Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Floyd via KO-TKO
    floyd-mayweather-takes-a-jab-to-the-face.gif

When Conor lands this its game over isnt it Wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,432 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Ha :)

True. I mean look... I just don't understand why people are dismissing it as a fight.

You can't be serious with not getting this?

I am not going to list reasons why people would dismiss this as any kind of fight.

Surely there has to be some standards before people will agree it to be a fight?

Canelo-GGG is a fight, for example.

Federer-Nadal is a fight

Selby-O'Sullivan is a fight

Real-Barca is a fight

and on and on....

Now, Conor-Floyd? It just doesn't follow, yet you are surprised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Draw
    walshb wrote: »

Federer-Nadal is a fight

Real-Barca is a fight

Only one of those is a fight :confused:

The other 3 might be very competitive and exciting. But come on, snooker and tennis are not fight sports.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Mellor wrote: »
    Only one of those is a fight :confused:

The other 3 might be very competitive and exciting. But come on, snooker and tennis are not fight sports.

You know what I mean...

fight as in something that will be actually contested.....something fair, on the level, sporting etc.

I am well aware that Nadal and Fed and Selby and O'Sullivan won't be fighting in the literal sense....

We've been over this before....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    You can't be serious with not getting this?

I am not going to list reasons why people would dismiss this as any kind of fight.

Surely there has to be some standards before people will agree it to be a fight?

Federer-Nadal is a fight

Real-Barca is a fight

and on and on....

Now, Conor-Floyd? It just doesn't follow, yet you are surprised?

Mark Selby is actually a pretty good example. He was World Pool Champion long before he won the World Title in snooker. Different sports.

Anyway, your logic is what? It's only sport or a "fight" if it's competitive?

What do you call Sutton United v Arsenal in last seasons FA Cup 5th Round? That was a complete and utter mis-match in every possible way. Sutton's manager works for free, Arsene Wenger is on £9 million a year. Alexis Sanchez was signed for £31.7 million, Sutton's record signing was 30 grand.

On paper the 2 teams shouldn't have been anywhere near each other. On paper Arsenal should have walloped them 10-0, 11-0.

Yet in practice, Sutton had home advantage on a crap pitch in a small stadium and used their limited, basic football skills and formulated a gameplan and only narrowly lost 2-0. They put up a pretty good fight.

In every sport you mentioned from tennis, to snooker, to football, to boxing, there are ALWAYS battles between mis-matched opponents. Michael Conlan was in against an absolute tomato can his last fight. Ronnie often gets drawn against an amateur in qualifying. Federer always gets a no-hoper in the 1st Round of Wimbledon. Premier League teams often get non-league draws.

It's all sport!

Floyd v Conor is sport too. It's a fight.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Mark Selby is actually a pretty good example. He was World Pool Champion long before he won the World Title in snooker. Different sports.

Anyway, your logic is what? It's only sport or a "fight" if it's competitive?

What do you call Sutton United v Arsenal in last seasons FA Cup 5th Round? That was a complete and utter mis-match in every possible way. Sutton's manager works for free, Arsene Wenger is on £9 million a year. Alexis Sanchez was signed for £31.7 million, Sutton's record signing was 30 grand.

On paper the 2 teams shouldn't have been anywhere near each other. On paper Arsenal should have walloped them 10-0, 11-0.

Yet in practice, Sutton had home advantage on a crap pitch in a small stadium and used their limited, basic football skills and formulated a gameplan and only narrowly lost 2-0. They put up a pretty good fight.

In every sport you mentioned from tennis, to snooker, to football, to boxing, there are ALWAYS battles between mis-matched opponents. Michael Conlan was in against an absolute tomato can his last fight. Ronnie often gets drawn against an amateur in qualifying. Federer always gets a no-hoper in the 1st Round of Wimbledon. Premier League teams often get non-league draws.

It's all sport!

Floyd v Conor is sport too. It's a fight.

Yes, but Federer meets a tennis player and Arsenal meet a soccer club and so on

When Federer starts meeting badminton players in the first rds of tournaments then get back to me, or when Arsenal start meeting rugby teams in the 5th rd of the FA Cup get back to me.....

And I will tell you the same thing.....that is NOT sport!

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Problem with that football analogy is nobody is getting their head boxed in, Im not on any high horse because I watch heaps of all sorts of Combat and if someone signs up and knows the risk then im all for it, but would you say the nsac would allow Maia v Andre Ward? not a hope in hell.

Conor via KO-TKO
    Yes, but Federer meets a tennis player and Arsenal meet a soccer club and so on

When Federer starts meeting badminton players in the first rds of tournaments then get back to me, or when Arsenal start meeting rugby teams in the 5th rd of the FA Cup get back to me.....

But you literally used Mark Selby as an example and he proved you can be a World Champion in one sport (pool) and become a World Champion in a different but similar sport (snooker).

I can give you plenty examples of people who have successfully transitioned from one sport to another with almost instant success. Juan Pablo Montoya being one. Had never driven Nascar in his life but won 2 races after switching from Formula 1.

