Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Stand With Eamon Dunphy

• Registered Users Posts: 14,354 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Chris John’s won’t be around to see the Frankenstein’s monster he had created.

Scumbag.

Da fuq?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

El Sueño wrote: »
    I noticed this too, fairly poor considering he'd actually looked it up! Still love listening to John all the same

I hear ya.

For a fella of 80, his ability to analyse a game is still miles ahead of pretty much anyone. He's a genius. But when he starts talking anything other than the match in front of him, he sounds clueless and stuck in an era that's long gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I hear ya.

For a fella of 80, his ability to analyse a game is still miles ahead of pretty much anyone. He's a genius. But when he starts talking anything other than the match in front of him, he sounds clueless and stuck in an era that's long gone.

Genius? He thinks you need a midfielder to take the ball off the back 4 and he playmakes from there and that is football to John. He doesn’t believe in formations or tactics. He sees everything through the position he played in his own career.

It’s a fairly uncomplicated reductive viewpoint.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Genius? He thinks you need a midfielder to take the ball off the back 4 and he playmakes from there and that is football to John. He doesn’t believe in formations or tactics. He sees everything through the position he played in his own career.

It’s a fairly uncomplicated reductive viewpoint.

Where has he said he doesn't believe in tactics or formations? He puts less value on them than a lot of people but I've never heard him say that.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Where has he said he doesn't believe in tactics or formations? He puts less value on them than a lot of people but I've never heard him say that.

Has said going back decades on RTE that formations are of no consequence to his analysis. Think about it.. when has he ever mentioned anything to do with a formation?

His idea on tactics is you get your best players on the field and do your best to get the ball off the opposition and keep it when you have it. Going back decades this is what he says. Therefore hosts don’t bring up tactics in discussion with John.

Very simplistic analysis. I don’t have a problem with the old codger but it’s mad anyone thinks he’s a mastermind on football.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I wasn't keeping abreast of the AZ/EU/Article 16 story but thankfully Naomi O' Leary was on earlier in the week with Eamon to explain a fairly technical story in a clear manner.

She's an excellent contributor.

humberklog wrote: »
    I wasn't keeping abreast of the AZ/EU/Article 16 story but thankfully Naomi O' Leary was on earlier in the week with Eamon to explain a fairly technical story in a clear manner.

She's an excellent contributor.

Herself and Stanage are essential.

I like Picture House so I took down the episode done recently with Dave Browne. Thought the starting monologue was quite interesting.

"One of the things we haven't done is talk about the effect this ten month ordeal has had on people who are working in various businesses, or who are workers who have threatened to lose their job"

Working class hero Eamo, and it takes him ten months to start thinking of the common man. Maybe if Tesco had been shut down he would have put up some opposition to the lockdown, instead of being a cheerleader. Nice that he has finally woken up to the effect that it is having on private industry.

Dunphy has been long known as one of the foremost champagne socialists of our times!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

glasso wrote: »
    Dunphy has been long known as one of the foremost champagne socialists of our times!

This kinda comes across as more of a 'Overheard in Dublin' type vibe than anything at this point.

Is a champagne socialist anyone who has the gall to be successful while advocating on behalf of others or a fairer society? Is there any gray area once you move left of center or is it card carrying communist or nothing?

This kinda comes across as more of a 'Overheard in Dublin' type vibe than anything at this point.

Is a champagne socialist anyone who has the gall to be successful while advocating on behalf of others or a fairer society? Is there any gray area once you move left of center or is it card carrying communist or nothing?

He has freely admitted to drinking much champagne late at night, he has his gaff in Deauville, he sometimes espouses socialist ideals, albeit he did support the PDs.

Quite simply meets the definition.

BZdvgh4.png

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/ranelagh-neighbours-save-corner-shop-in-planning-battle-1.2739676

"Darling, we simply can't abide a few slightly poorer people buying apartments (sighs) in our area, particularly when it may include the loss of the location where we smugly bid each other good day and buy our ciabatta and foie gras"

• Registered Users Posts: 17,319 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Europe (and the UK also crucially) is gradually moving towards what Tomas Ryan is advocating re travel quarantine etc and which does of course make sense particularly when case numbers decrease where imported transmission can affect numbers materially and also due to the variant issue (which seems to be the real impetus for action really).

Ireland is moving that way primarily because of the trend as let's face it we're an EU follower.

I did cringe a bit at how, during the Paul Somerville episode, you could hear in his voice that Dunphy hadn't the faintest clue what Reddit was.

It was a good episode all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,020 ✭✭✭applehunter

Even by recent standards that was absolute bull**** on American politics.

Republicans = Bad

Democrats = Good

QED

Stanage is the supposed centrist.

