Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ivan Yates and his trip around the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,853 ✭✭✭Glebee

Well for him. Wish I could do that:(. Ill just stay here and slave away so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

http://m.independent.ie/entertainment/ivan-yates-on-his-bucket-list-trip-around-america-with-wife-of-31-years-i-am-a-home-bird-at-heart-35317897.html

I usually don't begrudge people stuff and in fairness he deserves a holiday, but reading this I was wondering how he can afford a 20000 mile trip around the world. I thought he was bankrupt.

Yates is someone who puts on the poor mouth yet seems to never have any problem finding the money to do what few people will ever do.
    His dishonesty annoys me. Or maybe he is just so out of touch with what real hardship is.

Bah Humbug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I'm sure he got well paid by his mate Denis O'Brien for his radio gig when he came back from his bankruptcy exile year in Wales.

I'd also hazard a guess his job will be waiting for him at one of Denis O'Brien media empire stations if he wants it at anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Maybe his wife footed the bill, she's not bankrupt as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Bah Humbug!

I'm enjoying my Christmas.
    Just don't like bull****ters

padd b1975 wrote: »

She's a teacher.
    Thought they were all skint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

Glebee wrote: »
    Well for him. Wish I could do that:(. Ill just stay here and slave away so

" I don't know what I'll be doing ". Course you don't, Ivan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Just read his wiki page. It reads like he wrote it himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

padd b1975 wrote: »

http://www.rte.ie/news/business/2016/0205/765639-yates-courts/

Jesus, we would all do the same thing. He is married for 30 years. Been through a very public and I would imagine personally embarrasing financial loss after working relatively hard to build up a decent but hardly superfluous lifestyle. Remained in the public domain, represented the public, opened up about his depression and then worked hard to bounce back and seems a genuine, if not everyones cup of tea (who is?) man.

If the same happened to you would you just play the martyr or plead for forgiveness or hide away for the rest of your days.

Fair fks to him. And there is two of them in it. His wife would have a decent income and maybe has wanted this chance for years.

Begrudge him if you want, whether through personal dislike or envy but if you fell victim to the financial crisis but bounced back, what would you do??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Best of luck to him, at least he paid his taxes unlike one guy I can think of who recently was declared bankrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Allinall

http://m.independent.ie/entertainment/ivan-yates-on-his-bucket-list-trip-around-america-with-wife-of-31-years-i-am-a-home-bird-at-heart-35317897.html

I usually don't begrudge people stuff and in fairness he deserves a holiday, but reading this I was wondering how he can afford a 20000 mile trip around the world. I thought he was bankrupt.

Yates is someone who puts on the poor mouth yet seems to never have any problem finding the money to do what few people will ever do.
    His dishonesty annoys me. Or maybe he is just so out of touch with what real hardship is.

I don't think you understand bankruptcy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

I wonder how many of the ex Celtic Bookmakers staff is he bringing with him?:rolleyes:

He had a very privelidged upbringing and thats the ethos he still portrays. He left his staff in the lurch and fcuked off to Wales to get lonely and his "woe is me" moaning in the Irish media at the time was, quite frankly, sickening and embarrassing.

I, for one, have no time for him.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

I don't know what's worse. You writing that on Christmas Day, or me reading it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭hannible the cannible

The jealousy is big in this thread , op , have you anything else to be doing on Xmas day except be a miserable cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Entitlement culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Don't the Yates still retain a lot of land from the time the family formed part of the British ascendency persecuting Catholics?

Allinall wrote: »
    I don't think you understand bankruptcy.

I understand bankruptcy.
    Of course the slate gets wiped clean and you start again.

It's the contradiction between the impression he gives of going through purgatory/poor me vs the reality of being able to afford what few others might be able to afford.

I am inferring that it is either dishonest or grossly out of touch.

I wonder how many of the ex Celtic Bookmakers staff is he bringing with him?:rolleyes:

He had a very privelidged upbringing and thats the ethos he still portrays. He left his staff in the lurch and fcuked off to Wales to get lonely and his "woe is me" moaning in the Irish media at the time was, quite frankly, sickening and embarrassing.

I, for one, have no time for him.:(

I am not sure but I am sure they got paid when working for him?? People lose jobs. He wasn't overly indulgent in his financial affairs pre bankruptcy. He owes his former staff nothing.
    If you knew (maybe you do) the background of Celtic's collapse, you would know it was his over loyalty to his staff that was possibly his downfall in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Allinall

I understand bankruptcy.
    Of course the slate gets wiped clean and you start again.

It's the contradiction between the impression he gives of going through purgatory/poor me vs the reality of being able to afford what few others might be able to afford.

I am inferring that it is either dishonest or grossly out of touch.

Where did he give the impression of going through purgatory?

If it was when he went to Wales to go bankrupt, then at that time he was able to afford very little.

Maybe you should get your timelines sorted out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Regarding Celtic I know someone who worked for them and she said both Ivan and his wife were lovely to work for. Obviously only the opinion of one person but worth mentioning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Good for him, wouldn't mind doing the same myself some day.

