Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,716 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

What are best Cams to use ? I think need one...daily get loads of close passes...generally taxi drivers

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,872 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Kaisr Sose wrote: »
    Its going to be a meaningless law if there are not a string of Motorists sanctioned in the first few weeks.
    huh. this would require one of two things - either the gardai to witness the overtake in question, notice it, and realise it's a dangerous overtake, and decide to actually act on it (doubtful, as we all know how much they ignore other rule-breaking), or an upswing in the number of cyclists, emboldened by this law, presenting video evidence to the gardai, who now emboldened by having a law to pin it on, decide to act. and this ignores the fact that the gardai have been historically disdainful of video evidence from cyclists.

so i'm not holding my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

Its going to be a meaningless law if there are not a string of Motorists sanctioned in the first few weeks. Just look at how poor the enforcement is on otherong estsblished Road Traffic offences, including among other things, driving whilst disqualified, speeding, passing a red light whilst lit, etc
    We can only hope but will it be Bob Hope or No Hope?

It will be enforced if we report them. I had a great week last week but, like others here, have found that normal service has resumed this week - much like the mobile phone usage when that ban came in.

I reported one to Traffic Watch yesterday - the worst of the 3 candidates I had to choose from.

The more of reporting that happens the more enforcement. There is no excuse not to act once provided with footage.

That said, I have reported 4 drivers (of the hundreds I could have) and have had a completely satisfactory response in each case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,128 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

....That said, I have reported 4 drivers (of the hundreds I could have) and have had a completely satisfactory response in each case.
    What is your definition of a 'satisfactory response'. I rarely have to report anything but when I have, the response from the Gardai is pretty poor.

I was struck by a passing car in Dundrum a few years ago and the response I got was 'You shouldn't be out cycling at night'. When hospitalised after a hit and run, the investigating Garda was more obsessed with my lack of a hi viz jacket that anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

What is your definition of a 'satisfactory response'. I rarely have to report anything but when I have, the response from the Gardai is pretty poor.

I was struck by a passing car in Dundrum a few years ago and the response I got was 'You shouldn't be out cycling at night'. When hospitalised after a hit and run, the investigating Garda was more obsessed with my lack of a hi viz jacket that anything else.

With the very odd exception, I concur. It generally gets down to whether the Garda in question is interested in cycling or just following up on what they see as minor stuff. It should not depend on this. There needs to be a cultural shift by the force to put more resources into making our roads safe for all users, irrespective of mode of transport. At the moment it's not a priority to do this. A new law will not change a culture of indifference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Its going to be a meaningless law if there are not a string of Motorists sanctioned in the first few weeks. Just look at how poor the enforcement is on otherong estsblished Road Traffic offences, including among other things, driving whilst disqualified, speeding, passing a red light whilst lit, etc
    We can only hope but will it be Bob Hope or No Hope?

Yeah the lack of enforcement is depressing. I had reason to drive my almost octogenarian mother from my home in west Dublin to and event in the centre of the city on Saturday evening.

It’s a long time since I’d driven in central Dublin - I try to avoid at all costs. Couldn’t believe the blatant abuse of the north quays bus lane - I’m talking about 6 or 7 cars whizzing by at a time. Twice I had a car overtake me while I was holding on a yellow box from. Queueing for the lights at myos in Castleknock, motorist behind decides to undertaken me, using the 24 hours bus lane, and cut in front to occupy the yellow box I was holding back front - all to get one car in front.

Maybe his line of thinking was "the Judge or defence will bring this up and he'll get off so no point in pursuing" which is even worse.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,168 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

With the very odd exception, I concur. It generally gets down to whether the Garda in question is interested in cycling or just following up on what they see as minor stuff. It should not depend on this. There needs to be a cultural shift by the force to put more resources into making our roads safe for all users, irrespective of mode of transport. At the moment it's not a priority to do this. A new law will not change a culture of indifference.

If your lucky you get a new Garda who is fresh out and interested in making a difference, or an older one who doesn't care about procedure and is happy to knock on doors and put the frighteners on someone. Alas both are in short supply. If you read the AMA with a garda thread, it concurs with any friends I know who became Gardai, it is so heavily layered in bureaucracy that proper ground level policing is almost impossible to do unless you are completely willing to forego any convictions.