If Federer does beat the best badminton player 6-0, 6-0, 6-0 at Wimbledon so what? He has hammered Murray 6-0, 6-1 in the past. You're trying to argue mis-matches are not sporting contests. Crazy argument.

If 2 people are competing against each other in the same sport, it's a sporting encounter. Simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Draw
    We've been over this before....
    I know, I know. You don't think this counts as a sporting event.
    But come on, calling snooker a fight. :P

Conor via KO-TKO
    Gamebred wrote: »
    Problem with that football analogy is nobody is getting their head boxed in, Im not on any high horse because I watch heaps of all sorts of Combat and if someone signs up and knows the risk then im all for it, but would you say the nsac would allow Maia v Andre Ward? not a hope in hell.

CM Punk.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    CM Punk.

Mickey Gall wasnt 49-0 best of all time, not even remotely comparable.

When are tickets being released?

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Mellor wrote: »
    But come on, calling snooker a fight. :P

Stop messing....

Snooker is barely a sport!

Floyd via KO-TKO
    But you literally used Mark Selby as an example and he proved you can be a World Champion in one sport (pool) and become a World Champion in a different but similar sport (snooker).

Ok,

I will put it simpler to try and argue against this ridiculous post above

IF Conor learns his trade, becomes a pro boxer, meets and beats opponents, earns rankings, progresses, masters the sport to a degree, then maybe I would consider him and Mayweather as a sporting contest...

Other than this this is just a money grabbing novelty act between a career veteran pro boxer and a non pro boxer.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    If Conor was a good boxer then thats what he would have done his entire career. He's 100% driven by money and boxing is where the money is, if he was truly able to compete in boxing then he would have went that route.

Instead he's fashioned a very successful career in MMA and now has had the opportunity to make 50,60,70 million to step into a boxing ring and take a few slaps off arguably the best boxer ever. Its a smart business decision. He can retire a young man with **** all damage done to his brain or body.

Floyd via KO-TKO

Instead he's fashioned a very successful career in MMA and now has had the opportunity to make 50,60,70 million to step into a boxing ring and take a few slaps off arguably the best boxer ever. Its a smart business decision. He can retire a young man with **** all damage done to his brain or body.

You say that as if a few slaps means nothing? You do realize that maybe a few slaps could mean more? This is pro boxing, not tiddlywinks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    You say that as if a few slaps means nothing? You do realize that maybe a few slaps could mean more? This is pro boxing, not tiddlywinks...

And you say that as if he doesn't know how to protect himself. He's not a complete novice. He is in the fighting game. He's not just going to go out and drop his hands and let Floyd pummel him.

Dont get me wrong I dont think Conor can win, or has any chance.

Conor via KO-TKO
    Mickey Gall wasnt 49-0 best of all time, not even remotely comparable.

You're right. CM Punk v Mickey Gall was a far bigger mis-match. If you're arguing otherwise you're delusional and have completely jumped the shark.
    Stop messing....

Snooker is barely a sport!

Blasphemy! Snooker is amazing :)
    Ok,

I will put it simpler to try and argue against this ridiculous post above

IF Conor learns his trade, becomes a pro boxer, meets and beats opponents, earns rankings, progresses, masters the sport to a degree, then maybe I would consider him and Mayweather as a sporting contest...

Other than this this is just a money grabbing novelty act between a career veteran pro boxer and a non pro boxer.....

Ok so when Juan Pablo Montoya switched sports from Formula 1 to Nascar, as a complete novice in Nascar, you feel that was a fraud and that he cheated the system and it wasn't sport? Even though he was instantly competitive?
    If Conor was a good boxer then thats what he would have done his entire career. He's 100% driven by money and boxing is where the money is, if he was truly able to compete in boxing then he would have went that route.

You're very wrong.

Conor is not driven by money. I know it looks that way but he really isn't.

He was putting in long hours every day for 5 years making nothing. He made an average of 1,000 euro A YEAR for his first 3 years in fighting. He was fighting lads for a couple of hundred quid.

If he was just motivated by money he would have jacked it in and got a 20 grand a year minimum wage job. There was absolutely no money to be made in MMA when Conor first started training! None even at the top of the sport.

As for the switch from boxing, when he moved to Lucan and met Tom Egan he fell in love with martial arts and UFC. I know that might not be the answer you're looking for but he was a huge Bruce Lee fan and became a huge UFC fan.

He only started boxing at 12 and boxed casually until he was 16, while also playing saturday football and training twice a week.

If Conor boxed until he was 24 and had a load of fights and wasn't doing well, then sure I'd agree he switched sports because he wasn't good enough. But that's not the case here, he literally jacked in boxing and football around the same time and discovered martial arts.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    And you say that as if he doesn't know how to protect himself. He's not a complete novice. He is in the fighting game. He's not just going to go out and drop his hands and let Floyd pummel him.

Dont get me wrong I dont think Conor can win, or has any chance.

Whether he is a novice or not is irrelevant. It's pro boxing where one clean shot, or not even clean can do damage. More clean shots could do more damage.....

If he goes in there and does not take any shots that's super. Result. No real possibility of brain injury....