The begrudgery doesn't seem to make much sense - seems like he's using money he earned for his holidays, not the taxpayers'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

Pickpocket wrote: »
    I don't know what's worse. You writing that on Christmas Day, or me reading it.

Both perfectly okay in my view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Hes in the clear now..taxpayers will pay off his debts over a number of years...he is free to go round the world cruises etc ..designer suits..new bmw with the money hed hidden away ..after his year on the beer in wales!

Allinall wrote: »
    Where did he give the impression of going through purgatory?

If it was when he went to Wales to go bankrupt, then at that time he was able to afford very little.

Maybe you should get your timelines sorted out.

He had/has a ministerial pension (for serving a mere 3 years as Minister for Agriculture) of €75,000 per annum, which he has been in receipt of each year for the past 19 years - since he was 38 years old in 1997- and will be in receipt of until he dies. If that allows him to afford only "very little" how do you describe the position of most people in Irish society who earn far less than Yeats' pension?

The political pension system is an obscene system designed by parasites for parasites. Yeats may be that rare breed - a Blueshirt who has charm and plámás - but don't let that disguise the outstanding reality that he, like the whole class of people on ministerial pensions, is a superstar parasite on our taxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Uncle travelling matt is back with an update on Ray d'Arcy.
    Hope he's managing OK, I'll bet he's seen loads of really interesting things that he can tell us about...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The political pension system is an obscene system designed by parasites for parasites. Yeats may be that rare breed - a Blueshirt who has charm and plámás - but don't let that disguise the outstanding reality that he, like the whole class of people on ministerial pensions, is a superstar parasite on our taxes.
    TBH I was in the "ah bloody begrudgers!" camp, but F has a cast iron point to make IMH. Yep parasite, like all that political class. Too many tug forelocks to the type. You'd think the Irish might have learned after the English and then kissing the bishops ring BS when they left. Sod that.

Luckily I harbour no notions of revolution and insurrection, because if I did and by some slim chance I succeeded, I would march the Dail out and publicly crucify about half of them and leave them as a warning. I'd likely publicly crucify all of the senate.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 rizlafan

i played a few hands of poker with ivan back in 2002,

5 card draw,

nice fish

Wibbs wrote: »
    TBH I was in the "ah bloody begrudgers!" camp, but F has a cast iron point to make IMH. Yep parasite, like all that political class. Too many tug forelocks to the type. You'd think the Irish might have learned after the English and then kissing the bishops ring BS when they left. Sod that.

Luckily I harbour no notions of revolution and insurrection, because if I did and by some slim chance I succeeded, I would march the Dail out and publicly crucify about half of them and leave them as a warning. I'd likely publicly crucify all of the senate.

Nuthin about crucifixion going against the AH charter so.... I suppose it's OK!

I assumed that Ivan's trip with his missus was a way of putting her personal nest-egg beyond the reach of the court in the bankruptcy proceedings against Deirdre Yates.

The bankruptcy judgment was inevitable so they might as well put the personal savings of Deidre Yates had to good use, they've already lost the homeplace.

Yates is a sound man who by all accounts was a good businessman and a great employer. He's lost enough now, in terms of the family farm and reputational damage. I'd hardly consider it fair to begrudge the man a holiday with his wife.

I assumed that Ivan's trip with his missus was a way of putting her personal nest-egg beyond the reach of the court in the bankruptcy proceedings.

The bankruptcy judgment was inevitable so they might as well put whatever savings she had to personal use, they've already lost the homeplace.

Yates is a sound man who by all accounts was a good businessman and a great employer. He's lost enough now, in terms of the family farm and reputational damage. I'd hardly consider it fair to begrudge the man a holiday with his wife.

I know Ray's show is dull but this takes the biscuit.
    Ivan is being interviewed .... because he went on holidays!!
    But wait there's more... he went with his wife.
    Harambe pails into insignificance. :pac:

Ya he kind of fluffed that answer to Ray about the missus' bankruptcy.
    Does anyone actually know what he said?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd hardly consider it fair to begrudge the man a holiday with his wife.
    If we the Irish taxpayer paid for it, yeah, I'd begrudge it alright.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,853 ✭✭✭Glebee

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    I know Ray's show is dull but this takes the biscuit.
    Ivan is being interviewed .... because he went on holidays!!
    But wait there's more... he went with his wife.
    Harambe pails into insignificance. :pac:

Ya he kind of fluffed that answer to Ray about the missus' bankruptcy.
    Does anyone actually know what he said?

I cant afford a holiday:( Ive paid my tax for the past 28 years.
    Maybe im missing something. At one point i did feel sorry for ivan until that interview

I assumed that Ivan's trip with his missus was a way of putting her personal nest-egg beyond the reach of the court in the bankruptcy proceedings against Deirdre Yates.

The bankruptcy judgment was inevitable so they might as well put the personal savings of Deidre Yates had to good use, they've already lost the homeplace.

Indeed, I wouldn't begrudge a man a holiday with his wife - perhaps a week or two in Majorca like the rest of us plebs if we're lucky? A planned year-long holiday, he can fvck right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I found his "joke" about "going down to the Fás office to find a job" a bit smug and obnoxious. I bet plenty of people who lost their jobs because of his mistakes had to go down to their local Fás offices, and didn't have the luxury of running away from their responsibilities, or getting jobs from their mates in the media. He comes across as a boorish idiot.