Alas this culture also breeds the type of behaviour that has ruined the reputation of gardai around the country. Something simple like the introduction of proper print out fines without the paperwork would improve garda morale 100 fold, leading to more interest in doing their job. The same with court judgements for scum bags.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,872 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

When hospitalised after a hit and run, the investigating Garda was more obsessed with my lack of a hi viz jacket that anything else.
    to be fair - talking to a seemingly empty hospital bed must have been disorienting for the poor garda.

From memory it's as follows:

1. Fine & points as it was discovered he was a habitual offender.
    2. Apology. I was happy to accept this as, while his driving on the day was
    poor, I knew at the time he was shook himself and it was genuine.
    3. Careless driving conviction. Fine & points.
    4. Pending.

For what it's worth I report every time via Traffic Watch. This creates an incident which must be concluded. It also means the offending vehicle will be checked a number of times on Pulse with a reason for checking given each time.

Like anyone else here I could report hundreds of incidents but to do so would make me look like the neighbourhood loon so I only select the worst. With the new law in place that may change.

CramCycle wrote: »
    Something simple like the introduction of proper print out fines without the paperwork would improve garda morale 100 fold
    a colleague of mine was levied an on-the-spot €5 fine for jaywalking in Dusseldorf, and when i say on the spot - it was not just issued on the spot, he had to pay on the spot. he also offered to pay the fine of the woman who was similarly caught, without a wallet, and was barked at by the policeman for offering to do so.

that said, he was a bollox and i probably shouldn't be repeating his anecdotes because i can't be sure they're true. (hi Ger!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭LeChienMefiant

Hope you’re not too sore or out of work for too long. I’d be onto the staff in the pub at that junction yourself enquiring about cctv. I’ve had countless near misses there at rush hour but you’d think at 11am in a clear day you’d be grand.
    The blackbird is the name of the pub and may have CCTV, also the church car park entrance on that road and several newly renovated houses that may have CCTV. New Empire (?) Chinese restaurant is there also. Dublin Bus is a good shout too.

Share the road? With a lunatic who will leave a cyclist lying in the road with a fracture and drive off. Is there anything we can do to convince Garda this is important?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭tnegun

From memory it's as follows:
    For what it's worth I report every time via Traffic Watch. This creates an incident which must be concluded. It also means the offending vehicle will be checked a number of times on Pulse with a reason for checking given each time.

I've reported to Traffic Watch before then got a call asking would I be willing to go to court did you get the same or what was the process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

Collision this morning at junction of Morehampton rd and Bloomfield avenue near Donnybrook. Lady cyclist left hooked by a van driver - her bike was wrecked and she was very lucky to only suffer bruising to her leg (so far anyway). The frame was damaged in several places, she said the van drove over the whole bike basically.
    Luckily 2 DFB advanced paramedics were passing shortly after so they tended to her before she got off the ground.
    Meanwhile having gotten out initially and called emergency services the van driver "moved the van up the road a bit out of the way, be back in a minute", never returned. As a precaution I took a pic of his van before he left, including reg plate which has been passed on to the Gardai...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭LeChienMefiant

Bloomfield Avenue is scary. Traffic flies up and down to the Hospital. There's a good chance that van was doing business in the hospital and they should be made aware of this accident.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,954 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Had a near miss in the slip lane that goes past the Spa Hotel on the N4. Idiot driver coming from Dodsboro decided to stare to their left as they pulled out not looking at me coming towards him at about 45km/h.
    I screamed at him as I'm passing the side and front of the car but he didn't turn his head.
    No idea how I wasn't hit to be honest.
    He obviously saw me after I passed and kept his distance until he got the courage to pass me outside the car dealership.
    Strong flashing front light and usual high viz-crap obviously can't make a cretin driver face traffic as they pull out!
    I'll check the rear camera when in the office tomorrow but reckon it won't show much. Need to get a forward facing camera.

Can't really see his reg :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,144 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Meanwhile having gotten out initially and called emergency services the van driver "moved the van up the road a bit out of the way, be back in a minute", never returned.

Motherfcuker!!!! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

fat bloke wrote: »

Hopefully he is done for leaving scene of accident (which now should be called incident as its now no longer an accident) - gardai should definitely pursue this, I would advise lady to ensure this happens - an apology is no longer enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭hesker

As a precaution I took a pic of his van before he left, including reg plate which has been passed on to the Gardai...

