and NEVER allow him in again. I have never heard such a loud biased abnoxous commentator before

How the f..k did he ever get this gig?.He is embarrassing:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

Great win for Wexford, fair play to them. There was plenty of hype around this fixture, the crowd got behind them and the team delivered in spades.

Thought Lee Chin was magnificent, a great individual performance, he was everywhere. Won so much dirty ball and used it so well. Not to mention the inspirational points he got, great long free taking and the point he hit from play after Kilkenny hit them for the 2 goals was the most important score of the match.

Great result and performance though it was, I must also say I'd have no huge fear of Wexford based on that. Kilkenny were beyond dreadful for most of it and yet they still could have won it. Thought Wexford's half backline and midfield did well, mainly due to Chin's contribution in this sector. Their forwards in fairness were fairly efficient with their shooting but they didn't really threaten to cut loose and I'm not sure they have the real firepower and goal threat to really threaten to go all the way. They only created 2 real goal chances tonight, the goal and the great block one of the KK defenders made on McDonald. kilkenny created probably 6 goal chances against them.

Their full back and sweeper were absolutely destroyed by Colin Fennelly and to be honest the referee did Fennelly no favours at all. All of the fouls on him were deliberate ones and every single one should have been punished with yellow cards, instead the ref only booked the Wexford backs for about half of these fouls. For example I think I'm right in saying the ref didn't book the Wexford defender for that first half foul where he went to win the ball in fron of Fennelly, missed it and then nearly pulled the jersey off his back. A blatant yellow.

Kilkenny also should have had 2 more penalties, one of the fouls on Fennelly that was given as a free should have been a penalty, initial foul was outside, ref allowed advanatage and Fennelly fouled again in the square but ref went back for the original foul was was a wrong decision. Penalty.

Also for that chance Bolger had with maybe 15 minutes to go, when he went to collect a pass his arm was pulled back, not a whole lot but it was a foul and preveneted him catching the ball.

I hope this doesn't read as though I'm raining on Wexford's parade or anything and it was genuinely a great win but I think it's worth mentioning how poor Kilkenny were on the night (though Wexford must also get credit for making them look poor due to the pressure they applied to any KK player in possession all over the pitch) and yet to my mind Kilkenny probably still should have won as I felt a braver referee would have given more penalties and more yellows and had that happened Kilkenny would have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭C__MC

I really felt Kilkenny would have responded tonight after a dismal showing last year in the final and the league defeat to Wexford.

For a great hurling county like them, it was embarrassing to see them unable to execute some of the basic skills of the game. They have regressed right back and are well down the pecking order. A lot of pundits tipping them to have a run in the qualifiers, they haven't a hope of winning the AI. There as bad as limerick and Dublin. The lack of pace and stick work quality from some of their players just does not cut it at this level. For a proud county like them, it was just unacceptable to be bullied the way they where tonight.

The game tonight was low in quality, bad wides, rucks, needless fouls. Neither team had shape. I still firmly believe Wexford are not anything special. One swallow never made a summer.

In fact, Galway will never get a better chance to win Liam this year. Their route to a semi isn't fraught with danger judging on tonight's game. It's really there for them and I hope they seize it.

It's amazing, poor Waterford played a sweeper system and the death of hurling was announced, Wexford do it and they are the savours.

Oh and yes John Mullane was terrible tonight, could he be any more against Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭68deville

C__MC wrote: »
    I really felt Kilkenny would have responded tonight after a dismal showing last year in the final and the league defeat to Wexford.

For a great hurling county like them, it was embarrassing to see them unable to execute some of the basic skills of the game. They have regressed right back and are well down the pecking order. A lot of pundits tipping them to have a run in the qualifiers, they haven't a hope of winning the AI. There as bad as limerick and Dublin. The lack of pace and stick work quality from some of their players just does not cut it at this level. For a proud county like them, it was just unacceptable to be bullied the way they where tonight.

The game tonight was low in quality, bad wides, rucks, needless fouls. Neither team had shape. I still firmly believe Wexford are not anything special. One swallow never made a summer.

In fact, Galway will never get a better chance to win Liam this year. Their route to a semi isn't fraught with danger judging on tonight's game. It's really there for them and I hope they seize it.

It's amazing, poor Waterford played a sweeper system and the death of hurling was announced, Wexford do it and they are the savours.

