Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. Patrick's Day is racist???

• 17-03-2017 1:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭

Is St Patricks Day racist now?

https://twitter.com/endstpats/status/828017529943646210

Is there any legitimacy to it?

Obviously if you look hard enough on the internet there will always be someone with crazy ideas (especially in the US).

I think these ideas are becoming more accepted these days.

In the future will there be protests on St Patricks Day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

What do you think, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Some people have a very vivid imagination. This one was unusual.

https://twitter.com/endstpats/status/828025143536521216

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Otherizes? Pure bunkum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

stunmer wrote: »

Is there any legitimacy to it?

Obviously if you look hard enough on the internet there will always be someone with crazy ideas (especially in the US).

I think these ideas are becoming more accepted these days.

In the future will there be protests on St Patricks Day?

Is St. Martins day racist, or cinco de Mayo, Bastille day, Independence Day, etc.

There should be a internet warrior day for headers like the one who dreamed up that nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭SILVAMAN

When I saw the headline I though it was a press releasefrom the Clonskeagh Mosque

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

In case you missed it, everything white people do is racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

St Patrick wasn't white...He was Welsh

:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

She looks like she's suffering from an awful dose of feminism there. Someone call the doc before she starts dying her hair blue.

Erik Shin wrote: »
    St Patrick wasn't white...He was Welsh

:D:D

Not getting you, can you explain please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭weisses

White pride pffff .... Everyone knows its Green pride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

White pride? Those idiots do realise that the vast majority of Irish people and those of Irish descent just happen to be white via genetics.

It's like people being outraged that the majority of people celebrating festivals in Africa happen to be black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

St Patricks Day is also celebrated in Nigeria and Montserrat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

psinno wrote: »
    In case you missed it, everything white people do is racist.

Reminds me of the goon on Question Time last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Thats one sad F#cked up, un-educated, quantum leaping misguided looper with too much time on their hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Firstly, they haven't posted anything in over a month, and secondly its 100% a troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭stunmer

What do you think, OP?

I think this is the where 4th wave feminism and outrage culture is bringing us.

Is St Patricks Day racist? No, feck right off with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Firstly, they haven't posted anything in over a month, and secondly its 100% a troll

Not sure I can tell the difference between trolls/sjw/liberals/parody/progressives any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

psinno wrote: »
    Not sure I can tell the difference between trolls/sjw/liberals/parody/progressives any more.
    Poe's law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I hear you're a racist now, Paddy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

This is probably a troll but is "white pride" actually something certain people would be against?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Obviously a piss take account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Is St. Martins day racist, or cinco de Mayo, Bastille day, Independence Day, etc.

There should be a internet warrior day for headers like the one who dreamed up that nonsense.

Everyday is internet warrior day.

*Bows head solemly, raises clenched right fist in salute and hits # on the 'oul keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The person who runs that twitter account is a racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Absolutely guarantee that's an alt right account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

No, it's just some lad in a dark room, stripped to his boxers jacking off to a successful troll.

Yeah, because SJWs don't have a history of coming up with this this crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Otherizes? Pure bunkum.

The 'z' in that word will tell you all you need to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

stunmer wrote:

Definitely not.
    Unfortunately it doesn't reinforce the drunken Irish stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

The girl in the poster is white?

#greenlivesmatter

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,496 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Stop paying attention to morons. Simples.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd love to see these people (SJWs) cope in a world without all the whiteman's inventions and innovations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It's a piss take. There is a new comedic market in SJW Parodys. There was one on BBC question time last night. They thought he was legit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Racist in that it propagate 18th century irish stereotypes of being drunken, laprachaun suite wearing apes maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,259 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Nothing wrong with some Irish Pride.

irish-pride-big-toast-800-large.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Angela Merkel is wearing green, and Trump has a rather nice green tie on for their press conference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

Some people need to get a life. Agree with the twitter user that pointed out that irish history is anything but one of priviledge.. but this girl doesn't deserve a legitimate response tbh. Kill the white man :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with some Irish Pride.

irish-pride-big-toast-800-large.jpg

Associated with sambos

Racist!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I saw a Muslim lady in a green hijab earlier. Ber daughter was in the local parade.

She didn't seem to mind.

I mean.. It's a celebration of being Irish. We just happen to be mostly white. But I've never seen or heard of anyone being stopped from taking part in a parade.

Spoof. I wonder why the picture said 2016 if the account was set up this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Im a hipster racist, I was racist before it was cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,286 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Racist in that it propagate 18th century irish stereotypes of being drunken, laprachaun suite wearing apes maybe.

Lads in the street outside my house have been doing a great job of reinforcing that all day.

In fairness I'm not sure that theres much to be proud of, between blank and tans, Magdalene laundries, mother and baby homes, Grace, Aras Attracta, Direct Provision, Bertie resting money in his account and not resigning over it, Savita, garda McCabe .... and there are more local scale scandals all over the place. But no one ever takes responsibility.

I can understand people being pleased to be Irish. But pride ... in what exactly its hard to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,233 ✭✭✭Patser

2prdb9l.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Lads in the street outside my house have been doing a great job of reinforcing that all day.

In fairness I'm not sure that theres much to be proud of, between blank and tans, Magdalene laundries, mother and baby homes, Grace, Aras Attracta, Direct Provision, Bertie resting money in his account and not resigning over it, Savita, garda McCabe .... and there are more local scale scandals all over the place. But no one ever takes responsibility.

I can understand people being pleased to be Irish. But pride ... in what exactly its hard to see.

Yeah because the majority of us go out and destroy lives, rape, frame and murder others :rolleyes:

Pity we can't be like all the other perfect nations.

Racist against snakes In fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭van_beano

Didn't realise the Black and Tans were Irish....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

This is probably a troll but is "white pride" actually something certain people would be against?

It sounds a bit wrong to me, and I can't logic myself out of it. I'm white, if it's relevant.

European pride, is that OK?