Maybe not quite as good a businessman as you would think. His core business seemed to be the concentration of opening more betting shops (at very high rents) when internet betting was clearly taking off. Celtic Bookmakers had no online presence and no infrastructure in place to develop an online business model; and having had experience of betting in one or two Celtic bookmaker shops, his level of staff training was very poor. I had an experience one day when two of his cashiers were trying to convince me that the Grand National wasn't a handicap (on Grand National Day!). In the end, after feeling like I was talking to the wall, I told them to cancel the bets and went to Paddy Power instead (where staff seem to know a thing or two about betting and horse racing).

I read somewhere that Yates offered something like the equivalent of 90c in the euro to his creditors to clear his debt but they refused?

Cant find a source to it but i remember i think reading it on a previous boards thread but according to here he offered the bank a farm worth 2m and AIB refused. He did owe around 3.7m i think. AIB ended up getting nothing and spending over 200k on a receiver.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/aib-wont-recoup-37m-as-ivan-yates-ruled-bankrupt-in-wales-26893882.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Indeed, I wouldn't begrudge a man a holiday with his wife - perhaps a week or two in Majorca like the rest of us plebs if we're lucky? A planned year-long holiday, he can fvck right off.
    Just cause you can't budget for a holiday doesn't mean no one should. I managed a 6 month holiday while working for minimum wage in a shop.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

myshirt wrote: »
    Don't the Yates still retain a lot of land from the time the family formed part of the British ascendency persecuting Catholics?

I still feel bitter and angry at those with Norman sounding surnames as they invaded us 848 years ago.:mad: Actually, my family name came to Ireland from Northern Holland a couple of centuries AFTER the Norman invasion so I hate myself!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I still feel bitter and angry at those with Norman sounding surnames as they invaded us 848 years ago.:mad: Actually, my family name came to Ireland from Northern Holland a couple of centuries AFTER the Norman invasion so I hate myself!:rolleyes:

I wouldn't blame you, you really got the sh itty end of the stick

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Just cause you can't budget for a holiday doesn't mean no one should. I managed a 6 month holiday while working for minimum wage in a shop.

Sorry why aren't you on the show instead of Ivan then?
    Like the whole reason he's on the show is .... because he went on a holiday. How is that entertainment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Sorry why aren't you on the show instead of Ivan then?
    Like the whole reason he's on the show is .... because he went on a holiday. How is that entertainment?
    Not sure the purpose of the show but since there's a thread on here there must be some interest in him..

I just hate that people begrudge someone a holiday and to think everyone should be limited to a two week package deal is mental.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Not sure the purpose of the show but since there's a thread on here there must be some interest in him..

I just hate that people begrudge someone a holiday and to think everyone should be limited to a two week package deal is mental.

Ah no I wouldn't begrudge anyone a holiday (I took a year out to travel and work abroad myself).
    I reckon the thing with Ivan is that 'he's news' no matter what he does.
    I'm just posting because I think he's just one of those shock jocks desperate for attention (and a job!). When he was on the morning slot with Claire Byrne it was non stop stereotype digs about her being a woman.
    Sure he knows about politics but I think it's dangerous just to pander to him when he's just trying to feed trolls and raise his own profile by ' shooting his mouth off (like Katy Hopkins or Michael Graham etc.)

So the question begs... why was he on the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He needs to get back on the radio to save that station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

What with the irish attitude that anyone who goes bankrupt should be ashamed of themselves for the rest of their lives regardless of the specific circumstances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

He needs to get back on the radio to save that station

Yep, since his departure and the reshuffle it prompted, things have really gone downhill over there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭purplepanda

myshirt wrote: »

His Great Grandfather went to Canada to earn the money that bought the family farmland according to an article I read a while back.

The British government actually bought most of the land back from the ascendancy classes in late Victorian times, under compulsory purchase, the Irish government contributed to the cost after independence. The same process in Scotland didn't apply & land reform is still an issue,especially in the Highlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭route9

In America, the OP would be 'great job Ivan, brilliant to see him back on your feet and doing well again'.

How is he being dishonest? He is a high profile broadcaster and writer / journo who gets paid loads for his work. So why shouldn't he do what he likes with the money he has rightly earned - he has served his bankruptcy. Same as what you or anyone else would do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Ivan went bankrupt and stiffed people on his bills.

He still has his PS pension.

The PS pension that he gives out about other people having who have a lot less at a later age than he does.

In short, he is a well funded hypocrite.

dresden8 wrote: »
    Ivan went bankrupt and stiffed people on his bills.
    The very fact of doing business with a limited company implies taking on a risk whereby recourse to the other side's assets will be limited, so products and services are priced accordingly. Nobody is ignorant of the risks involved when limited companies buy and sell to one another.

Yates lost his personal property and family home. I suspect hes lost more than the actual economic loss incurred by any of his individual creditors. He didn't exactly ride off into the sunset.

By your logic, all bankrupts are shirkers. You do understand the concept that the carrying on of commercial activity entails risks, yes?