Just another globalist.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Republicans = Bad

Democrats = Good

QED

Just another globalist.

Currently and objectively (especially from an Irish point of view) the Democrats are, by and large, the goodies and the republicans are, again by and large, nutters and the baddies.

That's not to say that the republican causes of low tax, small government, etc are wrong. But you can't ignore the fact that the party, in the house at least, embraces conspiracy theories, tolerates white supremacists and downplayed the attack on the capitol.

I don't see how you can't report on those items as facts?

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭dmn22

Republicans = Bad

Democrats = Good

QED

Just another globalist.

Think that’s pretty unfair on Stanage.

He was always impartial until Trump and co descended into absolute madness. Pre-COVID I think he was very fair to Republicans, since around then it’s clear he’s completely against Trump which is completely fair given his actions and the effect he has had on the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

Arghus wrote: »
    I did cringe a bit at how, during the Paul Somerville episode, you could hear in his voice that Dunphy hadn't the faintest clue what Reddit was.

It was a good episode all the same.

Somerville is generally difficult to follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,020 ✭✭✭applehunter

dmn22 wrote: »
    Think that’s pretty unfair on Stanage.

He was always impartial until Trump and co descended into absolute madness. Pre-COVID I think he was very fair to Republicans, since around then it’s clear he’s completely against Trump which is completely fair given his actions and the effect he has had on the country.

After 3/4 years I have an idea how Stanage views the world.

He upholds the establishment of American politics.

He puts up John McCain and George Bush as paragons of virtue. These guys are the scum of the earth. They are responsible for mass murder.

Think about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Tegnell & the tattoos get another mention today.
    Sweet jebus, he's ripping the ar$e out of that one

Tegnell & the tattoos get another mention today.
    Sweet jebus, he's ripping the ar$e out of that one

Has to be deliberate.

Eamo is besotted with the idea with Swedish women (it's always Swedish women getting the tattoo according to him) getting inked up with Tegnell's decrepit mug

seems to be mainly pudgy Swedish lads who got it from image search

there is one bird I will admit

https://www.google.com/search?q=tegnell+tattoos&sxsrf=ALeKk02FnxLNRbBFBEdFwXKnfJVwSEUMDQ:1612967587008&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwi64brAxN_uAhWho3EKHekdCmkQ_AUoAXoECAMQAw&biw=1163&bih=525

Probably regretted now as much as the McGregor tattoo crowd

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Listening back to show from last week with Richard Fitzpatrick talking about the financial trouble Barcelona and Real Madrid are in. Barca is some incredible mess to have landed themselves in this position. Sounds like an intern was in charge of contracts for the last 5 years.

Always funny to hear Eamon say Jew-ventus also.

Listening back to show from last week with Richard Fitzpatrick talking about the financial trouble Barcelona and Real Madrid are in. Barca is some incredible mess to have landed themselves in this position. Sounds like an intern was in charge of contracts for the last 5 years.

Always funny to hear Eamon say Jew-ventus also.

paying Messi 4 times what CR7 was getting at Madrid seems a little mad.

much talk about how great it is that a club can be owned by its fans but this is what that can also produce.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,542 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I wouldn't mind hearing a discussion about how La Liga is going, new players to watch out for, etc. Every Spanish football podcast seems to be about how screwed Barca and Real are.

It'd be nice to get a bit more mileage out of the Spanish football correspondent while he's on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭Still Ill

El Sueño wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind hearing a discussion about how La Liga is going, new players to watch out for, etc. Every Spanish football podcast seems to be about how screwed Barca and Real are.

It'd be nice to get a bit more mileage out of the Spanish football correspondent while he's on.

Especially since Bill used to call Eamon the panel's Spanish expert! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Obrieski

Well used to Eamon’s long drawn out questions at this stage, but thought it was significantly worse in his Stanage interview today. The first question / comment seemed to drag on forever and another question he asked he made the same point about 3 times. Needs to stop rambling as much

He's fighting a Mexican.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,319 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Obrieski wrote: »
    Well used to Eamon’s long drawn out questions at this stage, but thought it was significantly worse in his Stanage interview today. The first question / comment seemed to drag on forever and another question he asked he made the same point about 3 times. Needs to stop rambling as much

Eamon repeats himself an awful lot in general. Much like bringing up the Tegnell tattoo every single time Phillip O'Connor is on. I do forget sometimes that he is in his mid 70's and might just be getting a wee bit forgetful at this stage of his life.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,156 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

That guy on today is a straight up Russian propaganda mouthpiece. So much bad mouthing the US and Europe rather then defending Russia. “The Biden regime” “Trump expanded NATO” Basically called Navalny fake news.
    There should have been a paid advertisement from Vlad Putin announcement at the start of the podcast.