If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello All, This is just a friendly reminder to read the Forum Charter where you wish to post before posting in it. :)
Hi all, The AutoSave Draft feature is now disabled across the site. The decision to disable the feature was made via a poll last year. The delay in putting it in place was due to a bug/update issue. This should serve as a reminder to manually save your drafts if you wish to keep them. Thanks, The Boards Team.
Hello all! This is just a quick reminder to ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere.

PB or not PB...that is the question

• Registered Users Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

Very best of luck on Sunday😊

• Registered Users Posts: 9,886 ✭✭✭ Murph_D

Best of luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭ Lazare

Nice one man, well deserved. Looking forward to the report.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭ ariana`

Another brilliant report. Nothing like crossing the finish line of a marathon to make a grown man (or woman) cry! It really is such an experience, it's an honour really to get to do it! I've cried after all of mine, for different reasons mind you, but it's always been an emotional thing like no other really - kind of akin to childbirth. Massive well done to you on your achievement! I'm sorry things didn't go perfectly but I suppose they rarely do and any day you can eek out an 8 min PB is still a good one! You've had a string of setbacks and should be so so proud of yourself getting to this point. Wishing you a speedy recovery now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ ReeReeG

Great result considering the run-up wasn't entirely smooth for you! Well done, really enjoyed that report!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭ AuldManKing

Superb report and an amazing performance - to PB by 8 mins - (on an already good PB) while going through that is astonishing!

Fair play - I think the emotion on the day is telling - its such a big build up for 1 race it, but once it goes, it does leave you feeling a bit down - I've read a about a lot of people, Elites and hobby joggers like us feeling a bit 'meh' after a big goal race, especially one with a big lead up to it.

Enjoy the recovery and get back to enjoying running - good news on the diet - that should lead to some breakthroughs in the not too distant future.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

Great race report. Well done on the PB, it's ok to feel Meh, sometimes our feelings just can't be explained. Best of luck with your future goals.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭ Kellygirl

Great report. I get the “Meh” feeling. I had it too and still a little to be honest. Congrats though and well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭ Dubh Geannain

After the previous health issues and the struggle to get to the bottom of it that has to be hugely satisfying. I think it was SB that said you should be celebrating getting to the start line of a marathon after all the training. Then to run such a terrific time. Don't mind your meh 😀 Big congrats.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭ Lazare

Massive congrats on a superb PB. Super well written report too.

As others have said it's pretty normal to go through a period of meh about it. Brain chemistry is a strange thing, I'd imagine a super charged endorphin rush that we experience after a marathon has that type of effect as it dissipates.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,886 ✭✭✭ Murph_D

Haven’t really been following this log but I am now! Really enjoyed that Dublin report and I understand that feeling at the end -I had a similar reaction at the end of my virtual Mara in 2020. Sometimes the run just means more than at other times. Congrats on the PB in tough conditions, really says a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭ DeepBlue

Regarding Newmarket - I used to think that too i.e. why travel for "just a 5k"?

However it's a fast course afaik, attracts a lot of fast runners so lots to work off and maybe easier to get a better 5k PB in the process than you would get in a TT and definitely easier to PB than in a parkrun imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭ Cartman78

I haven't ruled it out just yet 😉

To be honest, it'll probably come down more to what shape I'm in at that stage than anything else and whatever other family activities are on that weekend.

There might be one or two from the club travelling down as well maybe so car pooling might be an option

WEEK BEGINNING 07/11/2022

So kinda betting back into it gently after DCM.

4 runs last week (all at easy pace) and one 60 min blast on the bike.

Not feeling any major effects of the marathon thankfully so hoping to drive things on now and start looking towards my 'As Yet Unspecified but probably Wildly Ambitious 10 Mile target' for 2023 😋😎

Took an aerobic rest day on Friday and did some light weights, core and stretching.

The athletics highlight of the week was undoubtedly seeing my two young lads competing at the County Indoors in Nenagh yesterday - no medals but they had a great time and it's a fantastic experience for them...would love to have had the option at that age but back in 1980's Mayo it was football or nothing really...even soccer was seen as exotic 😅

Anyway, will keep ploughing on this week and introduce a gentle speed session maybe.

Have a pair of Vaporflys sitting at home in the porch too so a nice treat to unbox them on a dull Monday evening

And now I know for sure what the colour "University Gold" looks like 🤣

These will be going into hibernation for a bit before launching in the spring

• Registered Users Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭ ariana`

The athletics highlight of the week was undoubtedly seeing my two young lads competing at the County Indoors in Nenagh yesterday - no medals but they had a great time and it's a fantastic experience for them...would love to have had the option at that age but back in 1980's Mayo it was football or nothing really...even soccer was seen as exotic

Fantastic to hear your kids had fun. I think at that age that is the main thing that should be prioritised and everything else will naturally fall into place over time. As a Mum of 3 kids with very different natures, I can tell you there still aren't very many options in rural Ireland for kids who don't love GAA or just aren't competitive enough for it.

Nice kicks, good luck with the 10m target 😉

Yep.... totally agree...there was a really nice vibe/atmosphere at the Indoors.

Everyone there (kids, coaches, parents, officials) wanted to be there and has a genuine interest and passion for the sport.

I also help out with underage hurling and it's a different story altogether....very obvious that some of the kids hate it and some of the coaches seem to be doing it as a miserable obligation 🙄

WEEK BEGINNING 28/11/2022

So a real nothing burger of a week.

4 x bike rides around 16K so just about keeping cardio fitness up.

No real updates on either the potential hamstring injury or my car 😬😬😬

Might try a short run tomorrow and expecting to hear from the garage as well so could be a rollercoaster of a day either way 😂

Didn't sign up for Dungarvan 10....the current status combo of car and hamstring didn't feel conducive to entering.

Seems to be loads of races popping up anyway....will try to find something nearer home

My watch has regretfully informed me that I am officially in 'Detraining' mode.

In a swift counterattack move, I entered the Mallow 10 Miler this afternoon....not so smart now Mr. Garmin eh??

A depressingly familiar festive update from me I'm afraid 😟

Despite getting the jab in early October I've succumbed to the flu over the last few days....on a course of steroids, inhalers and Tamiflu now so no surprise that my training status has degraded from 'Detraining' to 'No Status' 😆

A disappointing end to what had been a pretty decent year....Comeback #4,529 starting in January 😀

First run in what feels like ages today...6K completed in relative comfort.

Legs felt ok after three weeks sitting on a couch, was huffing and puffing a bit towards the end so I guess my chest/breathing isn't quite 100% yet.

I'm hoping that my pre-flu hamstring injury has magically disappeared via enforced rest....I did stretch it occasionally but not religiously as it felt like too much effort most days 😂

Gonna sign up for my local 10K on the 15th....won't be in any sort of shape for it but would be a shame to miss it

WEEK BEGINNING 02/01/2023

Followed my mammoth 6K on Sunday up with 18K cycle on Monday.

Back in the office on Wednesday and the joys of the flat ringroads of Nenagh...a solid 8K and a toughish 8 x 800m on Friday.

Legs not too bad....the hamstring issue seems to have migrated upwards with all my stretching...feels more like a tight groin now at the moment. Chest/breathing has improved also but not quite 100% tbh so still sucking away on the inhalers 🙄

Did 13K earlier today relatively convincingly...took a micro break after 11K following a long hill into the wind but all good besides.

Most of the run today is part of the 10K race next weekend so whatever excuse I'll be writing here next Sunday won't be related to lack of familiarity with the route.