Oh and yes John Mullane was terrible tonight, could he be any more against Kilkenny.

Your taking this defeat very badly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,785 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Nobody is going to want to face Kilkenny or Tipp in the 1st round

Afaik it's done this way

Pram round will be Laois vs Carlow

There will be a separate pot containing 2 pods which will be Westmeath and the winners of Laois vs Carlow. One pod will be put into the Munster bowl and one into the Leinster bowl. 8 teams will be paired off 4 Munster vs 4 Leinster. Laois vs Westmeath can't happen as they played already in the championship

Munster bowl
    Tipp
    Limerick
    Waterford or Cork
    Laois/Carlow or Westmeath

Leinster Bowl
    Dublin
    Kilkenny
    Offaly or Galway
    Laois/Carlow or Westmeath

Round 2 will be an open draw unless the possibility of repeat pairings occur. Winners qualify for All Ireland QFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Great win for Wexford, fair play to them. There was plenty of hype around this fixture, the crowd got behind them and the team delivered in spades.

Thought Lee Chin was magnificent, a great individual performance, he was everywhere. Won so much dirty ball and used it so well. Not to mention the inspirational points he got, great long free taking and the point he hit from play after Kilkenny hit them for the 2 goals was the most important score of the match.

Great result and performance though it was, I must also say I'd have no huge fear of Wexford based on that. Kilkenny were beyond dreadful for most of it and yet they still could have won it. Thought Wexford's half backline and midfield did well, mainly due to Chin's contribution in this sector. Their forwards in fairness were fairly efficient with their shooting but they didn't really threaten to cut loose and I'm not sure they have the real firepower and goal threat to really threaten to go all the way. They only created 2 real goal chances tonight, the goal and the great block one of the KK defenders made on McDonald. kilkenny created probably 6 goal chances against them.

Their full back and sweeper were absolutely destroyed by Colin Fennelly and to be honest the referee did Fennelly no favours at all. All of the fouls on him were deliberate ones and every single one should have been punished with yellow cards, instead the ref only booked the Wexford backs for about half of these fouls. For example I think I'm right in saying the ref didn't book the Wexford defender for that first half foul where he went to win the ball in fron of Fennelly, missed it and then nearly pulled the jersey off his back. A blatant yellow.

Kilkenny also should have had 2 more penalties, one of the fouls on Fennelly that was given as a free should have been a penalty, initial foul was outside, ref allowed advanatage and Fennelly fouled again in the square but ref went back for the original foul was was a wrong decision. Penalty.

Also for that chance Bolger had with maybe 15 minutes to go, when he went to collect a pass his arm was pulled back, not a whole lot but it was a foul and preveneted him catching the ball.

I hope this doesn't read as though I'm raining on Wexford's parade or anything and it was genuinely a great win but I think it's worth mentioning how poor Kilkenny were on the night (though Wexford must also get credit for making them look poor due to the pressure they applied to any KK player in possession all over the pitch) and yet to my mind Kilkenny probably still should have won as I felt a braver referee would have given more penalties and more yellows and had that happened Kilkenny would have won.

Yes a Braver referee or one from anywhere but Tipp:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,408 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

How the f..k did he ever get this gig?.He is embarrassing:eek:

Ah now Davy ain't that bad!!!!

Oh my bad you meant Mullane yep he was horrendous. If I had Sky I would have had it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭gmurphy70

Lots of the knowitalls here got it so wrong this with Kilkenny and Wexford!! KK didn't wipe the floor with Wx. Fair play Wexford,I thought Wx were the better team, KK seemed to only have one outlet, long high ball to Colin Fennelly,5 scorers against Wx 10, TJ Reid and Richie Hogan well handled, think the Wexicans deserve a little more credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,624 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

lads dont screw up ..... the best chance ye have now to win an all ireland in almost 30 years has presented its self to ye , beat offaly beat wexford ( who ye are far better then ) and you are 75% there ye are the form team of the last 5 years so if there was ever a time.....

i dont think any team remaining in munster will do it just yet and tipp and kk are milles away from the best at the moment , just dont give davey:mad: any more days in the sun and ye should be grand:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭68deville

And wexford didn't play that particularly well,a bit nervy and over played the ball
    On a gud few occasions but job done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

@galwaylad14
    Since when is a jersey pull a yellow card?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

@galwaylad14

When Robert Lennon does it according to Fergal Horgan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Ompala

Shaping up very similar to the 2013 championship

Tipp and Kilkenny both out of their provinces in the early rounds. Galway seem to be most peoples favourites but I don't see anything between them and Waterford.