Well done. What a scrote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

fat bloke wrote: »
    hesker wrote: »

Indeed he is both of those things! I now have a screenshot of him from the rear camera too so he won't be able to deny involvement once the Gardai catch up with him.
    Hopefully he is done for leaving scene of accident (which now should be called incident as its now no longer an accident) - gardai should definitely pursue this, I would advise lady to ensure this happens - an apology is no longer enough.

Both she and they are on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

hesker wrote: »

Only a total low life would do this. Fair play to the boardsie for taking the photo. It is indeed leaving the scene, a serious charge. Incident being the word as it was probably no accident that this low life ended up left hooking the cyclist. I hope she is OK.

tnegun wrote: »
    I've reported to Traffic Watch before then got a call asking would I be willing to go to court did you get the same or what was the process?

When making the initial report I note that I am willing to go to court. I understand why I'm asked in fairness, I wouldn't fancy compiling a file only for the reporting person to decide in the cold light of day that they don't want to go to court after all. Waste of everybody's time. That said, I've never had to go to court so I wouldn't be put off by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭p15574

Indeed he is both of those things! I now have a screenshot of him from the rear camera too so he won't be able to deny involvement once the Gardai catch up with him.

Both she and they are on it.

Hope you have a good recollection of the driver's face - and get asked to verify - , in case, say, he wasn't insured or had no licence and the company concerned 'replace' him with a fall guy. Or when you say "screenshot of him", do you mean of the guy personally, rather than the van?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,954 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

p15574 wrote: »
    Hope you have a good recollection of the driver's face - and get asked to verify - , in case, say, he wasn't insured or had no licence and the company concerned 'replace' him with a fall guy. Or when you say "screenshot of him", do you mean of the guy personally, rather than the van?
    I presume nobody would volunteer to take the hit on a "leaving the scene of an incident" allegation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Near miss for me this morning having me seriously consider disk brakes. I was cycling inbound through Donnybrook passing the Tescos when a twit on a bike coming from the road to the left, Belmont Road I think, decides to half enter the cycle lane when turning right (outbound) looked at me so I felt she saw me & then continues the maneuver & I had to slap on the brakes & skidded around her.

Learning from that is definitely: even if someone is on a bike, they may look in your direction but completely ignore your existence.
    Weirdly, the cars were very accommodating this morning, I even got waved ahead by a driver of a private coach in the bus lane, they usually have the least cyclist empathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,095 ✭✭✭✭ED E

p15574 wrote: »

He's got the culprits mugshot ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭tnegun

When making the initial report I note that I am willing to go to court. I understand why I'm asked in fairness, I wouldn't fancy compiling a file only for the reporting person to decide in the cold light of day that they don't want to go to court after all. Waste of everybody's time. That said, I've never had to go to court so I wouldn't be put off by that.

What happened after that did you have to to to the station and make a statement and show the footage? I'm only asking as any previous dealings have just wasted hours of my time between not being able to get in touch the original guard who took the statement, then starting all over again with a second, queuing for an hour for an update etc. I've just given up reporting and am not inclined to do more that just share them as its been a collosal waste of my time. The time I caught two guys braking into a car on my camera 2 came to the house for it but reporting but near misses agressive driving etc. just didn't get attention.

oh how I hate the south quays at the Guinness brewery. This evening I was behind a rigid lorry. Cycling down the bus lane when he decides to pull into the bus lane and left hook me, turning into the Guinness brewery. Managed to slow down in time, then indicted right to head over the bridge towards the Phoenix park. Had about 3 cars close pass me, then a van. After a verbal exchange with the van driver, I managed to move right and around the bridge. Really is a horrible stretch from the James Joyce bridge to Heuston. And the occasional parking in the right hand side at the water is perfect for a quick and cheap bike lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,255 ✭✭✭✭Stark

****ing horrendous there, not sure how you're supposed to get over to the right safely. Not sure is it part of the 30km/hr zone, not that it would make a difference to the majority of the drivers who are going well in excess of 50.

Stark wrote: »
    ****ing horrendous there, not sure how you're supposed to get over to the right safely. Not sure is it part of the 30km/hr zone, not that it would make a difference to the majority of the drivers who are going well in excess of 50.

Yeah it’s horrible alright. It is a 50kph zone - changes up from the 30kph a few hundred meters back. Not that it matters though. Speed limits are routinely ignored. I was a passenger in a taxi a while back and asked him to slow down - naturally he looked at me like I had two heads - but his needle was just short of 80kph