And I am not wondering or asking if you think Conor has a chance. I was addressing your very casual and flippant remark (said with kind of certainty) about him walking away unscathed.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Answer the question do you think Ward v Damian Maia should be sanctioned?

Conor via KO-TKO
    Whether he is a novice or not is irrelevant. It's pro boxing where one clean shot, or not even clean can do damage. More clean shots could do more damage.....

And what do you think a clean kick or punch to the head does in MMA?

LMAO.

I'm not sure if you're deliberately trolling or sincere in your beliefs.

But assuming you're sincere..... there is huge danger in both sports regardless of how good your opponent is or how bad you are. Arguably more danger in MMA due to less padding on gloves and the fact that kicks travel at much higher velocity than punches.

I can link you to half a dozen studies showing kicks are harder than punches.

You're carrying on like he's transitioning from ballet dancing to free-rope mountain climbing.

Conor via KO-TKO
    Answer the question do you think Ward v Damian Maia should be sanctioned?

In boxing? Sure why not. I doubt Demian would want to do it though.

I think any 2 adult combat athletes wishing to fight each other should be sanctioned regardless of experience in the other sport. I'd be in favour of Ward being sanctioned to fight Maia in MMA too.

They're adults and professionals.

Floyd via KO-TKO

I think any 2 adult combat athletes wishing to fight each other should be sanctioned regardless of experience in the other sport. I'd be in favour of Ward being sanctioned to fight Maia in MMA too.

Incredible that you think that is fine, p4p#1 olympic gold medalist should be allowed fight Maia, that is potential murder, as is this fight possibly.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    And what do you think a clean kick or punch to the head does in MMA?

LMAO.

I'm not sure if you're deliberately trolling or sincere in your beliefs.

But assuming you're sincere..... there is huge danger in both sports regardless of how good your opponent is or how bad you are. Arguably more danger in MMA due to less padding on gloves and the fact that kicks travel at much higher velocity than punches.

I can link you to half a dozen studies showing kicks are harder than punches.

You're carrying on like he's transitioning from ballet dancing to free-rope mountain climbing.

So predictable.The usual going off on tangents.

I agree with all the above

My point to the poster was merely arguing against his flippant remark..

I would have replied to the poster had he said the same about any man in a boxing ring, pro boxer or not..

You need to slow down before jumping in with both feet.

Floyd via DQ

If he goes in there and does not take any shots that's super. Result. No real possibility of brain injury....

And I am not wondering or asking if you think Conor has a chance. I was addressing your very casual and flippant remark (said with kind of certainty) about him walking away unscathed.

Thats fair enough, but McGregor could go in and take a dive and still walk away with 50million. So most definitely wouldnt take any punishment in that scenario. With regards to my comment being flippant , it was and probably too much so. Probably because I just don't think this is going to be a serious boxing match

Conor via KO-TKO
    Incredible that you think that is fine, p4p#1 olympic gold medalist should be allowed fight Maia, that is potential murder, as is this fight possibly.

BS.

Sanctioning Hector Lombard 2 and a half months after Neil Magny punched him in the head 100 times was a disgrace.

This isn't.

CM Punk with zero combat experience being sanctioned to fight Mickey Gall was bad.

This isn't.

If the skill gap is so big between Ward and Maia, he'll KO him in 30 seconds. Maia can equally be KO'd in 30 seconds by Woodley in 4oz gloves.

You're talking nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points

That is so wrong . So so wrong . They need to be protected from themselves. Just look at the amount of boxers in the past year who have ended up in comas . And you think we should let anyone fight anyone regardless of experience or talent.

Absurd .

Floyd via KO-TKO
    BS.

Sanctioning Hector Lombard 2 and a half months after Neil Magny punched him in the head 100 times was a disgrace.

This isn't.

CM Punk with zero combat experience being sanctioned to fight Mickey Gall was bad.

This isn't.

If the skill gap is so big between Ward and Maia, he'll KO him in 30 seconds. Maia can equally be KO'd in 30 seconds by Woodley in 4oz gloves.

You're talking nonsense.

You're Mickey Gall comparison is the only BS here, he had 1 actual pro fight and another against a journalist, Mayweather is the best ever, Ward one of the best ever were discussing, allowed Lombard to fight has nothing to do with miss matches either,

You think it'd be fine to let Ward fight Maia in boxing, incredible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    So basically you just want human cock fighting .

Boxing is a sport and i would like it to stay that way.

Conor via KO-TKO
    That is so wrong . So so wrong . They need to be protected from themselves. Just look at the amount of boxers in the past year who have ended up in comas . And you think we should let anyone fight anyone regardless of experience or talent.

Absurd .

I didn't say that. I said anyone with combat experience should be sanctioned.

Conor has 24 professional MMA fights fighting guys in 4oz gloves throwing punches at his head.

That's combat experience.

CM PUNK was a fake wrestler from WWE with no experience of combat.

You don't think Conor can end up in a coma in MMA? Will I list the 12 deaths in MMA in the last 15 years?

Regardless of talent, boxers and mixed martial artists can end up injured/hurt/in a coma or dead.

The duty of care to protect people absolutely exists. If Justin Bieber wants to box against Errol Spence he should be denied a boxing license.