I don't think Tipp have become a terrible team overnight, especially after deservedly winning Liam last year, but we seem to be lacking the aggression and fight we showed to win last year. The team seems extremely heavy legged in their last few matches. Seriously, both Cork and Galway cannot have that much more pace than our lads. Heard somewhere they played 10 games in 12 weeks leading up to the Munster Quarter Final? Madness.

Very open championship now, Waterford, Galway Clare and Cork must all fancy their chances. Will only believe Kilkenny are gone when I see it with my own 2 eyes!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,624 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

68deville wrote: »
    And wexford didn't play that particularly well,a bit nervy and over played the ball
    On a gud few occasions but job done

yes but galway are the form team at the moment , there was a great pace and tempo to tonight's game though

@galwaylad14

When it's done deliberately to prevent a scoring chance it's absolutely a yellow card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,354 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

When it's done deliberately to prevent a scoring chance it's absolutely a yellow card

Hope they never introduce that ridiculous black card in hurling.

After tonight, it can't come quick enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

gmurphy70 wrote: »
    Lots of the knowitalls here got it so wrong

Funnily enough we never actually heard your prediction. If only you'd come on and given us the benefit of your wisdom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

So a jersey pull which stops a fella from scoring a point is a yellow card?
    Really?
    Since when?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Lovely to see the revival of Wexford hurling.

I know KK, Cork and Tipp are considered the Holy Trinity of hurling, but Wexford have also produced some great talent over the years.

I remember watching them beat Limerick in the 1996 final, We're not from Wexford but we went wild.

After tonight, it can't come quick enough

Agree. Wexfords "defending" of Colin Fennelly was a disgrace tonight, just pulled him down virtually every time. And there was basically no punishment for it because they were smart enough to swap who was doing it and taking the yellow (sometimes bizarrely there was no yellow at all)

There needs to be more punishment for cynical fouling preventing goal chances. As it is now you can haul down a fella a foot outside the large square when he's bearing down on goal and all you're giving up is a point and a yellow card. You'd be crazy not to do it.

I'd love to see the reaction both here and on Twitter if Lee chin was full forward for Wexford tonight and played exactly as fennelly did and was dealt with exactly like fennelly was. This place and Twitter and the pundits etc would be up in arms about how cynical Kilkenny were and they'd be right.

Just because we were all delighted to see Wexford win shouldn't take away from that. The rules need to be looked at.

Agree. Wexfords "defending" of Colin Fennelly was a disgrace tonight, just pulled him down virtually every time. And there was basically no punishment for it because they were smart enough to swap who was doing it and taking the yellow (sometimes bizarrely there was no yellow at all)

There needs to be more punishment for cynical fouling preventing goal chances. As it is now you can haul down a fella a foot outside the large square when he's bearing down on goal and all you're giving up is a point and a yellow card. You'd be crazy not to do it.

I'd love to see the reaction both here and on Twitter if Lee chin was full forward for Wexford tonight and played exactly as fennelly did and was dealt with exactly like fennelly was. This place and Twitter and the pundits etc would be up in arms about how cynical Kilkenny were and they'd be right.

Just because we were all delighted to see Wexford win shouldn't take away from that. The rules need to be looked at.

No harm to have the Manly men on the wrong side of cynical play.

Somebody above mentioned having a brave ref would have given more penalties. A brave ref would have pulled fennelly for charging once or twice, put the head down a ran at his man

i.e. It's OK when the rules aren't applied when Kilkenny are the victims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Jesus championship brings out the eejits the way pig ar$e in the oven brings out the dogs.

Not atall, just that its former KK players who have been most vocal against having red and yellow cards, nevermind black. They may change their mind if they are on the receiving end of cynical play and everyone will benefit from a black card in hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭eire 2012

Somebody above mentioned having a brave ref would have given more penalties. A brave ref would have pulled fennelly for charging once or twice, put the head down a ran at his man

The ref couldn't be giving frees against fennelly for charging while Conor McDonald was guilty of same offence every time he got the ball.